[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Australia

What an amazing holiday! Riviera, you have excelled yourself yet again! We had a fascinating time with so many highlights. Our particular favourites were Uluru at sunrise and snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef.... but then there was Melbourne, Adelaide, Alice Springs, Kata Tjuta, Cairns, the tropical rain forest. Sydney and the Blue Mountains! Members of our smallish group (21) got to know each other quickly and we all enjoyed the excellent hotels. Michele, our lovely Tour Manager, was so enthusiastic and well organised. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Thanks again.

If you are looking for a touring holiday that gives a flavour of Australia in 3 weeks, then this is a definite holiday to recommend.

Review by: Malcolm and Wendy Nicholls on 06/11/2018

Australia

We both thoroughly enjoyed our recent trip to Australia. It was well planned and covered all the places we were interested in seeing. More time in Adelaide would have been better and missing out the wine tasting trip to the Barossa Valley. It was a holiday of a lifetime and made more so by the wonderful guide we had throughout the trip, Hanna. She did everything she could to make our trip so special. It was absolutely full on but we could definitely recommend this holiday.

Review by: Chris and Ian Warhurst on 02/10/2018

Australia

Our Australian Adventure was outstanding.The locations, hotels, traveling arrangements were spot on. Plus our tour manager, Hanna was superb, her local knowledge was excellent.

Highlights of the holiday were The Great Ocean Road, Ayers Rock, Cairns, The Great Barrier Reef and Sydney. Would have liked more time in Adelaide, two nights was not long enough and we felt the wine tasting trip in the Barossa Valley was poor, the only negative aspect of the holiday for us.

Sydney was brilliant, so much to see and do and the Blue Mountains were spectacular. Most certainly will be going back.

Overall one the best holidays we've had,and the best tour manager we ever had, well done Riviera Travel!

Review by: Sheila & Stuart Walker on 03/10/2018

Australia

This really was a holiday of a lifetime. I had not really appreciated the size of the country nor its geographical variety. There was just so much to see from the outback, the coral reefs, the Blue mountains, the Great Ocean Road, as well as wonderful cities such as Melbourne and Sydney. I found the Rain forest and Aboriginal experiences superb. While the country can speak for itself, I would like to say that our guide, Hanna was excellent. Her knowledge of the country, together with her personal skills combined to provide us with a wonderful holiday. To be recommended.

Review by: Linda Lowe on 02/10/2018

Australia

It is a year since our trip to Australia with Riviera. We still talk about to frequently as it was the holiday of a lifetime. We saw so much guided by the amazing and tireless Michelle who knew so much and had a recommendation for every event. She even coped marvellously with a lost passport. (Not mine). The weather let us down slightly but highlights form the tram ride in Melbourne, the train in Cairns , the Barrier Reef, Sydney and Uluru at sunset and sunrise are all etched into the memory. The group were great and shared jokes and tips throughout. It is quite full on but the hotels are good, the internal flights a doddle and you can always catch up with a nap on the coach but this is hard as you do not want to miss anything as there is always something coming up along the road. We loved it and our now looking forward to Vietnam and Sri Lanka.

Review by: David Bundy on 03/10/2017

Australia

We returned from a fantastic trip to Australia. It ticked all the boxes for the things we wanted to do and much more. Hotels were excellent and within easy distance of local restaurants and places of interest. Cassie our tour guide was fantastic - her knowledge and organisation were brilliant. We fitted into the 18 days as much as most people would fit in during a whole months holiday. Some of the highlights were the Dandenong Ranges and the Puffing Billing Steam Train, the Melbourne Colonial Tram, The Great Ocean Road, School of the Air, The Flying Doctor Service, The Earth Sanctuary at Quandong Homestead, Uluru at sunset and sunrise, Simpsons Gap, Barron Falls National Park, Great Barrier Reef, Sydney Harbour Cruise, Katoomba Falls and much, much more. Our drivers Rog, Chop and Michael were excellent with great senses of humour and full of local knowledge. Once again a big thank you to them, to Cassie our tour guide and to Riviera for making this such a special trip.

