[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Medieval Germany River Cruise

We returned from our holiday on 4 October and we wanted to write to you to tell you how much we enjoyed our holiday, even though we completed the questionnaire.

Having now done several river cruises, this was our first with Riviera and we are pleased to say that we have another one booked for next year. In comparison with our previous cruises, we far preferred this one. It was very relaxing, we weren't having to rush our breakfast every morning to go on excursions. There was plenty of cruising time. The food was superb and hot. Staff were courteous and helpful. We cannot think of any part of our cruise experience that was lacking.

So we would like to thank your whole team and look forward to our next year's holiday.

Review by: Julie and Julian Hogg on 27/09/2018

Medieval Germany River Cruise

We just returned from our first river cruise on Riviera. We had a wonderful, informative trip. The ship was classy, immaculately clean, comfortable and extremely enjoyable! The friendly, knowledgeable staff went above and beyond to accommodate our EVERY needs. The food was delicious and expertly prepared! We highly recommend this Medieval Germany itinerary and the very affordable, Riviera cruise line! Thank you, Riviera, for our amazing trip!

Review by: Norma Chacona on 09/05/2018

Medieval Germany River Cruise

Our first cruise. We were on the Scylla owned MS SWISS TIARA which Riviera had chartered complete with crew. We were very pleased with the comfort, attention to detail, quality/quantity of the food and determination of the crew to ensure that everyone had an enjoyable holiday. Gosh those guys and gals work hard. I personally would have preferred more time ashore particularly in Nuremburg, and less time on the canal but I guess the clue is in the word "Cruise". The ports were well chosen. Some of the less well known places such as Wertheim and Miltenburg were delightful. If you are sociable, like comfort and doing your sight seeing at a leisurely pace without having to worry about where to stay each night, where to eat etc this is for you. I will definitely use Riviera again.

Review by: Gary Adams on 03/10/2017

Medieval Germany River Cruise

I just wanted to let you know that my cousin and I had a wonderful river cruise onboard the MS Swiss Tiara which departed 3 June.

All the places we visited were terrific and the included guided walks were very interesting and at a reasonable walking pace.

Our tour leaders Susie and Eric were just great. On walks they looked after those with mobility problems. Susie's organisational skills were excellent and Eric's presentations were not only very interesting but fun too. He has a great sense of humour.

As for the ship and crew where do I start? Crew brilliant. So pleasant, polite and hardworking. The show they put on was very funny. It was good to see senior crew members muck in when the restaurant and bar staff were under pressure. The food was excellent in both the main restaurant and the Lido bar/bistro.

The ships furnishings were excellent and our cabin extremely comfortable. It was great to have a fridge, with bottled water replaced on a daily basis at no extra charge, and tea and coffee making faculties with milk etc replenished twice a day if necessary. Towels were also replaced twice a day.

I can't praise this cruise enough. We will definitely consider another river cruise with Riviera Travel.

Review by: Doreen Root on 03/06/2017

Medieval Germany River Cruise

We are writing to express our thanks to Riviera Travel for the splendid cruise we experienced last week. We were particularly impressed by the attentive crew of the "Swiss Tiara" for whom no request was too much trouble. They all worked so hard to ensure that everything on board was perfect for us.

We were also very impressed with the welcome pack that awaited us in the cabin. The maps it contained were by far the best we have ever been given.

We had hoped to make use of the free wi-fi service on-board. Both receptionists tried to connect our tablet computer without success so we had to rely on text messages (without pictures!) to keep in touch with our family.

Susanne (Cruise Director) and Eric (Tour Manager) were most helpful in answering any queries and their organisation and management of the coaches at various locations was excellent. It was lovely not having to be responsible for anything except turning up on time whether for meals or transport!

Rosemary celebrated her 70th birthday on the second day of the cruise and was touched by the letter from Susi and Eric expressing their good wishes and the origami swans awaiting our return from our shore excursion at Regensburg.

This was our third river cruise (having already cruised the Moselle and Rhine with Page & Moy and the Danube with Travelsphere) but at the moment we are undecided on future cruise possibilities. However, you can rest assured that we shall keep an eye on the Riviera programme both for these and the escorted tours.

Review by: Roland and Rosemary Box on 03/06/2017

Medieval Germany River Cruise

I have just returned from a cruise on the Mainz and the Mainz/Danube canal. Another triumph for Riviera although I would have liked to be awake for the 82 foot locks. I cannot praise Sarah enough for the excellence of the service she provided as tour manager. Looking forward to my October visit to the Danube.

Review by: georgina ford on 17/06/2017

Medieval Germany River Cruise

Our first river cruise with Riviera - but not our last. A great week on the Main with super weather, fantastic food and good company. Our reps Sarah and Susie were excellent and the crew of the Swiss Tiara could not have been more helpful. A very enjoyable holiday, thank you.

Review by: Janet and David Byard on 10/06/2017

Medieval Germany River Cruise

We have both just returned from a fabulous week on the Swiss Tiara. The Captain and his crew and the Hotel management absolutely first class. Our two reps Eric and Hanna were fantastic. Erics knowledge of the places we visited was quite awe inspiring. Of course when we went to Frankfurt Airport it was a nightmare to try and get home with BA. When Eric heard our plight and also to find accommodation he came across to assist us on his day off. Chappo to Eric.

We were fortunate to have got a flight the following day . Thanks to Caroline for her help on the other end of the phone.

