If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Lakes & Mountains of Austria Tour

We returned late last night from our holiday with Riviera in Austria - Lakes and Mountains of Austria. I said to Maggie , our tour guide, that I would email you to express our satisfaction with every aspect of our holiday. Maggie was outstanding. Her knowledge of the area was incredible and her organisational skills ensured we knew exactly where to be and what was to be seen.
I would also like to thank you for your good choice of hotels, particularly the Das Alpenhaus in Kaprun. The standard was very high and the food was excellent.
We would certainly recommend this holiday and your company.
The weather could have been better but that is outwith your control and it didn’t really hinder us from enjoying the holiday.
Kind regards

Review by Eleanor and John Carvel on 25 August 2016

Just returned from a tour to Austria with Riviera Travel and would just like to thank the whole team for a wonderful holiday. Hotels were good, food good, scenery spectacular and the tour guide and coach driver were superb. Also the other clients were good fun and everyone got along just fine. It’s what holidays are all about. Cheers.
Travelled on 26/07/2012

Review by Jeff Worrall, Beverley. on 8 August 2012

Just returned from a superb holiday in Austrian Lakes. Would like to thank Julie the Tour Manager and Roland our coach driver for a wonderful holiday. Scenery was spectacular. All the group got on well. Would recommend this holiday.

Barbara Charnley

Review by Barbara Charnley on 20 May 2013

Just returned from a wonderful holiday in Austria. What a beautiful country. Jan the tour manager knows everything there is to know about this country as she has lived there several times. The scenery as you travel is breathtaking. Seth the driver was superb getting us back to the hotel in seemingly no time when we had been on a tour. Our fellow travellers deserve a mention as they were simply brilliant.

Review by Julie and Elaine on 20 July 2013

We have recently returned from the above named holiday and would like to say that this ranks as one of the best holidays we have been on. The hotels, locations and food were excellent. Our tour guide Janet Cross was first class and dealt with a couple of tricky situations with good humour and efficiency. Our driver though not much of a communicator was excellent and dealt patiently with atrocious local drivers.
Perfect weather helped of course but you have put together a truly outstanding package.

Review by Gillian RIZK on 30 July 2013

We booked this holiday having never travelled to Austria, and what a fantastic choice it turned out to be! Salzburg was mesmerising, and the lakes and mountains simply took our breath away with their beauty and majesty (no exaggeration!). Both hotels were of the highest quality, with friendly helpful staff, and superb food. Our tour manager, Janet, blended wonderful humour with fascinating insights into the geography and customs of Austria. Together with our coach driver Roland, they made a great double act! Our fellow travellers were fantastic company, friends were made, and we are left with many wonderful memories to treasure. Thank you Riviera for a fabulous holiday.

Review by Chris and Gill Crow on 31 July 2013

We have just returned from your Austrian lakes and mountains tour. It was a present to celebrate my 50th birthday. I just wanted to say what an absolutely amazing time we had. From start to finish it was an absolute joy. Both hotels were superb, particularly the Alpenhaus. Our tour guide Sarah was knowledgeable, fun, accommodating, interested, interesting and caring. Our driver Roland was faultless. Every day was packed full of beauty, interest and just the right amount of activity. Well done to everybody involved. I will treasure the memories we made this trip.
Personally I would have loved to see the salt mines, but I understand why this has been changed to the trick fountains as it is easier to negotiate this.
We will definitely be recommending your company to others (I have already) and will be using you again.
Thank you so much!!!

Review by Laraine and Andy Hughes on 14 August 2013

We have just returned from our 10th Riviera holiday . We were fortunate enough to visit Salzburg at festival time which added to our enjoyment of the city . We moved on to Kaprun, a total contrast with beautiful mountain scenery . A special mention for Julie an exceptional tour guide , who had vast local knowledge,answered all our questions and for whom nothing was too much trouble . She made the holiday all the more enjoyable .Two suggestions for new holiday locations———they are Amsterdam (other than by boat) and Switzerland ‘s Bernese Oberland . Finally how about discounts for your regular holiday makers ? Keep up the good work Riviera .

Review by Mr and Mrs Hill on 22 August 2013

We have just returned from yet another brilliant Riviera holiday, Very good hotels, excellent food, great company, everyone got on so well!! The views were amazing. Julie our tour guide was just brilliant, as was Roland our coach driver. Would highly recommend this holiday. Thank you Riviera.

Review by Lynn and Dave Radley on 22 August 2013

Marvelous holiday.  Well chosen hotels with a great variation of day trips that gave us different sides of this beautiful country: Salzburg was a revelation, and Kaprun was simply how we imagined a Austrian small town to be - beautiful. Superbly organized by our fantastic Tour Manager Julie, who gave us so much local information and also showed she really cared about each individual guest. She really did go ‘the extra mile’. Thank you also to Roland who never once made us feel nervous with his driving, even round all those hairpins!!

Review by lita nicholls on 23 August 2013

Fantastic holiday from start to finish, very friendly people on the coach which helped make it enjoyable. Both hotels were excellent the tour guide JULIE was very knowledgeable and very very helpful, ROLAND the coach driver was an excellent driver, especially negotiating all 34 bends on the mountain, I felt safe with his driving, keep up the good work. Hope to see you next year ..... Thank you

Review by frances ray on 25 August 2013

We have just returned from Austria tour with Riviera, and have to say it was a lovely holiday, Salzburg for the 3 nights we stayed was just beautiful it also helped with the good weather. Kaprun for the remaining 4 nights was a different feel but just as lovely. Sarah our tour guide was very informative and helpful in every way, nothing was too much trouble and we would not have been able to do as much as we could on our free day without her guidance. Travelling the alpine routes was very smooth with Roland our driver. We met some lovely people in our group, drinks and laughs after dinner, oh and saunas!!!  Thank you.

