If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Tour of Venice - Classic & Undiscovered

We flew to Venice on 4/09/2016 and had a great fight with Jet2. Our guide in Venice was Pauline and she was great. The Hotel on the Grand Canal was wonderful and your holiday as always was fabulous and I told my friends about your Company.

Review by Pauline Wride on 28 September 2016

We both just wanted to tell you how much we both enjoyed our tour of ‘Undiscovered Venice’ with our superb guide PAULINE.  She went out of her way to make sure we were happy on our holiday.  My wife has a huge amount of problem with her diet, but Pauline ensured that her needs were met - We cannot rate her highly enough and we both hope we meet her on another of your tours -  we shall most certainly book in the future.  The Hotel Principle we stayed in was overlooking the Grand canal and it had superb food.  We dined there eating outside watching the boats go by - fantastic.  We shall remember the holiday for a long time -  THANKYOU to you all.  Rory and David Richold

Review by Roz & David Richold on 18 September 2016

First time back in Venice after a day trip 30 years ago. Our hotel was nicely-placed, being well away from the concentration of crowds around P San Marco, and right on the edge of the Canal Grande. Tour manager Nicola did an excellent job in all respects and was always ready to answer queries and unfailingly full of good humour. We very much enjoyed strolling through the quieter parts of the city and were pleased to be given enough free time to visit all manner of churches, museums, and the delightful island of Burano. The only downside was the one day of extremely wet weather. However I suggest that Venice would benefit from more places to sit. And perhaps a few more public toilets. But it is what it is and we love it, all the more for having plenty of time to enjoy it. It warrants re-visits. Lots of them.

Review by D John Akerman on 22 May 2016

Just like to tell you that we had a most enjoyable holiday in Venice with your company - good hotel in good position - balance between organised activities and free time just right.
So, many thanks to our Tour Manager, Michelle and to you all for your excellent service.
We have travelled with you several times before and have always been very pleased

Review by Rita Simmerson on 19 May 2016

Have just returned from your Venice Tour. A well constructed tour and all arrangements including transfers were very efficiently carried out.
The Hotel was good and conveniently located. All in all a very enjoyable break. I cannot speak highly enough about Pauline your Tour Manager. She was brilliant throughout our stay.

Review by Rodney Richardson on 9 May 2016

My husband and I have just returned from a 30th wedding anniversary celebration visit to Venice.  We had always wanted to visit the city and chose Riviera’s tour after a superb experience with them in Bruges last year.
We weren’t disappointed.  The hotel was friendly and comfortable with a lovely terrace by the side of the Grand canal.  The walking tours were informative and entertaining.  What made the visit extra special was the resident tour guide.  Having someone who not only knows the city but also lives in it made us feel part of the place.  Pauline also arranged some lovely evening meals and a very entertaining theatre visit for us.
Many thanks Riviera.  Now all we need to do is decide where to go next year!

Review by Amanda Haylock on 9 May 2016

My husband and I have just returned from a most exciting visit to Venice with two friends and I thought the service and care we received from our travel representative for Riviera Travel, was first class. She accompanied us with a very knowledgeable and informative guide without whom we would certainly have missed a lot of detailed historical as well as up to the minute information . As none of us had been to Venice before it was good to be met at the airport and transported to the hotel by bus and boat with no need to worry about carrying our luggage. Our hotel was situated in a most convenient position right on the Grand Canal and although tired in parts was on the whole very very good with helpful staff. Venice would certainly be a challenge for those who find walking difficult but we (in our Sixties) managed well enough and traveled by water bus some of the time.
Travelled on 15/10/2012

Review by Mrs E Davies-Jones on 5 November 2012

My friends and I had a wonderful holiday in Venice. The hotel was right on the Grand Canal and we could sit on the terrace and watch the boats before dinner. The guides were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The itinerary was excellent. This was our second holiday in Italy with Riviera Travel and we are already planning a river cruise with them. Cannot fault the organisation.
Travelled on 27/08/2012

Review by Patricia Willoughby on 5 November 2012

Thank you for a Great Trip! Michelle our tour manager was very good, local guide - excellent. Hotel very well placed for ease of getting around and finding our way back! Lovely way to experience the City.

