[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

South Africa

Wow fab trip ! Bit more hard work than relaxing trip.It has to have long days traveling on the coach to see all there is but a bit more down time would have been good.For example the day in Knysna when we were taken to see the caves and the ostrich farm.The previous day had been a long coach day and another 5 hours on the coach to see these two things was a lot.People who stayed in the town found plenty to do and the choice would have been great So glad we booked with Riviera.Very well organized and our tour guide Alex,was amazing.We were very pleased to get his advise on the tipping as no one knew what to give.Felt very safe the whole trip.Great hotels and lovely memories

Review by: Jo kent on 07/11/2018

South Africa

We have just returned from an amazing trip to South Africa. Our thanks to Lorna, whose excellent skills kept the tour running smoothly, and to Warwick, for his immense local and Battlefield information. Every day brought something special to see and do, whether it was time spent in the Kruger National Park, especially the Glamping Experience in tented accommodation, or visiting the beautiful Kirstenbosch Botanic Gardens or the vista from up the top of Table Mountain. The brilliant sunny weather also helped. The hotels were all good, especially the beautiful Devon Valley Hotel in Stellenbosch, our thanks to all the staff at these hotels for making our stay so comfortable and to the skill of the coach drivers and comfort of the coaches. We have travelled frequently with Riviera, and like the way they do things. We have already booked another trip with them next year.

Review by: Linda Graham on 12/11/2018

South Africa

This was such an amazing experience that it is hard to imagine that we did all that in 16 days! The hotels were different but of a high standard throughout as were the included meals. Lunches on travel days were at interesting places.

The success of the trip is due in large part to Karen our tour manager whose knowledge, kindness and people skills helped make a very positive group experience. Gavin, our South African guide, was very interesting and keen to make sure that we learned about his country.

In summary - a wonderful trip!

Review by: Nan Newall on 05/11/2018

South Africa

What a wonderful memorable holiday. The main reason for going was to visit Rorke’s Drift and Isandlwana but the rest of the destinations surpassed our expectations. We opted for the overnight tented camp which was fantastic. Our Tour Manager, Alex and African guide, Canaan took all the pressure and worry from us so we were just able to enjoy the holiday. Yes there was a lot of travelling on the coach but we saw so much of the country it was worth it. It really was a travelling experience and can really recommend it.

Review by: Elizabeth Schofield on 07/11/2018

South Africa

What a wonderful memorable holiday. The main reason for going was to visit Rorke’s Drift and Isandlwana but the rest of the destinations surpassed our expectations. We opted for the overnight tented camp which was fantastic. Our Tour Manager, Alex and African guide, Canaan took all the pressure and worry from us so we were just able to enjoy the holiday. Yes there was a lot of travelling on the coach but we saw so much of the country it was worth it. It really was a travelling experience and can really recommend it.

Review by: Elizabeth Schofield on 07/11/2018

South Africa

We’ve just returned from a Riviera Tour to South Africa with Nikki and Warwick. From the moment we met at Johannesburg airport to when we arrived at Heathrow, we had exceptional service. Both Nikki and Warwick went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that we had a fantastic time. Nikki is so organised with every aspect considered and communicated verbally and in writing in advance of every destination. She gave us additional valuable info concerning where to get our laundry done economically, where to shop for local gifts, even advising us on appropriate clothing according to weather conditions. Warwick is a walking encyclopaedia with astounding knowledge. Both experienced guides; enthusiastic, knowledgeable, limitless attention to detail, professional. Arranged additional optional trips from gin tasting, visiting townships, apartheid housing scheme, helicopter rides over the Cape coastline, African drumming session, taster of cuisine from all over Africa ....

We have booked another trip with Riviera in June. Please can we have Nikki as our guide again?

Review by: Gina Twine on 03/10/2018

South Africa

South Africa.

Our first trip with Riviera. First of all, a big thank you to the company for not expecting us to fill in a large questionnaire at the end of the trip, however we are more than happy to write in praise of the tour. Like others we were fortunate to have Ian and Patricia as our guides. They were thoughtful, patient, responsive and innovative. The information they provided was always interesting and in the right amounts. Responding to weather conditions, they ensured that we experienced all the activities at their best and were always on hand to provide explanations and help.

All the hotels were excellent and well located. Transfers were achieved very efficiently; good food and a high standard of comfort were the norm. The extra activities offered covered a broad range and were available at suitable points on the tour. The coach journeys had suitable breaks and were efficiently carried out. Altogether a very enjoyable experience; one of the best holidays we have ever had.

Mark and Adelina Davies

Review by: Mark Davies on 17/09/2018

South Africa

I just wanted to let everyone know what a fabulous holiday we had with Riviera to South Africa. This was our first holiday with Riviera and what a great way to start. We travelled as a group of four, ie with our best friends and I must say that Janie and Kanenan (sorry about the spelling) made this trip for us. Janie thank you for everything you did for us, you were a star. I can not fault this holiday. the itinerary, the hotels and the excursions were all amazing. We met some fabulous people and saw amazing animals close. I would strongly recommend the Township Walk and the Gold Dinner out a real taste of South Africa. This holiday will stay with me for a long while and I look back at the photos we took with genuine fondness and excitement for the country of South Africa

Review by: Christine Tomlinson on 24/09/2018

South Africa

Our trip to South Africa was spectacular made special by our tour manager Karen and local guide Ian, and the wonderful package put together by Riviera. The pace was non stop but this enabled us to see and experience so much in a short space of time...big five, ostrich, penguins, hippos on the lawn, caves, canyons and Table Mountain, to name a few! We would recommend this tour to anybody who wants to fulfil their sense of adventure but have the support and guidance of the experts. Thank you to everybody involved in creating these memories for us.

