[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Sicily

Have just returned from a fantastic tour of Sicily. Ruth, our tour manager, was very informative, organised and friendly. The sites were amazing and lunch at the Agriotourismo was superb.

Feels like I was away for much longer than a week, we packed so much in!

Thank you,

Elaine

Review by: Elaine Stevens on 22/09/2019

Sicily

We are veterans of many a touring holiday, but Sicily exceeded our expectations. Highlights for us were Monreale Cathedral, Taormina and the Teatro Greco, but the big surprise was Piazza Armerina which we would never have discovered otherwise.

The whole tour was made special by our wonderful Tour Manager, Rosario. His charm, intelligence, dedication to his guests makes him a wonderful ambassador for Sicily, and of course for Riviera. The tour was busy, and we did feel a bit tired at times - but hey, it was worth it.

Review by: Christine Dakin on 01/09/2019

Sicily

First time travelling with Riviera Travel and I really couldn't fault it. Upon our arrival at the airport we were taken care of, our wonderful driver Mino, our 'pilot', drove us safely to our first hotel, unloading our cases with absolute sicilian charm!

Our three tour guides for, Valley of the Temples, Cathedral and Roman Palace, were equally charming, very professional, delivering their knowledge with perfection. Now, what made the whole week utterly exceptional was our Tour Manager, Rosario, he is second to none! He showed such passion and love for his country, looked after all of us on the coach, showed kindness and compassion, bonded the group and really made it all a fantastic holiday, he is our Poppo Piccolina, as beautiful on the inside as he is out.

Review by: Emma C Jones on 28/04/2019

Sicily

Just returned from your 8 day holiday to Sicily. Wonderful. I had decided to visit after seeing two programmes by Michael Scott. It was a trip through time: Greek Temples and theatres, a Roman villa with amazing mosaics, Norman church and Cathedral with golden mosaic tiles, Baroque churches and cathedrals and a freezing time up Mount Etna! The holiday was 2 centred with the first stay for three nights in Agrigento. The hotel, the Baia di Ulysses was very comfortable with newly refurbished rooms and friendly staff. Similarly the Saint Alphonse Garden in Giardini Naxos. At both hotels we had to choose our evening meal the night before. This ensured we got the dishes of our choice and no food was wasted.

There was a lot of travelling in order to see the highlights of Sicily: Palermo, Monreale, The Roman villa, Taormina & Syracuse but it was worth it. We had an extremely knowledgeable tour guide, Rosario, who not only kept us amused on these journeys but had an incredible knowledge about his island home. He took the time to issue us with colour coded maps of the towns and cities, highlighting suggestions of what to visit. He was very helpful and friendly.

Only drawback: it was not long enough. Would definitely go back.

Frances from Oldham

Review by: Frances Stott on 17/04/2019

Sicily

The Sicily tour was superb and certainly lived up to my expectations. As usual, Riviera’s organisation was first class, our Tour guide, Franco, was excellent as were the local guides at Agrigento, Montreale and the Villa del Casale. Our driver, Antonio, was superb. The first hotel, the Kaos in Agrigento, was good, apart from the temperature in the dining room and the wardrobes in our room. The second hotel, Sant Alphio Garden in Giardini Naxos, was excellent, with a good view of Etna from our balcony. The food was plentiful in both. For me the highlights of the trip were the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento and Taormina, but all the other visits were wonderful too. There was so much beautiful scenery - and masses of wildflowers - and we were very lucky with the weather.

Review by: Pam Jones on 27/04/2019

Sicily

We wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our holiday, which was due, in a very large part, to our Tour Manager, Rosario Sulfaro.

His knowledge of Sicily makes him a wonderful amabassador for the island. You can see how passionate he is about his homeland and he loves sharing his knowledge. He made the coach trips so interesting because of his breadth of knowledge, not just about Sicily but in so many other areas. His command of English is exceptional

He is a terrific organiser and has an uncanny knack of predicting potential problems! He is caring, compassionate and efficient - Riviera Travel has a treasure in Rosario and long may he continue to be your representative in Sicily.

Review by: Kevin and Pam Withers on 14/10/2018

Sicily

A fantastic introduction to Sicily. The best tour manager ever, Rosario, made everything so easy for us. He is professional, funny and knowledgeable but most of all cares about his visitors. Not forgetting our wonderful driver Pepo. The highlights were Syracuse and the Godfather tour.