Review by: Margaret and Mac McConnell on 07/11/2017

Australia

Our holiday in October to Australia really was a fantastic experience, helped in no small measure by our Tour Manager Cassie, our bus captains, especially Rog in Melbourne who really was the font of all knowledge, and last but not least our fellow travellers. Nothing was too much trouble for Cassie and she really went the extra mile. This tour covers just about everything most people want to see in Australia. The number of excursions included is amazing and if you were to buy them yourself would cost many hundreds of pounds. This was our fifth trip with Riviera, none have disappointed, and we are already looking forward to our next one.

Review by: Bill Wright on 18/10/2017

Australia

This is my fourth tour with Riviera and has been by far the best. The area travelled has been so diverse and so interesting. Such varied landscapes, fauna and flora all in one tour.

Our tour leader, Cassis, obviously loved her role and this was made apparent in the amount of knowledge she had and in the way she was always willing to go the extra mile to make sure everyone was enjoying themselves. Her sense of humour overcame any awkwardness that arose and the whole group appreciated what she did.

I am looking forward to my next tour in 2018.

Review by: Patricia Dumbell on 17/10/2017

Australia

What a fantastic holiday. The organisation was brilliant by Cassie supported by trainee Hannah. Cassie made everything easy for us so all we had to do was enjoy the tour. Her knowledge on what we would see was immense and the information she gave us made the tour enjoyable and relaxing.

It was an amazing adventure for us we loved every single minute, and looking forward to travelling with Riviera again.

Review by: Gilbert & Maureen Billingham on 18/10/2017

Australia

We have just been on a holiday of a lifetime! Australia is an amazing, diverse, huge country and the Riviera tour really gave us the opportunity to see as much of it as possible in just 3 weeks. The success of this tour was hugely down to Michelle and the 3 coach captains, Rog, Chop and Tony. Every day we were kept amused, informed and enthused by Michelle. She is such a credit to your company and goes the extra mile at every opportunity. The hotels, excursions, coffee/lunch stops and every minute detail had been carefully selected and we could not fault them. We would defo choose Riviera again Thank you so much.

Review by: Heather and Paul on 04/10/2017

Australia

We have just returned from our Australian adventure ,from the moment we arrived at Melbourne airport to start our 21 day holiday until leaving Sydney on our final day we were amazed how well this tour was organised by Riviera and the fabulous Michele our tour guide.Nothing seemed to faze Michele she was so good.Always available to offer advice and help.Make no mistake this is a pretty comprehensive tour that covers lots of different areas and aspects of Australia in the three weeks that you are there.From the cities to rain forests,coast,coral reefs and the outback it’s all covered.The hotels were of a very good standard(we stayed in seven)Coaches and drivers were excellent and internal flights a doddle.The laid back style of the Aussies is very evident throughout as nothing is too much trouble for them.There were far too many highlights on this trip to list a favourite but Uluru was magical and to walk around some of it and touch it was special.So to sum up we would like to say Thank you Riviera Travel yet again for delivering a brilliant trip,this was our 4th time with you and we will certainly be using you again and finally a huge thank you to Michele who made it such a fantastic trip.

Review by: Trevor & Cheryl Dye on 04/10/2017

Australia

We had a wonderful time in Australia, our first long-haul trip with Riviera, made even more enjoyable by our fabulous tour guide Michele, who was enthusiastic, cheerful, informative and great company. The spectacular scenery, colourful birds, wildlife and exciting cities made for a very varied tour with endless photo opportunities. Uluru at sunrise and our day on the Great Barrier Reef were particularly special but all the places we visited were well worth seeing and provided us with a truly memorable holiday.

Review by: Jill and Alan Peck on 28/02/2017

Australia

Could I just say what a fantastic holiday we have just had in Australia all the trips were well organised and Jenni our Rep was superb especially in Cairns when she had to rearrange trips due to the Cyclone which luckily for us all went further south. Once again thank for a most memorable holiday.

Review by: Mick Inshaw on 15/03/2017

Australia

Just wanted to tell you that our Australia trip was the best one we have done with you so far, and we have done a lot! The spot-on itinerary, the excellent tour guide, Michele, plus the wonderful country of Australia itself made this an unforgettable trip. The inclusive extras eg the superb 3 course meal on an old-fashioned tram around Melbourne on our first night was an excellent ice- breaker and one of the many typical Riviera touches that made us feel so special on this trip. The coach captains eg Kimberley were knowledgeable and humorous; the accommodation was v. Comfortable with big beds and 5 * breakfasts. At the end of the trip we felt we had experienced a really good slice of the massive country of Australia. No mean feat in 3 weeks! The Outback, Uluru and snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef stand out. Special thanks to Michele for her energetic, expert, hands-on and caring guiding. She certainly went the extra mile for us all! Thank you Riviera for the holiday of a lifetime. 2 weeks later we are still talking and even dreaming about it!!

