If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Switzerland, the Matterhorn & the Glacier Express Tour

We just wanted to write to say a huge thank you for a fantastic holiday to Switzerland last week.  Everything was excellent, including the weather.
Could we ask you to kindly pass on our thanks to the staff at both the Alex and Silvretta Park Hotels for all their hard work to make our stay so enjoyable.  Both hotels were excellent.
The waitresses at the Alex Hotel were especially good and we all formed a great rapport with them, particularly when we tried to speak in German and they tried to speak English!  They were so friendly and tried very hard to accommodated all our likes and dislikes for dinner.
Could you also kindly pass on our thanks again to Jurgen, the coach driver, for his awesome driving over some really difficult Passes and some long days for him.
We would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone who likes an active holiday and likes to sightsee.
Many thanks again.
Kind regards

Review by Sue & Dave Farthing & Joan & Jim Payton on 11 October 2016

Just to say how much we enjoyed the two centre Swiss trip which was greatly enhanced by Antonia D’s attention to our comfort and safety.

Review by Jan Robson on 9 September 2016

Recently returned from our second trip with Riviera. Again a most enjoyable time in Switzerland. Our plane from Edinburgh was an hour late and rather than hold up others for an hour or more, excellent alternative arrangements were made for our group of 12 from Scotland. Our day trips in Switzerland, including to Italy were excellent and well organised. A really good time was had by all 41 of us; a really sociable group. The trip was even more enjoyable in having 8 days of glorious sunshine resulting in great views of the Matternhorn and the Alps generally, and enjoyable viewing on all our train journeys. Our guide was both knowledgeable and great fun. Will certainly travel again with Riviera, hopefully in 2013.
Travelled on 08/08/2012

Review by Roddy McGregor, Edinburgh on 27 August 2012

I have been asked by my mum and dad (Mr and Mrs J Nicholls) to write to you as they do not have a computer.

They would like to thank you very much for another fantastic holiday they have just arrived back from - Switzerland and the Glacier express on June 26th. They had a super time; the hotels and food were excellent. The driver Kristof was great as was the tour guide Kim; they helped, together with all the other people on the trip, make it a really enjoyable and memorable holiday. They have been on 3 previous holidays, all have been excellent, and are booked to go to Dubrovnik in September and also Lake Maggiore next June. They wouldn’t hesitate to recommend your company and felt the need to send this e-mail to tell you how good your overall service is so….Thank you!!!
Kind Regards
Linda Szlichta - on behalf of John and Valerie Nicholls

Review by John and Valerie Nicholls on 5 July 2013

We have just returned from our first holiday with Riviera and would like to say how much we enjoined our time away. Everything was well organised, good hotels and an excellent guide, Julie and driver Christoph. The sun shone, the alps were wonderful, good company and good food. What more could we ask for?. We will book with Riviera again, a really good holiday company.

Review by Mr and Mrs Stanley on 13 July 2013

Gill & I have just arrived back from this excellent tour in the country that means quality.  Both hotels, the Victoria in Brig and the Silvretta Park in Klosters provided a beautiful experience and the railway journeys - Glacier Express, Centovalli and Bernina Express - were much more that even I had dreamed about !  Our Guide Gill was unruffled by the changes necessary to our original itinerary, none of which reduced our experience in any way. Driver of the Arlberg Express (the hare on skis) Christoph (Kristov?) was great, making the negotiation of the mountain roads seem effortless!  They should make him Crown Prince of Lichtenstein !!

This was our third tour with Riviera and we shall go with them again.

Review by Bob Simmonds on 25 July 2013

Have just returned from the trip to Switzerland, and would like to say how much we enjoyed the experience. From start to finish everything went like clockwork, thanks to your Tour Representative Helen Whitehead, and the Coach driver Kristoff, whose driving skills were put to the test on all these mountain passes.
The scenery was spectacular, and each and every excursion was better than the previous one. The itinerary was full and exceptionally well organised.
This is the second time that we have travelled with Riviera Travel and I certainly would recommend you to friends and family.
Looking forward to another Tour with you next year.

