[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland

Have just returned from Interlaken and our third holiday with Riviera Travel. They are a really excellent company and all our holidays have been excellent.

The base of Interlaken was an excellent centre for all trips undertaken initially by train to the really spectacular mountains and lakes. The Regional Travel Card provided was excellent value and allowed us to explore by inter city trains, paddle steamers, yellow post buses, cog and funicular railways and cable cars. The accommodation and food were excellent at the St George Hotel and the staff were so accommodating and helpful.

Well worth paying to go on the James Bond experience.

Our tour guide Janet was excellent. She was so helpful, very knowledgeable, organised and had a really good sense of humour.

A brilliant holiday and in every way excellent value for the money.

Just one tip - Switzerland is an expensive country by our standards but just don't get hung up on converting currency rates otherwise you will spoil your holiday.

Its a brilliant holiday and a brilliant country just go with the flow and enjoy every minute like we did.

Now going to research next years Riviera Travel holiday

Review by: Philip Morley MBE on 14/09/2018

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

Have just returned from Interlaken, which is an excellent centre for trips to the spectacular mountains and lakes. Our tour leader, Mark was so helpful and extremely knowledgeable, kind, understanding and provided us with all the information we required.It was truly a superb holiday and excellent value for money.

Review by: Audrey selwood on 23/06/2017

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

The base in Interlaken & the Royal St George Hotel were ideal for train excursions. The staff were always smiling & efficient, the food was enjoyable. The freedom the Regional Travel Card provided was wonderful & 2 free days allowed time to explore by paddle steamer,yellow post bus,intercity trains,cog wheel,funicular &cable cars. I would like to praise Janet our representative. She went out of her way to help everyone,was informative,organised,cheerful.She had to cope with issues from some travellers but dealt with them in a professional way. This was my fourth consecutive holiday with Riviera. I look forward to researching my future travels with you.

Review by: Angela Miller on 17/06/2016

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

We have just returned from our first trip to the Bernese Oberland in 27 years, we decided to go with Riviera Travel to re-orientate ourselves with the area. We had a wonderful holiday, our tour guide Kim was excellent, hugely informative, very well organised and helpful. It was good to be able to have an independent day or two if we so wished. Having been with Riviera before, we knew we were in good hands and would travel with you again.

It would be a great idea if you would consider organising a trip to Switzerland during the wintertime for those of us who do not ski.

Review by: Sandra Bliss on 25/09/2016

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

My Wife and I have had the most enjoyable holiday in many years, and a very large part is due to your Holiday Rep SAM who in every possible way made it so.

From landing at Geneva he kept us up to date on what to expect on our holiday in Switzerland, and as the bus sped along the highway to Interlaken he give us lots of other information of local interest along the route.

This continued throughout our Tour, all in a very professional way which made one feel relaxed and safe to really enjoy our holiday.

Our past holidays up to this point in time, and using other holiday companies have never ever touched what your company achieved on this tour.

Review by: les & Isabel Reid on 14/09/2016

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

Have just come back from our second successive holiday in Interlaken, staying in the Hotel Royal St Georges.

Another lovely tour thank you. The hotel seems to be under new management, with improved services, particularly the food.

Review by: Norman Francis on 02/09/2016

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

We have recently returned from our holiday in Interlaken

It was a most memorable trip as Switzerland has so many delights to offer. The travel arrangements were excellent.

However we do wish to point out that so much credit for the success of the holiday was due to our tour guide Claire.

She was diligent in her responsibilities and had precise knowledge of the local transport and places of interest which she was willing to share and repeat as many times as necessary.

At all times she was genuinely cheerful, always approachable and any issue great or small was dealt with in a professional manner and thus had a positive outcome to our benefit.

In short Claire was great.

This is our first holiday with Riviera - I hope not the last as we feel confident the company has the needs of their clients at heart although another trip might be without Claire.

Review by: Patricia Barr Noreen Connick on 17/07/2014

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

I stayed in Interlaken on the Bernese Oberland holiday this July. It was a wonderful holiday and the Regional Pass was the gateway to all I wanted to see. I was delighted to see the same Rep as I had last year on my stay at Brig and Klosters. Janet Cross was marvelous, she went out of her way to help everyone and was always cheerful. I cannot praise her enough for her good organisation and the happy atmosphere she created between everyone in our group.

