[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Vietnam & Cambodia

I am just writing to tell you what a wonderful holiday I had recently. It was the first time I had travelled either Solo, or with Riviera, so I was doubly impressed by the itinerary, organisation, class of hotels and great mix of cultural/social/historical activities offered in the itinerary. All of the hotels lived up to their star ratings - the breakfasts were without exception, excellent, and the staff accommodated our early starts on a number of occasions.

However, the person who absolutely made it all so great, was our tour guide, Michele. She had such a wide range of skills. She clearly had twice the work with a solo group - all those individual rooms etc., but was the most unflappable person I’ve ever met. She was so friendly and approachable - on duty 24/7 - always had a smile and some interesting tips to tell us. Her local knowledge was really excellent, and very much helped to ease our paths when arriving in a new city. She had favourite restaurants/bars to tell us about, and personally made bookings for us several times. I would never have found out about some of her suggestions, from the restaurant in Ho Chi Minh where the street boys and girls are being trained, to the Saigon bar, where Graham Greene drank. We also went to a lovely French/Asian fusion restaurant in Hue at her suggestion, and she knew all the best market stalls for purchasing goods in Siem Reap etc. Her knowledge of Hanoi was also excellent, guiding us towards the right areas to purchase various presents such as silk items.

Thanks again for the brilliant organisation.

Linda Kitchin

Review by: Linda Kitchin on 15/01/2019

Vietnam & Cambodia

I went on this trip and was thoroughly impressed by the knowledge from the tour manager and the guides. Throughout the holiday we given much information for both countries and their people. - Every day was different but enjoyable!

Thank you to Shane (tour manager) for being approachable and making the holiday such fun

Thank you

Sarah Pathy

Review by: Sarah Pathy on 15/02/2019

Vietnam & Cambodia

This was our first tour with Riviera. There were 37 of us and our Tour manager Shane. We cannot praise Shane highly enough, he went above and beyond to make our trip the most enjoyable we have been on, and was there for support and advice all the way through - Excellent! We had the most memorable time with a wonderful group of people. So many highlights and a very well put together trip. We look forward to travelling with Riviera in the future. Thank you so much.

Review by: Sandy & Gary Miles on 15/02/2019

Vietnam & Cambodia

I’ve just returned from a fantastic holiday in Vietnam and Cambodia, where a very varied itinerary made this a truly unforgettable experience. There were so many highlights, that I find it hard to choose between sailing around the beautiful Halong Bay, visiting the Imperial City in Hue, cruising down the Perfume River in a Dragon boat, the delightful ride in a rowboat down a tributary of the Mekong and the Royal Palace in Phnom Penh!

The visit to the floating village on Tonle Sap Lake was an opportunity to see how “ real” Cambodians live and to see that Cambodia is still emerging from its recent tragic history.

The Cu Chi Tunnels in Vietnam, and the Killing Fields and prison in Cambodia were more sobering experiences but I feel privileged to have been able to learn how both countries have suffered enormously through the effects of human conflict.

Shane, our trusty guide, was excellent in his knowledge, advice and help, at all times. The local guides, and the hotels were also of a great quality.

Thoroughly recommend this tour!

Review by: Jill Agnew on 15/02/2019

Vietnam & Cambodia

This was an amazing tour. Every day was full of new and interesting experiences. The internal flights were well organised and relatively short and the hotels were all very comfortable. The Palace Gate Hotel was particularly lovely. It had a great ambiance, beautiful rooms and a pleasant staff. Our Tour Manager, Shane, was brilliant. He sorted out problems immediately, had a great sense of fun but also gave great practical advice in every place we stayed making it easy for us all to get around. All this, along with a great group of fellow tourists, made this holiday a very happy and memorable one. Highly recommended.

Review by: Pat, Bromley, Kent on 15/02/2019

Vietnam & Cambodia

Just returned from a great tour of Vietnam and Cambodia.

We were in a party of 40 people.

The holiday was excellent with great hotels and local tour guides looking after us.

This is our 3rd Holiday with Riviera Holidays it will not be our last.

Thanks Aideen for all your hard work and encouragement to climb the Temple steps and boarding the river boats. PS the shins have healed up

Review by: Gilbert & Maureen Billingham on 09/01/2019

Vietnam & Cambodia

We are just back from our tour of Vietnam & Cambodia, although a very busy tour it was an unforgettable experience. The organisation and hotels were great and our tour manager Aideen was truly terrific. Our local tour guides were also excellent. We have now traveled a number of times with Riviera and will definitely do so again.

Review by: William Graham on 08/01/2019

Vietnam & Cambodia

My wife and I have just returned from this wonderful experience and wanted to congratulate you. The organisation was first class, Tony, the tour manager, was exceptionally good and the hotels were truly outstanding. It was demanding, travelling to so many fascinating places, but everything that could be done was done to make the travelling as stress-free as possible.

We have travelled with you four times and all have been outstanding but this was of an exceptionally high standard.

We have no association with the company, other than as very satisfied customers.

Review by: Michael and Deirdre Cook on 06/11/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

Pauline was a superb manager. Excellent itinerary, beautiful hotels and exceptionally good value for money.

