[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

I hope you will find the following comments useful. My wife and I really enjoyed every aspect of this unusual (for us) and informative holiday, except for the boarding procedure and uncomfortable seats of Ryanair. In particular, we would like to say how much we enjoyed the cooking and dining experience on our second evening. We had a really delightful and educational evening with Giancarlo and his wife and I know that the other three people who went with us felt the same, as they may well have told you by now. I believe that we were the first Riviera travellers to have this particular experience and I am sure that you can commend it to future tour group members with confidence. In addition to the cookery information, the delicious meal and the excellent hosts, there was also the building in which their flat was situated, worth a visit in itself.

Another successful holiday with Riviera, although I would prefer a different airline next time.

Regards,

Arthur Williams

Review by: Arthur Williams on 17/04/2018

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

Thank you Riviera for making our break seamless and totally enjoyable. Your back room staff are still as helpful and friendly as ever, and your guides are perfect. I Would particularly like to commend and thank Denise our guide. She was a total professional and very caring making everything work. We travel with Riviera a lot and will continue to do so,whilst recommending your service to everyone. Yours Paul Denyer

Review by: Paul Denyer on 22/05/2018

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

We very much enjoyed this short break which covered three places in Italy that we had yet to visit and we were not let down. Bologna is a bustling university city with a deep history, great architecture, quality restaurants and shopping. The Hotel Internazionale was a very good, well-located, traditional, clean and comfortable hotel with superb breakfasts. Parma is absolutely beautiful and, whilst we tore ourselves away reluctantly for the balsamic vinegar and prosciutto visits, they proved also to be very interesting. Ravenna is magnificent, as its World Heritage sites status testifies. All the tour guides were competent, very knowledgeable, feisty and funny ladies. Our charismatic and entertaining tour manager, Francesca, could not have done a better job, working behind the scenes tirelessly, keeping us amused throughout, and when anything needed fixing, she fixed it with awesome efficiency.

John and Lesal

Review by: John Clayton on 17/09/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

Great short break holiday to this part of Italy, with Bologna an excellent base for anybody who enjoys Italian food and wine. Riviera pulled out all the stops on our three local guides - feisty local ladies, each with a distinct personality but all equally knowledgeable and humorous. Loved the visits to Parma and Ravenna but could have done without the Parma ham and balsamic vinegar trips and spent longer in Parma. Hotel comfortable and central and guide Frances warm and helpful.

Review by: Sue Lewis on 13/09/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

We have just returned from a very enjoyable short break to Bologna, Parma & Ravenna. From the day we arrived everything was of a good standard – from the hotel and the food to the itinerary. The tours were very interesting and the local guides were exceptionally informative, interesting and humorous. Bologna is a very beautiful town, very vibrant and a gourmet’s paradise. The food markets in Bologna that also serve as eating places are great - we wish eating out was done like this in the UK. The optional excursion to the Ferrari museum did not disappoint and was very well organised. The 4 days passed exceptionally quickly which I think is a good indicator of how much we enjoyed the trip. We would and have recommended this short break without hesitation.

On a final note we would like to praise Frances our tour guide who worked exceptionally hard. She was extremely helpful, informative with a great sense of humour – another Riviera Travel tour guide from the top drawer.

Review by: Roger & Sharon, Cornwall on 17/09/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

10 out of 10 Riviera for a great trip.

For a short city break the days were well planned and structured.

Hotel was very good, clean and comfortable with plenty of good eating places a short walk away.

Our tour Manager Marthese was very well informed and knowledgeable.

Would definitely recommend Riviera Travel and will be booking again next year.

Review by: Linda & Bob Hillman on 05/09/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

I have just returned from my first ever Riviera Travel tour, a City break to Bologna, Parma & Ravenna. As a complete novice to this type of holiday I was not sure what to expect, but I have to say it was a very slick, extremely well organised and very enjoyable experience. Our tour guide Marthese was excellent. She could not have looked after our group any better and her knowledge was second to none. I can not rate this trip highly enough and I will certainly travel with Riviera again in the future.

Review by: Judith Bradshaw on 05/09/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

Just got back from an excellent holiday in Bologna. The tour manager is Aideen , who is a real gem. She really makes sure that you enjoy your holiday with her excellent people skills and sense of humour . Highlight has to be the mosaics in Ravenna. People should definitely be encouraged to see the Baptistery in Palma, but not all at the same time, owing to its size.Only one visit not really appreciated was the Balsamic vinegar,other wise an excellent holiday

Paul and Jane

Review by: Paul Chapman on 10/07/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

We have just returned from Bologna, Parma, & Ravenna and want to say what an excellent tour this is. The hotel was ideally situated, around ten minutes walk from the centre. There were many lovely places to eat in the evenings and enjoy the excellent food of the region. The local guides were full of information, and our tour manager, Aideen, was outstanding.

Review by: Alison and John Pope on 10/07/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

Just returned from a very enjoyable short trip to Bologna, Parma and Ravenna. Our tour manager Aideen was wonderful very informative and a great character. The hotel was very good although better lighting in the bedroom would be an improvement. All the trips were very well organised and enjoyable. Perhaps another day at the end of the trip would be a good idea to enable Bologna to be explored further. Would recommend this holiday.

Review by: Margaret Cole on 10/07/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

We have just returned from this wonderful tour. Cecelia, our tour manager, was very good and extremely helpful when my luggage went missing for 24hrs. The guides on the excursions were also very knowledgeable and interesting. Our hotel was of a high standard, the temperatures were high day and night so clean bedding every day was appreciated, lots to choose from for breakfast, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Finally a nice group to travel with. Thank you.

