[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Cruise the Heart of Europe

Where do we start in praise of Riviera? This was our third tour and we can't wait to book a fourth . From the outset our Heart of Europe River Cruise had everything....superbly appointed comfortable cabins and suites, meticulously clean throughout the ship. Variety of high quality food with outstanding service in restaurant and Bistro. As for the Riviera guides, we have without exception found them to be efficient, friendly ,helpful and knowledgeable providing interesting and informative tours often linked with local guides. Due to unprecedented low water levels our cruise was beset with problems yet Riviera continued to provide an excellent service with a transfer to a lighter ship, coach travel to additional places of interest where water levels prevented our docking. We could not have enjoyed a more wonderful cruise had the Rivers been in full torrent! We cannot praise this company highly enough and can recommend them without reservation.

Review by: Mags and Stuart Long on 29/10/2018

Cruise the Heart of Europe

We have just returned from our fantastic river cruise through the heart of Europe on the Emily Bronte and MS Treasures. We had to change ships halfway through the cruise due to the low water levels. We did not however miss any of our tours and even had extra. We were kept informed throughout the cruise by our wonderful Cruise Director Leslie who told us exactly what was going on and didn't keep anything from us. The crew on both ships were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. I will definitely be recommending Riviera to my friends. Well done to everyone involved and for making this a holiday never to forget.

Review by: Marilyn Martin on 29/10/2018

Cruise the Heart of Europe

Just completed the 2 week Heart of Europe cruise on Oscar Wilde with my wife. We found the whole experience wonderful. The boat was magnificient and the crew could not do too much for us. The food was wonderful, the boat was spotless and Tim and Peter the tour director and guide were impressive and hilarious at times. Our special thanks to Silvaya our table waitress who made the cruise extra special, her attention to details, prompt service and wonderful dry sense of humor when dealing with out constant teasing was lovely. A wonderful trip which was perfect. Complaints - none but suggest that Riviera look at the airlines they use and introduce more regional departures.

Review by: Ian Grant on 19/07/2018

Cruise the Heart of Europe

As previous ocean cruisers this was our first river cruise. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and have nothing but praise for the ship itself, the delightful crew and wonderful captain who guided the boat through dangerously low water levels allowing us to reach our final destination, Budapest. The last boat to do so!

Congratulations too to the two Riviera reps Tim and Peter who make a great team and certainly made our holiday so memorable. There are not many travel reps who would wait at the airport making sure each and every passenger was correctly checked in with their baggage.!

A great holiday.

Review by: Carol on 19/07/2018

Cruise the Heart of Europe

Riviera travel exceeded our expectations. The organisation was exemplary, the ship outstanding, the itinerary superb and the overall experienced left nothing whatsoever to criticise.

We have cruised (both sea and river) many times, with different operators, but this was definitely the best yet.

The passengers were also enjoyable, with not a baseball cap in sight!

We will assuredly travel with Riviera again.

Review by: G J Minett on 15/08/2017

Cruise the Heart of Europe

Having just returned from a river cruise aboard the Emily Bronte, I feel compelled to let you know that we were absolutely delighted with every aspect of the holiday. The accommodation was superb, and the whole ship's crew quite splendid. The Riviera representatives on board, cruise director Leslie and tour manager Inken, were fantastic and it was hard to believe it was their first time working together. We have travelled with Riviera a number of times, and always rated you excellent, but this holiday was quite exceptional. We look forward to travelling with you again soon.

Review by: Peter & Valerie Boon on 15/08/2017

Cruise the Heart of Europe

Sailed from Budapest to Cologne on MS William Shakespeare at end of July 2017.

Our first ever cruise and it was really good. The ship, the service (under "hotel manager" Christian) and the food (under head chef Gabi) were all exceptional. There was enough food choices that there was always something for everyone, including fussy eaters.

The lounge was really relaxed and with panoramic views out, with free tea/coffee and biscuits. The evening background music man (Petr) was great. Luckily for me there is no dancing or Karaoke stuff aboard, just pleasant and interesting company !

The group of about 140 were all British and typical of any Riviera escorted holiday. The itinerary, is a decent compromise between sailing through great scenery, brief shore visits and sailing at night. Sailing through the Wachau Valley at 5 am (I got up on deck at 6-30 hoping to see it but the captain sailed earlier than the schedule had indicated) was a major issue which must change.

Also we could have had a longer day in Nurnberg and were late into Mainz. Most people missed seeing Cologne Cathedral, surely on many "to see" lists, depending on the timing of their coach to the airport. You got to see the great Rhine valley, wonderfully charming small German towns and a taster (only) of Budapest, Bratislava and Vienna.

The main sun deck is closed for the middle 7 days due to low bridges. The two Riviera reps on board were very nice and dealt with shore excursions but most dealings were with the ship's crew (mainly Romanian) who were great.

Best to go when there is long hours of daylight in high summer - and best to book a cabin away from the back of the ship because the engines can be very noisy. Don't go higher than rooms 222 / 322 if you want real quietness. We had 329 and it was not good at all. I couldn't see any benefit of being on the upper deck compared with the middle deck. I have got to give the trip 5 stars.

