If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Sri Lanka Tour

Just a quick note to leave positive feedback for our recent tour of Sri Lanka. Firstly our tour manager Adrian was excellent and made our holiday highly enjoyable. He is a consummate professional and a credit to your company. Tikka our guide was also exceptional and highly knowledgable.
The places we visited were out of this world and the accommodation first class.
Thank you Riviera for a wonderful holiday.

Review by Andy and Sandra Briggs on 3 June 2016

Stunning Scenery
Remarkable wildlife & birds at Yala
Incredible sunsets at Galle

Leopards x 3
Amazing people & culture
No issues with food or hotels
Knowledgeable guides Adrian & Tikka
Add this to your list you won’t be disappointed

Review by Robbie & Audrey Leask on 7 May 2016

We have travelled with Riviera many times, and this tour was wonderful. It again proves that Riviera offer exceptional value and an excellent itinerary. Sri Lanka is a beautiful country and we saw so much, from the cultural sites, to the tea plantations, the wildlife, and the Indian Ocean. Our tour manager Adrian ensured that everything ran smoothly and our local guide Tikka was a mine of information on the places we visited and the flora and fauna of the country. We look forward to planning our next trip with Riviera!

Review by Alison and John Pope on 3 May 2016

Wholeheartedly recommend this tour – it was interesting, informative, relaxing, enjoyable, “an eye opener”, wonderful hotels and great value for the money. Particular thanks to Caroline our Tour Leader and Ravi our Sri Lankan guide – they were professional, very hard working, approachable, charming and tolerant! Our driver and helper were very good.  I expected a poor country with lots of deprivation, poor roads and dodgy hotels.  We actually saw a beautiful country, with perfectly permissible roads, top quality hotels and people that were always charming, smiling and willing to go the extra mile.  The whole trip was a highlight – every day there was something good to see and there was a very good mix of time on the bus, time at the sites and time for ourselves.  I came back with a lovely tan! All the hotels were excellent – the one at Yala was superb and I could have stayed there for a fortnight. Lion Rock was well worth a visit – it is not scary – ignore Trip Advisor reviews on it!  The caves, the tea plantations, the safari, the temples were all great places to visit.  Another bonus for us was that our fellow “tourists” (36) were lovely people – interesting and very friendly.  We even met a lovely couple who live just yards away from my birthplace – well someone has to live in Tamworth!  It was a great tour and we are already getting organised to use Riviera to visit Japan in 2017.

Review by Barry Wardle on 15 April 2016

We have just returned from our first tour with Riviera Travel and have had a fantastic holiday.
Caroline, our Tour Manager, was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for her, all done in a very caring way, she really wanted us all to enjoy our holiday.
Ravi, our Guide, was also excellent, there was nothing he didn’t seem to know, there seemed to be no limit to his knowledge. Caroline and Ravi were a great team.
Everyone on the tour was very friendly which really made our holiday so much more enjoyable.
Sri-Lanka is a beautiful country and the tour has been put together to include their culture, beautiful scenery and just enough down time to relax.
We will certainly be travelling with Riviera Travel again.
Many thanks again to Caroline and Ravi

Review by Sarah & Richard Heward on 5 April 2016

My sister and I have just returned from above. It was excellent in every way.
Jan, the tour manager was helpful friendly and professional.
On the return journey home we saved our final goodbyes and thank you till Luggage collection as, on previous tours, we’ve found that we when you’ve said our farewells on arriving at the departure airport we keep bumping into said person again.
However, on this occasion we misjudged. We saw Jan on the other side of luggage carousel and went over only to find we had just missed her. We dashed through after her but no sign.
We were really disappointed and upset that we hadn’t shown our appreciation to her. It certainly taught us a lesson that our ” goodbyes and thank you” should be done earlier.
Please would you be so kind to forward these comments to her. We don’t have her email address.
Thank you very much