Review by: Elizabeth Watson on 13/11/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

Wow! What amazing countries Vietnam and Cambodia are. The people are delightful and will all go out of their way to help. The Riviera itinerary is excellent and the internal flights are a doddle allowing you to experience many different aspects of this corner of Asia.

The travel timings were excellent and Alex ensured we arrived everywhere on time. The local guides added their own flavour and shared the backstory of the countries visited. They were excellent in every location. The highlight has to be Angkor Wat, at 7.30am before anyone else arrives. It is well worth the early start. It is majestic and awesome. A visit not to be forgotten.

The hotels are excellent and the two in Cambodia are perfect to finish what is a tiring and memorial holiday. Do not be afraid to go off the relatively beaten track in the cities as there is always a Tuk Tuk or taxi to get you back to the hotel. The traffic in Saigon (HCMC) is indescribable and has to be experienced.

Recognising what these two countries have experienced, the people are so friendly and working hard to ensure you see their country in a good way.

What a great way to visit two wonderful countries.

Review by: David Bundy on 09/11/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

Riviera offer a comprehensive leisurely paced tour of the highlights of these two countries. Our tour manager was well informed and organised adapting timings to suite local conditions. All hotels were 5 star and we had enough time to enjoy them and to choose our own evening meals.

I would recommend this tour to anyone with limited time.

Review by: martin priestley on 09/11/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

A fascinating, mind expanding experience, enhanced by an experienced team of tour managers and guides. An insight into the history and culture of the two countries. Incredible to experience first hand the places we were exposed to during our formative teens and twenties. Visits to the Vietnam/American War sites and the Cambodian Killing Fields were essential to understand what was happening during our youth - particularly when back home we were commemorating the end of WW1. We met so many friendly, hospitable and enthusiastic people. The hotels were out of this world - particularly the two in Cambodia. They capped the holiday for us. The Tour Manager proved her worth at the airport when we were faced with a 'hiccup'. She was wonderful.

Review by: lee puchala on 01/11/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

We chose Riviera for this tour because the itinerary met our needs and we had a previous good experience with a tour to Japan with them. Riviera is a well-organised and efficient company and very customer focused and all interactions with them prior to departure were very well handled. Their call centre is a pleasure to use and all of their documentation was timely and accurate. We would echo previous testimonials regarding the organisation of the tour and the itinerary. We were a little concerned about the five internal flights involved but these were of short duration and did not really cause any problems. The hotels were all excellent, save for the Imperial at Hue, which was dated and served the worst food that we had on the tour. That said, its location was very good. The star hotel for us was the Palace Gate in Phnom Penh which is one of the best small hotels that we have used. A special mention must go to Aideen Higgins, our Tour Manager. She was one of the best tour managers that we have ever encountered – professional, well organised, friendly and with a great sense of humour. She met with an unfortunate accident early in the trip and suffered four cracked ribs. Despite being in pain she bravely continued for the rest of the journey and never complained or showed that she was suffering. A real trooper! Our experience on this trip confirmed that we were right to choose Riviera and will certainly use them again in the future.

Review by: Anelise & Michael on 23/10/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

We have just returned from an amazing holiday in Vietnam and Cambodia. The tour was very well organised with knowledgeable local guides. All of the hotels were excellent especially the final one in Siem Reap. When we arrived at a new destination we were given plenty of recommendations for places to eat which was extremely useful. The ‘included’ lunches enabled us to sample local food and were again fabulous.

We were lucky to only have a few showers during our 16 days and the daily tours had been well thought out to enable us to see as much of these wonderful countries as possible.

Thank you Marthese (Tour Manager) for organising our hectic schedule and making our holiday stress free.

Review by: Julie Morris on 02/11/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

Just returned from a fabulous tour of Vietnam and Cambodia with a fantastic tour manager Aideen. She was bright and enthusiastic especially on those early morning starts and kept the group together with her banter and knowledge of the area.

Hotels were excellent, particularly the Palace Gate Hotel in Phnom Penh and the staff in all the hotels were welcoming and helpful.

Highly recommend this trip but only if you are prepared for a full on experience and don't expect lie in's on your holidays.

Review by: Dianne Vincent on 23/10/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

Just arrived back from our fantastic holiday in Vietnam and Cambodia all the hotels we stayed at where brilliant and the food really great.

Our Tour Manager, Marella was brilliant, nothing was to much trouble and was always happy and smiling, the regional guides where brilliant and full of all the knowledge you needed to know and always happy to answer any questions.

We have holidayed with Riviera Travel to the golden triangle in India and Vietnam and Cambodia didn't disappoint.

Thank you to all who work for Riviera because everything was plain sailing from start to finish.

Review by: Phyll Boulton on 16/10/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

Hanoi, Da Nang, Saigon, names that barely a generation ago were synonymous with the horrors of war are now happily the gateway to Ha Long Bay, water puppet shows and Vietnamese street food; the forbidden city at Hue and the vibrant dynamism of a reinvigorated Saigon in a land where rice paddy fields and water buffalo are still a part of the countryside. Not that reminders of the past wars were that far away with the sobering War Remnants Museum in Saigon or the amazing complex of the Cu Chi tunnels about an hour and a half’s drive from Saigon. For thrill seekers there’s always the challenge of crossing a main street in Saigon: one to make the pulses quicken!