Review by: Jane Heath on 05/09/2018

South Africa

This was our 3rd holiday with Riviera, and the best so far!! Our South African experience was enriched by our guides Nikki and Warwick, and fantastic weather. From booking the trip to getting home Riviera looked after us 100%. We have total confidence in this company, and have recommended to many.

Nikki and Warwick put us all at our ease, and we had total confidence in their leadership, professionalism,advice and friendliness. They went above and beyond their remit. Nikki checked the weather for trip to Table Mountain. asked all of us who wanted to go, and arranged a trip for us on the 'good weather ' day before we went on the prearranged included trip. Superb attention.

All aspects of our holiday were brilliant - superb hotels, food, trips and timing. Whoever does the research for your holidays deserves recognition, trips timed to a T, and Mr Google a.k.a. Warwick's knowledge of his country's phenomenal.

We couldn't have asked for better attention, and will definitely be back!!

Thank you for the memories!!

Vera and Richard Walker

Review by: VERA WALKER on 12/09/2018

South Africa

This was our 3rd holiday with Riviera, and the best so far!! Our South African experience was enriched by our guides Nikki and Warwick, and fantastic weather. From booking the trip to getting home Riviera looked after us 100%.We have total confidence in this company, and have recommended to many.

Nikki and Warwick put us all at ease, and we had total confidence in their leadership, professionalism, advice and friendliness. They went above and beyond their remit. Nikki checked the weather for trip to Table Mountain and asked all of us who wanted to go, and arranged a trip for us on the 'good weather ' day before we went on the prearranged included trip. Superb attention.

All aspects of our holiday were brilliant - superb hotels, food, trips and timing. Whoever does the research for your holidays deserves recognition, trips timed to a T, and Mr Google a.k.a. Warwick's knowledge of his country's phenomenal.

We couldn't have asked for better attention, and will definitely be back!!

Thank you for the memories!!

Vera and Richard Walker

Review by: VERA WALKER on 12/09/2018

South Africa

An excellent trip, well organised and would definitely recommend it. Everything was well planned and executed, both our tour manger and local guide were excellent nothing was to much trouble for them, both were extemely professional and friendly which made the trip something special. Even the the coach drivers were good even on the long drive days. Overall a fantastic experience would 100% recommend it.

Review by: Craig on 08/08/2018

South Africa

We have just returned from our South Africa tour and must send a huge thanks to Alex our tour manager, we have been on many tours and Alex was one of the best guides we have had. He was so approachable, helpful and extremely methodical and organised, everything ran like clockwork. Also our local tour guide was amazing, so knowledgeable, how he could remember dates, names, facts etc was remarkable. This was the first time we have used Riviera Travel and were impressed with the content of the tour and standard if hotels. It was a very busy tour with lots of travelling but we saw so much. Thanks Riviera we will certainly use your company again.

Review by: Susan & Michael Luversedge on 20/06/2018

South Africa

What an amazing holiday we have had and we are in awe of South Africa.

We were a little apprehensive at the size of the group (43) but other than a couple of people everyone was lovely.

Ian and Patricia our guides were fabulous and made everyone feel relaxed and nothing was too much trouble.The extensive knowledge imparted by Ian was in such a way that you were always wanting to know more.

The hotels were lovely and although we had to move after one night at Point Hotel Mossel Bay due to renovation (unexpected by Riviera I might add) Ian proved himself top man again by organising a fabulous and luxurious alternative which proved to be a hidden haven.

The itinerary is full and does involve a lot of travel but was definitely worth it with everything we got to experience and we always felt safe in the hands of the fabulous coach drivers Roger and Taufiq.

I will never forget opening the curtains at the Battlefields Lodge Hotel and seeing a zebra and her foal just walking by or the hippo leisurely eating grass on the lawn at the Hippo Hollow Country Estate .

With all the hidden extras we felt truly spoilt and cannot recommend this holiday highly enough and will definitely consider Riviera Travel for future trips.

Review by: Deb and Chris on 02/05/2018

South Africa

We have had a wonderful time in South Africa, experienced many things and met lots of lovely people travelling with us. It has been a very full on tour and yes there is a lot of coach travel involved but this is understandable in view of how much is covered, from safaris to Zulu battlelands, ostrich farming to caves, botanical gardens to winelands all with lovely scenery along the way, so we must congratulate Riviera for such a varied programme. The hotels were very comfortable, just a hiccup in Mossal Bay where we walked into the start of their renovations. However the situation was promptly resolved by our very competent rep Ian and Riviera and the majority of us were more than happy with how it was dealt with and the new arrangements more than compensated for the situation. This was our third trip with the company and appreciate how well they remedy a situation if things don`t go as planned so we have not been disappointed. Big thank you to our reps Ian and Patricia, reliable, knowledgeable, informative, also the competent drivers, we felt in safe hands. Patricia was on her first big tour and never flown but was professional throughout and her sweet nature and beautiful smiles made our day. So thank you again Riviera, now for some rest before the next tour!

Review by: David and Nesta Callaway on 02/05/2018

South Africa

What an amazing experience! Every day of the tour had a 'wow' factor from our arrival in Johannesburg and the Apartheid Museum, via safaris in Kruger, the battlefields, the Western Cape with its caves and ostrich farm, the winelands of Stellenbosch and Franschhoek to the glory of Cape Town and Table Mountain. Our guides, Ian and Patricia, could not have been more professional, courteous and helpful, imparting a wealth of information throughout. There is a lot of travel, but well worth it for the sights. Once again a tour de force from Riviera!

