If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Stockholm & Copenhagen Tour

This short break to Stockholm and Copenhagen was really a taster into life in Scandinavia. Stockholm seemed to be so relaxed and almost laid back city. We walked around the old city, visited the Vasa museum, which is a must see, in the short time we were there we also visited most of the other interesting sites.
We them moved onto Copenhagen via the train link, the journey went without a hitch but we did not get to see the famous bridge between Sweden and Denmark as already dark by the time we crossed it.
Into Copenhagen, we arrived on the Monday, not good timing as all the museums are closed, perhaps a re-jig of the timing could overcome this. Not a wasted day but could have been better.
However all the local guides for both cities were excellent and a special mention Jeanette who was brilliant with us all and a credit to the Riviera

Review by Alan Long on 1 October 2016

We enjoyed this holiday very much, the tour was good our tour guide was great the hotels were great but just wished we had one more day in Stockholm, such a lovely place but not enough time to see what we wanted to see.

Review by Valerie Magee on 20 September 2016

Scandic Hotel Grand in Stockholm was in a good spot, very busy, but comfortable.  About half an hour walk from the old town with plenty of buses as an alternative.  Kong Arthur Hotel in Copenhagen in a beautiful spot overlooking lakes, again about half an hour walk from the harbour with plenty of buses.  I prefered this hotel.  We needed an extra day in Stockholm and possibly a selection of ‘optional’ half day tours or at least one more included half day tour. Guide, Jeanette, very friendly and approachable.

Review by Jenny on 2 September 2016

Another great holiday from all concerned at Riviera. We had a lovely holiday, visiting some very interesting places. The train journey from Sweden to Denmark was very relaxing. Hotels were both very comfortable, although the Kong Arthur was a little too far out from the centre. This holiday was made more enjoyable by a great group of friendly people. Thank you Riviera.

Review by Teresa and Dave Shenton on 11 August 2016

Our 7th Riviera holiday, and each one as good as the first. Stockholm a lovely city, nice places to visit, Raddison hotel very well centrally situated, another day here would have been appreciated. Train journey to Copenhagen of 5 hours soon went by, with lovely scenery to look at. Copenhagen another lovely city, lots to do and see. Hotel Kong Arthur very nice but a little to far away from city centre to walk. Chris did a very good job of keeping us all together. We had a very friendly group with us and we enjoyed their company. Our next holiday with Riviera next year will be a river cruise, so I hope it matches up to all the other excellent holidays we have had with Riviera.

Review by Teresa and Dave Shenton on 23 July 2016

Just returned from a fantastic holiday, Stockholm hotel great, central, food exceptional, fish restaurant gourmet cuisine, we were lucky and saw Royal wedding weather was glorious, train journey from Stockholm to Copenhagen long but enjoyable, could have done with an extra day here. Copenhagen wonderful watch the bikes!!!  Viking museum fabulous. Mohamed tour guide just right, very knowledgeable and full of information. Local guides best we had with Riviera travel. 10/10

Review by Caroline &Jonathan; June 2015 on 21 June 2015

We both enjoyed the tour especially Stockholm where we had glorious weather.  We could have done with another day there to see everything we wanted.  Hotel in Stockholm excellent and well situated.  Enjoyed Copenhagen though we would have preferred a hotel nearer the centre.  Both of the local guides were very good and we enjoyed both city tours.  We also enjoyed the day out of Copenhagen to the Viking Museum and Roskilde and afterwards to the castle and grounds at Frederiksborg.  Mohammed was very helpful and pleasant throughout.  This was our seventh Riviera holiday and not our last as we have another booked in September.   8/10

Review by Ian and Linda Crabbe on 22 June 2015

We have just returned from the Stockholm and Copenhagen Tour, two capital cities which have been on our “to visit list” for many years, so this Tour was perfect for us. We felt the balance between scheduled and “free” time was just right, but like other reviewers, we would have enjoyed another day in Stockholm ( beautiful city). Both hotels were from the Scanic franchise, excellent sized rooms, very comfortable beds, and a range at breakfast which would have satisfied anyone’s preferences. The train journey from Stockholm to Copenhagen was long, but in extremely comfortable surroundings, with the opportunity to catch the rural scenery of both Sweden and Denmark. Our Tour Manager, Chris, was excellent, and felt more like a fellow traveller, than “an employee of Riveria”. The local guides in both cities were informative and funny, especially when describing their “historical rivalry”

On a personal note, Chris was very attentive to my mobility issues, as were the coach drivers, and for that I would like to thank them. Last, but definitely not least, our fellow travellers. The friendship of our group, as in previous Tours, made our holiday all the more memorable.

Now all we have to do is wait for Riviera to add an “Oslo and Helsinki” Tour to their list?

Review by Ian & Sandra Stevens on 17 July 2015

We enjoyed this tour very much - I had spent the summer on a farm at Hillerod in 1967 so I was particularly interested to go back there and think we actually went past the farm although much had changed.
We were very happy with Mohamed as our guide. He was particularly attentive to the less able members of the party. We understand he will be leading trips to Rome next year - do you have dates for these?
We were slightly disappointed that there were no dinners included - one or two would have helped ‘group bonding’. We did enjoy their best week of the summer!
Late arrival into Stockholm is maybe not ideal but realise you are at the airlines mercy, however we enjoyed virtually a full day in Copenhagen before our Manchester flight.

Review by J & G Richardson on 14 October 2015

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.