If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Classic Greece Tour

A thoroughly enjoyable and simulating tour. Jaw-dropping history, dramatic mountain scenery, expert local guides - especially Christina and Theo. Nafplion is a charming town for a few nights by the sea and Athens gives an idea of life in today’s Greece.

Review by The Harveys on 21 October 2016

A wonderful holiday. We find it hard to imagine a better tour manager than Anton who is extremely well informed and utterly committed to the culture he is introducing. He is calm, kind, very engaging and his unerring sense of judgement and good humour underpin a great tour. We’re really really happy.

Review by David Gill on 7 October 2016

This is to say I have just returned from Classic Greece tour this Friday.  We had a most excellent holiday and although it was very busy, the week was so well organised, We saw some wonderful sites, the hotels were very good and our tour guide Jeff was very pleasant and looked after us so well.  Thank you.

Review by Patricia Kemsley on 28 September 2016

Just short note to say a big thank - you for the most enjoyable time we had with Riviera last week. This was our fifth holiday with you and, possibly, the best. Please pass on thanks to the coach driver and to our excellent tour guide, Anton , whose knowledge and professionalism contributed so much to our enjoyment.

Review by John and Sue Lewis and Geraint and Merril Davies on 3 June 2016

A wonderful holiday with so much of interest to see {and not too much driving} The hotels were all excellent the sites visited were well chosen and the site guides knowledgeable without saying too much. The leader Anton worked so hard to make the trip a great success. I would quite like to do it again

Review by james and glenys henderson on 30 May 2016

We are back from our holiday in Greece and had a wonderful time.
The hotels were good and very well situated. As soon as we arrived the keys were efficiently handed out and we could occupy the bedrooms immediately.  Jeff was a five star guide and organiser.  He was always available, did his job conscientiously and made sure that everything ran smoothly.  Kosta our driver was very good. Please pass on our comments to your Greek agent.
This was our first trip with Riviera and certainly not the last one.
Thank you very much.

Review by Marie-Madeleine and Graham Scott on 13 May 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday to see the sights of Ancient Greece. We had plenty of time to explore Athens and could see the Parthenon from our hotel balcony. We travelled round the ancient sites with the assistance of our courier, who was patient, polite, friendly and even gave the whole coach his recipe for Mousakka! The hotels were brilliant, the scenery breathtaking and the Greeks were so friendly.
Travelled on 04/10/2010

Review by Mrs P Willis on 21 October 2010

This was our first tour with Riviera and we were not disappointed. The itinerary was well thought out and allowed us to see all the important sights with qualified guides, there was enough free time to enable us to rest in between. Our tour manager, Bridget was exceptionally good, always unflappable and informative. All hotels were of a high standard and could not faulted in any major way. Looking forward to more guided tours with Riviera.

Review by Michael Davis on 22 April 2013

We thought that Classic Spain was good, but Classic Greece turned out to be an exceptional experience. The organisation was faultless. our driver was competent and always on time. Our guide, Anton was calm, patient, knowledgeable, interesting and good company. (He provided a service that was over and above expectation.) They worked together to ensure each day ran smoothly and that we were able to make the most of each day. The local guides were inspirational with their knowledge and enthusiasm as well as their sense of fun. We took advantage of the optional trip to the islands and had a fantastic day; well worth it but it meant we didn’t have the opportunity for a relaxing day during the whole holiday. A extra day in Nafplion would have made the holiday perfect.

Review by Carol and Nick Colborne Steer on 15 September 2013

Classic Greece 6th to 13th September 2013. We have just returned from an amazing week in Greece: wonderful weather, excellent hotels, an itinerary that was well thought out to give the week a satisfyingly varied rhythm and (probably the key factor) a tour manager, Anton, who was quite exceptional. He was remarkable for his eloquence in articulating a scholarly range of cultural and culinary knowledge, for his unfailing charm and for his patient preparedness to do whatever was needed to secure the happiness of individuals and of the tour group as a whole.
We cannot praise him too highly.