Review by Linda & John Taylor on 14 September 2013

We returned on Friday after an excellent tour of Salzburg and Kaprun. This was our first trip with your company and thanks to Sarah’s superb language skills and knowledge of the area and helpfulness and kindness to everyone, and Roland’s excellent driving skills we had a great holiday and will now be using your company in the future. I think It will be difficult to reach the standards of the hotels and service provided on this tour, particularly the swimming pool and sauna facilities in Kaprun

Review by Mr P Tivey on 17 September 2013

I have just returned from my first trip with Riviera. The Austrian tour is simply stunning. Everything is so well organised. We did start off with poor weather and our Amazing guide Janet kept apologising as if she was responsible. But it only added to the Atmosphere seeing the snow on the peaks. She is such a fantastic character and there is nothing she doesn’t know about Austria. She really goes far and beyond her duties. Janet really made it so much fun. Her funny little stories kept us laughing. Her sidekick Roland has to be the best driver in Europe. Not once did i feel nervous going up those glorious roads to GrossGlockner. Well done Roland. Many Thanks for a great Holiday.

Review by Mrs L Reed on 20 September 2013

We had a lovely time on this holiday.The weather could not have been better and the hotels in Salzburg and Kaprun were very good, with interesting meals and pleasant staff. Hans the tour manager kept us well informed but also gave us plenty of time to do whatever we wanted which is a balance we liked. The scenery was just great. Our first time with Riviera but already we are thinking about booking for next year,maybe to Spain. A very nice experience all round.

Review by Tom&Tina; Morton on 21 September 2013

Many thanks to Hans our tour guide for his help, information and tact in dealing with a most ignorant couple who seemed to think the tour was for their sole pleasure. Excellent food, accommodation and travel arrangements. Perhaps leaving the hotel a little earlier for the return journey to Munich would have allowed for the inevitable road works. Many thanks to all concerned.

Review by Jim Cheers on 30 May 2014

What a great holiday.  Excellent hotels with a great variation of day trips at a realistic pace, gave us a good overview of this beautiful country.
Salzburg was a revelation, and Kaprun was how we imagined an Austrian mountain town to be.
Superbly organized by our fantastic Tour Manager Hans Pearson; the best we have ever had with any tour company!
Roland also was excellent and never once made us feel nervous with his driving!!
All in all a brilliant tour with a great crowd of fellow travelers made perfect with the weather in both Salzburg & Kaprun.

Review by Neville & Barbara Chapman on 17 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from your trip to “Lakes and Mountains of Austria”. This trip was the third we have had with your company.
I was delighted with the old hotel, the Stadtkrug in Salzburg. It is a lovely old building that has a very friendly atmosphere. All the staff were friendly, polite and helpful.
Moving on to the hotel Das Alpenhaus in Kaprun, this also was delightful. There are many good views of the mountains from the modern hotel.
“Hans” the Tour Director was very good. He was on time, got the day’s programme well and truly organised, unfailingly, helpful and supportive.
We shall be happy to view the “Escorted Tours” you have organised for the next year, and look forward to holidaying with you again.

Review by Margaret and Peter Statham on 27 June 2014

We took the Lakes and Mountains of Austria trip at the beginning of June and can thoroughly recommend this tour.  We had three nights in Satlzburg at a lovely old and family run hotel.  The food was excellent and the family so friendly, they got to know what drinks we liked.  The tour of Saltzburg was very interesting and we saw some amazing scenery on our day in the Lake District.

We moved to Kaprun, up in the mountains to a second lovely hotel.  There was snow on the mountain tops behind the hotel and we could hear the cuckoo in the woods behind as well as the cow bells.  The trips to the Krimml waterfall and to the Grossglockner were outstanding.  The additional facility of a beautifully clean and well equipped spa, at this hotel was very useful as the two free days at Kaprun happened to be a Sunday and Bank holiday when the village was closed.

The services of Jan the courier were attentive without being overpowering and Roland, our driver for the whole tour, could not have been bettered.  Roland even found a herd of Ibex for us to photograph!!

Warning, there is quite a bit of walking on this tour so it is not for the less able and if the weather is hot, as it was for us, there is no air conditioning in the hotels.  Otherwise we could recommend this tour to anyone and will certainly be using Riviera travel again.

Review by Alan and Jan Phillips on 1 July 2014

We have just returned from the Austrian lakes having had a wonderful holiday. The 2 hotels, although very different were superb in their own right. Clean and serving excellent food. We were lucky enough to hit Salzburg when a two day music festival was happening, it was like Glastonbury without the mud! The staff at both the hotels and of course Mark, our courier and Roland the driver were excellent, professional as well as knowledgeable and good company. The whole Riviera team were very helpful and kind especially as I had the misfortune to break a leg a few weeks prior to travel and arranged extra assistance and suitable seats on the plane. We are off to Victoria falls in November and are already looking forward to our next Riviera experience.

Review by Andrea Webster on 9 July 2014

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.