Review by: Celia James on 28/02/2017

Australia

Amazing!!. Need I say more? Yes of course I do. We went to Australia for three weeks and enjoyed every minute, mainly due to the excellent organisation of Riviera and the superb attention of Michele, our leader. The activities were fantastic, right from the beginning in Melbourne, up to the last day in Sydney. For example in Melbourne we had a wonderful tram ride around Melbourne with a meal and limitless wine included, with amusing attentive waiters and good food. On the last day in Sydney we still had time for a walk around the city with advice from Michele on where to go to see the best sights. All brilliant. the hotels were fantastic, the beds the meals, the swimming pool, the trips - all were so good. Weather cannot be controlled by Riviera but even that was good apart from the Blue Mountains day when all we saw was grey cloud but even that was interesting.

If anyone has doubts about this trip, forget them. We have seen as much of Australia as we want to see,- Road Trains, the Barrier Reef, the Great Ocean Road, the Sydney Opera House and Bridge, Kangaroos, Koalas, Snakes, Spiders, and of course Uluru (Ayers Rock) and Roadhouses. Don't think twice - just do it!! And make sure you have Michele as your guide - she is the best we have had and we have done 5 Riviera trips around the world.

Review by: clive latter on 28/02/2017

Australia

G'day G'day how you goin, as sung by Slim Dusty, was our 'tour song' as taught to us by the superb Coach Captain Kimberley as we toured through the centre of OZ.

This was a most enjoyable tour led by the well organised and enthusiastic Tour Manager, Michele. I don't know where she gets her energy from!

It was, as ever, jam packed with so many highlights that are too many to mention.That being said the Red/Green Centre was inspiring. We didn't expect 'rain' at Alice Springs but we got a smattering! And Murray's highlight was snorkelling beside the giant turtles at the Great Barrier Reef.

We travelled with a lovely group of people and had many laughs as we journeyed around a very diverse country.

Like most of our party I think that we would have liked another day in both Melbourne and Adelaide and would have been happy to pay more for those extra days.

This was our fourth Riviera tour and I'm sure that we will use the company again. Like the other Riviera tours that we have been on this trip was very good value .That being said it would be nice to be able to fly directly from Scotland when it is actually feasible, and in this case we felt it could have been.

It won't put us off, however, another great holiday with Riviera.

Many thanks Michele and Coach Captains, Rog, Kimberley and Tony for a wonderful holiday

Review by: Murray and Elaine Macara on 01/03/2017

Australia

I have just returned from one of the best holidays I have ever had. Having travelled many times with Riveria I was expecting the best, but from the location of all the hotels, excursions and the guides everything was first class.

One of the most important ingredients was our tour manager Michele, she was always on hand if we needed anything, she has a vast knowledge of the country and she made everything fun even when we were wearing our fly nets.

I would recommend the optional excursions of the helicopter, hot air balloon and the Daintree Rainforest where we learnt so much about the indigenous people their history and way of life.

Annie Cadman

March 2017

Review by: Annie Cadman on 01/03/2017

Australia

What a fantastic holiday.

The organisation was brilliant. From being met at the airport to the very end.

Our tour manager Michele was superb.

Her knowledge & information provide about the country was excellent and was always on the lookout for animals as we travelled along.

Also she was able to guide us on what to wear for our next outing, ie type or footwear, which was very useful.

Her expert knowledge of each place we went to was good & helped us around on our free time.

All the transfers to the airports & check ins was made much easier by Michele.

The coaches used in Australia & Coach captains were all excellent drivers and gave very good commentary of there home towns.

As a loan traveller I felt very safe in all the hotels we stayed in.

All in all a excellent holiday a pity it had to end.

Thank you very much.