Review by: Kate Truscott on 23/09/2018

Sicily

A most enjoyable holiday with plenty to see. The hotels were excellent as were the guides at the places we visited. I'd particularly like to mention our tour manager Daniela, who, in addition to being well organised, was good humoured and friendly throughout. She is a Sicilian and her love and knowledge of her home was evident. Amongst some excellent managers we've met through Riviera Travel, Daniella stands out.

Review by: Martin Foster on 05/09/2018

Sicily

This was our second Riviera tour and we shall certainly be booking more! The holiday was well organised and well paced with excellent guides but with plenty of free time to explore on our own as well. Our tour guide Franco was exceptional and helped to make the holiday even more special. There was a lot of travelling but Carmelo, our driver was superb and we were able to enjoy the spectacular Sicilian countryside along the way. We definitely recommend this tour.

Review by: Dianne and Paul on 03/10/2018

Sicily

You arranged for us to have lovely weather! Thank you. Seriously, the tour guide, Denise, is superb. The research she carries out is admirable and she imparts facts in a friendly and interesting manner. The hotels were good - the pool at KAOS, Agrigento, has to be seen to be believed, while the Baia Taormina seems to be under-rated at four stars. A good itinerary and pleasnant company made this a most enjoyable holiday. Thank you.

Review by: William Oram on 15/09/2018

Sicily

I returned from one of your organised tours to Sicily on Sunday 16th September and want to contact you to say how amazing the trip and the tour guide, Liz, was.

I was so fortunate to get to see amazing sights - Monreale and Ortygia were personal highlights. So much thought has been put in to giving visitors a real taste of the whole island and I am thrilled that I got to see so much. Thanks to our coach driver, Angelo, we got everywhere safely and on time.

Liz greeted me at the airport with great professionalism and continued to be polite, kind and friendly throughout the holiday. Liz's knowledge of the island is exceptional and she conveyed this with an enthusiasm that was infectious. I learnt so much from her about history and culture.

Liz worked extremely hard every day. Nothing was too much trouble and she did her very best to ensure every member of the group had their needs met. She showed great compassion and much patience.

Thanks to Liz, everything ran smoothly. I always knew timings of trips, where to meet and what to do thanks to her clear instructions and organisation. At the heart of everything was Liz's desire to ensure we all had an enjoyable holiday.

Thank you very much to Riviera and to Liz. I shall definitely be booking another holiday with you soon.

Review by: Tammie on 09/09/2018

Sicily

Brilliant holiday in Sicily. The sights far exceeded expectations: why didn't anyone tell me before how wonderful Monreale Cathedral and the Piazza Amerina were? Liz the guide was entertaining, extremely knowledgeable, well-organised and thoughtful. And the other holiday-makers were great company. Just beware: the food and wine are so good and plentiful that a boot camp diet has been necessary on return

Review by: Angela Hornby on 02/09/2018

Sicily

A fantastic tour of Sicily with loads crammed in. There was a lot of travelling particularly at the beginning but all worth while. Highlights for me were the Valley of the Temples, Taormina, Syracuse & Mount Etna.

The 2 hotels (Hotel Baia di Ulisse & Sant Alphio Hotel & Spa) were very different, the former being newer with a large room and plenty of storage whereas, the latter was a much larger hotel with smaller but acceptable size room. Even had a view of Mt Etna at 2nd hotel from substantial shared balcony.

Sicily was much greener than I expected with amazing scenery and lovely people. Couldn't believe that Palermo is Italy's 5th largest city.

Saving the best to last; our Tour Manager Ruth was absolutely amazing and has to be the best I have encountered following many tours. Her historical knowledge was unbelievable and related to us without any notes! Ruth was also very caring, understanding and no issue was too much for her to sort out. Ruth always did her utmost to ensure we didn't have to hang around in queues. We were handed out a sheet at virtually every stop which included an annotated map of the location and helpful notes on things to see & do. Also praise for our kind driver Pippo and an excellent guide at Monreale.

Review by: Keith Morris on 03/06/2018

Sicily

I feel that the treatment & carriage that we had on our recent trip to Sicily with your company needs to get a very Big THANK YOU.

We travelled & arrived at Catania Airport on 8th May. From the moment we gathered together we were exclusively looked after by both our Tour Guide & Driver.

Daniella & Pippo were fantastic, he Pippo was a careful & mindful driver with regard for all of us, some who had difficulties with walking, stairs etc.

Daniella was a mind of information, assertive, helpful with every question or doubt. Never failing to smile, be aware & around for our needs, welcoming & encouraging.

We had the most delightful holiday, she helped make it that way.

Please as a Company let her know how well she did & our appreciation.

Review by: Carol & Frank Tredget, Ann & Colin Shelton. on 08/05/2018

Sicily

This was our second Riviera holiday in two years, the first was a River Cruise on the Rhone.

