If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Bologna, Parma & Ravenna Tour

My wife and I have just returned from the tour of Bologna, Parma and Ravenna which we enjoyed very much.
We should like to thank our excellent tour manager, Geraldine. She was professional, helpful, attentive and efficient throughout.She was unfailingly pleasant and good-humoured.
A first rate tour manager makes a real difference !

Review by Peter Bennett on 21 October 2016

Good morning,
We have just returned from our tour of Bologna, Parma and Ravenna and were totally delighted with everything as usual. Your people go to much trouble to ensure everyone has an amazing experience. We cannot speak highly enough of Geraldine, she is kind, thoughtful and so helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for her and she always goes just that bit further to make sure we are all enjoying ourselves. All your tour guides are brilliant but she is one of the best. Mind you Richard in France is someone very special, one of a kind and so much knowledge.

The hotel was fantastic, well situated, great staff and loved the breakfast!  What a superb place to holiday, all that history and culture, so pleased we decided to visit that part of Italy.  Your standards and organisation are really excellent, we loved the ‘whispers’, what a great idea, and we can see no reason to ever use a different company. We’ll never forget the trouble you went to last year in Paris when the Eurostar was cancelled and you were so good in finding a hotel for the night and booking tickets for the next morning, This is the sort of thing people remember and why using your company is so enjoyable and takes all the stress from travelling.
Many thanks,

Review by Graeme and Chris Yeates on 7 October 2016

My wife and I have just returned from the Bologna/Parma/Ravenna tour and we have to say it fulfilled our every expectation.  Geraldine, our tour manager, was an extremely efficient manager and guided is through the 5 days with humour and courtesy -  your guides at Parma and Ravenna were also top class and gave us the flavour of these very beautiful cities.
All in all, a very informative and memorable visit to 3 Italian cities all with their unique character.

PS .Your telephone contacts weren’t bad either

Review by John & Judith Bonser on 7 October 2016

We would like to congratulate Riviera Travel, so few things in life match up to expectations, but this trip to Bologna certainly did. Starting with Geraldine, who so beautifully organised us so we didn’t even notice, and continued a reassuring presence throughout our stay, through to all the excellent guides who “whispered” words of wisdom and knowledge in our ears. Of course the architecture, food and wine were sublime, but Riviera made it a true travel experience .

Review by Maggie Welberry on 29 September 2016

This wonderful tour of Bologna, Parma & Ravenna featured the delicious Melanie & Luciana, sharing their knowledge in abundance with such great humour.  Riviera Guide Geraldine with her efficient timing, skills and expertise reminds us why we choose an organised tour.  History came alive, the culture better understood and many Italian traditions appreciated.  Andiamo.

Review by Graham Clark on 26 September 2016

A wonderful time in Bologna in the very capable hands of Geraldine - a tour manager par excellence.  This trip can only be a taster of Emilia Romagna in the 5 days but what a taster!  The tour was so well organised that we didn’t waste a minute and yet none of the trips seemed rushed. The tour guides were excellent, as was the hotel and the coach drivers.  Lovely to have the freedom to go out for evening meals in La Grassa.  Many thanks Riviera

Review by Judith Middlemiss on 21 September 2016

What a great tour! Just super. Bologna is a wonderful city, well worth a return visit. Riviera have done it again! And thanks to Geraldine for being such a good tour manager. Very professional but also very friendly. Just ordered the brochures for next year.

Review by Malcolm Rudrum (for the Netley Gang) on 15 September 2016

Excellent visit, loved Bologna, and the two visits to Parma and Ravenna were very enjoyable, with very memorable local guides!!
Geraldine our tour manager catered for our every need in an efficient and pleasant fashion, first class.

Review by Janet and Peter Dawkins on 7 September 2016

This note is to say how much I enjoyed my recent trip. Bologna, Parma and Ravenna are fascinating cities. I also wish to mention the role played by your local rep Antonia. She was efficient, knowledgable, friendly, and elegant. I hope you appreciate what an asset she is.

Review by John Roach on 25 August 2016

Having just returned from our Italy trip, once again we would like to say thank you for lovely holiday. Everything about the trip was perfect,flight,great hotel,perfect guide, Antonia, great excursions with excellent guides.We must mention the amazing guide in Ravenna, Lucianna, what a character, never to be forgotten. As we don’t have a brochure for 2016, could you please send us one.