Review by Jean Raza on 31 March 2016

Writing this testimony whilst relaxing by the pool at the Jetwing Lighthouse hotel in Galle. What a great end to a fantastic tour of Sri Lanka. All hotels are very good in their own way, but to finish with three days of relaxation in Galle is excellent. The tour combines a variety of what Sri Lanka has to offer; culture, wildlife and religion. The tour manager, Franca supported by local guides Rohan and Roy ensure the holiday is smooth- early (minor) issues were resolved to the credit of Riviera. The weather has been excellent and the food varied enough for all tastes. As with previous trips with Riviera, our fellow travellers were like minded folk with an appetite for travel which Riviera satisfy with safety and comfort. Would recommend The Sri Lankan tour.

Review by Alan and Marion Holbrook on 18 March 2016

Our Sri Lanka holiday was even more than we had hoped, from the start of the holiday, just fantastic. Hotels, amazing scenery, lovely people. Our brilliant tour manager Anne and Kamal our Sri Lankan guide, not to mention our brilliant coach driver and bus boy. A holiday to remember.

Review by Bronwen and John Verrico on 22 February 2016

Recently returned from the tour of Sri Lanka, having had an absolutely wonderful time, with a group of people all very similar in age and outlook; an efficient, professional and friendly tour manager who dealt with all the little, but important aspects, so that we could get on and enjoy ourselves; a knowledgable, expert and happy tour guide who added lots of personal experience to his brief, and for whom nothing was too much trouble; and an itinerary that was both comprehensive, interesting and variable. This was our first tour of this nature (we have always “done our own thing” in the past), but it won’t be the last. The “Riviera” experience is just second to none. Bring on the next one.
Travelled on 30/01/2012

Review by Mr & Mrs Drake, Camberley on 21 February 2012

We have just returned from your excellent Sri Lanka holiday. We were impressed by the warmth of the welcome wherever we went, the variety of the locations we were shown and the expertise of both the tour manager and the local guide. In fact the local guide gave us information over and above expectations and is an absolute gem. We now know what seems like everything about Bhuddism, history, geography, the people, the wildlife, cookery, cricket and much more. We now look forward to choosing our next Riviera holiday.
Travelled on 08/03/2011

Review by Alan & Caroline Quirk on 24 March 2011

Having just returned from Sri Lanka we have to congratulate you once again for the wonderfully organised tour.   The hotels were excellent, food outstanding and itinerary varied and extremely educational.   The local guide, Razeem, was most informative.  The entire holiday we rate as superb value for money.   This was our second holiday with Riviera and we didn’t think we could ever match your South Africa trip but this came a very close second.   Thank you

Review by Pauline Smith on 11 March 2013

We returned a few weeks ago from our first holiday with Riviera Travel to Sri Lanka and wanted to let you know that we thoroughly enjoyed a well organised and ideally paced holiday and will certainly recommend your travel company and consider using Riviera Travel in future.

Review by Bob and Janice Rust on 11 March 2013

What a wonderful experience this was!  The Tour Manager Kate and local guide Rohan were superb.  Nothing was too much trouble for either of them.  We weren’t rushed from one place to another, but felt that the pace was determined by us not them, which led to a relaxing atmosphere.
The hotels were excellent along with the food and the things we saw, tasted and learned, will be in our minds for a long time to come. 
The people on this trip which is our 4th with Riviera, were all of a similar mind and we all got on extremely well.
Can’t wait for our next holiday with Riviera.  Thank you.

Review by Carol & Michael Reeves on 8 October 2013

We have just returned from our third Riviera holiday, this time to Sri Lanka. As usual Riviera lived up to expectations and I cannot praise our tour manager Franca and local guide Rohan too highly. They were highly professional whilst remaining friendly and relaxed thus adding to the enjoyment of our holiday. We laughed a lot and learned a lot about Sri Lanka and our interesting fellow travellers. A great tour - well done Riviera ! We are already booked for Vietnam and Cambodia next year.