Review by Irene Ridley on 25 May 2013

We recently enjoyed a wonderful tour in Venice, made so enjoyable by our guide, Valerie. She was so attentive, caring and well informed that the whole programme went without even the slightest hitch. The walking tours were perfect just 2 1/2 hours leaving us adequate free time to explore on our own. Our guide was amazing - he combined great knowledge along with the ability to make it interesting and deeply informative. Hotel Principe is situated on the Grand Canal in a lovely position - great for early evening drinks on the terrace watching all the activity on the canal. Breakfasts were superb!
This was our 3rd tour with Riviera - we’re looking forward to the next one!

Review by Chris & Sheila Batiste on 8 June 2013

Have just returned from Venice. I was traveling on my own and found everything so easy. Michelle is an excellent Tour Manager. She is very efficient, friendly and caring. The local guide was passionate about his city and so very interesting. The hotel was in a great position and food good. I would recommend this tour.

Review by Sandra Brampton on 15 June 2013

Couldn’t fault it. City superb - Guides excellent - Hotel elegant (very Venetian) - Transport easy - Weather very hot (but no-one can control that)

Review by Jean O’Keefe & Carol Henry on 21 June 2013

Just wanted to say thank you for organising our trip to Venice. We had an amazing time. The tour manager, Franca, was very knowledgeable and being Venetian added a lovely personal touch to the trip. The hotels eclectic style soon became home and it’s location made it easy for us to find our way ‘home’ every evening.
The tour guide in Venice was excellent. He brought the city alive and had a good sense of humour.

Review by Kim Roberts on 28 June 2013

Just returned from Venice, this will be our 3rd Holiday with Riviera Travel. Previous trips were Bruges and Krakow. Once again not disappointed. The Hotels have always been of a high standard,with very good Buffet style breakfasts. All the guides have been very helpful and friendly with a very good local knowledge and at times very entertaining. Already browsing the brochure for the next trip.

Review by Ann Hollingsworth on 29 June 2013

Thank you Riviera for such an interesting and varied trip to Venice. Everything was well organized and stress free. Our guides were excellent, friendly and very knowledgeable. Hotel Principe was an ideal location for us to access the islands and different parts of the city using a 36 hour pass on the water buses, which I can highly recommend. This is the first time I have booked with Riviera but it certainly will not be the last!!!!

Review by julie palmer on 1 July 2013

We have recently returned from a trip to Venice with your company and would like to thank you for the splendid organisation involved. Our transfers ran smoothly, the hotel was excellent, the trips well arranged and our own tour guide and the local tour guide were excellent.
We would certainly use your company again.

Review by Den and Vivienne Owen on 1 July 2013

My husband and I have recently taken our first trip with Riviera Travel, to Venice. What a great time we had, good hotel close to everything, a very informative guide Valerie. She looked after us so well. Everything was so well organised, and the terrace at the hotel was a very welcome place to sit an watch the world go by at the end of a busy day. Perfect. We will certainly travel with Riviera again.

Review by Sandra Stephenson on 10 July 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week in Venice, our first time with Riviera. We were impressed by the seamless organisation and the knowledge of Pierro the local guide was neatly matched by the genuine passion for Venice of our tour guide Norm. Hotel Principe is situated in an excellent position for access to the rest of the city and the buffet breakfast was very generous. All in all this was an excellent holiday with just the right mix of excursions and plenty of free time to do your own thing, we will definitely add Riviera to our list of favourite tour operators for the future.

Review by Christine Woolley on 12 July 2013

Having travelled with Riviera for approx. the last 18yrs, we have never been disappointed with any of the holidays, and this one was no exception. As always every detail was taken care of, from the flight going to arriving back in England. They always stay at good hotels well situated. the Tour Managers are always well informed and their knowledge second to none. This tour to Venice was fabulous from the weather to the food. We could not recommend Riviera highly enough and tell everyone about them. Long may you continue to provide us with exceptional, affordable, value for money holidays. Thank you.

Review by David & Linda Crow on 28 July 2013

Venice…14th to 18th July A superb holiday but wanted to say what a brilliant tour guide we had for this holiday. Valerie proved not only a wonderful guide but became a good friend for the holiday. She went over and above what is expected of a tour guide and nothing was too much trouble for her. She had a wonderful sense of humour and was able to answer all of our questions in a positive manner. This was the third holiday I have had with Riviera and all tour guides have been good but Valerie was another level above.

Review by Denise Jeffery on 5 August 2013

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.