If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Undiscovered Provence Tour

Undiscovered Provence tour…a delight from start to finish. Angus the tour guide was lovely company, good fun and a mine of information..nothing too much trouble. Bruno the coach driver too made our holiday…excellent duo. Scenery beautiful, people friendly, Roi Rene Hotel wonderful. It took us 15 minutes just to look at everything laid out for breakfast! We went to Sorrento with Riviera and South Africa and as far as we are concerned from starting with booking to arriving home excellent. Well done Riviera!

Review by Rosemary Smith on 28 September 2016

I’ve just returned from a lovely holiday in ‘Undiscovered Provence’, having stayed at the Novotel Aix Beaumanior. The hotel was very comfortable and clean, great selection of breakfast foods, evening meals were superb. The tour was excellent as it covered some of the most beautiful areas of Provence and the tour guide, Jesse, was knowledgeable, humorous, helpful and a delight to be with. No wonder I’ve booked another holiday with Riviera Travel!

Review by Dorothy Walmsley on 9 September 2016

Just back from an amazing trip to Provence, it was everything we wanted and more. The guide Bernadette really made the holiday she was very knowledgeable and informative but had a light touch with amusing and interesting stories about the area. As we were a group of a certain age it was lovely to have a mature guide who seem to understand what we were interested in and our limitations. All in all this is what makes Riviera Trips so good.

Review by Jacqueline Meredith on 23 June 2016

One of the best conducted tours I’ve experienced! Joanne cared for our Group and provided a wealth of information with abundant facts, figures and considerable humour. Stayed in the Aquabella Hotel in Aix-en-Provence and enjoyed the excursions to historic towns and stunning rural countryside in a part of France with so much to offer the visitor. Another sucessfull holiday with Riviera and thoroughly recommended!

Review by John Chambers on 18 June 2016

Wonderful tour plus tour guide Muhammad who went the extra mile for everyone.
Riviera Travel up to their usual high standards With hotel aquabella excellent very good facilities.well done everyone.

Review by Patricia Davies on 3 June 2016

We have just returned from the tour, our second time. Our second time also at the Hotel Aquabella which is ideally located near to the town of Aix en Provence and all the staff were attentive and helpful. Special thanks to our Tour Manager, Mohamed, who was excellent and was very helpful and informative throughout the tour.

Review by David Hammond on 25 May 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, great tour manager Mohammed, good hotel Aquabella in the heart of Aix en Provence, short walk to shops and restaurants and top it all wall to wall sunshine.

Review by Gill Wilson on 23 May 2016

Dear Riviera - our group of six has just returned from the “Undiscovered Provence” holiday, when we were extremely well looked after by Lorna, our tour manager.  Lorna was unfailingly efficient, helpful, and friendly, and added greatly to our enjoyment of the holiday.  She is a credit to you!

Review by Jo Rees on 19 May 2016

Having just returned from my fifth Riviera Tour, I am just so pleased to record yet another wonderful holiday experience. This time we chose Undiscovered Provence and yet again were delighted with every aspect of our tour. The itinerary was managed brilliantly so that in a few days we were able to see the very best that the area could offer. It is amazing, the amount of detail that can be included in a short visit but Riviera comes up trumps every time. Our Tour Manager was excellent - so knowledgable about the area, sensitive to every ones particular needs and interests, always prepared to go that little bit further to ensure that the high standard people look for on their annual holiday is maintained. Thanks again Riviera, I am always delighted to tell all my friends just how good your company is!
Travelled on 20/06/2012

Review by Valerie Convery,Cardiff on 29 June 2012

We have recently returned from a most enjoyable visit to Provence and would specially commend your tour guides. Our transfer rep. from Nice Airport to Aix-en-Provence was first class, over and above her remit. After checking in to the hotel, she escorted us into the town centre to purchase bus carnets - particularly useful as tourist information was closed the following day, Sunday - and gave us a brief orientation. Our tour guide was also outstanding; a mine of information, nothing was too much trouble for her, particularly when faced with a TGV strike affecting some of our homewardbound group. Our guide who returned us to the airport, added much interesting local information en route. We highly commend these three ladies and the entire tour. Many thanks.
Travelled on 18/09/2010

Review by Mrs E Stewart, Harrogate on 21 October 2010

Have recently spent 6 days with Riviera Travel on your tour of Provence. Excellent in all respects, the hotel was really above expectations, the organisation was very good and the week was full of interest made all the better by our knowledgeable guide.
Travelled on 14/06/2010