Then on to Cambodia, the Imperial Palace in Phnom Penh and a different nation of people with a different cuisine: suddenly the term Indo-China began to make sense. Again, sadly war reminders were there but the Killing Fields was an optional extra. Finally it was Siem Reap and the truly awe inspiring visit to Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples.

Back a week now and the memories keep flooding back, a trip with just so many sights and experiences, a great group of people to share it with and an excellent tour manager in Shane, who was so helpful and professional. A trip to be recommended to all those with a yearning to visit ‘far away places’.

Review by: Basil and Ching Yee on 02/10/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

The itinerary for the Vietnam and Cambodia trip was excellent - plenty history, culture and delicious food. The trip was made more special by our fellow travellers, the local guides and our Riviera Tour Manager, Shane, who was very helpful and knowledgeable. All hotels were very good, especially the Palace Gate Hotel in Phnom Penh. It was a very busy trip and we had many early starts but it was well worth it. Ha Long Bay and Angkor Wat were the highlights of the trip. We would definitely recommend this tour.

Review by: Basil and Ching Yee on 17/10/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

This was our first long haul holiday with Riviera Travel (had been to Bruges with them a few years ago) and we would recommend this break to anyone wanting to visit these fantastic countries. It is difficult to understand how we fitted so much in. Everything was well organised with first class hotels and a very knowledgeable tour manager. Visited a lot of amazing places and viewed places we never thought we would see. A definite 'bucket list' holiday.

Review by: Ken & Jess on 18/09/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

This was our first long haul holiday with Riviera Travel (had been to Bruges with them a few years ago) and we would recommend this break to anyone wanting to visit these fantastic countries. It is difficult to understand how we fitted so much in. Everything was well organised with first class hotels and a very knowledgeable tour manager. Visited a lot of amazing places and viewed places we never thought we would see. A definite 'bucket list' holiday.

Review by: Ken & Jess on 18/09/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

This was our first long haul holiday with Riviera Travel (had been to Bruges with them a few years ago) and we would recommend this break to anyone wanting to visit these fantastic countries. It is difficult to understand how we fitted so much in. Everything was well organised with first class hotels and a very knowledgeable tour manager. Visited a lot of amazing places and viewed places we never thought we would see. A definite 'bucket list' holiday.

Review by: Ken & Jess on 18/09/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

Another wonderful tour from Riviera Travel. All the hotels were perfect. Our guide, Shane, looked after us so well, nothing was too much trouble. This was our first time to South East Asia and we loved both countries. There was quite a bit of travelling with 4 internal flights, but it was well worth it, we still can’t believe how much we saw.

Review by: Deb on 18/09/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

We have just returned from a fantastic 16 night holiday to Vietnam and Cambodia having been recommended to use Riviera Travel by our travel agent. The whole holiday went like clockwork from start to finish and our tour guide Marella was top class throughout. All the hotels we stayed at were lovely in Hanoi, Hue, Saigon, Phnom Pen and Siem Reap - all different but lovely and all the excursions/trips were well organised and informative using local guides. So many interesting places seen and really a holiday of a lifetime. we will certainly use Riviera again.

Review by: Simon & Julie Berry on 24/07/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

We were totally satisfied with our holiday. All of the hotels were different in character but superb in their different ways. Our tour manager, Marella, was highly efficient, professional but approachable and possessed of a lovely sense of humour. We were also impressed with all of the local guides, all of whom were highly professional and willing to go the extra mile. I was initially concerned about the number of internal flights, but these were dealt with by the tour manager and local guides with such efficiency that they did not detract from the overall experience. I would not hesitate to recommend Riviera and this tour in particular. I wonder if you would be able to recommend a Vietnamese or Cambodian charity to which we could make a donation.

Review by: Ian Brimage on 24/07/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

An great experience embracing the life and culture of Vietnam and Cambodia and visits showing both the amazing beauty of these places alongside some of the saddest parts of their history. The people of Vietnam and Cambodia were both beautiful to look at and wonderful to talk to and have adapted to their surroundings in all sorts of wonderful ways, such as the floating islands in Cambodia.

We were looked after wonderfully well by the local tour guides who were very informative and also Pauline our Riviera Travel guide who was professional at all times and very kind and considerate. The hotels we stayed in were exceptional and the food exquisite. We would recommend this holiday to anyone but they should be mindful of when to travel as our May trip was very hot and humid. That aside, a very enjoyable holiday.

Review by: Sandra and Brian on 01/05/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

We returned last week from this amazing tour. The itinerary was well planned with lots to do and see, but with a good amount of leisure time built in as well. We couldn’t fault the hotels, and the guides were knowledgeable and friendly. The drivers were good also. It all went smoothly, but that was due in no small part by the attention to detail of our tour manager Michele. It’s obvious that she has done lots of research into all aspects of this tour and could also give incidental Information to enable a tour of this type to proceed as smoothly as possible.

