[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Lisbon, Porto & the Douro Valley

A high tempo trip visiting a variety of interesting and varied places. Nice to finish at Cascais where we could relax.

Tivoli Oriente hotel in Lisbon was of a high standard, very clean with excellent choices for breakfast. One slight criticism was that there were 16 floors, so there was always a long wait for the lift.

Two Bridges hotel in Oporto was very disappointing with dark rooms and bathroom with very little space to store clothes. The majority of our group grumbled at this. Breakfast had poor choice and ran out quickly. Cooked food was cold and the waiting staff were very slow and unresponsive when we asked when the further supplies were coming.

The third hotel, the Pousada In Cascais was very, very good and quite unique. Real luxury!

Our courier Leila was well- informed and extremely pleasant and tried very hard to help us all enjoy this super tour.

The trip down the Douro was amazing with Port tasting and nice stops. Other visits were well organised and the people in our group were very friendly as we've always found on our Riviera Travel trips. We've now done five trips with Riviera and have booked two more for next year. Can't wait and our thanks again to Riviera Travel!!

Perhaps they could start a loyalty reward scheme for frequent travellers with Riviera Travel???

Review by: Jeanne Aspland on 26/09/2019

Lisbon, Porto & the Douro Valley

I have just returned from a lovely trip to Lisbon, Porto and the Douro Valley. Unfortunately we had very bad weather at the beginning of our trip but managed to see most things in between the showers. Our hotels were excellent despite being far out of Lisbon and Porto as we were able to use the buses. But we were so lucky to have had a wonderful guide called Valerie who looked after all our needs and nothing was too much trouble for her. She escorted us everywhere and gave us so much valuable information that it certainly enhanced our trip. Thank you so much Rivera and Valerie for a very enjoyable holiday.

Review by: Dorothy Woods on 21/06/2019

Lisbon, Porto & the Douro Valley

I have just returned from a lovely trip to Lisbon, Porto and the Douro Valley. Unfortunately we had very bad weather at the beginning of our trip but managed to see most things in between the showers. Our hotels were excellent despite being far out of Lisbon and Porto as we were able to use the buses. But we were so lucky to have had a wonderful guide called Valerie who looked after all our needs and nothing was too much trouble for her. She escorted us everywhere and gave us so much valuable information that it certainly enhanced our trip. Thank you so much Rivera and Valerie for a very enjoyable holiday.

Review by: Dorothy Woods on 21/06/2019

Lisbon, Porto & the Douro Valley

Just returned from a most enjoyable trip. Our rep Kim was a mind of information as were the local guides and kept us entertained. we had a wonderful coach driver for our trips.

As is usual on Riviera trips I met some very nice people. A couple from Canada were also on the trip and we got on like a house on fire. I can not thank Riviera or the people that were on the trip enough for making it a wonderful experience.

Would I do trip again, yes I would.

Looking at my next trip already.

Review by: Ian Williams on 11/10/2018

Lisbon, Porto & the Douro Valley

Just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable trip to Portugal. Our guide Paul was superb, the hotels good, especially our last night at the Pousada in Cascais and the places of interest we were taken to were all most interesting and many breathtakingly beautiful. This was our second Riviera tour and we shall definitely be booking another.

Review by: Susanne Young on 06/09/2018

Lisbon, Porto & the Douro Valley

We recently enjoyed the Lisbon-Porto tour, what differentiates Rivera travel from other tour operators is the quality of the tour leader, agin we were not disappointed. John was excellent, the tour ran like clockwork but even more importantly was the sheer depth of knowledge John had coupled to his love of Portugal, this added so much to the experience.

Review by: Richard goldstone on 17/07/2018

Lisbon, Porto & the Douro Valley

We have just returned from an excellent holiday to Portugal. I wish to commend our guide;John. His expert knowledge and eloquent delivery enhanced our experience.He was superb.I hope Riviera hold on to him.Would love him to be our guide on a future holiday.He was so courteous and helpful to everyone.

Review by: Heather Middleton on 17/07/2018

Lisbon, Porto & the Douro Valley

We have just returned from our wonderful holiday in Portugal made all the more interesting by our guide John. His knowledge was amazing and made our tour come alive for us and was always on hand for any help needed. The tour its self was well planned and gave us plenty of free time to explore.

Review by: Marcus & Florence on 17/07/2018

Lisbon, Porto & the Douro Valley

We have just returned from the Lisbon, Oporto and Douro Valley Holiday. An excellent experience, a well-balanced mix of coach touring, walking and self-exploration. The three hotels, all very different in character, were well chosen and uniformly good. The tour offered the opportunity to try the local cuisine in the evenings in Lisbon and Cascais, while group dinners in the Oporto hotel enabled the tour participants to interact, especially as the tour leader actively encouraged couples to sit at larger tables rather than have tables for two. The tour leader, John, was excellent. He thoughtfully looked after all the needs of the party, while giving intellectual talks on the history, geography, culture and economics of Portugal.