From being met at the airport in Catania to our departure, our Riviera guide Liz was amazing. Her knowledge of the island's history was extensive and she brought it all to life. She had time for everyone.

Sicily is a truly beautiful island with its is mind-blowing history and architecture; the temples at Agrigento, the Roman Villa and its mosaics and of course the ancient amphitheatre in Taormina were stunning. Syracuse and Palermo were also great places to visit.

The two hotels we stayed at were very welcoming; food and accommodation excellent.

We travelled with two friends all of us had wanted to see Sicily and we were certainly not disappointed.

Thank you Riviera - you certainly know how to organise great holidays and have top guides.

Review by: Richard and Colleen Rutter on 11/05/2018

Sicily

We travelled on your Sicily Tour on 3rd May to Trapani & Cefalu and we would like to thank you for a great tour. It was very interesting and informative. We specially liked Cefalu - its beautiful.

Also your tour guide Kathryn was absolutely amazing, she kept us informed and up to date with everything we needed to know and she is a lovely lady too.

Also praise should be given to Alfredo our coach driver, who again was excellent, nothing was too much trouble and he is a very careful and safe driver.

Finally the two tour guides who joined us on some of the trips were also excellent, full of knowledge and information and very happy to answer questions from the group.

All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

Kind regards

Review by: Chris & Marilyn Ray on 03/06/2018

Sicily

As with my previous tour with Riviera, it was a very enjoyable experience. Our guide, Rosario, was outstanding - nothing was any trouble for him to help us reap the benefits of the history and archeology of the Sicilian tour. It was unfortunate for me that I was not in the best of health. Nonetheless Rosario called medical help and had me sorted out in no time at all. I may even be tempted to try the western Sicily tour in the future, so well did he promote it!! Despite the long distances travelled, the end points were spectacular. My appreciation of Sicily has been greatly enhanced. Thank you for such a well organised holiday.

Review by: Dr Wilson Nicol on 20/04/2018

Sicily

Having just returned from Sicily I wish to commend the Tour Guide Katherine, she was truly outstanding, and made the holiday very special. She could not have done more. She was always present and was a full of information on the areas we visited. My thanks to her and Riviera.

Review by: valerie harper on 04/06/2018

Sicily

For Linda & I it is the first holiday with Riviera and it didn't disappoint, packed from start to finish with wonderful experiences.

The Valley of the Temples, the Cathedral at Monreale and my wife particularly loved the boat trip at Siracusa, and my highlight the Villa del Casale.

We would both like to thank all the guides without exception, for their expert knowledge, Claudio, Marilu, & Josie and of course not forgetting the best Tour Manager ever Rosario.

The only problem left is which Riviera tour or cruise to choose in future.

Thanks John Crabtree

Review by: john crabtree on 03/06/2018

Sicily

A really excellent tour with good hotels, enjoyable food and really interesting visits. The tour was made doubly enjoyable by our wonderful tour guide Rosario!

His knowledge over so many areas is amazing as is the interesting way in which he imparts it all to his Bambini. He demonstrates a real love for his island. The lovely gentle humour was also much appreciated.

Rosario is definitely a keeper for you Riviera Travel. Don't lose him!!!!

Review by: Marion on 27/05/2018

Sicily

What a superb tour this was. Rosario, our escort/guide, was so full of enthusiasm and knowledge of his home island, you couldn't help but enjoy it. The journey times for the trips may seem a little long (2 hrs max) but we stopped every hour for comfort and coffee breaks. The hotels were fine for our purpose as you don't spend much time there and the food was great. If you want a lazy holiday then this is not for you but if you want to have a good look around and see all the important sights, I would really recommend this tour, especially with Rosario !!

Review by: Lesley Bridges on 13/05/2018

Sicily

This was our first escorted coach tour, chosen because Sicily is a large island and we wanted to see as much as possible without spending lots of time driving. We certainly achieved this. The holiday was made, however, by the excellence of Rosario, the tour guide. He was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and very professional, and handled the difficulties presented by a couple of clients who, while very pleasant, were in no way up to the rigours of the tour, with a degree of charm and patience that could only be admired. We learnt a great deal about Sicily, its history, culture and politics from him, and this, along with the well-chosen sites, was what made the holiday so rewarding. If he is an example of the quality of your guides, we would certainly consider booking another Riviera holiday.

