[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

First visit to Rome and the most beautiful city I've seen. October is a good time to visit as temperatures are in the low twenties and sunny. Our hotel was very good and centrally located. Antonella our local guide was very interesting and really knew her stuff. We visited everything we would have wanted to see. Lots of inexpensive restaurants close to the hotel which is a huge bonus.

Review by: Nicole on 14/10/2018

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

A thoroughly informative 4 days in the company of our superb guides, Romina and Antonella. Foot sore....yes, but walking in the footsteps of many with stories to tell.

Good allocation of free time and good location of hotel. From our bedroom you could watch both the morning and evening commute with anticipation seeing who is going to get across the junction first, the scooter brigade, a car or the pedestrian who is willing to risk all. Rome wouldn't be Rome without it!

Plenty of restaurants nearby for evening meal. Hotel staff pleasant and helpful.

The group we travelled with were both supportive and, as the days went by, conversant beyond a "Good morning". Pity we didn't have the first evening together to break the ice.

Flights OK without being comfortable. Airport in a state of development. Thank you, especially to Antonella, for her depth of knowledge, story telling and patience, especially at a rather rushed Vatican experience. Thank you to Romina for her smile, her welcome and enthusiasm for the English language and its humour! Well done Riviera. Good folk are scarce so don't lose these two!

Review by: Ray on 30/09/2018

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

My partner and I thought this was a great way to see the major sights of Rome - quite a packed programme (and the optional Vatican tour is a must), but time to do your own thing as well. Michelle, our tour manager, did a splendid job in organising, briefing (including a very comprehensive introductory letter), and guiding the group thoughtfully and with a nice sense of humour. Antonella, our local guide, was excellent and all one could wish for to enhance our visit. It was really great - despite a downpour whilst at the Colosseum!

Review by: John Wood on 06/05/2018

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

We were met at the airport by Michelle and straight away you felt comfortable with her. She has a lovely way about her, very calm and nothing too much trouble. Well organised trips and very informative guides. My first time on an escorted tour and I would definitely choose to go with Riviera again. Michelle gave tips about where to eat, how to get around etc. A very hectic tour with lots of walking but some free time built in as well which was nice. Would highly recommend this company and a big thank you to Michelle and Antonella for making our tour so memorable.

Review by: Ann Matthews on 06/05/2018

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

Excellent holiday with a good tour manager in Valerie and espcially the local guide Antonetta who was an endless resource of information. We left out the Vatican having been twice before and in its place visited the churches of Rome both the great and famous and the less well known. One unexpected bonus for cat lovers was finding the Rome Cats Sanctuary in the Piazza Torre Argentina not far from the Parthenon and the Piazza Venezia. This was the place where J. Ceasar was assasinated.

A wonderful holiday up to Riviera's usual excellent standards. A word of warning to wear comfortable shoes, there's lots of walking if you want to see the all the many sights Rome offers in abundance.

Review by: Korna on 05/11/2017

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

Another wonderful trip with Riviera. Reliving a trip made with my school in 1963 it outstripped my memories. My fellow travellers were a great group of people making the trip a great experience. Our Tour Manager Valerie/Valeria was absolutely brilliant as was Antonella (the Italian guide), they made our break very memorable indeed, with nothing being too much trouble. Hotel and trips were really good. Hotel within walking distance of ancient city, (it has to be mentioned the trips to the Colosseum and Forum are not ideal for anyone with severe walking difficulty due to uneven ground).

I would certainly recommend this trip if your interested in the history of the Romans in Rome. Very useful as a taster for a future return.

Can't wait for next trip.

Review by: Ian Williams on 05/11/2017

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

I Have just returned from your 5 day trip to Rome .This is my 3rd holiday with Riviera Travel and i,am yet to be disappointed The Hotel was good .Valeria our tour manager was superb .Antonella our guide was a font of knowledge she was fun to be with.The whole package was first class well done,looking forward to my next holiday with Riviera Travel

Review by: Teresa Davey on 05/11/2017

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

Very well organised with the right mix of organised trips and free time. Excellent host, Priska and local guide, Antonella. Hotel location was close to city centre but lacked range of restaurants in safe walking distance. However, excellent guidance and organisation by the wonderful Priska mitigated this inconvenience.

Review by: Sheila Lally on 15/10/2017

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

We have just returned from your Rome trip. It is difficult to express our pleasure from the tour brought about by excellent guides and organisation. Antonella's knowledge and presentation was second to none, very constructive and brilliantly delivered, with detailed understanding, giving much pleasure. Emanuela again excelled with a clear knowledgeable presentation of the history. We can also thoroughly recommend the Trastevere food tour. With all the above and the expertise of history and classics none of it would have come together without our tour manager, Valerie. She gave constant attention and was undoubtedly the mistress of the programme and attended to everyone's needs. It is difficult to express our gratitude to this lady with her expansive humour and boundless energy. Thank you to Valerie and Riviera Travel.