We will certainly check out Riviera travel first for any future trips we decide to take.

Review by: Graham, Pat and Janet on 17/04/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

Just returned from one amazing tour. Highlights among the many were Ha Long Bay and Ankor Wat.

Hotels all outstanding.

What really made the holiday were the rest of the group, with a special mention to tour manager Michele. No detail to small, made everything easy for everyone. Thank you.

Review by: Clive Elliott on 17/04/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

Dear sir.

We have just recently returned from your company's tour to Vietnam and Cambodia. Our first with Riviera.

We had a wonderful time, made even more enjoyable by your excellent tour manager Michele Cook.

Michele was very efficient in all aspects of the tour. Nothing was too much trouble, from making reservations for restaurants to dealing unexpected emergencies.

It was all achieved with efficiency and in good spirit, and when appropriate a great sense of humour. Michele also had a great rapport with the local guides, and her personal knowledge and information of the areas we visited was exceptional.

Over the last 20years we have travelled with several other companies, but none compares with the way this trip went. Mainly we feel this was due to the great input of Michele.

Thanks.

Review by: Val and Mike Wedlake. on 27/03/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

Our recent tour of Vietnam and Cambodia was very enjoyable and interesting. All hotels were of a very good standard, the organisation was faultless and while it was a busy holiday there was nothing we would have missed. The tour was perfected by the very knowledgeable tour manager Michele whose enthusiasm and friendliness were a delight. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she provided assistance and support above and beyond the call of duty for many of us on the tour. She is a gem and we hope to see her again on another holiday. Thanks Michele !

Review by: Linda on 27/03/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

This tour was wonderful, all of the hotels were of a very high standard, different local guide for each city/ area who spoke good English and were knowledgeable and passionate about their subject. The organisation was excellent taking away the stress of the exacting itinerary.

The people on the whole were a cohesive group.

All of this was led and coordinated by Marthese a wonderful and determined woman who doesn’t suffer fools lightly, full of knowledge and fun. Thanks Marthese.

One comment it would be good to have an additional couple of spare half days to charge batteries and reflect as it is a challenging itinerary and parts quite upsetting and emotional. It is good to relax with spare time before coming home. I do recommend the optional tour to the floating village from Siem Reap this is a priveledge.

Thanks for a great holiday.

Review by: Carol wileman on 13/03/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

This was the first trip I have taken with Riviera and I cannot recommend them enough. The trip was packed with things to see and do, the Tour Manager, Bob Swain was knowledgeable and attentive and the local guides from Asian Trails were excellent and very professional. I have mobility issues and Bob and the guides ensured that I was able to take part in everything I wanted to and when we asked about additional things like Aspara Dancers the guides laid a trip on for us. Someone took ill on the trip and Riviera did everything to make sure he and his wife were looked after. The hotels were excellent and consistently high quality. The only negative was not having an iron in every room, only 2 out of 6 had irons. However, in the scale of things this was a minor irritation and all the extras that we got more than over compensated for this. Thank you.

Review by: Linda Henry on 23/02/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

This was really good tour; the hotels were lovely with extremely pleasant staff. Our tour manager, Alex , was excellent. We enjoyed the whole experience.

Review by: Chris and Allison on 02/02/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

This was a fantastic trip with a real variety of tours and experiences. The tour manager was very knowledgeable and made sure everyone knew where we should be and when we had free time. The local guides were also really good and helped us all understand what it was to be Vietnamese or Cambodian. Would highly recommend

Review by: Julia on 16/02/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

We have just returned from the Vietnam & Cambodia Tour. What an amazing time we've had and with a great group people. The tour was extremely well organised and our Tour Manager, Marella, was brilliant. She gave us all her advice & guidance which was invaluable. All of the guides were really good and interesting to hear their experiences growing up. If you are considering this tour then you will not be disappointed, it gives you everything and more.

Review by: Julie Clark on 30/01/2018

Vietnam & Cambodia

We wanted to say a big thank you and to congratulate Riviera for unquestionably the best holiday we’ve ever been on.

Our tour guide Pauline was simply first class (and no, she’s not paying us to say so!). It’s difficult to comment on how well she performed as she was perfect in every aspect, ensuring we were looked after, organised, kept informed of everything we needed to be, including local places to visit / eat at, and so on. Even having to get up at 5am one morning (Angkor Wat) was well worth it when we realised why! Full marks!

Similarly the local tour guides were excellent and we felt we received great added-value from their local knowledge and willingness to share the ‘inside story’ – very valuable.

We were similarly impressed with the hotels we stayed in; each one having its own distinct character and offering every comfort we could wish for.

The tour itinerary / places we visited was also first class. We enjoyed every moment of every outing, each one leaving us with lasting memories.

I have to admit that, at first we were surprised and a little taken aback at how much free time there was compared to, say, our (Riviera) India trip the year before, when we were kept rather more ‘on the move’. But soon we realised the particular value of the free time on this trip (especially as the usually early starts ensured there was still plenty of day to utilise later) – it allowed us to explore places we wanted (based often on Pauline’s advice), and to establish relationships with our fellow Riviera tourists; we got on extraordinarily well and ended up feeling something like a ‘family’; many of us are still in regular email contact and several visits are planned! We also established a Dropbox to exchange ‘team photos’ – almost 500 turned up!

