[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Switzerland, the Matterhorn & the Glacier Express

Just returned from Switzerland on another enjoyable tour provided by Riviera Travel. From start to finish the tour performed well.

Swiss flight to/from Zurich was excellent from check-in to arrival.

We had a good group of fellow travellers, with Tour Manager Kim, and coach driver Maria providing a service which added value to enjoyment of the tour.

Hotel Victoria (Brig) offered us a good central location with friendly and helpful staff. However, it was the Hotel Silvetta (Klosters) which exceeded my expectations in terms of location, comfort, and customer service.

Excursions to Zermatt, Stresa, Montreux were excellent, although I would have liked to have had the opportunity of using local train services to travel to/from these destinations.

Without doubt highlight of the visit to Switzerland was opportunity to travel on the Glacier Express and the Bernina Express. Good weather, outstanding scenery and on board service made these journeys a memorable experience.

Thank you Riveria for another memorable travel experience.

Review by: Ian Thomas on 10/08/2019

Switzerland, the Matterhorn & the Glacier Express

I have just returned from this holiday and cannot thank you enough for a lovely holiday made even better by our wonderful guide Kim I cannot praise her enough for her knowledge of all the places we visited and her concern for every one on the tour

Review by: Mrs Renee Mackereth on 06/07/2018

Switzerland, the Matterhorn & the Glacier Express

This trip was to celebrate a milestone birthday and was selected because of the comprehensive itinerary which included 3 train journeys. The scenery throughout was stunning. The Glacier Express and Bernina railway trips in particular were special and spectacular. We paid an additional amount to go on the Gornergrat railway from Zermatt. It was very expensive, but so worth it to view the glorious panorama and magnificent Matterhorn in all its glory. The trips into Italy were also enjoyable. We had a very pleasant guide in Stefania and a very competent and helpful driver Elias. No complaints about any of the accommodation or the food. This was not an active holiday as there was a lot of sitting on the coach and then on various trains, but it was so worth it. A truly memorable holiday that 'ticked' all the boxes. This was our first trip with Riviera, but it will definitely not be our last.

Review by: E & C Thompson on 09/09/2017

Switzerland, the Matterhorn & the Glacier Express

Had a fantastic holiday to Switzerland. Our tour manager, Mark, possibly one of the best we have ever had. Mark was so helpful, thorough and informative.

many thanks for a memorable holiday.

Review by: David Thomas on 06/09/2017

Switzerland, the Matterhorn & the Glacier Express

This was a fabulous tour with such a good guide, Marc, and an incredible coach driver. The organisation was superb wherever we went. A holiday of a lifetime

Review by: Dr Wilson Nicol on 20/09/2017

Switzerland, the Matterhorn & the Glacier Express

Just back from amazing week in Switzerland - with visits into Italy - and what a fabulous time we had. Scenery was just unbelievable - surrounded by stunning snow topped mountains and gorgeous forests. We were blessed with good weather most days - in particular The Matterhorn - what a view from the top restaurant - well worth the expense - a MUST in clear weather - would even go if cloudy as it changes by the minute. Glacier Express was wonderful - we were lucky enough to have had a large amount of snow fall overnight so when we came out of one of the many tunnels near the top it was "white out" - just like winter wonderland and xmas! Only disappointment was the menu selection on the train - which suited some others but nothing for us and very expensive - otherwise wonderful views and again well worth doing for the constantly changing scenery. The Bernina Express was wonderful - a surprise to be able to ride in the rear open carriage part of the journey - so able to take many photographs and videos and really feel the COLD air. This isn't always on every train but we were lucky to have it. Riviera Tour Manager Mark did an amazing job keeping everyone together and organised and everyone informed with plenty of information of things to do. Would not hesitate to go on another trip with Riviera and definitely back to Switzerland. My recommendation would be make sure you have spare camera batteries and spare memory cards because you will need them - SO SO MUCH TO PHOTOGRAPH...... Thank you Riviera - a holiday worth waiting for...

Review by: Barbara & & John Phillips on 06/09/2017

Switzerland, the Matterhorn & the Glacier Express

This was one of the best holidays my husband and I have had for a long time! The trip is very well organised and paced, the scenery absolutely stunning and the excursions excellent. Our Tour Manager, Mark, is first class - very knowledgable and enthusiastic. The driver, Lutger, is excellent - he drove so smoothly that even the mountain passes were negotiated without a scary moment! We were lucky with the weather and the friendliness of the other travellers too. Thank you all for an exceptional holiday experience.

Review by: Lynda Pickering on 23/08/2017

Switzerland, the Matterhorn & the Glacier Express Tour

I just wanted to say thank you very much for such a great experience. I have been on a number of Riviera holidays, all which have been excellent, and this one has to be one of the best. It was a very relaxing week in very pretty scenery and was very well organised. Please could you pass my thanks to tour leader Antonia and driver Didi as they were both excellent in both friendliness and helpfulness/knowledge. As well as the views, itinerary, Antonia and Didi, the holiday was also enhanced by my fellow travellers who were lovely company.

I had a great time so just wanted to say thank you very much.

Review by: Victoria Haggar on 07/06/2017

Switzerland, the Matterhorn & the Glacier Express Tour

We've just returned from Switzerland and would like to thank all at Riviera Travel for a wonderful holiday.