Cant wait for the next cruise.

Review by: Pat and Tony Jefferies on 20/05/2017

Medieval Germany - The Main To The Danube River Cruise

I have just returned from what was an exceptional cruise with Riviera Travel. I have never done a river cruise before but i am already looking at my next destination. The boat was fantastic and the 34 crew of which there was 11 nationalities worked together in what was the best team work i have ever witnessed. The staff were all so friendly and so obliging nothing was too much for them and we were treated like royalty. The destination was perfect. It helped having the sun for the entire week but the knowledge of Bernie one of the tour reps was brilliant. He worked alongside cassie who again was outstanding with her organising and making sure our every needs were met. They were both very friendly and very helpful and so approachable it was a sheer pleasure having them along for the ride. This has been one of the best holidays I have ever had and can’t wait to do one again. Thank you Riviera Travel for this wonderful experience and for creating new memories for me. Thank you bernie and cassie and all the staff aboard the Ms Swiss Tiara ship.

Review by: Debbie Evans on 14/05/2016

Medieval Germany - The Main To The Danube River Cruise

This was our first River Cruise and it was excellent. We visited some beautiful medieval German towns and were guided by very knowledgeable tour guides. Cassie and Bernie, our Riviera Tour Reps were very helpful and great organisers. There was nothing too much for them. In addition the crew of the MS Swiss Tiara were a brilliant team of different nationalities, who were always eager to help. The weather was wonderful for the entire trip. In all, a holiday of a lifetime. Thank you Riviera.

Review by: Bernie Gracias on 22/05/2016

Medieval Germany - The Main To The Danube River Cruise

In spite of a problem with the boat, we had a very enjoyable holiday once again. Obviously we were disappointed that we had to spend time on coaches in order to visit some of the places on our itinerary. However we were very impressed by all the hard work done by the crew and especially Annette and Eric to overcome a difficult situation and ensure that the programme ran as smoothly as possible.

As usual all the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food delicious.

Review by: Barbara Harrison on 13/06/2016

Medieval Germany - The Main To The Danube River Cruise

Thank you for another great holiday with Riviera Travel. We really enjoyed the wonderful river cruise along the Main and Danube. Our tour manager, Inker and tour director, Mike were fantastic. Inker is German and has excellent English, she was so professional, friendly and helpful. Mike, too, was an excellent director and did everything he could to please the passengers.

The visits to towns and villages along the waterways were really excellent. There was the right amount of conducted tours as well as free time to explore and take in the culture.

Our ship, the Swiss Tiara, was well appointed with friendly, helpful staff. Our cabin was excellent as was the food. It couldn’t have been bettered.

It was good to have our luggage taken on board and left outside our cabin and likewise at the end of the holiday it was loaded on to the coach for us. It is little touches like that that make the trip enjoyable. Inker came with us to Frankfurt airport and saw that we all checked in and got our boarding passes before saying farewell.

A big thank you to all concerned.

Review by: Wendy Rice on 19/07/2016

Medieval Germany - The Main To The Danube River Cruise

I Have just returned from my 9th holiday with Riviera & again I have to congratulate you on your tour managers.Everyone ,without exception, has been friendly, caring & very well organised.I have travelled on my own for all the holidays and find your clients on each tour are also always friendly and like-minded people.

After a walking tour I like the fact that you give us plenty of time to wander on our own, to have a spot of lunch etc.

I went on my first river cruise in May this year to Medieval Germany and again it was first class. Cassie & Bernie, friendly & helpful, the service from the staff on the Swiss Tiara was excellent, as was the food, even the weather was great for early May. Would have enjoyed a trip to Mittenberg rather than Friedenberg but otherwise was very impressed, can’t wait to go on another.

Best Wishes

Review by: Connie Fo on 25/08/2016

Medieval Germany - The Main To The Danube River Cruise

My husband and I came on the Medieval Germany cruise from the 2nd to the 9th of June, our third river cruise with your company, and wanted to tell you how much we had enjoyed it. Standards on the Swiss Tiara were as high as ever, the itinerary was well thought out and we have to praise the efforts of Richard and Sara who ensured that everything ran as smoothly as possible with the complication of the repair to the propeller. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Heidelberg - for us an unexpected bonus, going to such a lovely place. We have just booked for our 4th cruise, to the Douro this time, and look forward to it in August 2017.

Many thanks for your excellent service

Review by: Lindsey Aitchison on 25/08/2016

Medieval Germany - The Main To The Danube River Cruise

We went on this cruise on 16th to the 23rd of June and wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed the holiday. We had been on three Riviera holidays in Europe before this but never on a cruise. We chose Medieval Germany because we wished to explore an area we did not know and also to visit towns and cities with interesting histories and buildings. We were not disappointed; we travelled through some beautiful wooded scenery and explored towns such as Regensburg, Bamberg and Nuremberg. In some of the towns we were escorted by knowledgeable local guides who took us to some places we would probably not have discovered by ourselves. We went to Durer’s house, in Nuremberg, to the Gutenberg museum in Mainz as well as to wonderful Gothic, Baroque and Rococo churches. The timber frame houses of smaller towns such as Wertheim and Rothenburg are delightful.

We must also compliment the crew and staff of the ship for the quality of service they provided. The food on board was uniformly of a high standard and always beautifully presented; it was served by cheerful, friendly and efficient waiters and waitresses.

Review by: Edward Parry on 02/09/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.