So, thank you again for a first rate holiday. I wish I could say more as it warrants it. We have been enthusiastically recommending Vietnam & Cambodia to everyone we can, and of course recommending Riviera as a great operator to tour with.

I’m sure we’ll be back with you again before long.

God bless you all

Review by: Anthony & Miranda on 26/09/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia

We have just returned from a wonderful tour of Vietnam and Cambodia. It was extremely well organised, all the hotels were excellent and the local guides were all very good. I can't believe how many different places we visited and how much was packed into the itinerary, but it was very well balanced and we had enough free time to explore on our own, to try out a variety of restaurants and to shop in the markets. I would recommend this tour to anyone. The icing on the cake was our tour guide Aideen, who was extremely professional but also caring and great fun. Thank you Aideen and Riviera. We would certainly use your services again.

Review by: Anne Verghese on 24/11/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia

Just returned from a wonderful tour of Vietnam and Cambodia. Our tour guide Pauline was great throughout, giving us lots of helpful local tips in addition to the brochure info. She was always cheerful, good humoured and patient and very much appreciated by the whole tour group. Another brilliant Riviera holiday. Many thanks.

Review by: Carole Holiday on 14/11/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia

The tour was far better than we expected. Our tour manager, Alex, was super and is a credit to Riviera Travel. His organisation, patience, knowledge, sense of humour and general demeanor was outstanding. Apart from the return flight we had a wonderful time, hotels were excellent as were the Asian Tours' guides. Thank you Riviera.

The outward flight was very good but ,sadly, Vietnam Airways let themselves down badly. The return flight from HCMC was dreadful. The aircraft was scruffy and the passenger seat spacing was that of a budget charter, 13 hours was extremely uncomfortable. Not to be used in the future.

Overall, despite the flight, we had a thoroughly great experience.

Review by: Allan Leary on 07/11/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia

Just returned from the tour of Vietnam and Cambodia, led by our wonderful leader, Alex, whose calm and efficient manner enabled us to enjoy all the trips. The whole tour was wonderfully organised, the hotels were excellent, particularly our last stop in Siem Reap. I don't think anyone on the tour had any reason to complain.

Review by: Jill Rousso on 07/11/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia

Just returned from your tour of Vietnam & Cambodia. It was extremely interesting and varied and we enjoyed it immensely. We saw and learnt a lot about the countries. Your tour guide, Pauline, was first class as were the arrangements, the hotels, the local guides and the whole programme. It was great, thank you

Review by: Tim Thompson on 27/10/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia

What an amazing, informative and thought provoking holiday. Pauline was an excellent leader as she had the right balance of information and fun without being over protective. A super crowd of people to share it with too. It has stimulated our interests to find out more about this incredible part of the world and to understand their past. Riviera, we have had several short holidays with you but I think this must be the best.

Review by: Brenda and Rod Yalden on 10/10/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia

Nothing could have prepared us for this holiday. Not for the feint-hearted, it proved every bit as much as the itinerary could have described. From the point of checking in at Heathrow to arriving home, it was an experience that will last long in the memory vaults. The Tour manager and each of the local guides proved great value for money with daily tips and advice that only could have come from their experiences. Learning to cross the roads was the first task to master and amazingly the guidance worked. The group we traveled with were also a pleasure to share the journey with and were supportive to each other in times of need. My sensory overload button had to be reset on a daily basis and were grateful for the supply of cold water and air-con coaches to battle with the intense temperature. The hotels were exceptional throughout the tour and the organised lunches in the localities were perfect. Highs were visiting the Angkor Wat Temples and the Mekong Delta river cruise. The kindness and hospitality by staff and locals at all points of the tour were off the scale. Having returned home and reflected on the entire trip, it was an 'eye-opener' to a distant land who's culture is now adapting to the 21st century in spite on it's recent experiences of war and recent civil unrest in its many forms. Thank you Riviera for a well organised trip. More perusing of other tours with this company now.

Review by: Roger on 26/09/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia

A fabulous full on tour of two countries in two weeks. This was the first time I had travelled with Riviera but it will not be the last as it was so well organised. In each city the local guides were enthusiastic and informative. Pauline, our tour manager, was cheerful, enthusiastic, had a good knowledge of the cities and "Pauline's tips" were very useful. In a number of hotels she arranged a buffet for the group and on the last evening arranged entertainment in the hotel. All the hotels were first class and the holiday was good value.

