[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

Our tour began at Sarlat, at the Hotel Le Relais which was excellent. The staff were attentive and maitre Patric very good. Our guide Steve was the very best I have ever encountered, patient and knowledgeable and always in control. The tour was magnificent and everywhere we went there was something for everybody. Our driver Nancy was careful and accurate on difficult parking spots and our transfers were without incident, we spent our last few days within the old City of Carcassonne which was very agreeable.

This was without doubt the best trip I have done ever and you should be congratulated , I highly recommend this tour!

Review by: James Quick on 24/09/2018

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

My wife and I are well travelled, but this was our first Riviera holiday. It was amazing - both hotels were very comfortable and the visits full of interest. Particularly impressive were the cathedrals at Albi and Carcassonne, but we were taken to numerous other delightful spots including Rocamador and Domme. Our Riviera guide, Fiona, was very efficient and caring and full of information. We shall certainly travel with Riviera again

Review by: paul stonham on 30/09/2018

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

My wife and I are well-travelled, and this was our first Riviera Travel holiday. It was amazing. The itineraries were well thought-out, visiting the best of the Périgord (Dordogne) region, such as the Cathedral at Albi, the Citadel at Carcassonne and the Chateau at Beynac, and pretty towns like Domme and Roquebrune among others - trips you would find it hard to organise yourself..The hotels were very good - comfortable and good food.

Out Riviera guide, Fiona, was out of the top drawer - highly efficient, informed and amusing.. Great value for money. Incidentally, out of a group

of 51, we only heard complimentary comments on all aspects of the trip.

Well done, Riviera Travel

Review by: Paul Stonham on 23/09/2018

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

Another wonderful holiday enjoyed with Riviera.

The room, food, staff, facilities and grounds at The Relais de Moussidiere Hotel were excellent.

We were a little disappointed with the breakfast on the first day at the Donjon Hotel in Carcassonne, after the stay at the Moussidiere, but the evening meal made up for that and couldn't be faulted. Again our room was really nice, placed a little way from the main hotel, but that did not detract from our enjoyment.

Our tour guide Bernardette and our coach driver Cedric were excellent, they couldn't be praised highly enough. Cedric with his wonderful skills to place the coach in some very difficult places, we all felt very safe.

Bernadette was the epitome of a real professional with her knowledge of every place we visited. Her wonderful stories she regaled us with together her humorous anecdotes made the holiday a real treat.

Will be travelling again with Riviera soon

Review by: William Thompson on 31/08/2018

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

Dordogne, Albi and Carcassonne was an excellent holiday. Highlights were the hotel in Salat with its lovely grounds and very friendly staff, the Cathedral at Albi and the towns of the Dordogne. Would recommend the trip.

This is our eleventh Riviera trip, we have had previously to this trip, ten excellent tour managers and i am sure that our our manager in Venice in September will be of the usual high standard.

Review by: PG CHAPMAN on 03/07/2018

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

We very much enjoyed this holiday in a very attractive part of France with a friendly group of people. This family run hotel La Moussidiere in Sarlat was delightful in every respect -friendly, good food , excellent service, swimming pool . Situated in the countryside but five minutes walk from a supermarket and only ten/fifteen minutes walk down the hill to the lovely town of Sarlat or a quick taxi ride. Excellent service - they could not have done more for us. Very good food. We would certainly like to stay there again. From Sarlat we were taken out every day to some interesting places. It was the only holiday that we could find which included so much in a week. We travelled to Carcassonne where we stayed at the Mercure Hotel which is a few minutes walk from the medieval city. A small room but clean. Has a pool. We had to find our own evening meal for two nights and we chose to eat at the hotel. Large portions and ate outside looking onto the gardens. We had a day trip to Albi, possibly not so well known with British visitors, but not to be missed with its fascinating buildings and cathedral. We were able to visit the Toulouse Lautrec exhibition. Cedric, our driver, was excellent, the coach was comfortable and Bernadette, our friendly and helpful guide gave us lots of information. She knows a lot about the area and is a fluent French speaker. What was good is that we were given options so as long as we were at the coach at a certain time and place we did not have to follow everybody. We were also pleased with the guides we had a Carcassonne and Albi. This was our first trip with Riviera Travel and we have already booked another, this time a river cruise. We also thought it was a sensible idea to have the guide take us right to the check in desk and see us through. Normally with other operators once the luggage is offloaded we don't see them any more.