Review by: Jane Saunders on 02/05/2018

South Africa

I would just like to congratulate Riviera for the most wonderful experience we have had in South Africa. Our tour guide Ian and his companion Patricia were absolutely amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and their extensive knowledge was absolutely brilliant. We had a blip at the Point hotel in Mossel Bay (hotel was under major refurbishment) but Ian and Patricia pulled out all the stops to move us to another hotel (The Surval) which was utter luxury. With Ian and Patricia's knowledge and help it made a truly unforgettable experience. I will carry this forever in my heart. Our group was absolutely amazing with the exception of a couple of people, and have made some lifelong friends. Thank you once again Ian & Patricia & of course Riviera for the amazing effort that you all took to make this the most truly unforgettable experience!

Review by: Michelle & Jon on 02/05/2018

South Africa

My best friend and I celebrated our 50 years of friendship on the South Africa, Zambia and Botswana tour, which returned on 23 April 2018. This is our first experience with Riviera and it exceeded all expectations. Our Tour Manager Ian, was first class. He was caring and sharing but didn't "Daddy" us. A really reliable first class chap. Our experiences were many and varied and have totally "sold" us on that part of the world.

I am travelling with Riviera again in July to Peru and now I have had the "Riviera" experience, I can't wait to see what's in store.Thank you again all at Riviera. I shall certainly recommend you to family and friends.

Review by: Mrs Denise Boom on 13/04/2018

South Africa

This was our first escorted tour and we are so glad we chose Riviera. The experience was amazing. Kay, our tour leader was delightful and nothing was too much trouble. We were a group of 39 and she made sure everything ran to schedule. The nature of this tour involved quite a bit of travelling to fulfil the fantastic itinerary but even the few long days on the coach were made interesting thanks to Kay and the local guide Ian. The hotels we stayed in were very good with the exception of the hotel in Mossel Bay. This had been a last minute substitute due to circumstances outside Riviera's control. The people we met on the tour were a fantastic group and many had travelled with Riviera previously. A true testament to the quality and value for money the company provides. We are already looking at our next trip and can't recommend highly enough the South Africa experience and the professional service we received. Thank you Riviera.

Review by: Iain and Angela on 21/02/2018

South Africa

Myself and two friends returned from South Africa on 19th March after an amazing tour. We expected a lot of travelling but had to have this to enable us to see as much of the country (and Swaziland) as we did. In the main all the hotels were good, any meals provided were of a good standard and the Tour Manager Mat and Tour guide Dale were second to none. Nothing was too much trouble for either of them, they were professional but both have a brilliant sense of humour, thanks to both of them, this trip certainly wouldn't have been as good without them. Fantastic holiday, will recommend both this and Riviera without reservation.

Review by: Wendy Green on 05/03/2018

South Africa

My wife and I had a fantastic time, exceeding expectations, ably managed by tor guide Manuel, and with local guide Canaan making the frequent journeys memorable and packed with insight into this varied and vibrant country. They did everything in their power to make this tour comfortable, including changing a faulty coach overnight. Hotels varied and comfortable.

From amazing sights of all the 'big 5' in the Kruger National Park, adventures we took part in were river rafting, and a helicopter ride, to learning more about the history of the country, ancient and modern. This included standing on Zulu war sites of Isandlwana and Rorkes Drift, addressed by a direct descendant of a Zulu chief, to a sobering visit to the Apartheid Museum in Johannesburg. As well as experiencing the 21st Century luxury of Cape Towns waterfront, we were given access to one of the original Townships, Langa. Cape Town tourist board is doing its best to bridge the void between the communities, and we were shown round a few 'informal dwellings' as well as visiting a nursery school, with the more positive signs of progress being pointed out.

I could go on, Swaziland, the Klein Karoo, Stellenbosch and the Winelands, Kirstenbosch Gardens , Cape of Good Hope, but space will not permit!

Review by: Michael Smedley on 31/01/2018

South Africa

My wife and I have only just returned from a fantastic 16 days on your South African Tour. We had a superb time and saw all the sights and the Big 5. The care Karen ( Tour Manager) and Ian (local guide) took to look after us all was quite amazing. Thank you very much indeed.

Review by: Wheeler on 17/01/2018

South Africa

Our guides - Janey Watson and Warwick Baker were supurb. No problem was beyond their remit. Janey, especially was always on duty and available to all.

Great trip and despite the HUGE number of travellers (48!) Janey managed to give each and everyone individual attention. Can't recommend the size of the group though - should have been much smaller. Do give our best wishes to to Janey and Warwick. Thanks.

Review by: tina mcquillan on 15/11/2017

South Africa

Marvellous trip to South Africa. Although widely travelled we had never previously been on an organised tour but we needn't have worried. The organisation was excellent, our Tour Manager Janie very experienced and good fun and our guide Canaan told us everything we needed to know. There is a lot of travelling, and some of it could be avoided. The Battlefields of Isandlwana and Rorkes Drift were an amazing experience but involved a whole day driving through Swaziland and then a whole day driving back to Johannesburg. We felt we needed a day off from the coach and so we didn't go on the visit to the Caves and Ostrich Farm while we were in Mossel Bay. Perhaps that should be an optional excursion so that everyone could relax for a day. The highlight for us was the Game Drive in Kruger. We saw the Big Five and so much more. Our favourite hotels were the Hippo Hollow near Kruger and Devon Valley at Stellenbosch. The Battlefields hotel was very basic and the food awful. We would definitely use Riviera again but have yet to decide where we would like to visit.