Review by Michael & Mornie Jones on 17 September 2013

Another excellent Riviera holiday. The planning and organisation was first class. Local guides were interesting and knowledgeable but the jewel in the crown was our tour guide Anton. Nothing phased him. Not even the time we nearly lost one of the party on arrival at Athens airport. Our second holiday with Riviera but certainly not the last.

Review by John and Wendy Lovett on 20 September 2013

Many thanks for a wonderful time in Greece last week!
We both enjoyed the flights with Aegean Airways, the four lovely hotels in various parts of the country, fantastic scenery,  the knowledgeable guides who made everything so interesting and particularly our tour manager Anton’s contribution!
The views from our rooms in Delphi, Olympia and Nafplion were especially memorable and the breakfasts each day were excellent in quality and choice.
Anton was most friendly and most eager to help whenever possible, always going out of his way to make everything work out as smoothly as possible! His calm approach and patience was evident at all times, whilst his knowledge of Greek history was conveyed to us all in an interesting manner, often displaying his good sense of humour!
We are now wondering which Riviera trip to take next!!

Review by ALAN FOSTER on 23 September 2013

Having read a number of reviews already posted about this tour, I find most of what I was going to say already published, so I will fill in little more detail. The tour overall is excellent, and Anton, our tour manager deserves all the praise others have given him. The four hotels are all comfortable, with good friendly service, but I would pick out the one in Nafplion as the best, and for me, the one with the best view. The guides on the site visits were all good, but again I would pick out one, the guide at Delphi, as the best. However, I must add that the guide in Athens deserves a special mention for taking a group of mixed ages and abilities from sea-level to the top of the Acropolis without anyone getting out of breath! She paced the climb by casual (but well-chosen) halts at intervals, delivering information which held our attention, but also allowed the more elderly and unfit amongst us to rest without noticing it. Our driver was professional and steady, and the only gasps of horror were caused by the antics of others on the road. So - what next? Classical Spain I think.

Review by David & Jenny Madden on 25 September 2013

My friend and I have just returned from our ninth Riviera tour - Classical Greece from 11-18 October. From our past experiences we know we can expect a high standard, but I had to write to say how exceptional the service provided by our tour manager, Maria, has been. Her enthusiasm, knowledge, professional manner and genuine concern for the comfort and enjoyment of the party made this a memorable trip. The way she liaised with the also excellent driver to give us additional little stops at places of interest was impressive, and the local guides successfully enhanced our knowledge and appreciation of the historical sites in an interesting way. Christina at Delphi was wonderful!
Some previous tour managers have kept themselves to themselves, but Maria was always there - e.g. in the hotel restaurants, making sure everyone had everything they needed.
This is not a relaxing tour, with the frequent changes of hotel and early starts - but it was clear this was essential to see sites at their best before it got too hot and the huge parties from cruise ships arrived.

Maria is a wonderful ambassador for Riviera and for Greece so please pass on our appreciation and thanks.

Review by Judith El-Nager on 31 October 2013

We have been on many tours in a variety of countries with a variety of companies but the Classical Greece stood out as having the best tour manager and driver of any of them.  Maria and Thomas were a great team and dedicated to ensuring that everybody got the best out of their holiday. Maria went out of her way to look after every member of the group and was described by one member as a “mother hen” and “Sandy Shaw lookalike” – good descriptions.
Having a tour guide who is English but has lived in Greece for 32 years meant that she was easily understood and had vast knowledge of the country – a great ambassador for Riviera and Greece.
The tour was quite busy with many changes of hotel and fairly early starts but this ensured that we got to see many ancient sites where local guides enthusiastically shared their vast knowledge.
We soon learned that Greece was the cradle of civilisation and origin of many words in the English language.
Hotels were generally excellent, particularly at Ancient Olympia and in the beautiful town of Nafplion.
We will certainly choose another Riviera tour in the hopes that the leader is half as good as Maria.