Review by: Joyce O’Dell on 22/07/2014

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

Last week we returned from our first visit to Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland and the first time we’d travelled with Riviera Travel. It was a very successful holiday with delightful train journeys allowing us to visit a great variety of places of interest with some absolutely stunning scenery. The hotel was very comfortable with particularly helpful and considerate staff. We felt the choice at meal times could be better.

Clare, our tour guide was excellent. She was always thoughtful, patient and full of good humour giving clear detailed explanations and choice to suit all the guests.

We would certainly consider travelling with Riviera in the future.

Review by: Richard & Chris Hughes on 02/08/2014

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

I have just returned from the most fantastic holiday it was our first trip with Riviera and I can highly recommend it. The tour guide Claire was brilliant her knowledge of the local area was excellent. She had to deal with some difficult issues from other travellers but handled them in a pilot and calm manner, nothing seemed to much trouble she was always there to help. Claire always had a smile on her face and made people laugh. The hotel was very nice, clean and the staff helpful and pleasant. It was my first time to Switzerland, the places and views we visited were spectacular. I do think however that the Riviera staff when booking this holiday should inform customers that they need to be able to walk distances and there are lots of different modes of transport to get on and of which some people may find difficult.

Review by: Stefan & Helen Pope on 21/09/2014

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

An excellent holiday with plenty of variety in the trips, viewing the stunning scenery of Switzerland. The Tour Manager Claire was very knowledgeable of the area providing us with thorough information and instruction which allowed us the confidence to use our free days to maximum effect.

The accommodation at the St Georges Hotel in Interlaken was ideally situated for the variety of travel used throughout the holiday.

This was our first experience of Riviera Travel we will certainly explore further holidays in the future however am not sure we could enjoy the holiday as much without the cheerful and helpful Claire who despite some less than easy clients remained very professional throughout

Review by: Richard Milton on 21/09/2014

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

Clare had a challenging task on this holiday, looking after a total of 50 guests, many of whom were elderly and sometimes needed that extra bit of help along the way.

Nothing seemed to phase Clare, she remained cheerful and positive at all times, even when the hotel had a minor crisis caused by malfunctioning kitchen equipment. Her unenviable task of seeking action from the hotel management and placating the affected customers saw her at her diplomatic best, seeking answers and reparation, but always demonstrating her considerable “grace under pressure”.

Some might remember Clare as regularly repeating herself, but it was with very good reason. She was the exemplary “mother hen” and on occasions she had to play “sheep dog”, but never nipping our ankles! She didn’t lost anyone and we all caught the designated transport, on time. What was always comforting, confidence building, and good to see, was the excellent relationship that Clare had built with railway staff, bus drivers, and a myriad of other folk along the way; they all seemed to know her and respect her.

In summary, Clare was an excellent tour manager, in every respect, a fund of useful information, always well-prepared with maps and leaflets for all, a great credit to your company, and she played an enormous part in making our holiday both enjoyable and memorable.

Review by: Mike and Anita Seller on 17/10/2014

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

Wonderful tour. Switzerland was magical and the mountains and valleys a visual treat. The tour guide, Kim, was so helpful and sorted our problem: eg forgetting our medication in the hotel at Heathrow, very efficiently. The hotel was comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. I particularly enjoyed the ‘wellness suite” with the steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi bath. A definite plus after a day up and down mountains and on and off the super trains. A very active break and one we will remember with joy. Thank you Riviera.

Review by: Elizabeth Bryant on 01/06/2015

Switzerland’s Bernese Oberland Tour

Our best tour in over twenty years. The base in Interlaken and the Royal St George Hotel were perfect for train excursions. The hotel was very elegant and comfortable, the staff helpful and the food enjoyable. We enjoyed breathtaking scenery and the busy schedule which included various types of trains, cable cars and boats worked faultlessly.

Our tour guide, Sam, went the extra mile to make our holiday special and we cannot praise him highly enough.

Review by: G.Edwards on 18/07/2015

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.