Review by: Lorna on 13/05/2018

Sicily

We had a wonderful trip around Sicily, mainly due to our wonderful guide, Rosario. He was very knowledgeable, as was our guide when we visited the cathedral at Monreale. Marilu. The whole trip, to Agrigento, Palermo, Taormina and Siracusa, although spending quite some time travelling, never seemed too tiring and our fellow travellers were a good lot.

Review by: Christine James on 30/04/2018

Sicily

Absolutely loved our 8 days in Sicily! Our tour guide, Lillijana was excellent. Her extensive knowledge of the history and people of the island was second to none. Best bits were the Temples near Agrigento, trip to Roman Villa, visiting Mount Etna, lovely towns of Palermo, Taormina and - best of all - Syracuse. Really enjoyed the 'Godfather' trip too! Scenery was stunning (we had perfect weather) and a unique chance to wander the streets of traditional Sicilian villages. Mid-afternoon cheese, ham and bruchetta snacks - plus glass of wine - was an extra bonus! Our fellow travellers were really good company too. We'll be booking another Riviera trip for next year!

Review by: Fran and John Goodwin on 09/05/2018

Sicily

We had a wonderful week's trip around Sicily with Tour Manager Rosario and driver Carmelo. Rosario was absolutely wonderful, he kept us entertained throughout the day and was so knowledgeable about the places and people. The two hotels, Kaos in Agrigento and Baia di Taormina were both very good with helpful staff, and good food. A wonderful tour on a wonderful island, at a beautiful time of the year.

Review by: Christine James on 29/04/2018

Sicily

We have recently returned from a wonderful 8 days in Sicily....our 3rd Riviera holiday. The whole tour was superbly organised and orchestrated by our local Tour Manager Daniela ...an absolute asset to the company. Her descriptions of Sicily, its history and its people was fascinating. Germano the coach driver was amazing as he tackled hair raising Sicilian roads and traffic. The tour did involve some long days of travelling but necessary to enable exploration of the ancient sites , beautiful towns and dramatic scenery. We were joined by our two adult children and their partners and we all had a great time. We are already anticipating our next tour with Riviera.

Review by: Charles and Kathleen Pratley on 27/04/2018

Sicily

Another superb Riviera holiday! As ever with a Riviera escorted tour, the days were packed and some might find the early starts a bit challenging, but they did mean we were able to see more of the island. The food at Hotel Baia near Taormina was better than at Hotel Kaos in Agrigento but both hotels were fine – we did not expect a gourmet holiday at Riviera’s very fair price! Highlights for me were Monreale Cathedral, the climb up Mount Etna, and the unexpected bonus of seeing and hearing the marching bands parading through the streets of Taormina on the Sunday. The guides at the Valley of the Temples, Monreale Cathedral, and the villa at Piazza Armerina were excellent, as were our two (very courteous) drivers in coping with the challenging roads and keeping calm in the traffic, but special praise must go to our tour manager, Liz. She ensured everything went smoothly for everyone throughout the week and the information she imparted during the various coach journeys was very interesting and obviously well researched. All the tour managers have been very good on the many Riviera holidays we have been on, but Liz proved to be the best. She also managed to ensure the sun shone for most of the week!

Review by: Margaret on 25/04/2018

Sicily

We have recently returned from your escorted Sicily tour. This was our first experience of using Riviera Travel and undertaking an escorted tour. We had a wonderful holiday visiting the historical sites and cities of Sicily.

Our tour manager, Daniela was excellent and her knowledgeable guidance and humour made our trip truly memorable. Her partnership with our Driver, Pippo, made for an informative and entertaining experience, with the coach travel being comfortable and relaxing. The local guides used were also excellent.

Although the tour was quite intensive because of the geographical area covered, Daniela managed to optimise the value of each city visit by detailed guidance and the provision of local maps with different itineraries for individual choice.

Both of the hotels used were well selected - good food and accommodation in restful surroundings.

A very informative and enjoyable holiday. Thank you.

Reviewed by Tony & Glenys Short.

Review by: Anthony and Glenys Short on 13/04/2018

Sicily

We have travelled with Riviera many times, and this holiday lived up to our expectations. It was extremely well-organised, and our guide, Stefania, was helpful and knowledgable, and full of information and anecdotes about Sicily, its people, politics and culture. She was also very caring and had regard for everyone's comfort and enjoyment. The journeys between places of interest were, necessarily, quite long, but our coach driver, Giuseppe, was excellent and all the journeys were comfortable and relaxed. The two hotels were lovely - quite luxurious, in fact. Great food and excellent facilities. I compared the price of this holiday with other tour operators' prices, and Riviera is highly competitive. For the great quality of every aspect of this tour, it represents fantastic value for money. I would recommend this tour to anyone wishing to see the best of Sicily, and I would happily do the tour again!.