Review by Andy & Violet Brackenridge on 9 August 2013

Having recently returned from this holiday, my wife and I would like to express our complete satisfaction in the hotels we stayed in and the itinerary.
We would never have thought it possible to have seen so many beautiful places and learnt so much in a week but this was made possible both by the skill and courtesy of our driver, Christoph, and above all the expertise of our Tour Manager, Mark, who looked after us every step of the way and was always there for us. Having travelled abroad for many years, we have to say that Mark is the best Tour Manager that we have ever experienced and a credit to Riviera Travel.
We look forward to travelling with Riviera again - Best wishes from Don and Sheila Caton

Review by Don Caton on 6 October 2013

I booked this trip as a surprise for my husband for our silver wedding anniversary and what a fantastic holiday it was, every need was catered for, our hotels were very nice, the excursions were well spaced out and we covered a lot of Switzerland and dipped into Italy. But the best part was our tour guide Mark, he was unfailingly patient, kept us all in check and it was so nice that he tried to spend free time with different people and a bonus was that he was gorgeous. He was coveted by another English group we crossed tours with and the ladies on that tour all wanted to swap tour guides. We had a wonderful time met a very nice group of people and would not hesitate to book again with Riviera or recomend them to friends

Review by Deborah Fox on 7 October 2013

We would like to say many thanks for providing a wonderful holiday touring Switzerland and visiting Italy.  We have recommended it to some friends of ours who are interested in seeing the sights which we have just returned from.
The trains were wonderful and the sights we saw were amazing. The coach driver, Marcel, was magnificent in his ability to negotiate the tricky turns on the passes. 

I would like to say how wonderful our guide, Janet has been.  She is a wonderful, knowledgeable, energetic and highly amusing person who made the whole holiday fun.  We hope to see her again on another trip. She is a definite asset to your business.  Please pass on our thanks to Janet as she certainly made everyone laugh.

We have been on quite a few holidays with Riviera and have always enjoyed them, in fact we have our next one in a few weeks time with Riviera to South Africa to look forward to.

Review by Nigel and Kathy Howard on 31 October 2013

Just returned from a fantastic holiday absolutely breathtaking! Hotels were good, hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. Itinerary was spot on. Would like to have spent more time in Stressa on Lake Maggiore, was a little bit rushed on this day. Kim the tour guide needs a medal 10 out of 10 she is a credit to Riviera Travel. Christoph the driver was a hoot! Always so cheerful and helpful and very entertaining (hence the snowball fight on top of the mountain with Kim and a number of tourist) I was holidaying with my husband and two friends, but the whole coach load of passengers were all very pleasant which makes it all the more enjoyable.

Review by Mandy taylor on 30 May 2014

We both really enjoyed our holiday in Switzerland. Our tour guide Julie and our coach driver Christophe were excellent. Julie really knew a lot about the Swiss people and their customs. All the excursions were well planned and organised. We especially enjoyed the Bernina Express and the Glacier Express. The weather was very warm and sunny so we saw the best of the landscape and mountain passes. Our hotels were very comfortable and the food excellent, generous portions and very tasty. So much was crammed into a week but not too early starts or late finishes. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and made some really good friends, the group mixed together well and we all had a great time. Thanks Riviera for a wonderful trip.

Review by Roger and Judith Orrill on 22 June 2014

Hello.  I wanted to say thank you for organising a wonderful holiday to Switzerland, The Matterhorn and the Glacier Express.  The tour guide and driver were excellent and I enjoyed seeing a lot of Switzerland and a bit of Italy, both for the first time.  No one can really prepare you for how it will be.
I have a lot of photographs and the holiday will certainly always remain with me.
Thank you again.

Review by Suzannah Beaman on 26 June 2014

Just returned from a dream holiday. Everything from weather, hotel, food, tour guide (Julie) and driver (Georg) was fantastic. The holiday was far better than we anticipated and look forward to booking another holiday with Riviera.