Review by: Peter & Jenny Carling on 17/07/2018

Lisbon, Porto & the Douro Valley

Just back from this tour yesterday. We thoroughly enjoyed it, especially the Porto and Douro Valley stages. Many thanks to Valerie, our tour manager. She did everything she could to make sure we got the most from our holiday. Her tips on local restaurants, services and amenities were spot on, while her knowledge of the places we visited was always informative.

Review by: Heather Donaghy on 11/07/2018

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

My husband and I have just returned from a week's cruise on the Douro river on board the Douro Elegance. We really enjoyed it - everything was so well organised by a dedicated staff. Most travelers aboard were senior citizens from a mixture of countries and backgrounds. My husband has memory problems as did at least half a dozen others while some had mobility problems but every one was catered for. I found plenty to stimulate my academic interest as well as the entertainment.

Safety features were very good. The only addition I would make would be a small non-slip rubber mat and or seat in the shower for those who are more physically challenged.

Review by: Bramham on 03/11/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

We really enjoyed our holiday in Portugal which was the first time we have been to this country. All the hotels were excellent and we liked going into Lisbon town to look for our evening meals for the first three days. We also liked that after that the evening meals were provided and this gave us an opportunity to get to know the other people on our tour better.

Our first day was a tour of Lisbon, so this was a nice introduction.

We also thought the visit to Fatima was a bit too long and would have preferred just a quick stop there and spending more time at the next place. We liked our visits to Sintra, just the right amount of time there. Also enjoyed the port tasting and wine tasting!

Our tour guide Lily was excellent and full of information about Portugal and the way of life there. Highly recommend this tour.

Review by: Ann Kendall on 25/09/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

Just returned from another superb Riviera holidays. Hotels were excellent, trips/tours were spot on with knowledgeable local guides both in Lisbon and Porto.Tour Manager Valerie was in our opinion the best tour manager we have come across. Valerie made this holidays very enjoyable.She was informative, helpful and very friendly, nothing was too much troubles.

Review by: M Barker and S Sanger on 02/10/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

We have just returned from Portugal trip visiting Lisbon, Porto and the Douro valley. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Lots of different options during the trip, loved Lisbon,Porto was very picturesque and the Douro valley must be one of the most beautiful places on the planet. Our tour guide Francesca was so helpful, knowledgeable and fun to be with. She also had endless patience! The Portuguese guides were excellent, so much to tell us, a real historical perspective for us.

Thanks to all of them.

Review by: Ann Tabram on 21/09/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

We had a very enjoyable holiday in Portugal. Kim, our tour guide, was efficient, helpful and informative. Her voice was a joy to listen to and she was always on hand to help. Our coach driver was very competent but also extremely good natured throughout the trip. All three hotels were comfortable and the food good. Our last stop at Cascais was an unexpected gem. We would have welcomed the option to stay for further night or two. Thank you.

Review by: Graham and Jacky on 03/09/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

My friend and I have just returned from the trip to Lisbon and Oporto. It was brilliant. The organisation, hotels and destinations were fantastic. Our tour guide, Kim, was exceptional, her knowledge of the area was second to none. She looked after us extremely well. This was, I think, our 6th trip with Riviera and it has never let us down. Thank you once again fir a wonderful holiday.

Review by: Elizabeth Buckley on 03/09/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

An excellent tour, representing good value for money. Hotels were very good, and food of a high standard. The local guides were knowledgable, helpful and informative. The coach drivers were skillful and always drove safely. . The only disappointment was the tour manger did not organise a seat rotation system. The system was basically first come first served. I and other travellers were not very happy about this.

Review by: George Hodgson on 20/08/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

An excellent tour in every respect.

Our particular thanks to the Tour Manager, John, who has extraordinary knowledge of subject-matter and who was kind and attentive to his guests.

His extra "something" made this a most successful and enjoyable tour.

Review by: john and marit chambers on 18/07/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

This was our fourth trip with Riviera and they just get better. It was a superb trip and we could not fault it, it was full of interest with plenty of opportunity to explore on our own, particularly in Lisbon. Our guide, John, was the best ever and looked after us extremely well, keeping us well informed at a measured pace whilst injecting gentle humour wherever appropriate. The hotels had been well selected and were all excellent in their different ways. As always we very much enjoyed the company of our fellow guests. We can highly recommend this tour.

Review by: Andrea & John Holt on 18/07/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

Just got back from a wonderful stress free Douro valley experience, this is the first time we have used Riviera and we were well impressed, the hotels were as stated of a high standard, and clean, the trip was made all the more enjoyable by a excellent coach driver, Bruno, and an experienced guide john who for us struck the right balance of a potted history of the Iberian peninsula where by one could tune in or out without overload, excellent. Also the guides supplied at the venues that we picked up were very informative we really enjoyed this break and would not hesitate to book with Riviera travel again.