Review by: susan walker on 03/07/2018

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

Thank you Riviera Travel for yet again a wonderful holiday which surpassed our expectations. The Dordogne is so beautiful and the hotel La Moussidiere is a hidden gem. We visited the most amazing villages and Chateaus plus caves all with so much history attached. Carcassonne was magical we loved every moment.

All this would not have been possible without our guide Sue and driver Dede who were first class and nothing was to much trouble for them, thank you both. Thanks also to our fellow travellers for making it so much fun. We look forward to our next holiday with Riviera Travel

Review by: Derek and Pauline Bartle on 25/06/2018

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

Have just returned from the tour of the Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne.

We thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the Hotel in Sarlet. Beautiful room, quiet and peaceful. The pool was a real delight. It felt as though we were miles from anywhere.

The Hotel Mercure was great for its position & we had been spoilt by the lovely hotel in Sarlet, but it was clean, bedrooms were much smaller, but the upside was we were just 10 mins from the

the medieval town. We saw the fort lit up in the evening

Our guide Sue was absolutely marvellous, lots of information but not overkill. A brilliant sense of humour, kindness and caring. The best guide/ representative my husband and I have experienced. Would almost choose a trip knowing she was the guide.

Our Driver Dai Dai (not sure I’ve spelt it correctly) was such a good driver, we never felt one moment of anxiety, and he was jolly and thoughtful to us all.

We had one hiccup on the tour, (not preventable) but it was managed brilliantly, which I think shows the professionalism of our guide and driver.

The places visited were wonderful, we were lucky to have wonderful weather.

Thoroughly satisfied with the trip. It was our first experience of Riviera and we are very impressed with the company. We will I’m sure, be looking for another trip soon & I would have no hesitation in recommending the company.

Review by: Sue Hall on 25/06/2018

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

I returned yesterday from your trip to Dordogne, Albi and Carcassonne leaving Gatwick last Monday. I wish to say that my friend and I had a wonderful time and very much thanks to the guide - Bernadette who was excellent. She sorted out any problems, give very good informative information. An excellent tour guide and I will use your company again in hope that she is the lead person.

Regards and thanks

Review by: Danielle Tournes on 16/04/2018

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

This was one of our most enjoyable tours. After a wet first morning in Sarlat the weather was lovely for the rest of the tour. Everywhere we visited, all the breath taking sights and all the other activities were well worthwhile and we never felt as though we were killing time. The hotel in Sarlat is beautifully situated and, in addition to being a very adequate base for a tour, would make a fine retreat for anyone wishing to find peace and tranquillity. The best feature of the Mercure in Carcassonne is its location, other than this it is pretty basic and three nights there was more than enough. As for the tour manager, David Baldry, I can only endorse all the comments made in other testimonials. He was excellent and his management and organisation throughout made an immense and invaluable contribution to the success of this tour.

Review by: Peter Baldwin on 02/10/2017

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

This was a good tour apart from the flight on Ryanair which was an experience not to be repeated any time soon. The landing was horrendous and had everyone hanging on to the back of the seat in front. The same with the return landing. I suppose we should be grateful that it was not cancelled. In spite of this we had a fantastic time. However the journey from Carcassonne to our hotel in Sarlat took 4 hours by coach. If we had flown to Toulouse it would have been only 3

hrs and maybe we would not have had to suffer Ryanair. The hotel at Sarlat was wonderful, with massive rooms, great food and a pool.

Review by: Great Trip on 18/09/2017

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

Just returned from a wonderful tour of the Dordogne. Hotel accommodation, destinations, tours of the region and especially our tour manager Steve surpassed all expectations. Such a lot of interesting things squeezed into a week and especially enjoyed the steam train trip through such beautiful scenery (which is actually highlighted in an 1895 Baedeker guide book). Other unexpected treats included a visit to a brocante in Castres and the Toulouse-Lautrec Museum in Albi Superb!