Review by Neil & Anita Christopher on 31 May 2014

Despite not being a big fan of Greek Mythology ( my wife is however!) I found this trip absolutely fascinating. I particularly enjoyed the visits to Olympia and Epidaurus enjoyable. All the hotels were lovely despite a small problem in Delphi where we had to change and I must give a special mention to the Best Western in Olympia which was gorgeous. The tour was well planned taking us to the sites early and travelling in the afternoon which seemed to suit most of us. The 3 day stay in Nafplion was an absolute joy. What a beautiful place, full of small shops and interesting side streets full of very good restaurants. It was like being back in the 1980’s; no hassle and everyone so helpful. A final mention for our superb tour guide Maria and our driver Thomas. Nothing was too much trouble, they made our holiday a real delight. Finally a thank you to the Greek people who were almost without exception helpful and seemed pleased we were there.  I whole heartedly recommend this Tour and a visit to mainland Greece particularly if you, like me, have only ever visited the main islands. Well done Riviera!

Review by Tony Hicks on 1 June 2014

Just returned from this holiday which was truly excellent.  Maria, our Tour Manager, and Thomas, our driver, could not have been better and were always willing to go that extra mile on our behalf.  Maria was always available and her sense of humour and local knowledge was superb.
The local guides were so knowledgeable and although quite strenuous took a pace that everybody could manage at the sights.  The hotels were good, the possible exception being the Hermes at Delphi (which was a substitute hotel) which left a little to be desired.  However Delphi itself was not to be missed.
We do hope that Riviera will do more holidays in other parts of Greece in the future.

Review by Mary & Paul Hibbert on 17 June 2014

We have recently returned from a quite superb Classical Greece tour.  The itinerary was well thought out and provided an excellent blend of Ancient Greece, relaxation and fascinating insights into modern Greek life. Our tour guide, Maria, was outstanding,  a consummate professional whose attention to detail and warm charm enchanted us. She was totally committed to ensuring that we had a great holiday. That the week went without a hitch was entirely due to her skill and expertise. The guides at each of the sites were of the highest order, extremely knowledgable and masters of their subject and passionate about their country’s history. Their insightful commentary brought the characters of ancient Greece alive and put into context all the sites we visited. We are now eager to learn more about this beautiful country and its past. The hotels were superb and the administration faultless. Well done Riviera

Review by Ken and Verity on 30 September 2014

Our second tour with Riviera and it was fabulous!
The ancient sites were absolutely amazing - Delphi was a place we shall remember for a long time.  Olympia, Mycenae and Epidarus were also so wonderful.  Napflion is a beautiful seaside town, small and stylish. It was great to stop for a few days and relax. This tour covers a large geographical area so be prepared for coach travel and frequent changes of hotel.  However the roads are good, the coach air conditioned and the scenery stunning.
Hotels in Athens, Nafplion and Olympia were excellent as were the breakfasts. The hotel at Delphi is a little basic, but the view from the window was just so stunning it more than made up for it.
We weren’t sure whether the food would be difficult as we only had two evening meals provided - but Napflion has lots of really reasonably priced and great food places. Athens also had the roof top restaurant which is not to be missed with the floodlit views of the Acropolis. Our only disappointment were the lunches, optional when travelling but at places where coaches stop and very touristy. You are better off not bothering and just having a drink - breakfasts are enormous, and evening meals at Bistros always seem to require at least three courses!
Our tour was not entirely smooth due to a few unforseen circumstances, but this is a wonderful tour, and we can whole heartedly recommend it!!

Review by The Phillips on 10 October 2014

Just wanted to say a big thank you for the excellent arrangements made for this trip. Everything went well, the hotels were all extremely good as were the Individual guides we had at each site, very informative and interesting. Bridgett was very friendly and made time for everyone.
All in all a good trip, we would certainly recommend your company

Review by Chris and Eileen Poullis on 17 October 2014

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.