[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town

This was our fourth trip with Riviera and the best yet. From the time we were met by Tour Guide Karen at Heathrow everything ran like clockwork. The itinerary was a dream, the Avani Hotel in Livingstone is lovely with huge grounds in which there were giraffe, monkeys and zebra. After the long journey, the sunset cruise on the Zambezi was the perfect way to relax, rest and absorb the atmosphere of Africa. Early next morning we walked the short distance to Victoria Falls and along the river. This was magic, though being the end of the dry season there was not much water going over the Falls. There was also the opportunity to shop for keepsakes in the African Market close by.

After lunch by the pool at the Avani we set off for the Botswana border and river crossing. This was one of the highlights of the tour, crossing the Chobe River by speed boat and feeling the spray on our faces! After border formalities we were on our way to the Mowana Lodge in Chobe. This again was very attractive, right on the river, and we were very comfortable for our 3 nights there. Driving out at dawn the next morning in open sided vehicles for the dawn safari was a joy. Though we only saw elephants, impalas, and various exotic birds on that particular safari, the drive through the bush was spectacular. A river safari followed in the afternoon and we saw a lot more. The second day in Chobe was a free day with various optional extra tours on offer or the chance to relax by the pool.

Then came 4 nights in Cape Town, with wonderful tours again. On the Peninsula trip we saw the penguins at Boulders Beach (and had a very good lunch there included in the holiday), ostriches, baboons and even whales! Second day we all enjoyed the Winelands Tour and the final day was a free day with more trips. Thank you Karen for being our best tour guide ever. She played a huge part in the success of our holiday.

Review by: Jane Mendonca on 05/10/2018

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town

A fantastic holiday with a huge amount packed into a short time. The sunset cruise on the Zambezi was a relaxing way to start the holiday, with sightings of hippos, crocs and elephants. The tour of the falls in the morning – with rainbows – was wonderful: although the water is not at full flood in September, for us it was perfect – otherwise we wouldn’t have seen anything for the spray! The morning game drive in Chobe was chilly, but a nice introduction to the park, including hippos, jackals, hyenas, elephants and lions, and the relaxing boat safari was a great way to get up close and personal with crocs, hippos, water buffalo and elephants. The last part of our holiday in Cape Town was also fabulous: the weather perfect for our visit to Cape Point and Boulders Beach and, although it was a little damp, the winelands tour was lovely too. Disappointingly the tablecloth didn’t lift sufficiently to allow a trip up the cable car, but there was plenty to occupy us at the V&A Waterfront, Kirstenbosch and the hop-on, hop-off bus.

The hotels were great. The Avani, close to the top of the falls was home to monkeys, impala, zebra and giraffe. The Mowana Lodge, although still undergoing a refurb, was also lovely. We had our own mini safari here too: elephants, baboon, warthog, mongoose and hippo on the golf course – so not too much opportunity to play a round! The Waterfront in Cape Town is not at the waterfront; however there is a free shuttle bus which takes you down to the V&A in 10 minutes. The restaurant is good for bar meals.

Our tour manager Janet had good knowledge and was helpful and always available to the group and our drivers and guides were all great. To sum up, a fantastic holiday with many memories.

Review by: Margaret Lovett on 07/09/2018

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town

We returned last week from this excellent tour, on which Janet was our wonderful Tour Manager. She even arranged nice weather! We'd thought that the tour was a cost-effective way to see what we really wanted - Victoria Falls, a safari game drive and Cape Town. After flights and other travel were taken off, the net time was about 7 days - it is a long way from London! However, by the time we had added the optional extra game drive and helicopter flights at Victoria Falls and Cape Town (the cable car was not operating), it became the holiday of a lifetime, with so much packed in. Our photos have already been seen by many friends, who have found them hard to believe. Many thanks to Riviera and to Janet, whose company we really enjoyed.