Review by: Gill and Ainsley on 10/01/2018

South Africa

Great trip thanks Riviera

A little blip at the start of the tour with no transport for two hours at Johannesburg airport but after that everything went brilliantltly

Lorna the tour guide and Canaan the

local guide were supreb as were Joseph and Charles our coach drivers

Vast country so probably did over 3000 miles in SA but a fantastic country and well worth some long days on the coach

Not sure of the value of Theo trip to Swaziland to get passport stamped twice I think that is the only day I would change and have an additional day in Cape Town which is awesome

The helicopter trip is well worth it

Review by: Mike and Jan Thorne on 22/11/2017

South Africa

Just returned from an amazing tour of South Africa. Despite a lot of travelling; we covered over 2000 miles plus an internal flight I enjoyed every minute of it. This is a large country with the most fantastic and varied scenery and wonderful people.

We had a large group which was admirably managed by our tour manager Lorna and supported with very interesting information by our guide Canaan. Not to forgetting our two drivers.

The tour crammed a lot in but it is great to see so much of this lovely country in a limited timeframe. There were so many highlights but will never forget the safari in the Kruger despite the rain. We saw the Big 5 plus many more; the pack of wild dogs we sighted were apparently a rarity and they did not disappoint. Also, so pleased we took Lorna's advice and went up Table Mountain, our first afternoon in Cape Town. The remainder of the time the cable car was closed due to high winds.

Our group got on fantastically well together and as a solo traveller I appreciate everybody's kindness and welcoming attitude throughout.

Would definitely recommend this tour.

Review by: Keith Morris on 22/11/2017

South Africa

I would just like to congratulate Riviera Travel on an excellent holiday my wife and I and two other couples completed to South Africa. Our tour guides, Alan and Derek, could not have been more informative or helpful throughout. The only suggestion I would make is that the trips arranged for Mossel Bay should be optional so that a day on the beach to relax could be taken. All in all a great vacation and would thoroughly recommend.

Review by: Bernard Grundy on 13/11/2017

South Africa

This was a wonderful holiday. The organisation and customer care were excellent. We particularly enjoyed the variety of experience from the apartheid museum in J'burg and the shanty town in Cape Town, to the close (enough!) contact with the big 5 in Kruger Park and the gentler beauty of the Garden Route. The lovely friendly atmosphere within the group was a tribute to the personality of our Masuto guide Zac and especially to the personal skills and organisational ability of Ian our guide.

Review by: malcolm hancock on 13/09/2017

South Africa

This was a marvellous trip, packed with masses of interest. The tour manager, Janie was excellent although on this occasion the tour guide, Jan, did not offer very much. The tour is full-on and would not suit those looking for a relaxing trip! Early morning starts and quite long days with not much down time makes this quite an exhausting holiday, but well worth it. Fantastic visits to Kruger, The Battlefields, Cape Town etc. The coaches used were old and not up to the standard of previous Riviera trips that we have taken. Particularly onerous on the very long and unnecessary journey through Swaziland! There were also problems with some of the excursions - the overnight tented safari in Kruger has limited spaces and some were disappointed not to get a place. And there was a complete mess-up in Cape Town when tickets for Robben Island were not obtained and we were unable to visit.

Overall, I would say that this was an excellent trip although some of the gloss was taken off it by the above issues, particularly the failure to get to Robben island which could easily be avoided if Riviera allowed guests to reserve these in advance. Having travelled very happily with Riviera on several previous occasions, sadly, this trip did not fully satisfy our expectations.

Review by: Roy on 18/10/2017

South Africa

What a wonderful holiday touring South Africa! The hotels were excellent in every respect and we took in all the major sights. Our guide, Cainen, was absolutely excellent and made a good holiday into a truly memorable one. He worked so hard to give us a great time. He was so knowledgeable and interesting, very approachable, constantly aware of our needs and just brilliant in every respect. I can heartily recommend this trip and if you are lucky enough to have Cainen as your guide you will have the holiday of a lifetime.

Review by: Margaret ( Jo )Woodward on 02/10/2017

South Africa

Fantastic tour with a great group of fellow travellers. The tour was so well organised from start to finish. The intinerary covered so much, but we had time to do other activities in between. Karen our rep was first classs and attention to detail was paramount. Our local guide Cannin was so knowledgeable and a gentleman. Highly recommend this trip.

Review by: Donna lewis on 06/09/2017

South Africa

Thank you for this superb tour. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment. It is a full on 2 weeks with wonderful variety from animals to history, scenery to cities. We want to especially highlight our wonderful tour manager, Antonia and the local guide Alistair. They were a brilliant team, nothing was too much trouble and the amount of information and knowledge was just outstanding. They truly added to the wonderful experience.

This was our first Riviera Tour holiday and it certainly won't be our last.

Review by: Derek & Judith Howell on 18/09/2017

South Africa

i would like to thank riviera holidays for the best holiday i have ever had.this was the first holiday on my own,i lost my husband 3 years ago,i chose not to go on a singles tour,but this trip to africa was something i always wanted to do,the itenary was brilliant so much to see and do,the group was brilliant included me in everything,and ian our tour boss was brilliant.The accomadation was first class as was the food,the only downside was the amount of time spent on the coach but i realise this was the only way to do it,it is a vast country,altogether a brilliant tour and i have a lot of happy memories,im now deciding what to do next.