Review by: Stanley and Norma Roth on 21/08/2017

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne

This was a hugely enjoyable holiday from beginning to end. The Jet2 flight was comfortable and staff professional and friendly. Steve, our Tour Manager, contributed a great deal to the success of the holiday. He was informative, friendly, approachable and professional. The first hotel, Relais de Moussidiere was beautiful and the grounds a pleasure to stroll in. Our room was well appointed and the beds comfortable. The staff were friendly and food excellent. It was a wrench to leave. The Mercure hotel at Carcassonne was of a lower standard, but our room was clean and perfectly adequate for a 3 night stay. The staff were friendly and the selection of breakfast food was excellent. All our daily visits ran smoothly and we were given enough information and literature about each place for us to decide what we wanted to do. All the extra location guides were informative and enthusiastic. My only gripe is that I would have liked more time in Domme and less time in Roque-Gageac. I would highly recommend this holiday.

Review by: Mrs Delia Forster-Cooper on 21/08/2017

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

We have just returned from our trip and would like especially like to single out for praise our first hotel Relais De Moussidiere , beautifully situated and the staff would excellent , attentive and smiling!

Our guide Steve was also tireless in assisting and informing us all. Dede our coach driver was brilliant sorting out a mechanical problem and got us on our way when we had to stop in Cahors.

We enjoyed the whole trip and thought it well balanced in content. We had heard that a change has been muted staying longer in either Cahors or Albi making Carcassonne a day trip, this would be a mistake as the later has so much to offer and is magical after dark.

We have had several trips with you over the years and have never been disappointed.

Review by: Angela and Geoff Lory on 05/06/2017

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

My husband and I have just returned from this fantastic tour. The hotels were great offering delicious food especially at breakfast. The itinerary was perfect. We travelled to beautiful towns and passed through wonderful scenery. We had a number of guided tours but then had time to explore for ourselves. The people on the tour were so sociable and mixed so well. However, we must mention the tour representative, Steve, who was excellent. He gave us all the essential information eg toilets, cafes, meeting times etc but also talked about the visit eg history, places to explore. He ensured that every individual was treated in the same professional, sensitive and cheerful manner and showed a sincere wish to deliver a wonderful holiday to all of us . The driver, Dede, was also excellent, driving a large coach carefully along the narrow and sometimes winding roads.

Review by: Jean & Stuart Bean on 05/06/2017

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Sarlat, Albi and Carcassone. The hotels used were excellent providing good and varied food and comfortable accommodation. The itinerary was varied and interesting. However what really made the holiday so successful was our tour guide Steve. He was so organised,thoughtful and kind. My husband has mobility difficulties and thanks to Steve this was not a problem. He foresaw any problems my husband may have encountered and made arrangements accordingly. We felt he was a great asset to your company.

Review by: Patricia Prosser on 08/05/2017

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

A very well-planned tour with an extremely engaging Tour Leader, Steve, excellent drivers (Dede & Cedric), good hotels and a first-rate balance between guided tours and free time. The friend with whom I travelled and I are already thinking about next year! Thank you very much.

Review by: Margaret Birch on 08/05/2017

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

We enjoyed this tour very much indeed, with everything as expected from our previous holiday with Riviera. No problems and the courier Bernadette was very likeable, worked very hard and did an extremely good job. The assistance requested for Jo was as required at both airports and effective.Thank you and best wishes

Review by: Mike and Jo Collins on 14/10/2016

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

Just a very quick note to say how much we enjoyed the above tour. We have been with Riviera before but this trip exceeded our wildest expectations with everything coming together to make a truly wonderful holiday. Sue, your tour manager was excellent throughout, and we can assure you that last Sunday morning there were 21 very satisfied customers on the train trip home.

Review by: John and Sue Wildig on 11/10/2016

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

Just writing to say how much I enjoyed my recent trip to the Dordogne, Albi and Carcassonne. It was a wonderful introduction to this, for me, hitherto unknown region.

Our Tour Manager, Steve, was really great - a perfect balance of the professional and the friendly. He so obviously loves the area and was happy to share his knowledge with us without our feeling that we were being lectured to! Please convey my thanks, as we didn’t get the chance at Montpellier to say ‘au revoir’, wish him all the best for whatever the future might bring and…‘happy drifting’!

Review by: Jill Dixon on 28/09/2016

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

I and a friend have just returned from 1st September to 8th September tour. We travelled by Eurostar and train and found it worked very easily as we boarded and returned by Ebbsfleet. The trip was excellent and both hotels we stayed were very good. Steve and Bernard dealt with everything on trip with good humour and were very efficient. A credit to Riveria!! Steve the guide was amusing,informative, and charming,

and his anecdotes describing life in Dordogne gave an extra twist to the holiday. I am sure if I decide to travel with Riviera again the same standards which be forthcoming.

