[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Classic Greece

This was my first Riviera Travel experience and I can say that it was wholly positive. The weather was a trifle hot but the company was excellent and Maria, our tour manager, was excellent. She was compassionate, intuitive and great company. Our individual local guides were of the highest calibre and knew their subjects comprehensively - thus adding immensely to the tour. I managed to do most of the walking but found some bits too hard.

Review by: Carole Graham on 29/06/2018

Classic Greece

Our tour manager, Maria, was excellent and looked after each person on our tour of Classic Greece. Her interactions with all were professional yet caring and she went out of her way to make sure that wherever we were there was shade and or seats for her party. I cannot stand for long yet managed to see and especially hear [via Whisper] everything that our very knowledgeable guides imparted. I cannot praise the whole tour enough and thoroughly enjoyed the camaraderie, the recalcitrants at the back of the bus and the way everyone mixed whether at dinner or at the sites.

Review by: Carole Graham on 29/06/2018

Classic Greece

Dear Riviera

My husband & I returned from this tour last Friday & enjoyed it so much, we wanted to write to tell you.

On this tour, our guide, Maria, was fantastic, was friendly, very organised & nothing was too much trouble. Consequently a good holiday became excellent.

This was our second holiday with Riviera, we went on the Classical Spain tour last September & enjoyed it so much, we then booked Greece

I hope our next holiday, Monet’s Garden, from 14 June will also have an excellent guide, as they do make the holiday.

Review by: Malcolm & Judi on 27/04/2018

Classic Greece

Thank you for another fabulous holiday. We were well looked after by Jeff, who entertained us on the coach journeys with his historical knowledge and also experience as a resident of Greece. He dealt efficiently with entrance tickets, hotel check in and also checking us in for our flight home - thank you! Our driver Michaelis did an outstanding job. We especially enjoyed the visits to Delphi and to Olympia. All the local guides were excellent, as were the hotels, each very different but provided everything we needed. Breakfast was good in all hotels and the views from our balcony in Nafplion breathtaking. Our fellow travellers were very good company. We would highly recommend this holiday.

Review by: Jennifer Wills on 13/04/2018

Classic Greece

For us a wonderful first visit to Greece where we learned so much about classical and modern Greece thanks to the excellent guides at each site - but above all thanks to Maria our accompanying Riviera tour guide. She did all the organising and thinking ahead while we just relaxed into appreciating classical Greece. She was knowledgable, humorous, responsive and forever positive. Our hotels were all excellent . Travel - and it was very hot- was in the afternoons, so visiting sites was in mornings when we were at our most energetic! Be prepared for early starts - the advantage is that we were often first in museums and sites. Michaelis our driver was skilled and ready to 'go the extra mile'. We always felt safe. The cruise to Hydra was a highlight , since I am a Leonard Cohen fan - Maria researched it for me so that I found his house and had an ouzo in his favourite bar!

Review by: Margaret Blatchford on 08/09/2017

Classic Greece

This was another excellent tour with a well planned itinerary and very experienced and knowledgeable tour manager Maria. The hotel in Olympia was particularly good with excellent rooms, buffet breakfast and outdoor taverna. I would certainly recommend this tour for anyone interested in Ancient Greece.

Review by: Philip Reynolds on 08/09/2017

Classic Greece Tour

We cannot express our thanks adequately for this absolutely wonderful holiday. Everything was first rate, the hotels, the guides to the sites, the coach travel and particularly we would like to thank the tour leader, Jeff, for making the tour so memorable. His knowledge of Greece was phenomenal & his anecdotes kept us amused while travelling between sites. He was very professional and helpful & gave over 100% to ensure we got the best experience possible. This tour is to be highly recommended and excellent value for money. The highlight for us was the time spent at Delphi - very atmospheric.

Review by: Richard Greenwood on 21/04/2017

Classic Greece Tour

Classic Greece, our second Riviera Tour was superb. Jeff our Tour Manager was excellent, adding stories and information which both informed our experience and enlivened the coach journeys. Ever helpful when asked, with ideas and suggestions for our unstructured hours and dinner venues. We had total confidence in Michael the driver, unfazed by bringing the coach into some exceedingly narrow streets, always on time and so efficient and helpful.

The choice of Hotels was superb and the dinner in Delphi was a highlight. All the Guides were good and set us up well for our 'free time' at the sites. Especial praise for the Delphi Guide who got the balance of information just right. Our Free day in Nafplio was extremely well filled by the cruise to the islands of Idra and Spteses. brilliant weather and calm seas and great company with about half the group. Jeff also so helpful with organising the booking in for the flight home. We will certainly holiday with Riviera again.

