If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We have just returned from our wonderful tour of Sorrento, Capri ,Pompeii ,Vesuvius and the Amalfi coast. We stayed at the Villa Maria which was comfortable, great room service and excellent half board. Our tour guide Jane is the most amazing person, her knowledge of the area is fantastic and she made the whole holiday an experience that we will never forget. Our first Riviera trip but we are sure that it won’t be our last. Thank you Riviera!

Review by Tony and Jane Richardson on 23 October 2016

Many thanks for looking after us so well during our recent tour to Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast.
From meeting us at the airport to putting us back on the plane nothing was too much trouble.
The Aminta hotel was excellent and our tour guide Sarah was far beyond exceptional.
She is a fantastic ambassador for your company, we were guided through all of our excursions with care consideration and a genuine desire to look after us.
We will be booking with you again

Review by David Stafford on 14 October 2016

The whole tour was run like clockwork and was very professional at all times. Our upgraded room to balcony sea view didn’t disappoint, the views was spectacular, the arrangement of terrace & pool/lounge area & bar and welcoming & accommodating staff made a great stay at The Hotel La Vue D’or. Our tour guide Jane was very experienced and made our trips very informative with her wealth of knowledge, she gave us an insight into the local area and their culture & customs.

We couldn’t of asked for more.

Review by Teresa & Kevin Hartnett on 14 October 2016

Myself and my sister joined with our cousin to enjoy this fabulous holiday in Sorrento. The holiday was perfectly balanced with activities and leisure. It was well organised and extremely good value for money. The hotel (Cesare Augusto) was lovely, staff friendly and food ideal. All the tours were exceptionally well organised by the Rivera rep Jenny who brought Italy to life with her knowledge and anecdotes about Italy and its culture - just perfect in every way. The lovely Italian lady on our party asked that we also include her gratitude and thought it was wonderful too xx thank you

Review by Jane Carwardine on 11 October 2016

My wife and I have just returned from your ‘Pompeii, Capri and Bay of Naples’ tour and we are happy to say that it was a most enjoyable trip.  In large part, this was due to the approach and professionalism of our Riviera Travel representative Ingrid which was excellent.  Ingrid is a real star, who is a credit to Riviera Travel, and this e-mail is to acknowledge our appreciation of her part in giving us a lovely week in Italy.

Review by James Robertson. on 11 October 2016

This was the first time we have been on an organised tour and we really couldn’t fault it.  We stayed at the very Italian, shabby chic Europa Palace which admittedly does need an update but for us it added to the charm of everything Italian.  Diana our guide was superb: funny, knowledgeable, sympathetic, energetic, but above all, enthusiastic which was so appreciated considering it was the end of the season!  Thank you Riviera, we are looking forward to our cruise in 2017!

Review by Ann Lazur on 16 October 2016

We have just returned from out holiday in Sorrento.  Our guide, Ingrid was charming and helpful and being a “local” girl very informative.  Definitely an asset to the Riviera team.

La Badia Hotel is unimaginably beautiful – we had amazing views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples from our room.  No balcony needed – there are so many delightful seating areas around the hotel.  All the staff are friendly and helpful but full marks must go to Raffaele (he’s a star) and all the dining room/bar/kitchen staff.

This is a lovely family run hotel and with easy access into Sorrento it ticked all the boxes for us.

Review by Margaret and Graham Harker on 7 October 2016

We have just returned from the Pompeii, Amalfi, Sorrento and Bay of Naples tour. It was an amazing week. Our tour manager Diana was excellent. She was interesting, informative and witty. She took good care of us. We stayed at the Europa Palace and the views from the terrace were stunning. The bathrooms could do with some updating but the hotel was wonderful. The evening dinner menu was varied and enjoyable.
The well organised trips were wonderful. Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast all exceeded our expectations.
All the people on our tour were friendly and pleasant. We would definitely recommend this tour with Riviera and we are already planning our next trip.