Review by: Hazel Lavelle on 09/10/2017

Sicily

had a wonderful holiday in sicily visited many lovely places a very well planned trip and what a fantastic guide he knew everything Rosario you were amazing wish we could take you on all our holidays also our driver pippo was excellent

Review by: Julie Linley on 03/09/2017

Sicily

We have just returned from your Sicily Tour. We had a wonderful time visiting many truly amazing sites and interesting towns. It was tiring and involved a lot of travelling but we would not have wanted to have missed anything. The hotels used were more than adequate though we found the beds uncomfortable in both. A special mention must be made of your Tour Manager - Rosario. He has a wealth of knowledge and enthusiasm in all things Sicilian, a wonderful sense of humour and couldn't have done more to make our holiday enjoyable. He almost made those long coach journeys a delight. Don't lose him! The local guides used at specific sites were also excellent. Many thanks for a wonderful holiday.

Review by: Harold and Jane Collin on 08/10/2017

Sicily

A very pleasant holiday with good company and the trip was enhanced by excellent local guides, particularly Marilu at Monreale which was a highlight for us. The tour guide Rosario was super from start to finish and provided maps and advice rendered with a great sense of humour. He arranged a separate trip to Casa Cuseni in Taormina which Riviera should add to the tour as part of the experience. Finally thanks also to a super coach driver, Pippo.

Review by: (Phillip) Ian & Helen T on 17/09/2017

Sicily

This was our first tour with Riviera, and it certainly won't be the last. We were led by our outstanding guide, Susan, who had the history of Sicily at her fingertips - without notes, might I add - and had countless useful tips for maximising the available time in the various locations we visited. The restaurant arrangements at our first hotel, Baia di Ulisse at Agrigento weren't top notch, but our second hotel at Sant Alphio Garden at Giardini Naxos certainly made up for it. It was a most informative and enjoyable tour with a great group of fellow travellers, and by the end of the week we felt like we must have been away for longer, so much having been packed into the time. This was a hassle-free way to see this lovely island, with no hire car fees, navigation or parking to worry about. Our coach driver was very safe and sensible, and made a great little team with our superb guide. Yes, we'll be back, Riviera!

Review by: David Joyce on 24/09/2017

Sicily

We have just returned from our holiday in Sicily and I wanted to say how wonderful our tour rep, Elizabeth, was. She is clearly passionate about history and gave us plenty of background information on the way to each destination. The only drawback of the week was the amount of time spent on a coach, I had not realised it was possible to check on this prior to booking. Another bonus of using Riviera was that you checked us in and provided us with our boarding passes, this saved us having to do this ourselves. We will certainly be using Riviera again.

Review by: Mrs Alanna McCann on 18/09/2017

Sicily

My husband and I have just returned from a very enjoyable tour of Sicily, helped enormously by our tour guide, the wonderful Daniela, who was so warm, professional, engaging and knowledgeable. The weather was unseasonably hot, which made the long coach journeys to each destination a bit uncomfortable, despite the air conditioning. There were inevitable time constraints for most trips, but there was always some free time available, though we would sometimes have liked more. Be prepared to walk from the coach park at most destinations - we were often not told until the journey was underway, and for people with mobility issues this could be a problem. Overall, however, the pros outweigh the cons, and it was a great way to see so many interesting places.

Review by: Sandra Gane on 15/09/2017

Sicily Tour

This was a fantastic week in large part due to the delightful guide, Daniella. She was always helpful and friendly, had a good sense of humour, handled people with tact and handled situations efficiently.

All the trips exceeded my expectations except for Taomina. The view from the Greek theatre was spectacular but otherwise I thought the town was outrageously expensive and full of little other than tourist shops. I would definitely recommend this holiday.

Review by: Frances Jill Meads on 02/06/2017

Sicily Tour

Having just completed the Sicily tour delighted to say again that Riviera have again done another great job . As usual good standard of Hotels and the tours are extremely well organised. I cannot praise out tour guide Ruth highly enough . Such a wonderful person calm and organised and nothing too much trouble. Also the amount of knowledge and information she imparted was astounding. From my view easily Employee of the year award!

Review by: Steven & Joanna Seaton on 09/11/2016

Sicily Tour

We have just returned from Sicily where we have had one of the best holidays we have ever had. We have never travelled in a group before and were rather apprehensive but it worked out very well. The itinerary was well thought out and run, the hotels were beautiful and the staff all lovely. Ruth, our tour guide, could not do enough for us and was very informative everywhere we went. We would like to say thank you to her and to Riviera Travel. Sheila and Peter Russell.