Review by: Olwen O’dowd on 21/09/2016

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

Just a quick note in praise of Steve, your rep for our Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour. He couldn’t have been more helpful, and went that extra mile for everyone, He’s a terrific ambassador for your company.

Review by: Aidan Browne on 21/09/2016

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

A great tour. A busy schedule but quite relaxing too. The towns and villages were lovely and the caves at Lascaux and the view from the castle at Beynac were amazing. Hotels were clean and comfortable and meals were good. Sue our guide was great and our driver was very careful. Overall a good mix of things to see and do.

Review by: Ray & Linda Wilson on 21/09/2016

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

Many thanks for another fascinating tour. Our tour manager David was excellent. As well as being highly professional and knowledgeable he was also very committed to the wellbeing of the group. This was a tremendously varied tour ranging from the delights of the Dordogne to the medieval towns of Carcassonne and Albi. We particularly enjoyed the tour of Beynac, Marquessac and la Roque -Gageac including the boat trip. The steam train trip was also great fun! Albi is a hidden gem with its beautiful cathedral. The hotel in Sarlat was very unusual and characterful! In Carcassonne the Mercure was ideally situated and just 5 minutes walk from the Cite Medievale. All in all a very enjoyable trip. Please pass on our best wishes to David and also to Dede our coach driver .

Review by: Ken and Claire Price on 20/09/2016

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

The overall tour was fantastic, every excursion was both unmissable and unforgettable. Bernard our driver was cheerful, capable and very friendly, it was great to hear his enthusiastic farewells at the end of the days proceedings. David, our tour manager was a great asset of your company, and he went out of his way to make sure we got through the busy itinerary, and kept us all amused with his jokes and anecdotes, I think he relax about pleasing everyone regarding seating people at dinner times, people will work this out for themselves. So nice that everyone on the tour gelled so well, and everyone was on good terms.

The hotels were very nice, especially the Relais de Moussidiere at Sarlat, the rooms were large and well appointed, the food very nice (loved the cheese course), and the staff were great and friendly. It was like staying with friends, and the public areas were stylish and designed for comfort. I had a tear in my eye when we had to say goodbye. The Mercure at Carcassonne was good too, however we were given Premier rooms, for some reason, which were large and comfortable, others weren’t so keen on the standard rooms, the breakfasts and the one dinner we took here were very enjoyable.

Our times in the Dordogne, were fun, beautiful and also so memorable, every stop just added to the experience, and visits here varied and unique. The evening we arrived in Carcassonne we were able to walk around the illuminated streets which gave it a fairytale aspect. I was surprised how much we loved Albi, which although a long drive, was beautiful especially along the by the river. The highlight was the walled town of Carcassonne, which has so many depths, the more you explore it.

The only niggles we had was the late flight, making the 3 hour journey to Sarlat hard, but then we almost had another day to spend in Carcassonne. Also the had 3 nights in a row where we had to rush into dinner, the first was the fault of the Noddy train, that transported us from the village of Domme to the car park not being able to take us back until 6pm, the second day was due the coach overheating, and having to drive slowly to Carcassonne, and the last was due to the distance of Albi, which we wouldn’t have noticed had it not been due to the previous days.

All in all, we wouldn’t change a thing, a really great holiday!

Review by: Simon & Paul on 18/09/2016

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

Our enjoyable tour of the Dordogne this September was made even better by our excellent tour guide, Steve. He anticipated our every need and was always available to help us . His commentaries were informative and amusing. He took into account that most of our group, being older, needed to go at a more leisurely pace on the guided walking tours. This he did by recourse to “drifting” at a slow walking pace which he obviously knew would suit us. Thanks Steve.

Review by: Margaret McDonald on 15/09/2016

Dordogne, Albi & Carcassonne Tour

Having just returned from our Dordogne tour, I just had to say that this holiday was just amazing in every way. The hotels were a joy - clean, quiet, perfectly staffed, and the organisation was brilliant. Your office staff are obliging, and the tour guide David Baldry - well, a more attentive, courteous, amusing, and clever expert would be hard to find. Many thanks to all concerned. Please pass on our thanks to David. Until the next time….

Review by: Steve & Trish Legg on 14/09/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.