If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Sicily Tour

My husband and I have just returned from our tour of Sicily ( Manchester 9th to 16th Oct.).It was our first visit to the island and we were not disappointed. This is a lovely tour, our 6th with the company and we have never been disappointed. For us, the outstanding feature has always been the quality of our guides and this was no exception. We are most anxious that you should know how highly we rated Rosario. His love, knowledge and enthusiasm for his island shines through the whole time. He was so caring for the whole party and thoughtful for each and every one of us (48) every step of the way. His stories were accompanied by humour, so that we built up a very happy atmosphere the whole week. It must have helped that he seems to have a good rapport with all the locals, so that any difficulties were quickly ironed out. We are so pleased that you are prepared to employ local guides, as it added to our gaining of a flavour for the island. He was a real joy!
Thank you, another lovely holiday with Riviera.

Best wishes

Review by Gill Scarlett on 21 October 2016

Dear Riviera Travel, I have just returned from your Sicily Tour. It was fabulous. The itinerary was perfect. All the major sites far exceeded my expectations - which were already high before I travelled!!! I am emailing though to compliment your outstanding Tour Manager, Daniela. She is a credit to your company and her organisation, knowledge and attention to detail could not have been better. All arrangements worked perfectly. Any problems that cropped up were dealt with quickly and proactively. She was on duty from breakfast until after dinner. Unfailingly pleasant, helpful and approachable.
She made the holiday an unforgettable experience. Our driver Pippo was equally professional.
So often today people only contact organisations to complain but I wanted you to know that the Sicily Tour was one I will always remember and will recommend to other people without hesitation.

Review by Ruth Else on 21 October 2016

This was a well planned tour with most of the high lights visited.
We were most impressed by the knowledge of our guide Ljilana. We learnt such a lot about places visited and also the culture of Sicily. It was just a pity that the antiquities are so far apart that it meant long coach journeys! The second hotel Baia, did not live up to the standard of the first hotel, Kaos, particularly the dinner menu being repetitive.  However both hotels were well appointed with comfortable rooms and beautiful swimming pools.

Review by Ann and John Belcher on 14 October 2016

We have not long returned from a holiday to Sicily with your company and had a wonderful time.
We had an exceptional guide Daniela.
Her attention to us as travellers, her information and stories and general attitude was far above any other guide we have ever had on a holiday with any company.
We also had the most courteous and happy driver Pippo.
People are quick to complain but very rarely praise. 
Well done Riviera Travel we will certainly be travelling with you again!

Review by Joan and Peter Lynn on 14 October 2016

Although I have completed the online Reevoo review which I thought was rather broad, I I felt I needed to write in personally to commend our excellent tour guide, Ruth (I’m afraid I don’t know her surname). I would give her a 5* rating - she gave us a lot of info to include history, culture, religion, geography n geology, cuisine, practical tips to include maps of each town or place of interest with relevant notes. She was clearly spoken, charming, polite to all, information delivered in a timely fashion, punctual and had a sense of humour. In many instances went beyond the call of duty. Our group were extremely fortunate to have her as our tour leader and I will be very surprised if she is not in line for a few awards.

The tour did cover a lot of ground, history etc and I did enjoy it - thank you.

Review by Jelina L Rodrigues on 7 October 2016

A wonderful tour of this island taking in most of the important sites. The tour manager, Daniela, did an outstanding job organising the group and we felt completely safe in the hands of our experienced and courteous driver Pippo.

Review by Cooper party (6) on 10 October 2016

I would just like to add a thank you for the excellent service we received from your tour guide & driver on our recent trip to Sicily.  This is the second time we have used Riviera & have yet to be disappointed.

Review by Robert Coombes on 27 September 2016

Many thanks.  Another great tour with Riviera Travel. All good.
Tour manager, Lylyana is great at her job.

Review by Ralph and Jilly Smith on 27 September 2016

We should like to thank Riviera Travel for having provided us with an excellent week-long holiday in Sicily from the 15th to the 22nd September.
We have used Riviera Travel before, and are pleased to report that our Sicily tour met its customary high standards.
The locations were fascinating; the coach journeys stimulating; the hotels comfortable and friendly. Above all, perhaps, our tour guide, Frances, was wonderful: intelligent, knowledgeable, cultured, kind and patient with an irrepressible sense of humour and an infectious laugh. She is a great asset to your company.
We shall certainly use Riviera Travel again.



Review by Robert and Jackie Atwell on 27 September 2016

My husband and I have just returned from our first tour with Riviera.  We wanted to write to you to praise the wonderful trip that we have had, mainly due to Rivera’s gem, the Tour Manager Rosario.
Rosario’s knowledge of all aspects of Sicily, was outstanding, but also his concern for his clients.  He made certain that the seats on the coach were comfortable for the individual. For example one gentleman was very tall so Rosario recommended a seat with more leg room, one gentleman was not well, so Rosario helped with locating a doctor and speaking on behalf of this particular gentleman.
Rosario was always ready to answer any questions, making certain we were clear what was happening each day and providing paper maps and diagrams of what we were seeing each trip.  His knowledge of the island was amazing, whether it was about the culture, history or suggestions of where to have lunch or what to see on our free time.
We cannot praise him enough for all his hard work his attention to every detail, he is a credit to himself and the company he works for.
The tour was well planned, excellent value and covered the history and beauty of this part of the island. Every day trip brought a special hi light to each guest. We did prefer the Sant Alphio Garden Hotel in Giardini-Naxos to the Kaos Hotel but that is just a personal choice.  We will not hesitate to recommend this trip to our family and friends. 
Most of the guests on the coach have booked with you on more than one occasion and have enjoyed all your trips, but they all agreed that Rosario was by far the best Tour Manager they had all had.
From the time we booked, speaking to you helpful staff, to being met at Catania airport and departing with Rosario we feel our whole holiday experience was one to remember.
Thank you and well done to all the staff involved.