Review by: Anthony Kennedy on 18/07/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

We would like to leave feedback on the Tour Guide John.

John is an outstanding Tour Guide and a credit to your company. His command of the language and his academic knowledge of the historical, political, economic and social aspects in particular of Portugal but also France and Spain was excellent. His commentaries were informative and delivered with intellect, humour and passion; often posing questions for the audience to ponder upon, without being patronising or attempting to enforce a view point. His compassion and care of particularly the 'elderly challenged' was excellent . He was keen to ensure that the all peoples needs were catered for without compromising the group as a whole. The trip progressed with the right pace and John was very efficient and effective to ensure that instructions were precise, as well as being firm and fair for the group as a whole. He provided good advice and where he was uncertain, then he would check rather than dismiss or forget. The clients on the trip responded very positively and respected John's approach, which in turn encouraged a very positive community spirit. John has exceptional personable skills and he is to be commended for his diligence and committment to the role and to ensuring that everyone enjoyed the holiday. Riviera is lucky to have someone of his calibre on the Tour Guide team and he is an excellent role model. Through this feedback, please convey our personal thanks to him for making it an enjoyable holiday. Peter and Gill Baker

Review by: Peter and Gill Baker on 18/07/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley

Our 2nd tour with Riviera (Classical Italy was also excellent made special by enthusiastic tour manager). This trip exceeded our expectations with John Shaw leading, going above and beyond with wide range of knowledge of Iberian history and fables. His attention to detail and our safety were paramount. The hotel choices were excellent as were all the staff and the food on the last 4 nights was of a very good standard. A great mixture of places to visit made enjoyable by local guides and camaraderie of the entire group. All in all an excellent trip and good value for money. Many thanks Riviera.

Review by: Paul Tweedle on 02/07/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley Tour

Just wanted to give feedback that Valerie is a wonderful tour guide who really looked after us and is a credit to Riviera thank you

Review by: Selina Devonshire on 18/05/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley Tour

Many Thanks for the lovely holiday we enjoyed in Portugal in early May. We felt as if everything had been well planned. Our Tour Guide Valerie was a delight and we learn't so much about the country as we toured around. The three hotels were very good and every place we visited showed another aspect of Portugal. We felt we had experienced a good cross section of the culture and appreciated the pride the Portuguese had in their early voyages of discovery.

Review by: Dianne Roberts on 06/06/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley Tour

I have enjoyed several trips with Riviera but this has been one of the best due to our guide making the trip so much fun. We learnt a lot and Valerie was very helpful and great company.

Review by: Helene Parr on 12/04/2017

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

This is an excellent trip. Our guide John was terrific. His knowledge and enthusiasm made the trip. One of the best guides we have had.

Our one criticism would be that on four of the seven nights we were in hotels where dinner was included.

One of the best parts of travelling abroad is getting to experience eating in local restaurants. The three nights we were in Lisbon we had some wonderful food. The same was not true of the dinners we had in the other hotels. Clearly there are people who might prefer to eat in the hotel but we would prefer to be offered that as an option.

Perhaps the location of the Oporto hotel was an issue - a taxi ride from the centre but the Cascais hotel was central and near some local restaurants. We also did not like having to choose menu options as much as 4 days in advance. Other than these issues, this was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Thank you, Riviera.

Review by: Marie and Malcolm Maciver on 27/10/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

A most enjoyable holiday. We were well looked after everywhere we went. Our Tour Manager, John, was outstanding in his attention to detail, enhancing our tour with his knowledge of the area and giving fascinating historical talks about the places we visited. He also helped everyone to feel included in a friendly atmosphere, and his coming to the check-in desk to see us safely onto the flight home was much appreciated. The hotels were excellent, and the local guides and drivers were first-rate.

Review by: Heather Moore on 26/10/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

We have just returned from a superb Riviera Travel Holiday. We would like to say how much we enjoyed the holiday to Portugal especially when we met our Tour Manager John at Lisbon airport – what a surprise- we had him as our Tour Manager when we all did Classical Spain in April this year, we knew that everything would be first class. John’s knowledge of the history, culture, economy and infrastructure of the country was a bonus for the holiday, his story telling and his local knowledge re restaurants etc was also very informative.

He was so thoughtful organising access to places of interest on our visit as [Hilary] has to use a wheelchair for most of the time. John was so kind and thoughtful he also stayed with us at Lisbon Airport on our return journey almost to the time we boarded. We were so grateful for his support.

Our holiday reached heights above our expectations, due to John, our coach driver Bruno and local guides , the staff at all the super hotels we stayed in, and all our fellow Riviera travellers.