Review by: Eve and Theo Thomas on 12/10/2017

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed Our city break in Rome such a beautiful charismatic city.The tour was exceptionally well co ordinated by Gian with the help of the charming and knowledgeable Antonella who copped with the eccentricies of Roman traffic and officialdom with humour and patience . All in all it was a great experience.

Review by: Raphilena Bernard on 20/09/2017

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

My friend and I went on the Rome tour. It was very enjoyable and interesting. We visited the Colliseum, Trevi fountain and the Vatican. All the guides were extremely knowledgable giving us lots of historical information. The hotel was very nice, the staff very attentive, the only downside is if you get a room on the Main Street it is very noisy, even during the night, but all in all an extremely good trip.

Review by: Jean McDonald on 17/09/2017

Rome: Ancient & Baroque

Thank you for a marvellous trip - it was excellent from start to finish (apart from a minor hold up at Rome airport). There was an excellent balance of planned excursions with sufficient free time to enjoy. The way the days were planned worked very well, with the right mix of sites. Thank you to Antonella, our site guide, whose knowledge was encyclopaedic and who maximised our learning while being very entertaining, and a very special thank you to Mohamed, our tour guide. He is a real asset to your company - always unfailingly polite, friendly, helpful beyond the call of duty, just perfect! We felt completely safe in his capable hands.

Review by: Charlotte Asquith on 11/07/2017

Tour of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

Just returned from our third trip to the wonderful city of Rome with Riviera and it was as good as the last two , we were disappointed with the fact that the hotel was changed two weeks prior to going and itinerary not the same as advertised in brochure had to visit colosseum in the heat of the afternoon instead of early morning some older travellers found it to much and had to leave , good mix of organised free time which we like as exploring is such good fun , Pilar was lovely and very amusing and kept everyone in order , Antoneila is a very knowledgeable guide who explains everything you could want to know in a easy understandable way with great humour all in all a very good trip

Review by: Linda Edmunds on 13/06/2017

Tour Of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

We just took a short ‘Riviera’ break to Rome and it was SO good - the organisation was brilliant, the hotel was perfect and centrally located. The Rep really made it a very enjoyable holiday - she was informative, helpful and very friendly - nothing was too much trouble. In the short time we were there we saw quite a lot of famous attractions and the guided coach tour was very well organised. We would certainly travel with this company again.

Travelled on 07/11/2010

Review by: Mrs Ruddlesden on 17/11/2010

Tour Of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

We were recently on your Rome - Ancient and Baroque tour commencing 2nd. May 2016.

We would like to pass our thanks on to our excellent rep BERNIE. Her knowledge, information and communication made our holiday a very relaxing experience (albeit with aching feet). You may be aware we had traffic problems getting to the airport, which meant we were very rushed getting checked-in and through Security which Bernie handled admirably, but it did mean we never had the chance to say goodbye and thank you.

Will you please pass this message on to her and to thank her for all her efforts.

Review by: Ken & Carol Brown on 13/05/2016

Tour Of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

We returned from our trip to Rome yesterday and, although tired, feel exhilarated by the wonderful, informative and interesting days we had with H(A)drian and Antonella . The weather could have been better but it did not impinge on our enjoyment. Adrian’s organisation was superb and he never made us feel rushed in any way. He explained each trip, what we could expect and then Antonella took over.

Her enthusiasm and knowledge was a joy. I will never forget the visit to the Forum. She brought what happened there to life and I would not have been surprised to see Julius Ceasar appear.! She definitely should have her own T.V. programme.

Riviera give you time to do your own exploring and we visited the 6th Century church of Santa Maria Antiqua, which is located in the ancient Roman Forum. Antonella pointed it out to us and we went back the following day. It was a Sistine chapel buried for a 1000 years. The frescos are outstanding and we really recommend it it as an extra experience.

All too soon our five days were up and Adrian returned us to the airport and made sure we passed through baggage drop before leaving us.

This was our second trip with Riviera and I do hope there will be a third. Thank you to all involved in making sure our holiday was memorable.

Review by: Judith Steadman Jones on 17/05/2016

Tour Of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

I have just returned from a wonderful time in Rome and my second tour with Riviera Travel. Excellent tour guides and well organised excursions packed into four days which was perfect for time off from work. The tour guides Adrian and Antonella are a credit to your company. This tour is an exceptional introduction to this beautiful city. With my thanks.