Review by: Alasdair & Kathleen on 27/07/2018

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town

We have just returned from an incredible holiday experience. The holiday exceeded all our expectations. Victoria falls was stunning, the accommodation was fantastic and the river cruise was a delightful conclusion to the first day. Botswana was also an amazing experience, with the game drive in the morning being a rather chilly experience, much cooler than we expected!! but an awesome experience. The accommodation was superb . Cape town was also an amazing experience with the tours organised providing a great insight into the Cape. The tour leader Janet was fantastic, her knowledge appeared endless, and her advice was invaluable. All transfer arrangements were seamless and the coaches used where all first class. As you can probably tell we loved our trip and look forward to travelling with Riviera again in the future

Review by: Mike Prie-Hughes on 27/07/2018

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town

Excellent holiday ,although this time of the year Victoria Falls are not at their best,they are still good and even better when taking a helicopter trip which took us through the gorges.Botswana was amazing for the wild life.Their was so much packed into this holiday ,trip down the Chobe river watching the elephants cross back across the river after their time on the fertile side,game drive which was excellent. On to Cape Town which was equally full on ,Penguins, table mountain, wine region all excellent. Our guide was Marina who was friendly, helpful which helps make the holiday a success

Review by: Susan Dabbs on 15/09/2017

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town

We thought this was a fantastic holiday with so much packed in to the time table. Our tour manager Lawrence was very knowledgeable and pleasant and was always available to the group. We had such a good start with the Zambezi sunset cruise which was both relaxing and picturesque with many sightings of various animals and birds. There is not much more to say about Victoria Falls which has not already been said by others except WOW. The safari element of the trip was wonderful with again many and varied sighting (except on this occasion a lion, never mind )

The boat safari was a first for us and was a real pleasure. On our free day we did the optional Namibia excursion as we were the only couple who chose to do that it in effect became a private tour and we enjoyed it very much. In Cape Town our local guide John was very very good and most humorous as well. We were very grateful that at the end of one of our included excursions Lawrence, John and the coach driver took us to table mountain (Which was not on the itinerary ) and waited whilst we made our own way to the summit and then afterwards returned us to the hotel this was indeed above and beyond and was much appreciated by all the group. I would say in summary a fantastic holiday with so many memories I would use Riviera again and recommend them to anyone.

Review by: anthony tobin on 16/06/2017

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town

We have recently (June) been on your tour of Botswana, Zambia and Cape Town. Our tour manager was Laurence and I would like to comment on how pleased we were with him as our tour manager. He was very courteous, helpful and very informative; an excellent guide and an asset to Riviera.

The holiday was very good and all the hotels were of a very high standard and well located. The included excursions were also excellent.

We will definitely travel with Riviera again.

Review by: Jennifer and Richard Pask on 30/06/2017

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

I just wanted to thank Rivera travel for the fabulous holiday that my friend and I returned from our trip in March -April it was a holiday that was high on my to -do list and exceeded all my expectations and more, all the flights, Hotels, road trips boats, lodges etc, were of a high standard and made my holiday feel safe but also exciting, it was such a varied holiday encompassing all aspects of life in Zambia, Botswana, and South Africa, I had a wonderful Birthday in South Africa organized by our wonderful rep and guide Karen, I cannot begin to thank her for her expertise, kindness, and fun, such a pleasure to meet her, I will definitely be using Riviera again and cannot wait to begin another adventure with your company.

Review by: Jackie lamble on 24/03/2017

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

My wife and I have recently returned from a trip arranged by your company (the fifth time we have travelled with you), we had a most wonderful trip fitting in so much yet finding the whole experience totally relaxing. It was obviously well organised by your company but also we wish to praise the tour manager Matt. His organising abilities and professionalism were faultless enhanced by his sense of humour. We will certainly consider using your company again and recommend it to others.

With kind regards

Review by: Roy & Joan Turner on 24/02/2017

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

We both would just like to say a big thank you for the fantastic experience we had - the whole holiday went off without a hitch, we were blessed with a fantastic guide in Karen Holladay who looked after us so well throughout. In fact we could not praise her efforts too highly, she was a star and ensured everything went smoothly. The hotels used were fantastic and the staff too were very attentive and helpful. Food amazing, trips amazing and we look forward to travelling with you again in November. Thank you!!

Review by: John & Pam Stych on 08/06/2013

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

We arrived home from Victoria Falls, Botswana, and Cape Town last Friday, 2nd November tired but with smiles on our faces This was a memorable trip and exceeded our expectations - the tour was well organised and varied. The accommodation and meals provided were very good. The game drives and river trips were excellent - we were all open mouthed with astonishment at the animals we saw during the late afternoon. The driver was knowledgeable and entertaining. The biggest thank you goes to our guide, he was helpful, kind and supportive.