Review by: Fran Ramsay on 26/09/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia

Returned yesterday from the most fantastic experience in Vietnam and Cambodia we have had in a long time. Our guide, Pauline, happened to be on the same flight over and took her time to introduce herself and from then on she proved to be an absolute star. The organisation was exceptional considering the amount of trips that were provided. As for the trips, the variety of history and scenery was perfect, experiences we never thought we would see and certainly never forget. All the hotels along the way were fantastic, rooms, staff, service... again all different but exceptional. All in all we would recommend this experience ('holiday' just doesn't cover it) to anybody wanting to travel this part of the world

Review by: James Taylor & Stephen Forster on 26/09/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia

Wow,wow,wow! Just returned from a fabulous visit to Vietnam and Cambodia. All hotels were first class with amazing breakfasts. The lunches included for those longer days were delicious and always "local" All our guides were informative and obliging but Antonia, our Riviera guide, was amazing, she thought of everything and actually made the trip. She was always professional, had a great sense of humour and "managed" us without us realising which resulted in a very smoothly run trip. We were really impressed with the trip, organisation and itinerary and already looking at our next trip with Riviera

Review by: Tina on 24/07/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

The trip was very well organised and hotels top notch, especially Angor Palace Hotel and Spa, where we managed to relax and recover from a quite arduous trip. Really enjoyable visits but the Halong Bay journey, four hours each way was a little to long. Our tour guide Marella was great and gave us lots of information on what to do and where to eat etc. The local guides likewise were very informative as well. The group of travellers also got on well and this added to the enjoyment. We experienced some really hot and humid weather and it did take its toll towards the end of the trip. Overall a great holiday.

Review by: LAWRENCE HATFIELD on 20/06/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

Recently returned from the Vietnam and Cambodia Tour. An understatement would be stunning. Pauline, our tour manager, along with the local guides made this experience simply unforgettable.

The organisation was fantastic, the early starts fully justified. My highlight was the Cu Chi tunnels, whilst the partner was jaw dropped by Angkor Wat and we were both moved to tears at S21 and the killing fields, especially meeting Mr Meng - one of only 2 remaining survivors of that time. Plenty of beauty on offer, not just the grim, but important stuff.

Brilliant value and brilliant service - we will be booking with Riviera again.

Review by: Justin Boon on 07/06/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

Amazing holiday with lovely hotels and a special mention to Pauline our tour manager whose informative, knowledgeable experience and sunny disposition for the whole tour was the icing on the cake. Thank you.

Review by: David Pettit on 14/04/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

Had a wonderful time ,full on trip ,it's a long time since we travelled with Riviera travel, forgotten how good they were

Will not be the last.

Our tour Manager Michelle was the best went over and above her duties as a tour Manager

Review by: Lynn Wright on 21/04/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

I returned from a tour of Vietnam and Cambodia on Saturday. It was a wonderful experience. Everything was so well organised and went very smoothly. All the local guides were very well informed and were proud to show us the sights of their countries. Michele, our British guide was amazing. She was so professional but very friendly. She knew all the best places to go and gave us lots of welcome advice. She also arranged several extra trips that were not included on the itinerary. My two friends and I did all the extras and really enjoyed them. I will definitely do another Riviera tour in the future and hope that Michele will be the tour guide.

Review by: Sheila Grimley on 21/04/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

This is just a brief note to say that our (party of four) experience on the Vietnam/Cambodia tour was just as good as, if not better than, the South Africa one,with Riviera, of two years ago. The five locations we visited, with the excellent contributions from the local guides, were very varied and and held their unique qualities and interests. Lorenzo, our Tour Manager, played an important part in ensuring the Tour ran like clockwork and her knowledge and humour were well received. Overall a great, memorable, "gruelling" trip. Well done Riviera

Review by: Parsonage and Rigg on 11/04/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

First tour with Riviera Travel and certainly not the last. Well thought out itinerary that covered all aspects of both countries. Great experience made all the better by our professional tour guide, Pauline. Very knowledgeable, caring and efficiently attended to everybodies needs.

Review by: Brian Smith on 28/03/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

I would just like to pass on my appreciation for our tour leader Alex who is probably the best one we've ever had with Riveira. He was very calm and had a good sense of humour. At times it must be like herding cats but I never saw him anything but patient and relaxed.

Review by: Caroline Row on 07/03/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

We have had a wonderful holiday in Vietnam and Cambodia. Hanoi was an experience crossing the road dodging the scooters! Halong Bay and the wonderful. Heavenly Palace Cave was breathtaking. Saigon was a beautiful city, staying in the lovely Equatorial Hotel. Recommend seeing the AO show at the Opera House - amazing. War Remnants Museum and Cu Chi area and tunnels are a must albeit very disturbing.

Fabulous trip on Mekong River visiting Coconut Island, sampling local produce. Punt ride along the tranquil canals.

Cambodia the trips to the Killing Fields and Genocide Museum of S21, although harrowing is something you have to experience to appreciate the full horrors Cambodians went through. Then to Siam Reap and the wonderful Angkor Palace Hotel, stunning saved the best to last. Angkor Archaelogical site interesting but exhausting. Thoroughly recommend Countryside trip, unique experience of Cambodian life. Beautiful area of

Lotus Flowers growing and seeing the floating villages. Quite humbling how little they have still with big smiles.

Fantastic guides and Pauline our Tour Manager was excellent, made our trip effortless organising everything. Make sure you take plenty of dollars as you need to pay in cash for trips and shows.

Highly recommend Riviera good value for money, 5 lunches included all excellent giving you the opportunity to sample all the local cuisine- delicious!