Review by: Sheila and Peter Russell on 11/06/2017

Sicily Tour

Just back in London from Sicily tour. tt was very enjoyable , made more so by our excellent guide LIZ. Everyone spoke highly of her. Nothing was too much trouble, and her commentary was informative and helpful. She certainly knows her subject/ You should treasure her.

Review by: Philip Grenard on 07/06/2017

Sicily Tour

Having just returned from an 8 day holiday in Sicily which I very much enjoyed, I would like to put on record and say what a perfect tour manager we had in Rosario.

He enhanced the whole tour with his in depth knowledge of the history of the island, his gentle humour, unfailing politeness and helpfulness, dealing kindly and quietly with any problems which might arise. In all my years of travelling he was the most outstanding tour guide I have had the pleasure to meet.

Review by: Jenny Smith (Mrs) on 04/06/2017

Sicily Tour

Thoroughly enjoyed the Sicily tour which was our 8th holiday with your company. What made it especially good was your tour manager Daniela. She is, without a doubt the best tour manager so far. Every morning there were town maps and handouts of local information waiting for us on the coach. Nothing was too much trouble, and she said from the outset I am here for you this week, please come and ask me if you need assistance. She was always smiling and in good humour.

The tour covered a lot of the island and some days there were many hours spent on the coach, but there were plenty of comfort breaks. The local guides were enthusiastic and interesting and the use of radio headsets meant that the group of 50 were always able to hear what was being said.

We stayed at the Hotel Kaos which had a beautiful swimming pool, our room was nice and we enjoyed making our way through the cocktail menu with the drinks being very reasonably priced. The only negatives were that we didn't find the food very inspiring and wifi was only available if you sat very near to reception.

St Alphonse Garden Hotel has excellent wifi in the rooms, we were on the top floor.The food was very good, with four courses being served at the table rather than buffet style. Drinks were more expensive but there was a good wine list with local wines.

All in all a very good holiday and particular thanks to Daniela.

Review by: Carol Hughes on 09/06/2017

Sicily Tour

Having just completed the Sicily tour delighted to say again that Riviera have again done another great job . As usual good standard of Hotels and the tours are extremely well organised. I cannot praise out tour guide Ruth highly enough . Such a wonderful person calm and organised and nothing too much trouble. Also the amount of knowledge and information she imparted was astounding. From my view easily Employee of the year award!

Review by: steven seaton on 11/06/2017

Sicily Tour

Our tour was wonderful, made all the more enjoyable by the informative ever helpful and entertaining Rosario (aka Papa Piccolino) and Angelo our driver. Whatever helpful suggestion was made and followed added to our enjoyment. As stated above Rosario is a great asset and we his 'bambini' salute him, his maps and wit.

Our hotels were first class, especially the Baia Taormina, the management of which also went the extra mile by allowing the courtesy bus to be used on our last day to get to Taormina. Mille Grazie

Review by: JOHN AND JANE BROADBRIDGE on 21/05/2017

Sicily Tour

I have recently returned from a wonderful holiday in Sicily. I was concerned because of the possible disruption by the summit being held in Taormina. The holiday was fabulous, we saw so many wonderful sights even though there were some long coach journeys, which I think were inevitable due to the fact that they were widely spread over Sicily. Both hotels were superb but the food far better in the second hotel. The star of the show was Rosario who was brilliant. He was so informative, entertaining and looked out for everyone. It had obviously been difficult and the schedules had to be changed because of the summit. In the end we had a wonderful day with train trip around the base of Etna and a fantastic wine tasting with food laid on in a magnificent setting. Rosario was obviously keen for us to get to see Taormina which we were able to do on the last day which I was so pleased about and enjoyed it thoroughly. Rosario ensured everyone's luggage was checked in at the airport and looked after some elderly people who had difficulty walking and ensured they had wheelchairs.

Review by: Bridget Harrison on 21/05/2017

Sicily Tour

The tour was very well organised by Riviera. Our Tour Manager, Julia, was excellent - very knowledgeable (giving us absorbing information on Sicily's complex history during our coach trips), and with a lovely sense of humour. Pipo, our skillful driver was always happy and helpful. The individual guides at the amazing places of interest were all outstanding. Both hotels were very comfortable and well appointed, the cuisine at the Sant Alphio Garden Hotel being of a particularly high standard. It was unfortunate that the G7 meeting prevented us going to Taormina but we had been pre-warned about this and given options by Riviera. The Mt Etna train journey and wine tasting lunch was an enjoyable substitute. Sicily is fascinating and we highly recommend experiencing its delights with a Riviera Tour.