Travelled on 23/11/2012

Review by: Sue & Vic Camp on 09/11/2012

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

We arrived home this morning after an action packed tour. Your company is to be recommended. Our tour guide, was very well organised and diplomatic in his approach to our group. The hotels were of a good standard and all meals were excellent. Our highlights were: seeing the wild life in their natural environment (we would recommend doing as many game drives as possible) and seeing a leopard in particular; the helicopter ride over the Falls (it may have been better to see the falls in the wet season); walking up Platteklip Gorge early morning and having Table Mountain to ourselves then taking the Cable Car down and Robben Island. We recommend booking these on the Internet in advance. We will be booking with Riviera again.

Travelled on 23/10/2012

Review by: Kath & Bill on 02/11/2012

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

I have just returned from your tour of Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari and Cape Town.It has been a most memorable holiday in all respects and well exceeded my wildest expectations. All the holiday hotels were excellent with spacious accommodation, friendly staff and an abundance of good food.The tour guide, was great fun to be with and very knowledgeable and the additional helpers, particularly the safari guides were super. Highlights of the holiday for me were the evening cruise on the African Queen with my first sightings of hippos and crocs, the safaris with sightings of so many animals in their natural settings and of course the really close up visit to the Falls. I met some lovely fellow travellers and the whole experience will stay with me forever. My thanks to all

Travelled on 11/10/2010

Review by: Russell Langham on 01/11/2010

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

Thank you Riviera for a fantastic trip to Victoria Falls, Botswana and Cape Town, we had a wonderful time and made new friends, this is our second trip with you and we have already booked another one, I think that tells everybody what we think about Rivieria Travel Escourted worldwide trips, fantastic. Your Tour Manager, was brilliant, as was his jokes each day!! and we certainly came home with big smiles on our faces and wonderful memories of truly wonderful holiday, worth every penny.

Travelled on 25/10/2010

Review by: Roland & Ann Walker on 11/11/2000

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

We have just returned today from this holiday, our 1st with Riveria and we have had a fantastic trip. Hotels very good standard especially the one in Bostwana, the food was excellent with a wide choice for breakfasts and the dinners where they were included, everything about the trip was well organised and ran smoothly. Our tour guide was brilliant and worked very hard to ensure we all had a good holiday experience. It was excellent value for money and we will definitely go again with Riveria and recommend this holiday to our friends.

Travelled on 23/07/2012

Review by: Mr and Mrs Dunham on 02/08/2012

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

Thank you so much for an incredible holiday; everything we did was organised superbly and our tour guide was fantastic; so helpful and professional. All the hotels were super, the food when included plentiful and varied. Will not hesitate to travel with Riviera again in the future.

Travelled on 06/08/2012

Review by: Debra Bunting, Morecambe on 30/08/2012

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

This was a fabulous holiday, with such a variety of experiences, every day a new adventure to explore! We can absolutely recommend it to anyone but, to be sure to get the very best from this holiday, we recommend you to have Colleen as your tour guide. She ensured that everyone had the best time and her devotion to looking after us was amazing, even the weather did her bidding!! Thank you Colleen, for making our visit to your beloved country so memorable.

Review by: Carol & Andy Lincoln on 05/03/2016

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

Our tour of south Africa, Botswana and Zambia was truly fantastic. Our tour manager colleen webster was amazing. As a group, we presented her with all sorts of problems and she coped wonderfully. She is extremely resourceful and knowledgeable. It was a pleasure to be in colleen’s company, she is an excellent ambassador for Riviera.

Review by: Shirley Seager on 06/03/2016

Victoria Falls, Botswana Safari & Cape Town Tour

We returned from the above trip on Easter Monday. We had a truly marvellous time. This was largely due to our guide, Karen Holladay, who simply could not have been better. Professional, amiable and with infectious enthusiasm, Karen made our holiday. We also wish to highly commend John Mason and Bert the driver. All three contributed to the positive spirit and camaraderie that cheered us all.

Looking forward to our next holiday with Riviera

Review by: Alan and Valerie White on 31/03/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.