Review by John and Rita Bryant on 21 September 2016

My wife and I have recently returned from our first holiday with Riviera; it was perfect in every way. We had superb local guides, the site visits were well planned, the coach driver was very good, the hotels ideal, the company charming and the star was Rosario, our tour manager. He ‘made the holiday’ with immense local knowledge, presented in an interesting and engaging way; he made even a coach journey something to look forward to each day. Well done Riviera - will definitely travel with you again and Rosario - what a find you have.

Review by Tony Collett on 16 September 2016

I have just returned from a superb tour of Sicily. My late husband and I had travelled with Riviera on 2 occasions several years ago but this was my first time as a recent ‘solo traveller’. I need not have worried. Kathryn, our tour guide, was excellent making sure I was included at all times and ensured that all the travellers on this tour were well looked after.
I was especially delighted to find that at both hotels used - the Hotel Kaos in Agrigento and the Baia Taormina near to Taormina - I was given a large Double Room with a terrace and a sea view even though I was a single. And all for a very reasonable single supplement.
The tour itself was very extensive visiting many of the main sites of interest on this beautiful island. My personal favourites were the visit to Siracusa and to Mount Etna.
I shall certainly travel again with Riviera and are now looking at 2 possible tours.
Thank you Riviera for a great time.

Review by Patricia on 14 September 2016

We returned on Sunday from the Sicily tour and would like to tell you how wonderful we thought Kathryn the tour guide was.
She was very knowledgeable and managed to put lots of information across in a very interesting way.
Friendly and genuine into the bargain
Thank you.

Review by Janice Kedwards on 14 September 2016

This is a rather belated message to tell you that your Tour Manager Ruth was exceptionally good in all respects. Knowledgable, charming and sensitive to all
our needs and so enthusiastic.  I have always thought that the strength of Riviera against other travel companies is in its excellent Tour Managers, who are always so well-organised and have great local knowledge and experience. This was again the case, but more so.


Review by Maureen Finlay on 25 August 2016

We have just returned from our Sicily Tour. It was the first time we have travelled with Riviera and we want to say how much we enjoyed the tour. We were impressed by the accommodation and the arrangements for the various trips.

A special thank you to Daniella our tour manager who was excellent in everything she did.

Review by Mike & Lucik Jenkins on 25 August 2016

My husband and I recently returned from one of your guided tours of Sicily. Our tour manager was Rosario and - WOW! ! What a fantastic tour and what a really nice, genuine, knowledgeable and professional man. Rosario helped to make our holiday special. We packed a lot into our tour and at no time did we feel rushed. We think it was fantastic value for money.

Review by Lyn and John Smith on 25 August 2016

My wife and I would like to record our thanks to your Tour Manager, Rosario, on this tour.

From our experience he is the best we have had. A kind, knowledgeable and courteous person with a great sense of humour.
He particularly made all our coach trips more happy than we have experienced before.

You should be congratulated for having him as a member of your team.

Mr. T. & Mrs. H. Mitchell

Review by Mr. T. & Mrs. H. Mitchell on 25 August 2016

Having just returned from a fabulous tour of Sicily I cannot praise our Tour Manager, Frances, enough.  She brought humour, passion and great knowledge to make each day interesting and very enjoyable.  Baia Taormina was the perfect hotel with stunning views out to sea. Having very little knowledge of Sicily beforehand I now feel I have learnt so much and found the whole experience fascinating with many ‘wow’ moments. Top experiences were Monreale and Mt Etna but there are so many other contenders. Highly recommended! Thanks to all the local guides who did a magnificent job.

Review by Judith Shanks on 3 July 2016

I have just returned from the Sicily Tour and cannot recommend it highly enough. This was my 5th tour with Riviera but my first as a single traveller.  As always, the standard of the hotel accommodation and the food was excellent.

I cannot praise our driver Giomano enough - impeccable driving throughout.

Frances, our Tour Manager was very knowledgeable, helpful, always cheerful with a genuinely warm character. She really did go out of her way to ensure that everyone was looked after. We laughed a lot and her attention to fine detail ensured that many new friendships were forged along the way. The team are fine ambassadors for your company.

Review by Lynda Harris on 3 July 2016

We would just like to say how much we enjoyed our first Riviera Tour. Kathryn our tour manager was first class. The little extras she did certainly made the holiday. We would certainly recommend the Sicily tour and we are looking forward to going on another tour with Riviera.

Review by Kevin & Claire Barber on 21 June 2016

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.