Review by: Jane Baker on 28/02/2017

Australia

I can thoroughly recommend this tour of Australia. Melbourne, Great Ocean Road, Adelade, Alice Springs, Uluru, Cairns and Sydney in three weeks - the tour is well paced and superbly organised.

Before booking this holiday l compared multiple Australia tours with a variety of companies. l believe the Riviera tour to be good value for money - with so many excursions, high quality hotels and superb tour manager included. This was our first time travelling with Riviera but it won't be our last!

We were very well taken care of during the holiday between the coach captains (special mention to the inspiring Kimberly who kept us entertained and informed throughout the Red Centre) and our wonderful tour manager Michele who took care of everyone and everything with such humour and enthusiasm throughout.

It's difficult to pick out highlights as each segment of the holiday was special and different in its own way - but Uluru at sunrise and our day on the Great Barrier Reef were truly unforgettable.

Thanks to Riviera, Michele and the rest of the holiday group for making our trip a fabulous experience!

Review by: Mairead and Chris Hoult on 01/03/2017

Australia

What an amazing holiday!! Made triply enjoyable by our wonderful Tour Manager, Michele. We saw so many interesting and exciting sights, it's hard to list them in order. Although if we must say - for me (Jacqueline) it was Uluru and for Rob - The Great Barrier Reef.

Throughout the trip - Michele was so attentive and always interested in our activities. A truly lovely travelling companion.

Review by: Jacqueline and Robert Forrest on 01/03/2017

Australia

We have recently returned from a wonderful tour of Australia. It really was a fabulous tour, extremely well planned, great hotels and many exciting excursions, one of the highlights being the catamaran day on the Great Barrier Reef, baby sharks and turtles swimming close by. Our party were a lovely group of people and our coach drivers, especially Kimberley, were first class. A very special mention must be made of Cassie our tour manager, she was superb, doing every thing possible to make the trip the huge success that it was. Cassie is a credit to your company. Thank you Riviera for an exciting, wonderful and unforgettable holiday, an absolute winner!

Review by: Julia and Brian Moore on 15/02/2017

Australia

We have just returned from a brilliant tour of Australia. It was a well constructed, exciting "full on" trip, for which Riviera Travel is to be congratulated. It all ran very smoothly, due largely to our indefatigable and outstanding tour manager, Cassie, whose energy and humour contributed greatly to our enjoyment of the holiday. We were always well prepared for every stage of the journey, with maps, brochures, and invaluable advice! We were also fortunate to have Kimberley as our local driver/ guide for Alice Springs and Uluru. Her enthusiasm was infectious,and we learned so much from her about the fascinating Aboriginal culture.

We would do it all again, like a shot! This tour is highly recommended!

Gill and Mike, Dundee

Review by: Gill and Michael Tooze on 15/02/2017

Australia

Our trip to Australia was excellent, the content was very varied, allowing a good balance of free time and organised activities. We cannot believe just how many experiences have been included in this trip. Our tour manager, Cassie, was brilliant, her organisational skills and enthusiasm never waned from start to finish and nothing was too much trouble for her. Thank you Riviera for a fantastic, value for money holiday.

Review by: Sharon and Tony Ballam on 15/02/2017

Australia

Hi,

Just wanted to say what an amazing time we had on your first Australia tour, led by the wonderful Michele who went well beyond the line of duty with all her lively comments, information and entertaining events, as well as keeping us all well and truly in the loop as to what happened next!. She was also a great support when my husband was unwell.

So many highlights, I lost count. Favourites included the Eureka Tower and Tramcar Restaurant in Melbourne, seeing wedge tailed eagles, kangaroos and koalas en route to Adelaide, the Kuranda day out in Cairns and just about the whole time we spent in Sydney. Uluru deserves its own space, magical and evocative, this was the most remarkable part of our tour. I'm so glad we got there.

All the hotels were very comfortable, with, thank goodness, excellent air conditioning. Best breakfast award goes to the Parkroyal Darling Harbour, although they were all very good.

Last, but definitely not least, huge thanks to our Coach Captains, Rog, Kimberly and Tony. I am lost in admiration at how they managed to keep giving us fascinating and often entertaining information whilst driving hundreds of kilometres. And a quick hello to any of our fellow travellers who may read this, thanks for being a great bunch to travel with. Anne and Chris

Review by: Anne Banks on 30/01/2017

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.