Thank you

Review by Gillian/Alan Clark on 2 July 2014

We have just returned from our first holiday with Riviera to Switzerland.  The whole experience was wonderful, aided by our superb guide, Helen and driver Kristoff.  The organisation was first class, hotels good and the perfect weather made this a memorable holiday.  We intend booking several more holidays with Riviera after meeting many others on the trip who had been with them several times.  No better recommendation than that.

Review by Barry & Ann Darling on 13 July 2014

Excellent tour - breathtaking scenery, wonderful train trips and al very professionally conducted by tour manager Kim and driver Christof .   Weather dodgy in Klosters but this is the luck of the draw - everywhere else was hot and sunny.   I will certainly book another Riviera trip in the future.

Review by peter bowman on 25 July 2014

This was our first visit to Switzerland and our first with Riviera Travel, but hopefully we will repeat both experiences. Arrangements were great, well planned and superbly managed by Kim with support from Christof our skilled coach driver. The scenery was even better than we anticipated, the train journeys interesting and everywhere clean and inviting. The weather started clear & warm, but deteriorated towards the end of our holiday, though not enough to spoil things.  We consider the holiday very good value for money, despite costs/prices in Switzerland being expensive.

Review by Joyce & Richard Hardwick on 26 July 2014

This was our first Riviera holiday, it was very well organised with an excellent itinerary. Quite happy with both hotels, although in Brig we had a room facing the main road/station and because it was so hot (and there is no A/C) we had to have the window open, therefore it was quite noisy. Our driver, Christof, was excellent and tour Manager Kim a nice friendly lady, full of lots of knowledge about the places visited. Would certainly consider travelling with Riviera again.

Review by Ann & Dave Brand on 29 July 2014

First time we have used Riviera Travel, have to say what a great company everything so organized. Rebecca our tour guide was brilliant also the coach driver, they couldn’t do enough for you nothing was any problem to them. The trips & hotels were great the places we done were magical will definetly use again it was one of our best holidays we have had so organized

Review by MR & Mrs Stretton on 17 August 2014

This was our second holiday with Riviera Travel having been on the Lake Como tour last year. Our tour manager was very informative and friendly just as Paula was last year.
Having read some of the previous testimonials I was a little apprehensive about Hotel Victoria in Brig. We had a side facing room which I didn’t find too noisy and fortunately despite it being July the temperature was not such that the lack of air conditioning was a problem. In fact I found that the hotel had a certain charm about it and the meals were very good being freshly cooked. I loved the way they always came round with extra hot vegetables just at the right time!
Many people complained about the breakfasts but I appreciated the opportunity to eat a simple but filling breakfast & I loved the hard boiled eggs in a basket approach. I certainly didn’t go hungry but then I’m not that fussy. 
I also enjoyed the hotel in Klosters. I used the small gym & swimming pool a couple of times - very clean & in good working order (not always the case in European hotels). I thought the food was again excellent. Buffet style and therefore greater choice.
The programme was well organised. In fact it was the content of this holiday that attracted us to Riviera Travel last year. We saw the holiday advertised in the Radio Times but it was fully booked for the school holiday dates we chose last year (my wife being a teacher) so we opted for the Lake Como holiday instead. There was a nice balance between train travel and coach travel on this trip (especially as I have a preference for train travel). It was great however to travel the passes by coach and to see the scenery from a different perspective. Christophe was an excellent driver negotiating the tight bends skilfully. He was very polite, friendly and humorous. 
Having spent a day in Stresa last year on the Como holiday we found that the time allocated to Stresa was longer than we needed and like a number of people we would have liked some of that time in Locarno which was really only treated as a departure town for the train journey. Still I appreciate that you cannot please everyone.
In conclusion a great holiday with lots of memories. There are many more in the Riviera brochure that appeal and are on our list - we will certainly be back.
Unfortunately we were looking to book a Spain tour in the October half term for a special birthday but the dates offered by Riviera did not fit the school holiday so we had to look to a competitor. It will be interesting to make comparisons.

Review by Steve Sell on 3 September 2014

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.