Review by Heather and Bill on 8 October 2016

This was our first Riviera experience. Very well organised.
Would like to thank Ingrid and also all the La Badia staff and management .
Would just like to suggest an optional Naples visit. Also option of free time at Pompeii and Museum in Naples rather than follow a guide .
I thought lunch in Capri was wonderful but the Pompei lunch a touristy experience.

Review by Diane on 5 October 2016

I am writing to say that I cannot recommend you highly enough after my recent holiday with you in Sorrento, the hotel was perfectly situated and the food of good quality and choice, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, the tours out were perfectly executed, with excellent informed guides, the cream of the trip was our tour rep: Jayne, what a delightful lady with so much background information, fun and patience, if this the way you run all your holidays I shall certainly be more than happy to travel with you again, and just not to forget the wonderful coach drivers, once again thank you.

Review by Joy Cooper on 28 September 2016

We have just returned from a Riviera Travel tour to Pompeii, Capri and the bay of Naples. It was absolutely fabulous. All the tour was so well organised from the moment we landed in Naples to the moment we returned home.Diane, our tour manager was so brilliant. She looked after us, taught us all there is to know about life in that region of Italy and she had such a good sense of humour.
Our hotel Il Parco Dei Principi was a quiet haven to return to after a busy touring day, and the sunsets as seen from the terrace bar whilst having a pre dinner drink were ,were unbelievable as was the panoramic view of Sorrento and the bay of Naples.

Review by Josette Degiovanni on 28 September 2016

I have just returned from an excellent week staying at the lovely Hotel Vue D’or. The staff there were very helpful and we enjoyed wonderful views. Our tour guide was Sue. She was excellent -full of local knowledge! She kept us engrossed on some of the longer trips on the coach with her stories of local life.
The excursions were well planned though I would have liked more time at the Museum in Naples. The highlight ? Sailing around Capri !

Review by Irene Getley on 4 October 2016

We went to the beautiful Sorrentine peninsula in early September, staying at the Hotel Vue d’Or. This was our second tour with Riviera, and we found it just as good, if not better than, our tour in Turkey in 2015. Our guide/manager, Linda, was extremely good, having a first rate knowledge of the area and being very helpful in all matters. The individual tours to Pompeii, Herculaneum etc, were spectacular, and the individual guides we had were obviously experts in their field. The only drawback to the site tours was the lack of time we had there, and we could have benefited from having an extra hour or so to explore the areas further. One of the most dramatic and spectacular days we had, was the trip along the Amalfi coast. The views were breathtaking, with the narrow roads snaking their way just feet from the cliff, and we were fortunate enough to be seated at the very front of the coach. With such a fantastic view up front, I filmed almost the entire trip, and it’s proved quite an interesting video for friends and family alike. Not surprisingly, our driver along the coast received much praise for his skill at the wheel! The hotel we stayed in was more than adequate, and we had a beautiful view over Sorrento and the Bay of Naples from our balcony. When it came to meal times, the quantity and quality of the food was excellent, and the hotel staff were always eager to go out of their way to assist us. A fantastic holiday, one which we won’t forget in a hurry!

Review by Colin and Joanne Croad on 2 October 2016

We have just returned having stayed at the Hotel Aminta.  Lovely hotel with great views and excellent food.  Our tour manager was Sarah and we travelled with a small number of people from the Amita together with a larger number from the Europa Palace Hotel.
Sarah was brilliant (one of the best tour managers we have met) providing not just the usual information on the tour which one would expect but taking the time and trouble to talk about family life and living in that area of Italy and about italian food and society.
Most importantly she gave general info on some good restaurants for a special occasion. It was our Ruby Wedding anniversary and we took her advice and had a beautiful evening meal at the lovely L’Antica Trattoria in Sorrento during our stay.  It more than lived up to our expectations. This was the highlight tour.  If you can convey our thanks to her we would be very appreciative.
Overall the Riviera tour was even better than promised in the brochure and we will certainly go with them again in the future