Review by Fred Streeter, Steyning ,W.Sussex on 2 July 2010

Just to tell you how very much we enjoyed our holiday with you. It was beautifully organized and our Courier could not have been more charming and helpful. He took us on two guided walks and was full of detailed information and gave us interesting commentaries on our various excursions.  He had a delightful sense of humour and was full of amusing anecdotes.  He was obviously very experienced. He was one of the best couriers I have ever experienced.  The Hotel in Aix was comfortable and the staff helpful. I shall certainly hope to travel with you again, and shall not hesitate to recommend Riviera Travel to my friends.  Regards, Susan Sharp
Travelled on 15/10/2012

Review by Susan Sharp on 5 November 2012

We have just returned from our holiday in ‘Undiscovered Provence’. A fantastic and fascinating six days. Paul, our courier, had a great sense of humour, and provided us with a wealth of information so that we could really appreciate the many places we visited.  Our coach driver was extremely efficient making sure we had smooth journeys during the four days of sightseeing, and the hotel provided comfortable accommodation. Many thanks to everyone for making it such a memorable holiday and also to Riviera Travel for planning it all!

Review by Susan Jones on 27 June 2013

Thank you once again (our sixth trip with you). Your service is excellent and seamless and our tour guide, Kay, is a joy. She is very well informed about all aspects of Provence and France generally, has a good sense of humour, mixed with everyone and was very patient answering all our questions.

Review by Carol Martin on 2 July 2013

We have just returned from Aix en Provence with your company. We both have to say how pleased we were with the holiday. Your tour Manager, Lorna, was excellent, her enthusiasm and understanding of the region was superb and she imparted it all with a rare combination of knowledge and humour. Indeed it would be difficult to find anyone with such an interest in local traditions and a passion for the country.
Nothing was too much trouble for her and she went out of her way to advise, help and communicate information to everyone.  She is very patient even when under pressure, which happens with French officials at times!  She is an excellent representative for your company, and we are definitely inspired to consider the Loire Valley next year with Riviera. It would be great if she was our guide. 
It would be churlish not to mention your coach contractor who supplied such good coaches and our talented driver who was extremely skilled and helpful, making sure we saw all the sights and had time to take our photos.
This will have been our fifth holiday with your company and it is easy to see how you are voted the best operator again!  I believe you listen to your reps, constantly re-evaluate your trips and adapt to suit local requirements. It makes all the difference and the caring shows.
Many thanks again.

Review by Graeme and Chris Yeates on 4 July 2013

Returned from this holiday on 1 July, and wish to say what a lovely tour this was - pity we just missed seeing the Tour de France in Aix by 2 days! Hotel Novotel Beaumanoir is very comfortable, with excellent food and very helpful staff. Although this hotel is on the edge of Aix, the bus service into town is excellent. The night time receptionist ( on 30 June) was particularly helpful, when my partner needed a hospital visit. The tours each day were varied, and each one with beautiful scenery and interesting information - art, history, architecture. We would especially like to thank our Tour Manager, Kay, who was humorous, very knowledgeable, and just very pleasant to be with. We definitely intend to travel again with Riviera - probably to France or Italy.

Review by Judith Laycock on 4 July 2013

We greatly enjoyed our time in Provence. We were very ably guided by Paul who was very well informed about the area and calm and good humoured throughout. There was a good balance of organised and free time. The tours were very interesting and varied. The driver negotiated some very difficult routes to show us some beautiful landscapes. The hotel was better than expected and fine as place to rest between trips out. We travelled to Aix by train and enjoyed the Eurostar and TGV experience.

Review by Mr and Mrs T. Lewis + J. Lewis on 6 July 2013

Recent trip to Provence proved an extremely interesting, informative and delightful one, with much diverse scenery.  Excellent Tour Manager, Kay, who shared her superb knowledge with us, showing great attention to detail and organisational skills. Hotel situated out of Aix, but the local bus service proved a real asset.  Another superb trip by Riviera Travel.

Review by Mrs Chris Smith on 23 July 2013

I had a wonderful 5 nights break in Provence; By train from St.Pancras on Saturday 7th to Thursday 12th September. Staying at Novotel Aix Beaumanoir, excellent in every way. Our tour guide Michelle was friendly, professional, and very knowledgeable; perfect.!
This holiday was booked by my friend Mr R Richardson, I shall definitely be booking with you in the future. Very good holiday, thanks to all concerned.

Review by Carol Croft on 17 September 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday based in Aix en Provence. From the time we landed in Nice to the day we left, we were accompanied by tour guide Bernadette whose knowledge of the whole area was second to none. The hotel was very comfortable and the local bus service into Aix was excellent. We visited so many different and varied places full of history. This holiday was our first to France but will have no hesitation visiting there again with your company.
Also a big thank you to the coach company and in particular the coach driver Jean Pierre who was most professional and a real gentleman.
Maureen Wilde

Review by Mrs M Wilde on 23 September 2013

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.