Review by: Hazel Ivory on 28/03/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

Very much enjoyed the V & C tour. We visited so many amazing places yet didn't feel rushed - there was enough free time built in. Alex, our guide, was v relaxed yet informative & the local guides brought the countries (& the history) to life. The memories of two countries will stay with us - thank you Riviera.

Review by: G & J Palmer on 07/03/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

Just returned from Vietnam and Cambodia, which we thoroughly enjoyed. I travelled with my wife, sister and a couple of friends. The hotels were all good with good locations, especially in Hanoi, Hue and Phnom Penh. We passed on a couple of days and did our own thing, as the itinerary is very full with lots of travelling, either by flight or in the bus. The local guides were all interesting and informative. Alex was our Guide for the trip and got it just right. He looked after us all extremely well with tolerance and a sense of humour. We had no issues with the trip at all, and thoroughly enjoyed. If you fancy seeing and experiencing these countries the trip ticks all the boxes.

Review by: David Row on 07/03/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

This is the second time I have travelled with Riviera and once again what a superb trip, all very well planned with excellent Hotels and very informative local guides.

Bev, our tour manager, was exceptional. So knowledgeable about everything and her manner made it a great pleasure to be with her.

Will hopefully meet her again on another trip.

Review by: Jean Richards on 10/02/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

I have been on European tours with Riviera but this was my first experience of Asia and I look forward to returning. Alex was a calm, confident and helpful guide. The local guides taught me so much about the history of these two countries and shared with us their own experiences. This brought the countries to life. Although tiring we soon got into the breadth of the tour. My head is spinning with the range of visits: Cambodian river village, Angkor Wat, the political regime in both Vietnam and Cambodia, Halong bay. I could go on. Transport by everything from plane to tuk tuk. The food was lovely. The hotels were superb. The group of people were a pleasure to be with. I would recommend this trip to everyone and am busy working out where to go next, with Riviera of course.

Review by: Viv Mckee on 17/01/2017

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

I have recently returned from Riviera's tour of Vietnam and Cambodia - my fifth holiday with the company. The itinerary included many aspects of these fascinating countries, with the beautiful islands of Halong Bay and the temples of Angkor being major highlights. The programme was full but very well planned and we generally had some free time at the end of the day to explore independently or relax in the excellent hotels.

We were fortunate to have a very experienced Tour Manager in Michele. She was always sociable, professional and available when you needed practical information or advice. All the local guides were also very good.

I would recommend this tour to anyone wishing to experience the best of these exciting countries.

Review by: David Hill on 15/11/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

What a fantastic trip we had to Vietnam and Cambodia. It is very difficult to think of any way in which the trip could be improved - the itinerary is excellent. This is our fifth trip with Riviera and certainly won't be our last. Every day of the trip was wonderfully different and catered so well for everyone's needs and interests. The local guides used were excellent and gave further background that was welcomed by all. Our tour rep Michelle Cook was fantastic. She is obviously a very well-travelled tour guide with immense experience of Asia and throughout the whole trip was a source of information. She took great care to look after all of us and her sunny disposition made each day wonderful despite some rather difficult historical information linked to this region of the world. Where do Riviera find such wonderful tour guides? What a great experience and we enjoyed meeting other Riviera travellers and we have certainly got lots of ideas for future trips. Well done and thank you Michelle

Review by: Mary and Tony Gray on 15/11/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

We have just returned from a fantastic trip to Vietnam and Cambodia. Our special thanks to our Tour Manager Michele who was an excellent tour manager, very organized, caring and very approachable.

Thank you to Riviera and Michele, my husband had an extra special birthday on holiday, Michele made sure on his birthday he sat at the front of the coach, a cake delivered to our room and pre booked a lovely restaurant for us to enjoy a special meal.

We had a nice group of fellow travellers which made it fun.

We have travelled many times with Riviera and will do so again

Review by: Nilam & Mel on 15/11/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

It was a fantastic holiday with excellent choice of hotels and brilliantly managed by tour manager Bev. The organised choice of tour gave us a wide experience of the Vietnamese and Cambodian peoples particularly with regard to recent history. We loved it and would definitely go again. Both countries have some of the most polite and helpful people we have come across anywhere. We will definitely travel with Riviera Travel in the future.

Review by: Reg. Battershall on 04/11/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

An excellent tour led by an excellent tour manager, Marthese. She brought superb organisation and efficiency to the whole enterprise, with good humour and patience. We saw interesting places on a well-constructed tour which featured many varied experiences and visits. We appreciated the free time that was made available also. Hotels were of a really high standard and most of the local guides provided excellent commentaries.

Review by: Alison and John Peck on 03/04/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

Thank you to everyone for an amazing trip to Vietnam and Cambodia.

This is my third trip with Riviera and they have all surpassed my expectations - well done!

A few observations - firstly that the trip to Tonle Sap and the floating village was an optional extra and not on the fixed itinerary I found curious

- secondly the cookery course at the Champey cookery school on the final day was really good and I was surprised to be the only taker from the Riviera group - maybe a bit more notice should be given that it is available

- thirdly Bev is an excellent Tour Manager

- organised, invariably cheerful and is prepared to think outside the box to give the Riviera travellers the best experience she possibly can

All in all a wonderful trip - a big thank you to everyone. I look forward to perusing your catalogue and deciding on my next adventure!