Review by Sheila and Trevor Stipling on 26 October 2013

I have just returned from a fabulous holiday in Sri Lanka.  Well done Riviera another wonderful tour, so well organised, a superb tour manager, Anne and local guide Tikka, both were full of knowledge to impart to us and very enthusiastic about the places we visited.  The hotels were obviously researched and chosen well, comfortable with pleasant and friendly staff.  The food excellent with lots of choice.  Both the tour manager and the local guide went that extra mile to make our trip as interesting and enjoyable as they could.  I didn’t want to come home, but am looking forward to my trip to classical Spain in June.

Review by Sheila Davidson on 27 March 2014

We have not long been back from our trip to Sri Lanka with Riviera and must congratulate you on providing an excellent tour holiday which we cannot fault in any way.   Ada, your tour guide, and Raheem, the local guide were both very professional and knowledgable and together with an excellent choice of Hotels made the holiday a truly memorable experience.

Ron and Pauline Maylin

Review by Ron & Pauline Maylin on 4 April 2014

My visit to Sri Lanka was to experience a part of my grandchildren’s heritage. It is a beautiful country and travelling with Riviera Travel and Adda and having Razym giving his wonderful commentary will never be forgotten. Our bus driver Mahindra and his colleague Guru also contributed to the smooth running of our journey. The best bit for me, was the trip to a family home. That woman and her children were very special. I would never be able to produce a meal for 39 visitors in her circumstances.  The hotels were all different, the food varied and plentiful. I would have liked the opportunity to see the whales and perhaps that could be an option in future trips. Thank you for the opportunity to experience Sri Lanka safely and in good company,

Review by Christine Colston on 4 April 2014

We have just arrived back from another excellent tour with Riviera.  Sri Lanka is a beautiful country with very friendly people and lovely scenery, from Jungle to Waterfalls surrounded by tea plantations, there was always something new to look at. On this trip you get to see it all with some very good accommodation . Once again we had a lovely crowd and thanks go to Franca and Raheem for looking after us so well and giving us such a good insight to the people and culture of Sri Lanka.  If your taking this tour its good to know how easy it was to change Sterling in to Rupee’s at the airport, also all the hotels had a British 3 pin plug socket and you could also use European plugs. We will happily use Riviera again and at some time in the future re visit Sri Lanka as we loved the country.

We have been to South Africa and consider this tour to be just as good.

Review by Kath and Steve Phillips on 25 April 2014

We’ve just returned from a fantastic tour of Sri Lanka with Riviera Travel, our first with them, but not the last. The itinerary was well thought out, organised and diverse and we had a good crowd of fellow travellers, which always helps.  Kate, our Riviera tour manager, ensured that everything went smoothly from efficiently organising luggage and rooms, to ensuring that everyone was happy on a daily basis and nothing was too much trouble. Ravi, our Sri Lankan tour guide, was a font of all knowledge and went out of his way to show off his beautiful country.  The driver and his assistant were always cheerful and in the right place at the right time.  The hotels, albeit all different, were very good with an excellent range of rooms, food and facilities - laundry was particularly cheap and efficient.  Thanks again Riviera - see you again soon!

Review by Mal and Maureen Davidson on 22 May 2014

From 32 o F to 32 o C, it was a pleasant change in the temperature and that matched the warmth of our welcome.  In Anne, we had a superb tour manager and she was ably assisted by our local guide Tikka whose encyclopaedic knowledge on fauna and flora as well as the history of Sri Lanka was outstanding.  Mention must be made too, of our coach driver who negotiated his way along narrow twisting roads, some of which were a series of road works was excellent.
What would be helpful would be the use of personal radio guides especially when guests visit confined and noisy locations as it was impossible to hear what was being explained.
On the whole, the hotels used were very good but the larger ones seemed to be a bit impersonal.
Use Tikka whenever possible, he was an absolute marvel.  Anne, too deserves all the praise she can get knowing what she did “behind the scenes”.
This was our fifth Riviera tour and that speaks volumes.  Thank you.
Bill and Jean Tait

Review by W Tait on 4 February 2015

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.