Review by: karen johnson on 13/09/2017

South Africa

We are full of praise for Colleen and Warwick who ensured that we will fondly remember this trip for many years. Their knowledge and organisational skills were second to none. We had a great time and met many new friends but fundamentally the atmosphere was set by the tour guides who ensured that the trip was fun.

A suggestion - it would be very useful if Riviera could give some guidance prior to the trip on how much to tip the tour staff and the driver. We suspect some people on the trip badly undertipped for what was a first class service.

Review by: Nick James on 11/09/2017

South Africa

Back from South Africa last week which was great - I chose Riviera from a list of 7 tours and am still convinced that it was the best tour on offer for the price, duration and variety. The highlights were the game drives for me - seeing the big five on both occasions. Also great were the optional trips to Robben Island and Langa township. Well organised tour and good hotels, one of which overlooked the Indian Ocean and 2 others had game roaming nearby - a bonus. An unexpected optional was a visit to an elephant sanctuary and the Cango caves were brilliant (a substitute for the Featherbed nature reserve which had been damaged by fire) I unexpectedly enjoyed the Ostrich farm! A fantastic group of fellow travellers too which was another bonus - best group I've ever travelled with which was great for me as a singleton (6 of us in total from 42).

The only slight criticisms were some wasted time arriving into Cape town and the local SA guide tended to talk just too much about every aspect of SA he could possibly think of and didn't take the hint to curb the often unnecessary info although a very pleasant guy! There were some long travelling days but could not be avoided in order to see everything. The Panorama route I felt was overrated - hardly scenic apart from the stop at Blyde Canyon.

Overall though a fantastic value for money holiday seeing a huge variety of sights and I certainly would recommend Riviera.

Review by: Sharon Field on 04/09/2017

South Africa

I was on the South Africa tour 6th September and just wanted to say what an amazing time I had. Riviera Travel picked some lovely hotels for our stays and our tour manager Karen was absolutely brilliant, Nothing seemed to faze her and she always seemed calm. She was ably assisted by Canaan who was the local guide and he knew his stuff when telling us about the various regions. Karen is a credit to Riviera. I was so impressed with Riviera that I have already booked my 2018 holiday through them.

Review by: David Beadle on 06/09/2017

South Africa

Just back from a wonderful holiday to South Africa, going from Johannesburg to Cape Town, safari, battlefields, wine route and lots more. Our tour manager Karen was amazing and our South African guide know everything and more. Thank both for making our experience a very memorable one. Totally recommend Riveria Travel.

Review by: Sue Stafford on 06/09/2017

South Africa

Went as a solo traveller for my first ever trip to South Africa, had never used Riviera Travel before, but after my experience in South Africa I will certainly look to use them again. Our tour manager Karen was excellent with the way she went about things ably assisted by her right hand man Canaan who's knowledge of various areas was outstanding. Karen had everything sorted out fine and never seemed to get flustered when some things didnt go the way she had planned. Our coach had some couples who had used Riviera before and told me of their experiences with them. The selected hotels were all of a good standard and the trips we went on were good. My only gripe was the totally boring and tiring trip to Swaziland, all day mostly driving, Hopefully a new route could be found. Am looking at my next Riviera holiday. An excellent holiday made all the more by the people running it.

Review by: David Beadle on 06/09/2017

South Africa

Fantastic trip! Matt brilliant organisational skills tempered with great sense of humor, Stuart enthusiastic and so knowledgeable about his beautiful country was great. Fantastic game sightings 2 leopards in one day and 4 of the big five before breakfast on first drive!!! Hotels excellent and the penguins ahh! We learnt so much it really was a very good trip. We even had a gang of ostriches running along the side of the road trying to board our bus. Thanks everyone. We have already started recommending Riviera.

Review by: sandra and tony paisley on 26/07/2017

South Africa

Returned from South Africa on 10th of august was a great holiday made even better by our tour guide MATT he new his job had us in fits of laughter was fun from start to finish and when I took ill he again was ever the professional called a medic even came with us to see a doctor again this man deserves a lot of praise thank you matt x may and jim tuffin x

Review by: may and jim tuffin on 26/07/2017

South Africa

I have just returned from a wonderful trip to South Africa, thanks to the local guide learnt so much about this beautiful country. It was also thanks to a great Riviera Guide (Matt) that this trip was so enjoyable and expertly organised. Matts attention to detail and care for the clients was faultless, his enthusiasum and sense of humour made this trip what it was just wonderful!

I shall certainly be looking to travel with Riviera again!

Review by: Jacqueline Watts on 26/07/2017

South Africa

Have just returned from an amazing tour of South Africa, from Booking to return flight everything was perfect. Much of this was down to the excellent tour guide Matt who looked after our every need, going above and beyond every day. Also our South African guide whose knowledge was invaluable, thank you Stuart. Very cold start in Kruger, remember to take hat and gloves, accommodation, food inclusive tours all excellent would recommend this to all. Thank You x

Review by: Christine Sime on 26/07/2017

South Africa

Returned today from our 'tour' of South Africa having done the same one with Riviera three years ago. We were delighted to have Stuart as our local guide for a second time; his knowledge and passion for South Africa surely must be unrivalled. Our tour manager Matt was an unknown entity. However, we were blown away by his efficiency and professionalism. He ran the tour with his own style of humour, timekeeping and relentless information. There was no excuse for not knowing where we were going and a comforting feeling that we were in the safest of hands.

We enjoyed the second South African tour more than the first time and we didn't think that was possible.