Review by: Mark and Ruth Tiddy on 07/04/2017

Classic Greece Tour

My wife and I returned last Friday from Greece having been on your Classic Greece Tour and I must say it was one of the best holidays/tours we have ever been on.

The purpose of the holiday was to see the classical sites in Greece and these far exceeded our expectations and together with the local guides you employed gave us a wonderful experience we will never forget.

Thanks must be given to your team at head office for arranging such a wonderful itinerary so that nothing was missed and the hotels were perfectly situated for the sites to be seen. Naphlion was the perfect location for a breather and the hotel was in a perfect spot in the town with wonderful views of the gulf from the bedroom window.

A special thanks must be given to Anton, our Tour Manager in Greece, as he was a joy to be with and took us on little jaunts, that were not included in the itinerary, to give us a greater understanding of each area we visited together with an insight into the Greek way of living. We hope we meet up with him again on another tour.

Our thanks again for such a wonderful holiday and now we are looking forward to our next trip with you to Aix-en- Provence in September of this year.

Review by: Christopher MacKellar on 17/03/2017

Classic Greece Tour

This is to say I have just returned from Classic Greece tour this Friday. We had a most excellent holiday and although it was very busy, the week was so well organised, We saw some wonderful sites, the hotels were very good and our tour guide Jeff was very pleasant and looked after us so well. Thank you.

Review by: Patricia Kemsley on 28/09/2016

Classic Greece Tour

Just short note to say a big thank - you for the most enjoyable time we had with Riviera last week. This was our fifth holiday with you and, possibly, the best. Please pass on thanks to the coach driver and to our excellent tour guide, Anton , whose knowledge and professionalism contributed so much to our enjoyment.

Regards

Review by: John and Sue Lewis and Geraint and Merril Davies on 03/06/2016

Classic Greece Tour

A wonderful holiday with so much of interest to see {and not too much driving} The hotels were all excellent the sites visited were well chosen and the site guides knowledgeable without saying too much. The leader Anton worked so hard to make the trip a great success. I would quite like to do it again

Review by: james and glenys henderson on 30/05/2016

Classic Greece Tour

We are back from our holiday in Greece and had a wonderful time.

The hotels were good and very well situated. As soon as we arrived the keys were efficiently handed out and we could occupy the bedrooms immediately. Jeff was a five star guide and organiser. He was always available, did his job conscientiously and made sure that everything ran smoothly. Kosta our driver was very good. Please pass on our comments to your Greek agent.

This was our first trip with Riviera and certainly not the last one.

Thank you very much.

Review by: Marie-Madeleine and Graham Scott on 13/05/2016

Classic Greece Tour

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday to see the sights of Ancient Greece. We had plenty of time to explore Athens and could see the Parthenon from our hotel balcony. We travelled round the ancient sites with the assistance of our courier, who was patient, polite, friendly and even gave the whole coach his recipe for Mousakka! The hotels were brilliant, the scenery breathtaking and the Greeks were so friendly.

Review by: Mrs P Willis on 21/10/2010

Classic Greece Tour

This was our first tour with Riviera and we were not disappointed. The itinerary was well thought out and allowed us to see all the important sights with qualified guides, there was enough free time to enable us to rest in between. Our tour manager, Bridget was exceptionally good, always unflappable and informative. All hotels were of a high standard and could not faulted in any major way. Looking forward to more guided tours with Riviera.

Review by: Michael Davis on 22/04/2013

Classic Greece Tour

We thought that Classic Spain was good, but Classic Greece turned out to be an exceptional experience. The organisation was faultless. our driver was competent and always on time. Our guide, Anton was calm, patient, knowledgeable, interesting and good company. (He provided a service that was over and above expectation.) They worked together to ensure each day ran smoothly and that we were able to make the most of each day. The local guides were inspirational with their knowledge and enthusiasm as well as their sense of fun. We took advantage of the optional trip to the islands and had a fantastic day; well worth it but it meant we didn’t have the opportunity for a relaxing day during the whole holiday. A extra day in Nafplion would have made the holiday perfect.

Review by: Carol and Nick Colborne Steer on 15/09/2013

Classic Greece Tour

A thoroughly enjoyable and simulating tour. Jaw-dropping history, dramatic mountain scenery, expert local guides - especially Christina and Theo. Nafplion is a charming town for a few nights by the sea and Athens gives an idea of life in today’s Greece.

Review by: The Harveys on 21/10/2016

Classic Greece Tour

A wonderful holiday. We find it hard to imagine a better tour manager than Anton who is extremely well informed and utterly committed to the culture he is introducing. He is calm, kind, very engaging and his unerring sense of judgement and good humour underpin a great tour. We’re really really happy.

Review by: David Gill on 07/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.