Your Tour Manager Kim was excellent in every way, as was the organisation of every aspect of the tour.

We will certainly consider booking another holiday with you in the future.

Best wishes to all at Riviera Travel.

Review by: Peter & Hilary Sparks on 03/06/2017

Switzerland, the Matterhorn & the Glacier Express Tour

We have just completed our second holiday with Riviera Travel, ref above, to Switzerland and the Glacier Express trip.

I and my wife want to thank all at Riviera for a wonderful holiday and travel experience. Everything worked like clockwork with just the right amount of ‘free time’ .

So many thanks to Riviera again and especially to our group guide Kim who was amazingly communicative, efficient and personable.

See you again next year!

Review by: Diane and Michael Shilling on 03/06/2017

Switzerland, The Matterhorn & The Glacier Express Tour

We just wanted to write to say a huge thank you for a fantastic holiday to Switzerland last week. Everything was excellent, including the weather.

Could we ask you to kindly pass on our thanks to the staff at both the Alex and Silvretta Park Hotels for all their hard work to make our stay so enjoyable. Both hotels were excellent.

The waitresses at the Alex Hotel were especially good and we all formed a great rapport with them, particularly when we tried to speak in German and they tried to speak English! They were so friendly and tried very hard to accommodated all our likes and dislikes for dinner.

Could you also kindly pass on our thanks again to Jurgen, the coach driver, for his awesome driving over some really difficult Passes and some long days for him.

We would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone who likes an active holiday and likes to sightsee.

Many thanks again.

Kind regards

Review by: Sue & Dave Farthing & Joan & Jim Payton on 11/10/2016

Switzerland, The Matterhorn & The Glacier Express Tour

Just to say how much we enjoyed the two centre Swiss trip which was greatly enhanced by Antonia D’s attention to our comfort and safety.

Review by: Jan Robson on 09/09/2016

Switzerland, The Matterhorn & The Glacier Express Tour

Recently returned from our second trip with Riviera. Again a most enjoyable time in Switzerland. Our plane from Edinburgh was an hour late and rather than hold up others for an hour or more, excellent alternative arrangements were made for our group of 12 from Scotland. Our day trips in Switzerland, including to Italy were excellent and well organised. A really good time was had by all 41 of us; a really sociable group. The trip was even more enjoyable in having 8 days of glorious sunshine resulting in great views of the Matternhorn and the Alps generally, and enjoyable viewing on all our train journeys. Our guide was both knowledgeable and great fun. Will certainly travel again with Riviera, hopefully in 2013.

Review by: Roddy McGregor on 27/08/2012

Switzerland, The Matterhorn & The Glacier Express Tour

I have been asked by my mum and dad (Mr and Mrs J Nicholls) to write to you as they do not have a computer.

They would like to thank you very much for another fantastic holiday they have just arrived back from - Switzerland and the Glacier express on June 26th. They had a super time; the hotels and food were excellent. The driver Kristof was great as was the tour guide Kim; they helped, together with all the other people on the trip, make it a really enjoyable and memorable holiday. They have been on 3 previous holidays, all have been excellent, and are booked to go to Dubrovnik in September and also Lake Maggiore next June. They wouldn’t hesitate to recommend your company and felt the need to send this e-mail to tell you how good your overall service is so….Thank you!!!

Kind Regards

Linda Szlichta - on behalf of John and Valerie Nicholls

Review by: John and Valerie Nicholls on 05/07/2013

Switzerland, The Matterhorn & The Glacier Express Tour

We have just returned from our first holiday with Riviera and would like to say how much we enjoined our time away. Everything was well organised, good hotels and an excellent guide, Julie and driver Christoph. The sun shone, the alps were wonderful, good company and good food. What more could we ask for?. We will book with Riviera again, a really good holiday company.

Review by: Mr and Mrs Stanley on 13/07/2013

Switzerland, The Matterhorn & The Glacier Express Tour

Gill & I have just arrived back from this excellent tour in the country that means quality. Both hotels, the Victoria in Brig and the Silvretta Park in Klosters provided a beautiful experience and the railway journeys - Glacier Express, Centovalli and Bernina Express - were much more that even I had dreamed about ! Our Guide Gill was unruffled by the changes necessary to our original itinerary, none of which reduced our experience in any way. Driver of the Arlberg Express (the hare on skis) Christoph (Kristov?) was great, making the negotiation of the mountain roads seem effortless! They should make him Crown Prince of Lichtenstein !!

This was our third tour with Riviera and we shall go with them again.

Review by: Bob Simmonds on 25/07/2013

Switzerland, The Matterhorn & The Glacier Express Tour

Have just returned from the trip to Switzerland, and would like to say how much we enjoyed the experience. From start to finish everything went like clockwork, thanks to your Tour Representative Helen Whitehead, and the Coach driver Kristoff, whose driving skills were put to the test on all these mountain passes.

The scenery was spectacular, and each and every excursion was better than the previous one. The itinerary was full and exceptionally well organised.

This is the second time that we have travelled with Riviera Travel and I certainly would recommend you to friends and family.

Looking forward to another Tour with you next year.

Review by: Andy & Violet Brackenridge on 09/08/2013

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.