If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Lisbon, Oporto & the Douro Valley Tour

A most enjoyable holiday.  We were well looked after everywhere we went.  Our Tour Manager, John, was outstanding in his attention to detail, enhancing our tour with his knowledge of the area and giving fascinating historical talks about the places we visited.  He also helped everyone to feel included in a friendly atmosphere, and his coming to the check-in desk to see us safely onto the flight home was much appreciated.  The hotels were excellent, and the local guides and drivers were first-rate.

Review by Heather Moore on 26 October 2016

We have just returned from a superb Riviera Travel Holiday.  We would like to say how much we enjoyed the holiday to Portugal especially when we met our Tour Manager John at Lisbon airport – what a surprise- we had him as our Tour Manager when we all did Classical Spain in April this year, we knew that everything would be first class.  John’s knowledge of the history, culture, economy and infrastructure of the country was a bonus for the holiday,  his story telling and his local knowledge re restaurants etc was also very informative.
He was so thoughtful organising access to places of interest on our visit as [Hilary] has to use a wheelchair for most of the time.  John was so kind and thoughtful he also stayed with us at Lisbon Airport on our return journey almost to the time we boarded.  We were so grateful for his support.
Our holiday reached heights above our expectations, due to John, our coach driver Bruno and local guides , the staff at all the super hotels we stayed in, and all our fellow Riviera travellers.
Thank you also staff at Riviera Travel for organising wheelchair assistance.
Our Tour Manager John is 5***** and a very great asset to Riviera Travel.

Review by Hilary and James Meadows on 20 October 2016

We have had another wonderful Riviera holiday,  which exceeded expectations.  In no small part this was because our tour manager John was outstanding.  He has a deep and extensive knowledge of the Iberian Peninsula,  its history, culture and people etc .and we learned so much. 
He also went the extra mile by printing off everyone’s boarding passes, saving time and stress at Lisbon Airport. He kept us informed on places to eat, departure times and made the whole tour more enjoyable as we had nothing to worry about.
Thanks also to Bruno, our excellent coach driver.


Review by Carolyn Outram on 23 October 2016

We have just returned from a Riviera tour to Lisbon, Porto and the Douro.
Can I take the opportunity to thank all at Riviera for an excellent tour,well organised and showing us many sights in Portugal.
A special thanks to Francesca who looked after us every day.
This was our first Riviera tour but it won’t be our last.
Thank you

Review by Mr & Mrs Whyte on 11 October 2016

What a fabulous holiday! All 3 hotels were of superb standard and had their own individual character.  We visited some beautiful places in the Douro Valley that would have been difficult to get to on a self-guided visit but easy to reach by our coach which was safely driven by Bruno. How he got the bus into some of those streets and round those bends we will never know! The local guides were all informative and sometimes amusing, as appropriate. Our tour guide, John, was in a ‘tour guide class’ of his own. He was personable, seemingly knowledgeable about everything in the Iberian region and nothing was too much trouble for him. His very different, historically accurate and often charming anecdotes made the bus journeys in between various stops a pleasure, not an ordeal as is sometimes the case.  We thought he was brilliant and look forward to hearing what tours he is leading next year.  Many thanks from Val and Caz.

Review by Valerie Marden and Caroline Paige on 19 October 2016

Just arrived safely home from our best Riviera experience yet. Tour manager John Shaw was outstanding, his talks on Portugal’s history, geography and customs were greatly appreciated by all and enhanced our enjoyment of this beautiful country.  We also appreciated John’s good management of our group and his humour.  The hotels booked were excellent, many thanks to all concerned, especially to John, and to Bruno too, for his matchless driving skills.

Review by Colin and Wendy Butt on 18 October 2016

This was our eighth trip with Riviera and we weren’t disappointed!
The hotels, tours and travel arrangements were excellent, but the star of the show was Valerie!
She was quietly attentive and kept us amused during some of the longer journeys with her endless supply of stories and jokes.
She was particularly attentive when I became ill and I felt reassured that if I needed anything she would have been there for me, which is very reassuring when in a foreign country.
Please pass on our thanks, and we are very much looking forward to our next trip.
Thank you.

Review by Michael & Carol Reeves on 6 October 2016

This was our first trip with Riviera and we were delighted with the high standard of hotels and transport. For us, however, what made it so special was our tour manager, Valerie, who saw to everyone’s needs with the lightest of touches and the concern of a mother hen looking after her chicks. She was extremely well informed and kept us all going with her fund of stories and anecdotes. We are now looking forward to our next trip with you.