Review by: Gordon Stewart on 27/07/2017

Cruise the Heart of Europe

What can you say about Cruise the Heart of Europe on the Jane Austen other than 1ST CLASS PERFECTION. It all started with our arrival at Budapest Airport to our day of departure. We must say a really big THANK YOU to all the crew on board who went out of their way to be of help. The comedy show they put on one evening was hilarious.

Thanks too, to Christine and Thomas, our tour managers, they looked after us so well, and the information they provided was excellent. The restaurant staff were outstanding, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was absolutely delicious and presented so well, thank you to the chef and his staff. The cleanliness of the ship was excellent. We cannot praise this cruise enough, too much to say about it in one testimonial, we could go on forever. A big thank you also to all the office staff for all their arranging. Roll on next year for another cruise.

Review by: Teresa and David Shenton on 13/07/2017

Cruise the Heart of Europe

I have just returned from this trip and have nothing but praise. The ship was first class and always spotless. The food was of the highest quality and the overall service on the ship was first class. The humour of the crew was greatly appreciated by passengers. The crew did everything possible to make the holiday a memorable experience. The cruise directors were excellent and the organisation of the whole trip was first class. The guides for trips ashore were also of the highest calibre. I thoroughly recommend Riviera for coach trips and cruises.

Review by: Sandra Green on 13/07/2017

Cruise the Heart of Europe

Our first river cruise and we enjoyed it very much. The crew were very friendly and Tomas and Eric the Riviera staff very knowledgeable . The only downside of this 15 day cruise was the 5/6 days that the Main Sundeck was closed due to the low bridges. We think this should have been mentioned in the brochure. Other than that, the food, guided tours and accommodation on the boat was excellent .

Review by: Lorraine & Mel Yewer on 29/06/2017

Cruise the Heart of Europe

We have recently returned from this 15 day trip, and it was magnificent. There is NOTHING we could fault at any time, the food was superb, all of the staff worked cheerfully and tirelessly for the passengers, and the ship was always immaculate. There was a slight hitch with a faulty wheelhouse, but this did not impair our holiday in any way, and we were kept informed at all times as to the progress of the repair. Altogether a marvellous experience.

Review by: Bernadette fletcher on 27/04/2017

Cruise The Heart Of Europe

Have just returned from the above cruise. The whole experience was truly outstanding in every respect. The ship was absolutely beautiful, all of the staff on board were really professional and incredibly pleasant, the service was exceptional and all of the meals were of the very highest quality. The itinerary for the whole cruise was well thought out and catered very well for everyone onboard and the comments from everyone we spoke to agreed with us that this was a cruise of the very very highest standard. We can think of no other superlatives other than to say that the whole cruise was absolutely World Class. Best Holiday Ever. Scylla AG are to be highly commended on their standards

Special mention for Leslie Ringwald, cruise director who was also very professional and dealt with a couple of emergencies in an extremely competent manner. Well done to him.

Review by: John Smith on 13/05/2016

Cruise The Heart Of Europe

We had a fantastic time. Excellent itinerary. The ship was great too, the highest standard. The cruise director was poor with too little information given, but this did not spoil our experience. Would strongly recommend Riviera.

Review by: JL on 26/07/2016

Cruise The Heart Of Europe

We thoroughly enjoyed our first River Cruise on board the William Shakespeare. The ship was excellent as were all of the crew who contributed so much to making our trip so memorable. Andras and Eric the cruise director and manager made a great team and are a credit to Riviera Travel. Thank you.

Review by: Christine Pritchard on 21/08/2016

Cruise The Heart Of Europe

We have just returned from this cruise which we thoroughly enjoyed. In fact it was one the best holidays we have had.

The crew provided first rate service and were cheerful and helpful at all times and the Crew Show organised and compared by Rudi the Hotel Manager was hilarious. The food was five star and the itinerary well planned with plenty of shore visits with local guides or lead by the Cruise Manager Leslie and his assistant Eric. We would particularly wish to commend Leslie for his great work. Nothing was too much trouble and he showed a level of care for us passengers that was exceptional. We will be travelling with Riviera again

Review by: Shirley and Peter Burling on 02/09/2016

Cruise The Heart Of Europe

We booked this cruise to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and we had a wonderful time. The boat was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, it was obvious the crew took pride in their boat.

The Riviera tour managers Cassie and Angie were well organised, knew their stuff and we’re happy to answer any questions. They did well looking after us and making sure we knew what was happening. The towns and cities we visited were beautiful and the cruise gave us a taste of places we would like to spend more time in.

The food was incredible and there was plenty of it. Dinning was a lovely relaxed affair. Did I say the food was incredible?

We were the youngest passengers by a few years but the company was amazing we had a lot of fun with the people we met.

Last and definitely not least was the staff, they made our holiday, nothing was to much for them. All the staff very friendly, courteous and always smiling.

We will be back, soon.

Review by: Lynzie Kealey on 16/09/2016

Cruise The Heart Of Europe

Excellent holiday, great ship, great crew and made some great new friends. Cruise itinerary was very good and the crew did an excellent job maintaining the schedule (impressive when you realise 64 locks over the duration of the cruise through some very busy waterways). Handy hint take some bigger waist trousers the food is brilliant and you will want to eat it all. To quote Big Arnie “I’ll be Back”

Review by: Derek Kealey on 17/09/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.