Thank you also staff at Riviera Travel for organising wheelchair assistance.

Our Tour Manager John is 5***** and a very great asset to Riviera Travel.

Review by: Hilary and James Meadows on 20/10/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

We have had another wonderful Riviera holiday, which exceeded expectations. In no small part this was because our tour manager John was outstanding. He has a deep and extensive knowledge of the Iberian Peninsula, its history, culture and people etc .and we learned so much.

He also went the extra mile by printing off everyone’s boarding passes, saving time and stress at Lisbon Airport. He kept us informed on places to eat, departure times and made the whole tour more enjoyable as we had nothing to worry about.

Thanks also to Bruno, our excellent coach driver.

Review by: Carolyn Outram on 23/10/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

We have just returned from a Riviera tour to Lisbon, Porto and the Douro.

Can I take the opportunity to thank all at Riviera for an excellent tour,well organised and showing us many sights in Portugal.

A special thanks to Francesca who looked after us every day.

This was our first Riviera tour but it won’t be our last.

Thank you

Review by: Mr & Mrs Whyte on 11/10/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

What a fabulous holiday! All 3 hotels were of superb standard and had their own individual character. We visited some beautiful places in the Douro Valley that would have been difficult to get to on a self-guided visit but easy to reach by our coach which was safely driven by Bruno. How he got the bus into some of those streets and round those bends we will never know! The local guides were all informative and sometimes amusing, as appropriate. Our tour guide, John, was in a ‘tour guide class’ of his own. He was personable, seemingly knowledgeable about everything in the Iberian region and nothing was too much trouble for him. His very different, historically accurate and often charming anecdotes made the bus journeys in between various stops a pleasure, not an ordeal as is sometimes the case. We thought he was brilliant and look forward to hearing what tours he is leading next year. Many thanks from Val and Caz.

Review by: Valerie Marden and Caroline Paige on 19/10/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

Just arrived safely home from our best Riviera experience yet. Tour manager John Shaw was outstanding, his talks on Portugal’s history, geography and customs were greatly appreciated by all and enhanced our enjoyment of this beautiful country. We also appreciated John’s good management of our group and his humour. The hotels booked were excellent, many thanks to all concerned, especially to John, and to Bruno too, for his matchless driving skills.

Review by: Colin and Wendy Butt on 18/10/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

This was our eighth trip with Riviera and we weren’t disappointed!

The hotels, tours and travel arrangements were excellent, but the star of the show was Valerie!

She was quietly attentive and kept us amused during some of the longer journeys with her endless supply of stories and jokes.

She was particularly attentive when I became ill and I felt reassured that if I needed anything she would have been there for me, which is very reassuring when in a foreign country.

Please pass on our thanks, and we are very much looking forward to our next trip.

Thank you.

Review by: Michael & Carol Reeves on 06/10/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

This was our first trip with Riviera and we were delighted with the high standard of hotels and transport. For us, however, what made it so special was our tour manager, Valerie, who saw to everyone’s needs with the lightest of touches and the concern of a mother hen looking after her chicks. She was extremely well informed and kept us all going with her fund of stories and anecdotes. We are now looking forward to our next trip with you.

Review by: Alistair and Ishbel McConnachie on 05/10/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

Having just returned from the tour to Portugal would just like to express our thanks for a great experience. Having read some of the comments made previously it is obvious that you cannot please all of the people all of the time. For instance if you do not want to get up in the morning then book an all inclusive resort holiday. The early bird catches the worm, or misses the crowds. No negative comments, Valerie great fun and thanks to her for arranging a bottle of “fizz” delivered to our room on our anniversary.

I think all tours such as these are a taster for the country and should leave the visitor wanting to see more, which they do.

Review by: Andrew and Carolyn Browne on 21/09/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

Just returned from Lisbon, Porto & Douro Tour. One of the best helped by excellent hotels and the services of Annette who helped everything to go with a swing.

Review by: Ian & Denise Kirkwood on 21/09/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

Very enjoyable week enhanced by very friendly fellow travellers. Francesca facilitated the tour well and introduced a set of excellent local guides. The tour is very busy for the first few days but the pace slows down as the week concludes. The star must be Dario, the great driver!

Review by: Ian, Helen and Louise on 20/09/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

We have just returned from Portugal and write to congratulate the team on putting together a great package.

All the hotels were of exceptional standard, as was the coach Driver Paulo, and in particular Valerie Richman, who’s knowledge of the country and the tour was excellent and contributed so much to our enjoyment.

Review by: John Gadd & Ray Howes on 14/09/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

I would be grateful if you would convey to Valerie who was the wonderful tour guide for the above tour, my very grateful thanks for her help during the above trip and especially for her help at Lisbon airport which was invaluable. Many many thanks.

Review by: David and Alicja Murray on 02/09/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.