Review by Alistair and Ishbel McConnachie on 5 October 2016

Having just returned from the tour to Portugal would just like to express our thanks for a great experience. Having read some of the comments made previously it is obvious that you cannot please all of the people all of the time. For instance if you do not want to get up in the morning then book an all inclusive resort holiday. The early bird catches the worm, or misses the crowds. No negative comments, Valerie great fun and thanks to her for arranging a bottle of “fizz” delivered to our room on our anniversary.
I think all tours such as these are a taster for the country and should leave the visitor wanting to see more, which they do.

Review by Andrew and Carolyn Browne on 21 September 2016

Just returned from Lisbon, Porto & Douro Tour. One of the best helped by excellent hotels and the services of Annette who helped everything to go with a swing.

Review by Ian & Denise Kirkwood on 21 September 2016

Very enjoyable week enhanced by very friendly fellow travellers. Francesca facilitated the tour well and introduced a set of excellent local guides. The tour is very busy for the first few days but the pace slows down as the week concludes. The star must be Dario, the great driver!

Review by Ian, Helen and Louise on 20 September 2016

We have just returned from Portugal and write to congratulate the team on putting together a great package.
All the hotels were of exceptional standard, as was the coach Driver Paulo, and in particular Valerie Richman, who’s knowledge of the country and the tour was excellent and contributed so much to our enjoyment.

Review by John Gadd & Ray Howes on 14 September 2016

I would be grateful if you would convey to Valerie who was the wonderful tour guide for the above tour, my very grateful thanks for her help during the above trip and especially for her help at Lisbon airport which was invaluable. Many many thanks.


Review by David and Alicja Murray. on 2 September 2016

We have just returned from the Lisbon, Oporto and Douro valley tour.
May we say how much we enjoyed all aspects of the holiday with your tour manager Francesca a great asset.
The local guides were excellent and extremely knowledgeable. The coach driver Bruno was outstanding, his manoeuvring skills amazing.
We liked the fact that not all the hotels provided an evening meal and with the location of the hotel in Lisbon we were able to find three different restaurants within walking distance.
All three hotels were of a very high standard, the food at the Sheraton in Oporto and the Pousada Cascais was very enjoyable and good variety.
This is one holiday we have already recommended to friends and family.
Thank you

Review by Mr & Mrs Berry. on 2 September 2016

We enjoyed this tour on the whole. Visited some lovely places and the hotels we stayed in were very good. However we found it very tiring especially having an early morning call each day at 6.45am. We were out of the hotel each morning by 8.30 not returning until 5.30 in the evening. We couldn’t make out whether this was down to our tour guide or the hotels wanting parties out to cater for other guests. Otherwise our tour guide, Valerie was very good, but we both felt shattered by the end of the tour and in need of another holiday!

Review by Pauline and Neil williams on 11 July 2016

Excellent tour very good value. Francesca our tour manager was knowledgeable friendly and helpful.  I would recommend her and the tour wholeheartedly

Review by Penny Witham on 7 July 2016

Excellent tour. Three hotels with individual personalities; all first class. Tour guide Anette knowledgeable, approachable and well organised. Local guides witty and interesting.
Well done Riviera.

Review by Mary Hillman on 1 July 2016

Hello, my husband and I travelled with the above tour and I am writing to say how well planned it was and what a super guide we had Lilyana (?correct spelling) must be the best guide in all our 7 Riviera tours so far. She was very well informed but giving just the right amount of information at the right time. Her care and kindness to everyone, and especially to us two over eighties,was exceptional.We cannot praise her enough and just hope the guide on our 8th tour (to Chamonix in September) will be half as good.

Review by Pam McKinlay (Mrs) on 13 May 2016

The tour was very well organised with the tour rep Keith doing an excellent job.  The content was good with the right balance between travel, sightseeing and free time especially in Lisbon. The Hotels were good, clean and well situated with excellent food, the only slight complaint I have was in the last hotel there were miles of corridors and you needed a map and a compass to reach your room, apart from that the hotel was clean, lovely rooms and the food good.

Review by Patricia Dickinson on 15 April 2014

I had misgivings when I saw the size of the group but Keith Hulse handled this trip superbly and he gave me every assistance as I was undoubtedly the slowest of the party. The weather was excellent and hotels good but the Porto Sheraton is not exceptional . At 85 I will try and come back in 2015.

Review by Arnold Battson on 12 May 2014

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.