Thank you for a wonderful fulfilling and enjoyable holiday. Ready to try our next Riviera experience.

Review by: Steve and Deb Whitehurst on 26/07/2017

South Africa

Just returned from South Africa tour lovely tour. Our guides Matt and Stuart made it. Matts organisational skills second to none.

Review by: Pam Currie on 26/07/2017

South Africa

This was the first time we have travelled on a tour for this long, and for me was the best way to see the country, The tour guides Matt and Dale (the South African Guide) were great at keeping everyone entertained.

Dale knowledge was always interesting to listen to.

Matt was great with everything, always upbeat and nothing was a problem , look forward to travel with Rivera again.

Review by: Tom Walsh on 12/07/2017

South Africa

This was the first time we have travelled with Riviera and I can honestly say the holiday was exceptional. The tour guide Matt and his helper Dale were the best we have experienced in our many tours taken over the years. Dale was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable on all aspects of life and conditions in South Africa and Matt so organised I have never known a trip to go so well. so a big thank you to Riviera.

Review by: Valerie Pickering on 12/07/2017

South Africa

What a wonderful trip, sorry tour a full on experience of South Africa. So much to see made even more enjoyable by the two guides Matt and Dale who were absolutely fantastic making it so worth while. I would go so far as to say that they were the ones that made the experience so enjoyable. There was a lot of travelling on the coach between venues but they kept us entertained all the time a great double act, and so informative. The highlight for me was the trip to Kruger National Park where we saw the big 5 and Table mountain. Spectacular views all the way, yes a lot of travelling but then it is such a large country. Great holiday would recommend it to anyone.

Review by: Nigel Whittingham on 12/07/2017

South Africa Tour

I've recently returned from a wonderful adventure in South Africa. It was truly an incredible holiday from good value for money to a diverse and interesting range of experiences. Matt our guide was undoubtedly the best. He was so well organised and thorough that it gave all of us utmost confidence in everything we did. I was a solo traveller but I didn't feel like one for one second. Matt worked hard to make sure that we were all enjoying ourselves and having fun which naturally lent itself to a very inclusive atmosphere. I can't wait for the next holiday with Riviera.

Review by: Anne Dwyer-Thomas on 14/06/2017

South Africa Tour

This was a fabulous tour taking in Kruger, Zulu battle fields, wine route & Capetown. All in all a wonderful holiday made all the better by Matt the tour manager. He was excellent & nothing was too much trouble for him. Thoroughly recommend the tour & Matt as tour manager.

Review by: Valerie & Graham Love on 30/06/2017

South Africa Tour

This was only our 2nd trip with Riviera (the first being a week on Lake Como October 2016, which we were so impressed with for the price, we decided to give them another go on a long-haul holiday).

What an excellent trip.

Matt our Tour Manager and Ian our Tour Guide were both superb. All Accommodation and trips were good (only exception being the Battlefields Lodge hotel, which was rather dated and food wasn't particularly good, but saying that it wasn't awful).

Even though, on the 2nd half of the trip when we flew to George and were supposed to visit Knysna, there had been the worst storms around Cape Town in 30yrs, we knew about the storms as a group, and were unsure if the flight would take place, but when we got there, we were informed that the nature reserve in Kynsna was on fire and there were bushfires all around the area and we couldn't get to the hotel. In such a short space of time they had managed to source another hotel (for 47 people) and arranged alternative trips around Mossel Bay area for the following day, and they had managed to keep all of this to themselves, so as not to worry anyone in the group undually, which I thought was extremenly well done and organised. (We found out the next day that the hotel in Kynsna had burnt down and the town evacuated, felt so sorry for the poor locals and their ruined tourism).

Only disappointment was that, due to the tail end of the storms we were unable to get up Table Mountain as it was closed the whole time we were there, but that's an excuse to go back some day.

Well done, Matt, Ian, Riviera and Thompsons (local agent) for a memorable trip.

Review by: LOUISE DYKE on 31/05/2017

South Africa Tour

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Riveira travel for arranging a fantastic tour of South Africa.

From the time we arrived and departed from South Africa the service provided was second to none, the tour Manager Colleen and her assistant Cainon deserve a big thank you for their undivided help and attention during the whole period both excelled. I would highly recommend this holiday to anyone, a great holiday thank you very much.

Review by: Clement sandell on 03/05/2017

South Africa Tour

Been back just over a week now - still in heaven! To sum everything up about this adventure in one word, FABULOUS.

The organisation from Riviera Travel, was flawless from booking to arriving home.

Our expectations of South Africa were surpassed. This tour was simply the best we've been on, our Tour Manager Colleen and historian, Cainan were so professional, knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. The hotels, food, scenery, itinerary, wildlife and people were wonderful.

...even the Great White shark cage experience (not included) at Gainsbaai was memorable!

Thank you all at Riviera Travel for making this one of the best holidays we've had!

Review by: Martin & Catherine Jackson on 03/05/2017

South Africa Tour

We would like to congratulate Riviera Travel on a marvelous tour to S Africa. Our tour manager, Ian and our tour guide, Laurence were exceptional. These guys are true professionals and very personable at the same time. We learned a great deal during the trip and even when our bus broke down it was all sorted quickly by our driver and Laurence who together calmly diagnosed the problem and did the repair. We have already recommended the trip to beautiful S Africa to all our friends.

Review by: Liz Hutchinson and Ken McDonald on 19/04/2017

South Africa Tour

I have just recently returned from South Africa, with yourselves, & wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it.