Review by Brian & Judith Lea on 26 September 2016

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week in the Bay of Naples area.  This was mainly thanks to our excellent tour leader, Linda.  We have been on similar holidays and Riviera has a strong track record.  We had high expectations. We were not disappointed.  Linda was exemplary, always putting our comfort and enjoyment first.  We were impressed not only by her local knowledge but her thoughtfulness, professional manner, honesty and clarity (and coolness under pressure).  We covered a lot of ground and sites during the week - all those places we wanted to experience - and the tempo was about right with some people choosing to take a ‘rest day’.  Linda is aware of the areas that need some minor fine tuning; the Capri trip mainly although the island cruise was brilliant.    We were lucky in choosing the Aminta.  What an excellent 4 star hotel.  We were most impressed by its quality whether the tasteful interiors, fantastic views (we seldom use ‘fantastic’ but they were impressive) and delightful staff.  It is clear the owner has gone to great lengths to create a stylish base to visit the local tourist spots. 

With Linda’s guidance, a lovely hotel, comfortable coaches (and driven by safe drivers) together with great company, we will certainly use Riviera again.

Review by Duncan and Ruth Barley on 26 September 2016

My wife and I had an excellent tour last week. The hotel Aminta was very good: the rooms were satisfactory, the food good and all staff excellent, and the views from the hotel were superb. The excursions were very well organised (particularly the Capri boat trip), and the tour manager, Linda, was first rate, the best we have encountered in ten Riviera tours. She is very informative and helpful and has both an amazing memory for all the historical and other information she provided, but anticipates problems and handles all the detailed arrangements most competently. She is always calm and cheerful and a real asset to your company.

Review by Patrick Harrington on 26 September 2016

This was our first trip with Riviera. All we can say is that the whole experience was amazing, made even better by our Tour Guide Adrian who did a fantastic job and made all our visits come to life. A big thanks to Adrian.
Our hotel was the Mediterraneo which offered all we wanted and more - al fresco dining on two evenings and excellent service and food in the restaurant. A holiday never to be forgotten. Thank you Riviera - we will return with you to other exciting destinations.

Pete & Barbara Stone

Review by Dr. & Mrs.. P R Stone on 25 September 2016

My first package tour with Riviera and my word it was a great one! Everything outlined in the itinerary was delivered, our tour guide, young Sarah was top notch! It is a full and crammed week but the trip delivers on all the things we wanted to see and do, the care and detail throughout the week ensured we had a trouble free and enjoyable time. Only one day you require to consider was the Pompei and museum visit on one day, we had 46 people in our group way too big for Pompei which, even with your timing, is a busy place, I would consider no more than 20 / 25 people per guide, the museum was a fabulous treasure house but we were all wilting smaller groups and more time to explore ourselves would be better! But really impressed with the organization and care that was shown to us which made for a memorable holiday thank you ! Now what about next year…..........

Review by Keith Johnson on 24 September 2016

Once again, another excellent Riviera holiday. We stayed at La Badia where we were made most welcome; good food and a very clean hotel. Special diets were catered for. The staff worked very hard to help us enjoy the holiday especially on the Gala Night. Ingrid looked after us conscientiously and professionally and made sure everyone was enjoying the tour. The early starts were worthwhile so that we avoided the heat and crowds. The only request; could we have more time at Vesuvius? Thank you!

Review by David & Chris, Durham. on 22 September 2016

We have had a wonderful time in Sorrento at Hotel Villa Maria. Our tour manager was Jane and must say she is a class act in every way. She organised eveything in a superb manner, was very very good and made each excursion very interesting and you knew that you could rely on her to know the best way to get around. She is an asset to your Company. The hotel was situated in a great location for getting around Sorrento and was good in every way. It was a pleasure to deal with all of your staff, from booking to tour management and would hope to travel with you again. Thank you

Review by Mr & Mrs Landon on 19 September 2016

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.