Review by: carole Stapley on 05/07/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

Just returned from this tour and would highly recommend it to anyone who is

interested in this part of Italy.

Riviera Travel is fortunate to have Aideen as tour manager as she

really made the tour most enjoyable - well-informed, patient, unflappable

and, most of all, great sense of humour!

Just a suggestion - it would have been perfect if the tour had been a day

longer and we had the opportunity to visit Padua.

Review by: Joy Rebello on 18/06/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

Hi. We've just arrived back this evening and wanted to tell you what a lovely tour this was. Very interesting and enjoyable and made more so by the excellent guides we had for our city walks and, particularly, by the tour manager, Aideen, who was a real tonic. Underlying her infectious and unceasing humour, which was enjoyed by everybody in the group, was a professionalism best exemplified by how quickly she memorised all of our names and treated every one of us as a personal friend. Not an easy thing to do, but greatly appreciated.

Review by: IAN VARGESON on 18/05/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna

I love everything about Italy and would highly would recommend this short break. Bologna was just fabulous and I will visit again. The hotel, tours and arrangements were excellent which is very reassuring for me as a single traveller. Would very much like further city breaks in northern Italy - Milan and Turin perhaps??

Review by: Dianne on 25/04/2017

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna Tour

Excellent visit, loved Bologna, and the two visits to Parma and Ravenna were very enjoyable, with very memorable local guides!!

Geraldine our tour manager catered for our every need in an efficient and pleasant fashion, first class.

Review by: Peter Dawkins on 07/09/2016

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna Tour

This note is to say how much I enjoyed my recent trip. Bologna, Parma and Ravenna are fascinating cities. I also wish to mention the role played by your local rep Antonia. She was efficient, knowledgable, friendly, and elegant. I hope you appreciate what an asset she is.

Review by: John Roach on 25/08/2016

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna Tour

Having just returned from our Italy trip, once again we would like to say thank you for lovely holiday. Everything about the trip was perfect,flight,great hotel,perfect guide, Antonia, great excursions with excellent guides.We must mention the amazing guide in Ravenna, Lucianna, what a character, never to be forgotten. As we don’t have a brochure for 2016, could you please send us one.

Review by: Michael Hubbard on 25/08/2016

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna Tour

My wife and I have just returned from the Bologna/Parma/Ravenna tour and we have to say it fulfilled our every expectation. Geraldine, our tour manager, was an extremely efficient manager and guided is through the 5 days with humour and courtesy - your guides at Parma and Ravenna were also top class and gave us the flavour of these very beautiful cities.

All in all, a very informative and memorable visit to 3 Italian cities all with their unique character.

PS .Your telephone contacts weren’t bad either

Review by: John & Judith Bonser on 07/10/2016

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna Tour

Good morning,

We have just returned from our tour of Bologna, Parma and Ravenna and were totally delighted with everything as usual. Your people go to much trouble to ensure everyone has an amazing experience. We cannot speak highly enough of Geraldine, she is kind, thoughtful and so helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for her and she always goes just that bit further to make sure we are all enjoying ourselves. All your tour guides are brilliant but she is one of the best. Mind you Richard in France is someone very special, one of a kind and so much knowledge.

The hotel was fantastic, well situated, great staff and loved the breakfast! What a superb place to holiday, all that history and culture, so pleased we decided to visit that part of Italy. Your standards and organisation are really excellent, we loved the ‘whispers’, what a great idea, and we can see no reason to ever use a different company. We’ll never forget the trouble you went to last year in Paris when the Eurostar was cancelled and you were so good in finding a hotel for the night and booking tickets for the next morning, This is the sort of thing people remember and why using your company is so enjoyable and takes all the stress from travelling.

Many thanks,

Review by: Graeme and Chris Yeates on 07/10/2016

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna Tour

My wife and I have just returned from the tour of Bologna, Parma and Ravenna which we enjoyed very much.

We should like to thank our excellent tour manager, Geraldine. She was professional, helpful, attentive and efficient throughout.She was unfailingly pleasant and good-humoured.

A first rate tour manager makes a real difference !

Review by: Peter Bennett on 21/10/2016

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna Tour

What a great tour! Just super. Bologna is a wonderful city, well worth a return visit. Riviera have done it again! And thanks to Geraldine for being such a good tour manager. Very professional but also very friendly. Just ordered the brochures for next year.

Review by: Malcolm Rudrum (for the Netley Gang) on 15/09/2016

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna Tour

A wonderful time in Bologna in the very capable hands of Geraldine - a tour manager par excellence. This trip can only be a taster of Emilia Romagna in the 5 days but what a taster! The tour was so well organised that we didn’t waste a minute and yet none of the trips seemed rushed. The tour guides were excellent, as was the hotel and the coach drivers. Lovely to have the freedom to go out for evening meals in La Grassa. Many thanks Riviera

Review by: Judith Middlemiss on 21/09/2016

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna Tour

We would like to congratulate Riviera Travel, so few things in life match up to expectations, but this trip to Bologna certainly did. Starting with Geraldine, who so beautifully organised us so we didn’t even notice, and continued a reassuring presence throughout our stay, through to all the excellent guides who “whispered” words of wisdom and knowledge in our ears. Of course the architecture, food and wine were sublime, but Riviera made it a true travel experience .

Review by: Maggie Welberry on 29/09/2016

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna Tour

This wonderful tour of Bologna, Parma & Ravenna featured the delicious Melanie & Luciana, sharing their knowledge in abundance with such great humour. Riviera Guide Geraldine with her efficient timing, skills and expertise reminds us why we choose an organised tour. History came alive, the culture better understood and many Italian traditions appreciated. Andiamo.

Review by: Graham Clark on 26/09/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.