Often people are too quick to give feedback when something has been bad, but not as many provide thanks when something has been good. I wanted to let you know That this tour surpassed what I had expected. There were a couple of excursions that I would have liked more time visiting like the kirstenbosch gardens in Cape Town & then boulders beach & the gorgeous penguins, but I was highly aware that there's a whole coach to consider. There was so much to pack in to the 2 weeks that it isn't a grumble as I know time was restricted.

My main reason for this email as well as to provide feedback on how good I thought this tour was is to do with your tour guide Karen Holladay. I thought she was excellent. She gave us enough information on what we would be doing each day. Told us the timings several times to make she we were all where we should be at the right times. Little details in checking on my vegetarian food & My mums gluten free dietary requirements & letting us know what there was available. On arrival at the airport in South Africa she checked what I wanted to be called as I always go by George rather than Georgina so that was nice. The interconnecting flights were smooth & she made sure we all got to where we should be & hung back to make sure the last of us had got through. Helping people on & off the coach. Advice on what excursions would be best. Making time after the tours were finished for the day to be available incase we needed help. Being very approachable no matter what time of day or night. Mixing socially with us at the hotels at meal times. Giving Information on future trips riviera do & her experience on these as a guide, etc. The list goes on. Also I loved Stuart our South African guide & himself & Karen were an excellent team.

The coach drivers were friendly & I especially liked J.R. Who gave my mum extra help getting off the coach as she had trouble with the steps. He even saw a small bunch of us at the waterfront in Cape Town not being able to get on to the hotels free shuttle bus as it was full & as he was going passed our hotel in his coach he offered us all a lift back. Just a very sweet, kind man. So I hope you choose him again for any tours.

I loved the different hotels & they all had their own charms & showed South Africa off well. The hollow resorts had bucket loads of details that added something special to the trip, especially the hippos.

I have travelled a lot & I do prefer organising my own trips but having never been to South Africa before & not being sure what to expect I wanted the safety of a group tour. So it was perfect. I have been on escorted tours with Travelsphere before but now I feel Travelsphere who?! I will definitely be putting Riviera at the top of my list for future escorted tours.

Obviously it takes a whole team to create a holiday so thank you to everyone involved & I hope to be on another Riviera tour again soon ( after I've recovered from the last action packed one with yourselves! )

Review by: George Fletcher on 05/04/2017

South Africa Tour

Very pleased with this holiday. Good hotels and transport with interesting itinerary. Tour guides Janie Watson and Warwick Baker were first class. Hope to use you again.

Review by: Grenville Hughes on 26/04/2017

South Africa Tour

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to South Africa and greatly valued the support of Canaan and Jan our guide/rep. At all times we felt safe and well informed on what was a really enjoyable and memorable holiday. The quality of the hotel accommodation was generally excellent. This is a tour with a demanding itinerary particularly in the first week and thought should perhaps be given to cutting out the overnight stay in Johannesburg in favour of travelling straight to Hazyview and the Kruger National Park so that travellers can sleep in the coach after the overnight flight. That said, South Africa is such a large country that travel is inevitable if you are to see the all the sights. The trip includes some excellent excursions catering for all tastes and pockets - we would particularly recommend the Elephant Whispers experience at Hazyview.

This was our second Riviera experience and, hopefully, it will not be the last!

Review by: Jerry and Janette Oddie on 29/03/2017

South Africa Tour

I have just returned from the first Solo Holiday to South Africa. It was my first experience, as a Solo Traveller, & with Riviera Travel. I have to say it was one of the best experiences of my life. The Tour was amazing, and we saw so much of South Africa. The Hotels, food, excursions .were excellent. How many people can say they saw a baby Hippo in the garden!! Special thanks to Lorna who was our Riviera rep. who was just lovely, & to Dale our travel expert, who answered every question we asked her. If anyone is thinking of going on this adventure, & has doubts , just go, it is amazing & worth every penny!!

Review by: Doreen Alves on 22/03/2017

South Africa Tour

We have returned to-day from your South Africa Tour and would just like to say that we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Your tour guide Matt was outstanding in his attention to detail in the organisation, caring for everyone, and his wicked sense of humour which gave us a lot of laughs.

The South African guide Kainan was also excellent, his knowledge of the history, politics statistics and the social culture in all the different areas we passed through was astounding, with no notes! We had excellent drivers, and had some quite long and tiring days.

All the hotels were very good in their different ways, the highlight being the Tented camp at Buffalo Rock which much better than we could have expected.

Please would you pass on our thanks to all concerned, as well as your office staff who are always helpful. We look forward to travelling with you again in the near future.

Review by: Rob and Felicity Thorpe on 08/02/2017

South Africa Tour

Extremely good tour of South Africa. It was long distances and we had to get up early in the beginning in order to see everything. Kruger Park was fantastic and very well organised and will never be forgotten. But all round the whole tour was excellent and made so very enjoyable by our Tour Manager Matt who looked after us all so well and kept us amused on the long drives by his wonderful sense of humour and his knowledge of the areas and hotels etc

Review by: Jennie Campbell on 09/02/2017

South Africa Tour

Mrs J Richardson and myself have just returned from a holiday with yourselves as above.

We would like to convey what a fantastic time we have had. We met some lovely people but most important was your Rep Kay who looked after us so well,also the accommodation really took on the ambiance of the holiday.

It was our first time with your company hopefully will it be the last.