Review by: John Stoddart on 21/05/2017

Sicily Tour

Really enjoyed our tour of Western Sicily. We had taken the Eastern tour a couple of years ago and were looking forward to exploring the West & North of the Island. The itinerary was well planned and packed a lot in. It was all excellent, and our guide in Palermo, Mari-Lou, was really brilliant, showing a deep knowledge and a good sense of fun and handling a potentially difficult issue successfully at the Norman Palace through her determination and professionalism.

Review by: Chris Hough on 18/05/2017

Sicily Tour

Hello

We have recently returned from Sicily having had a wonderful holiday guided by Daniela (a very happy local lady). The holiday was all that we had hoped for, visiting the Valley of the Temples, Monreal, Taormina and Syracuse. The holiday finished with a very enjoyable excursion up Mount Etna, where we enjoyed standing on the still-hot lava that had erupted less than 3 weeks prior. The views from the cable car of the mountain and ski lifts were brilliant - and the dare devil cyclists who were racing down the scree slopes entertained us!

The holiday was made a real success by Daniela, our guide, as she put so much effort into making sure our visit went without a hitch. She seems to be a great believer in 'prevention rather than cure' - and it worked a treat!

Well done and a very big thank you to all concerned.

Review by: Steve Harris on 07/05/2017

Sicily Tour

Our gratitude to Rosario. He organised the big things superbly well, meaning we were never in doubt regarding the agenda, thereby helping us get the most from the holiday. He also looked after the little things: it took time to make highlighted copies of maps for everyone, every day. This added to Rosario's detailed local knowledge, contributed to our overall enjoyment.

Finally, Pippo's expert diving made a great difference, also appreciated

Brian & Nora Moore

Review by: Brian & Nora Moore on 18/04/2017

Sicily Tour

We have just come back from our trip to Sicily and wanted to write to say how good our tour guide, Rosario, and driver, Pippo, were. Rosario was a terrific enthusiastic for his island and was always there when needed and willing to go the extra mile. Pippo was a wonderfully safe and reliable "pilot" for us all. We were also particularly impressed at the end when there was a very irritating hold up at Catania airport and Rosario kept everyone informed and in control. Rosario is an asset to Riviera Travel.

Review by: Penny & Martin Folliott on 18/04/2017

Sicily Tour

Just back from an excellent Riviera holiday in Sicily. Cannot speak too highly of our guide Ruth, a fount of knowledge, nothing was too much trouble for her and delightful company. Hotels were good, our driver Michele excellent. Our fourth holiday with you and we will certainly be looking for another trip.

Review by: Pat and Tim Bush on 03/05/2017

Sicily Tour

We wish to thank your Company and ,particularly, Clara the Guide of the Tour for making it the most memorable Tour we have undertaken so far in our life.

Clara - in our opinion stands for "Clarity" She was amazingly so clear in her speech, full of knowledge, entertaining , enthusiastic , and helpful.

Without her we wonder if the Tour would have been so enjoyable, relaxing and full of activity.

I, Ramesh, personally, was proud of her connection with me with the childhood history in Kenya.

We found all the guests on the Tour very friendly to mix

The Hotels service and food was also perfect and very high standard

We will travel with you on another Tour and recommend your Company to our friends

Review by: Ramesh & Mangal Jasani on 12/04/2017

Sicily Tour

This was the first Riviera Travel holiday we had been on and we were most impressed. First we were struck by the number of people who had been on multiple Riviera tours and we soon found out why. Rosario, the tour guide was exceptional. His communication skills, sense of humour and intimate knowledge of his home island shone through. Nothing was too much for him as he catered for individual needs as well as the whole group. His interraction with other guides (and Pippo the excellent driver) and Sicilian people in general was brilliant. On a more general note, the hotels, the itinerary and the specialist guides were all first rate. We had a marvellous holiday and leaned a tremendous amount about Sicily, it's history and its people.

Review by: Michael Hartley on 11/04/2017

Sicily Tour

I would just like to add a thank you for the excellent service we received from your tour guide & driver on our recent trip to Sicily. This is the second time we have used Riviera & have yet to be disappointed.

Review by: Robert Coombes on 27/09/2016

Sicily Tour

Many thanks. Another great tour with Riviera Travel. All good.

Tour manager, Lylyana is great at her job.