Review by: Margaret Steele on 06/04/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

I should have written it earlier but as soon as arrived I had a very bad viral infection which I picked it from my husband & Deborah (tour manager) knows what I am talking about. I just want to say it was an excellent tour with an excellent tour manager. She was so pleasant, so professional, amiable, very enthusiastic, excellent organiser, extremely thoughtful, highly knowledgable and she was devoted herself to her group to make them feel happy and enjoy their time as much as she can even when she was unwell. We enjoyed the tour & it was a Good opportunity to explore these countries. This is my third trip with Riviera because they are quite organised. I have to admit that Deborah was the best tour manager among my 3 trips with you. Thank you & looking for the next tour.

Review by: Mrs Alsinawi on 07/04/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

My mother and I have just returned from an amazing tour with Riviera Travel, our third trip with the company.

The tour was jam packed with visits, giving us a rich variety of ancient temples, beautiful scenery and delicious food.

Our guide, Marella, was absolutely fantastic organising 39 of us daily with great efficiency, a wealth of knowledge and a well needed sense of humour! My mother has walking problems and Marella was always thinking ahead to advise us and enable my mother to see as much as possible on the tour which was massively appreciated by us both.

To anyone not sure about booking, I would wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful tour. Thank you Riviera and to Marella in particular.

Review by: Victoria Riddell on 14/04/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

My partner Lynne (Breadon) and I would like to personally thank your tour guide Bev Lewis for making the holiday a superb experience. Bev was always on hand and gave 110% effort to ensure that the holiday went smoothly and everyone had a fantastic time.

Review by: David Robinson on 09/05/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

We have just returned from the Vietnam Cambodia tour and would like to thank our tour manager Alex for making this a great holiday. Everything went without a hitch and Alex gave us all the information we needed and was always on hand. The standard of all the hotels and restaurants used were 1st class. Our first tour with Riviera but won’t be our last. Hoping to do the Burma one at some point, hopefully Alex will be on that too.

Review by: Liz Barker on 10/05/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday to Vietnam & Cambodia 5th to 20th April mainly due to the wonderful and professional guide that you sent with us “lorenza” your Italian guide.

We were a very diverse group & Lorenza handled all situations (some very awkward) in a very professional & friendly manner resulting in a most memorable trip.

Riviera is lucky to have such a patient & knowledgeable guide and we look forward to travelling with you again in the near future.

Thanking you once again,

Review by: Gerry & Ann O’Gorman on 13/05/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

We’ve just returned from our 4th Riviera trip and as usual we have nothing but glowing praise once again. Vietnam airlines were excellent - new Boeings and attentive but not intrusive cabin crew - As for the whole trip it was breathtaking and our excellent guide Marella - who delivered the right information at the right time - a truly amazing adventure - this is a full immersion into these 2 amazing SE Asian countries - lots to see and do with 5 different hotels and 7 flights in 16 days - the cuisine is fantastic, the hotels very well chosen - the people are gentle humble and hard working - too many highlights to list them all - we loved the rickshaw ride thru Hanoi - citadels and palaces and temples are stunning - we went in May and it was hot and humid so pack accordingly - Amazing flora and countryside - all local guides Nancy, Simon, Sam, Kwa and Pit knew their stuff and imparted local colour to the destinations

Well done Riviera - we will return soon.

Top tip - visit the sky bar at the Imperial Hotel Hue at sunset - amazing view overlooking the Perfume river.

Great value restaurants - we struggled to spend €20 a head for 3 course meals with quality wine.

Recommend you take US dollars in single and 5 dollar bills for tips

Please tip well - these wonderful people deserve it.

Review by: Dushan and Angela Zivanic on 19/06/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

Hi there I have just returned from a tour - Vietnam/Cambodia, and I just would like to say what a terrific time my friend and I had and speaking with the other holiday makers - they felt the same. Michelle, the tour manager was absolutely amazing and made the whole

trip run so smoothly. She was totally professional and sociable and there was nothing I could fault about her or the whole trip.

Review by: Sue and Linda on 02/09/2016

Vietnam & Cambodia Tour

With apologies for the length of time it has taken me to contact you I would just like to put on record my appreciation for the work done by the Tour Manager Michele Cook during my recent holiday in Vietnam/Cambodia.

Throughout the whole trip Michele worked very hard to ensure that everything went smoothly and that everyone’s needs were met. She made herself readily available to members of our group, and her local knowledge and her willingness to share this added greatly to our experience.

I was particularly grateful to her for the help and support she gave me after an incident in Phom Phen. Michele assisted me in contacting family to cancel cards etc and accompanied me to report the matter to the police even though it was late at night. I very much appreciated her kindness and consideration at what was a rather stressful time.

Many thanks to Michele for all of this.

This is the first time I have travelled with Riviera but I would certainly do so again and would have no hesitation in recommending your company to others.

Review by: Marie McCusker on 02/09/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.