Review by: Pamela Armatage on 09/02/2017

South Africa Tour

Most enjoyable experience which was well controlled by the ever helpful & humorous "Obergruppenfuhrer" Matt with no small input from the knowledgeable Canaan. The organisation was commendable and very professional. The hotels were generally of a very high standard and the food on offer was first class. The various visits to places of interest were all well organised and interesting with helpful hints thrown in throughout. There were also plenty of opportunities to do your own thing so you were never in each other's company for longer than necessary (probably a good thing for the other travellers on my trip!).

This our 5th trip with RT and although Matt failed to control the high winds which prevented the cable car trip to the summit of Table Mountain we will continue to use Riviera Travel! Thanks again.

Review by: Stuart buxton on 08/02/2017

South Africa Tour

Just arrived home after a fabulous two weeks in South Africa, including Kruger National Park, the Zulu battlefields, touring the Garden Route, the Featherbed nature reserve at Knysna, wine tasting at the Boschendal wine estate, and three nights in Cape Town with a visit to Robben Island. This is not to mention the activities in between which included a flight in a micro light, a ride on an elephant and canoeing down the Sabie River. I would like to make a special mention to our hosts Stuart and Antonia for all their hard work in ensuring everything went as smoothly as possible, especially as we packed in so much into the two weeks and travelled such a great distance.

A very big thankyou to them both from Neil and Denise Rolfe.

Review by: Neil Rolfe on 01/02/2017

South Africa

We would like to say how much we enjoyed the above trip, mainly due to the expertise of the Tour Manager, Karen.

Karen was very helpful and informative from the moment we met her at Heathrow. She made every aspect of the holiday run smoothly.

Every morning Karen was bright and cheerful, explaining the days' "plot".

Riviera travel are fortunate to have such a committed, enthusiastic and knowledgeable member of staff who takes such pride in her job.

Karen is a great asset to your company.

My sincere and grateful thanks to her for all her hard work.

If ever we consider another holiday through Riviera Travel, we do hope we will be fortunate to meet Karen again.

Our Best Wishes to Karen.

Review by: Chrisanthi Perera & Rosalind Upton on 11/01/2017

South Africa Tour

We have just returned from Riviera's fantastic tour of South Africa. Although we travelled extensively by coach and plane, we were looked after royally by your tour guide Karen, ably assisted by Stewart, whose commentary was very amusing and informative. We would particularly like, however, to commend Karen for her manner, professionalism, organisational ability and general demeanour. Nothing seemed too much trouble for her, as she went out of her way ensure that all passengers were happy. We think what singles Karen out from other tour guides we have encountered is her attention to detail. Whilst I'm sure you expect this of all your tour guides Karen executes her duties with enthusiasm and aplomb. Our expectations of the holiday were certainly exceeded as we enjoyed the contrasting environments of the Kruger Park, Swaziland, Knysna Wildlife Reserve, Stellenbosch Botanical Gardens, Cape Town and Table Mountain, the Cape of Good Hope, the Townships and Robben Island. What was not to like? Our only criticism is that we spent two long days on the coach, which we thought was excessive, but given that we were able to see so much of the country, we understand the reasoning behind that. We hope you have found our feedback useful and look forward to booking with Riviera again.

Review by: Lionel & Jackie Marsh on 11/01/2017

South Africa Tour

A wonderful holiday

We have just returned from your tour around South Africa. This was a wonderful trip that my wife and I will remember with the fondest memories forever. The organisation was first class. Please pass on my congratulations to our guides Kay and Stuart whose hard work ensured that everything ran so smoothly.

Review by: Graham Barber on 14/11/2016

South Africa Tour

Just to confirm many of the comments you have received from our fellow travellers to South Africa. We had a fabulous holiday, thanks in no small way to Stuart and Ian. So many highlights as witnessed by the 900 photographs! The only down was the wine tasting as others have said. The early starts were worthwhile as we were the first tour group to get to the viewpoints on most occasions.

We have enjoyed several previous holidays with Riviera and hope to enjoy more. Thanks to all who made the trip so good - planners back at home, Stuart, Ian and, of course, our fellow travellers.

Review by: The Two Jackies on 25/08/2016

South Africa Tour

An excellent, value for money tour giving a fantastic flavour of what this beautiful country has to offer. Our Tour Manager, Karen, was superb, as was our local guide Cannan. The standard of accommodation and food, included as part of our package, was 1st class. We particularly enjoyed the newly refurbished rooms at Devon Valley and the spectacular views over the surrounding wine estates. We had a fantastic group of fellow travellers, some 40+ in total, many of whom were ‘seasoned’ Riviera patrons. This was our second tour with this company and definitely not our last. Thank you Riviera and fellow travellers for some wonderful memories….....

Review by: Debbie Christie on 28/08/2016

South Africa Tour

Outstanding tour. Highly recommended. Tour manager Ian and guide Peter were both knowledgeable and personable. The whole itinerary was immaculately organised.

Review by: David Barton on 14/09/2016

South Africa Tour

Just back from a wonderful holiday in South Africa with Riviera. Everything ran very smoothly thanks particularly to the professionalism and good humour of Matt, our excellent Riviera Tour Manager, with the help of Alan, our South Africa guide and several really good local drivers, guides and game rangers. Saw all manner of animals in the Kruger - including a lioness at close quarters! (Not too close!!). A great country and really interesting throughout. Thanks!

Review by: Hugh and Irene on 17/10/2016

South Africa Tour

Just returned from fantastic South Africa Tour. It was we’ll organised from start to finish, our tour manager Janie and guide Ian were superb nothing was too much trouble. There we 41 of us on the tour and everyone bonded really well which made it even more fun. Excellent value for money .

Review by: Val & Pete Cornish on 23/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.