Review by: Ralph and Jilly Smith on 27/09/2016

Sicily Tour

I learned so much about Sicily in just a week - for a start how big the island is - so there’s a lot of travelling, but our Tour Manager, Rosario, was excellent. He is extremely thorough and managed to adjust our journeys to avoid other tours and cruises so we got the maximum time at each destination. He’s also very informative and very funny about life in Sicily. It’s got me thinking about the Western Sicily tour…........

Review by: Jonathan Morgan on 31/10/2016

Sicily Tour

Our ninth Riviera holiday! What an exciting and educational week steeped in history and told to us by our tour guide Ruth in her own enthusiastic and passionate style.

Every day was an adventure and we feel we have returned home with a wealth of knowledge.

Tour guide of the year has to be Ruth! An absolute gem. Thank you Riviera and of course Ruth. A truly unforgettable holiday.

Review by: Liz and Andy on 31/10/2016

Sicily Tour

We enjoyed a very special holiday thanks to Clara our tour guide who put her heart and soul into giving us lots of extra special treats and was a fount of information

Thanks to Clara and Pipo our driver for all their hard work

We will certainty go Riviera Travel again

Review by: Ruth and Ray on 27/10/2016

Sicily Tour

My husband and I have just returned from our tour of Sicily ( Manchester 9th to 16th Oct.).It was our first visit to the island and we were not disappointed. This is a lovely tour, our 6th with the company and we have never been disappointed. For us, the outstanding feature has always been the quality of our guides and this was no exception. We are most anxious that you should know how highly we rated Rosario. His love, knowledge and enthusiasm for his island shines through the whole time. He was so caring for the whole party and thoughtful for each and every one of us (48) every step of the way. His stories were accompanied by humour, so that we built up a very happy atmosphere the whole week. It must have helped that he seems to have a good rapport with all the locals, so that any difficulties were quickly ironed out. We are so pleased that you are prepared to employ local guides, as it added to our gaining of a flavour for the island. He was a real joy!

Thank you, another lovely holiday with Riviera.

Best wishes

Review by: Gill Scarlett on 21/10/2016

Sicily Tour

Dear Riviera Travel, I have just returned from your Sicily Tour. It was fabulous. The itinerary was perfect. All the major sites far exceeded my expectations - which were already high before I travelled!!! I am writing though to compliment your outstanding Tour Manager, Daniela. She is a credit to your company and her organisation, knowledge and attention to detail could not have been better. All arrangements worked perfectly. Any problems that cropped up were dealt with quickly and proactively. She was on duty from breakfast until after dinner. Unfailingly pleasant, helpful and approachable.

She made the holiday an unforgettable experience. Our driver Pippo was equally professional.

So often today people only contact organisations to complain but I wanted you to know that the Sicily Tour was one I will always remember and will recommend to other people without hesitation.

Review by: Ruth Else on 21/10/2016

Sicily Tour

This was a well planned tour with most of the high lights visited.

We were most impressed by the knowledge of our guide Ljilana. We learnt such a lot about places visited and also the culture of Sicily. It was just a pity that the antiquities are so far apart that it meant long coach journeys! The second hotel Baia, did not live up to the standard of the first hotel, Kaos, particularly the dinner menu being repetitive. However both hotels were well appointed with comfortable rooms and beautiful swimming pools.

Review by: Ann and John Belcher on 14/10/2016

Sicily Tour

We have not long returned from a holiday to Sicily with your company and had a wonderful time.

We had an exceptional guide Daniela.

Her attention to us as travellers, her information and stories and general attitude was far above any other guide we have ever had on a holiday with any company.

We also had the most courteous and happy driver Pippo.

People are quick to complain but very rarely praise.

Well done Riviera Travel we will certainly be travelling with you again!

Review by: Joan and Peter Lynn on 14/10/2016

Sicily Tour

Although I have completed the online Reevoo review which I thought was rather broad, I I felt I needed to write in personally to commend our excellent tour guide, Ruth (I’m afraid I don’t know her surname). I would give her a 5* rating - she gave us a lot of info to include history, culture, religion, geography n geology, cuisine, practical tips to include maps of each town or place of interest with relevant notes. She was clearly spoken, charming, polite to all, information delivered in a timely fashion, punctual and had a sense of humour. In many instances went beyond the call of duty. Our group were extremely fortunate to have her as our tour leader and I will be very surprised if she is not in line for a few awards.

The tour did cover a lot of ground, history etc and I did enjoy it - thank you.

Review by: Jelina L Rodrigues on 07/10/2016

Sicily Tour

A wonderful tour of this island taking in most of the important sites. The tour manager, Daniela, did an outstanding job organising the group and we felt completely safe in the hands of our experienced and courteous driver Pippo.

Review by: Cooper party on 10/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.