Review by Michael Hubbard on 25 August 2016

Returned from our trip to Bologna a week ago and still enjoying the memories and sights. 
The tour was brilliant and well worth going on; tour manager Frances was an absolute delight, real fun to be with and full of useful information about the country, its people and customs. The guides in Bologna, Parma and Ravenna were excellent and very informative, with many useful and amusing details. My wife and I can recommend this holiday.

Review by Stephen Westcott on 25 August 2016

Thank you for an excellent holiday which was enlightening and enjoyable. The guides were superb, very knowledgeable and amusing!
The hotel was very satisfactory with excellent service and breakfast.
Frances was fantastico and could have not been more helpful or have done anymore to enhance the experience.
We very much look forward to our next break with you in Rome in November.
Again many thanks to everyone at Riviera for great service through out.

Review by Anne & Kendrick Jackson. on 25 August 2016

Another well planned, well guided, interesting and informative trip with Riviera. Bev Lewis our guide super, just the right balance of help, info, efficiency and fun. 3 city guides, all different styles but again full of info, and the local touch. Base hotel in Parma in just the most convenient spot. Bev came into her own on departure at Marco Polo airport, being redeveloped, and chaos. She managed to get us checked in in advance of a massive crowd of hundreds checking in a line that would have been more than an hour’s wait. Thank goodness.

Review by Wendy Hubbard on 6 August 2016

One word to describe the holiday: first class, from the super hotel to Bev, the tour manager. Our friendly group bonded superbly and Bev’s recommendations for sights and eating places were spot on. The tour guides were a cross between Brian Sewell and Margaret Rutherford, but every site was brought to life with their humour and great knowledge. You won’t regret going on this tour for culture and cuisine! The restaurants will appeal to most tastes, but don’t expect too much spaghetti bolognese!

Review by HENRY PAULINSKI on 24 July 2016

We chose this tour carefully, having never been on a package trip before. We had an excellent trip, guided by Geraldine. Care and attention to detail along with a good sense of humour made her the perfect “hostess”. The main reason for us taking this tour was to satisfy my wish to see the wonderful mosaics in Ravenna. The surprise element was in the discovery of Bologna and Pisa, both interesting and cultural centres. From the Guides to the Drivers, everyone was very professional and fun.

Review by Jeannette lea on 4 June 2016

A very busy three and a half days, but everything went very smoothly and we enjoyed it hugely.
Plenty to do and eat in Bologna, and Ravenna was a treat.  Glad to see Geraldine receiving well deserved compliments, she was excellent.

Review by Jonathan Morgan on 2 June 2016

We have just returned from yet another of your tours! This one was as usual a well thought out combination of information and leisure. The hotel was of a very high standard and the staff friendly and attentive. Geraldine was extremely well organised,an asset to your organisation. Well done!

Review by Frank Mizen on 31 May 2016

Just returned from your Bologna, Parma and Ravenna Tour, three fairly intensive but immensely informative days in a very worthwhile but little known region, a great trip for foodies. The local guides in each town were real characters but Geraldine, the Tour Manager was exceptional, friendly, informative and her local knowledge added much to the trip. Sadly no sooner than we were getting to know members of our group it was time to return home.

Review by Hugh Richards on 23 May 2016

Having just returned from a holiday to Bologna we felt we should inform you how much we enjoyed the visit. The trip was further enhanced by the efficiency and friendliness of the excellent guide Geraldine.

Review by Maureen & Roger Sweetman on 19 May 2016

Our second trip with Riviera Travel & we were not disappointed. From the original planning information, including the handling of a brief telephone query, to the travelling to Bologna, the organisation was superb.
Geraldine, the Tour Manager, was brilliant, anticipating needs & questions.
The hotel was comfortable, close to the centre of Bologna & our rooms were ready for our early arrival!
The day trips / guided walks were well organised; I was originally unsure about the Parma Ham & Balsamic Vinegar visits, but they turned out to be very interesting - Balsamic Vinegar on ice cream - try it!
The best outing has to be to Ravenna with its superb mosaics.
I would have wished to have another day on this break, but that is probably the nature of a great holiday.
Thank you.

Review by Robin Leveridge on 14 May 2016

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.