Review by: Teena on 17/05/2016

Tour Of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

We have had the greatest of pleasure to report that our time in Rome was a fantastic success we had a great tour manager in Derek, who made the short break so much better with his knowledge of Rome past and present. The extra guides on our tour who lived in Rome were fantastic with their extra knowledge of Rome and made it a very special trip.

Thank you for a great time.

kind regards

Review by: George & Rita Kennedy on 23/05/2016

Tour Of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

What an outstanding holiday again with Riviera Travel. It was our first visit to Rome but Michelle our tour manager and our tour guide Antonella made it a tour to remember. First class hotel great tours around Rome it was perfect even though we had to endure a heat wave in Rome. Once again Riviera gave us a great holiday it will not be our last well done !!!

Review by: Terence & Joan Mccue on 25/07/2016

Tour Of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

Thank you so much for giving me the confidence to travel on my own, I returned from the Rome - Ancient and Baroque Tour on 10th June 2016 after having had a thoroughly wonderful time.

On the first day a lady by the name of Irene introduced herself and Kim, two other ladies also travelling independently for the very first time which was so nice, we had much in common and became firm friends

We have so many good memories our Tour Manager Pilar was excellent - professional, friendly, very knowledgeable, always positive and nothing was too much trouble for her, she really did become a lovely interesting companion.

The tour covered so much taking in the main parts of Rome that we all wanted to see and experience with fascinating guides Arnaldo and Antonella were amazing.

When we thought we had seen everything it just kept getting better!!

A wonderful and memorable time for us and we look forward to travelling with Riviera again in the future.

Review by: Irene Rose, Kim O’Reilly, Catherine Peters on 25/08/2016

Tour Of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

I just wanted to write to thank you for organising such an excellent tour in collaboration with the magazine. The tour went very smoothly with us all arriving and easily finding Denise at the airport.

Our hotel was lovely although I know a few had issues but you get that everywhere when you have 50 people to accommodate. The gardens we visited were just gorgeous and I have spent my time since getting back trying to work out how to make my garden look like them!! I think - never!

Denise was such a star. Faced with two days of visits she had never done before she coped admirably dealing with the usual questions of ‘where are the toilets?’ immediately after arriving at a place she had never been to!

Denise coped brilliantly with all our queries and helped make our holiday so much more enjoyable. She and Antonella have such a rapport that the two tours we did in Rome were just fabulous, so much so I have asked for Antonella’s contact details as I would like to go back with my husband as I feel I saw so little of what Rome has to offer. Antonella is a great guide and it was good to find out she does private tours which we hope to organise on our return visit.

Thank you again for such a wonderful tour.

Kind regards

Review by: Barbara Cook on 02/09/2016

Tour Of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

Thank you Riviera for the professional and friendly approach that is given to your holidays. This was our 5th trip (I think) and it was as memorable as the first. The Hotel President is smart, clean and well situated for public transport to much of the City and is an easy walk from the Colosseum. The staff were very polite and helpful especially the front desk staff. We enjoyed visiting the planned sites which gave us a good overview of Rome. We had plenty of ‘free’ time to explore and revisit some of the stunning sites. We also enjoyed an evening visit to the Vatican Museums and The Sistine Chapel, less crowded than during the day. So once again we are more than happy that we chose Riviera.

Review by: William Noon on 03/10/2016

Tour Of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

This was our Second tour with Riviera. The tour manager was very informative as were the other two guides, which accompanied us on the walking tours of the Vatican, The Sistine Chapel, The Colosseum & Forum. The walking tour to The Pantheon, Trevi Fountain & onto the Piazza Navona where we had time for lunch (would have like a little longer here), all very enjoyable. After lunch we went to The Vatican & Sistine Chapel - too busy to enjoy it to the maximum, but worth the visit. The following day, we had free time up to 3pm, this meant a leisurely breakfast, & a chance to explore the area close to the hotel & to visit a couple of historic buildings. We were picked up by coach to visit The Forum & Colosseum, both of which were very enjoyable, albeit quite tiring due to the fact that it was very hot, & lots of walking. Final day was a visit to Villa Borghese, again interesting especially for Art lovers. From here, we had a choice to go onto The Spanish steps & to make our own way back to the hotel (we chose not to go), but didn’t feel that our choice in any way spoilt the overall trip. The Best Western President Hotel, was clean, comfortable with very friendly staff. Very good choice of breakfast. We also ate in the little restaurant too which we found adequate & reasonably priced. Would recommend this tour, well done Riviera, already looking for another tour for next year.

Review by: Mr & Mrs Hawkins on 04/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.