If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Tour of Rome - Ancient & Baroque

This was our Second tour with Riviera. The tour manager was very informative as were the other two guides, which accompanied us on the walking tours of the Vatican, The Sistine Chapel, The Colosseum & Forum. The walking tour to The Pantheon, Trevi Fountain & onto the Piazza Navona where we had time for lunch (would have like a little longer here), all very enjoyable. After lunch we went to The Vatican & Sistine Chapel - too busy to enjoy it to the maximum, but worth the visit. The following day, we had free time up to 3pm, this meant a leisurely breakfast, & a chance to explore the area close to the hotel & to visit a couple of historic buildings. We were picked up by coach to visit The Forum & Colosseum, both of which were very enjoyable, albeit quite tiring due to the fact that it was very hot, & lots of walking. Final day was a visit to Villa Borghese, again interesting especially for Art lovers. From here, we had a choice to go onto The Spanish steps & to make our own way back to the hotel (we chose not to go), but didn’t feel that our choice in any way spoilt the overall trip. The Best Western President Hotel, was clean, comfortable with very friendly staff. Very good choice of breakfast. We also ate in the little restaurant too which we found adequate & reasonably priced. Would recommend this tour, well done Riviera, already looking for another tour for next year.

Review by Mr & Mrs Hawkins on 4 October 2016

Thank you Riviera for the professional and friendly approach that is given to your holidays. This was our 5th trip (I think) and it was as memorable as the first. The Hotel President is smart, clean and well situated for public transport to much of the City and is an easy walk from the Colosseum. The staff were very polite and helpful especially the front desk staff. We enjoyed visiting the planned sites which gave us a good overview of Rome. We had plenty of ‘free’ time to explore and revisit some of the stunning sites. We also enjoyed an evening visit to the Vatican Museums and The Sistine Chapel, less crowded than during the day. So once again we are more than happy that we chose Riviera.

Review by William Noon on 3 October 2016

I just wanted to write to thank you for organising such an excellent tour in collaboration with the magazine. The tour went very smoothly with us all arriving and easily finding Denise at the airport.

Our hotel was lovely although I know a few had issues but you get that everywhere when you have 50 people to accommodate.  The gardens we visited were just gorgeous and I have spent my time since getting back trying to work out how to make my garden look like them!! I think - never!

Denise was such a star.  Faced with two days of visits she had never done before she coped admirably dealing with the usual questions of ‘where are the toilets?’ immediately after arriving at a place she had never been to! 

Denise coped brilliantly with all our queries and helped make our holiday so much more enjoyable. She and Antonella have such a rapport that the two tours we did in Rome were just fabulous, so much so I have asked for Antonella’s contact details as I would like to go back with my husband as I feel I saw so little of what Rome has to offer. Antonella is a great guide and it was good to find out she does private tours which we hope to organise on our return visit.

Thank you again for such a wonderful tour.

Kind regards

Review by Barbara Cook on 2 September 2016

Thank you so much for giving me the confidence to travel on my own, I returned from the Rome - Ancient and Baroque Tour on 10th June 2016 after having had a thoroughly wonderful time. 
On the first day a lady by the name of Irene introduced herself and Kim, two other ladies also travelling independently for the very first time which was so nice, we had much in common and became firm friends
We have so many good memories our Tour Manager Pilar was excellent - professional, friendly, very knowledgeable, always positive and nothing was too much trouble for her, she really did become a lovely interesting companion.
The tour covered so much taking in the main parts of Rome that we all wanted to see and experience with fascinating guides Arnaldo and Antonella were amazing.
When we thought we had seen everything it just kept getting better!!
A wonderful and memorable time for us and we look forward to travelling with Riviera again in the future. 

Review by Irene Rose,  Kim O’Reilly, Catherine Peters on 25 August 2016

What an outstanding holiday again with Riviera Travel. It was our first visit to Rome but Michelle our tour manager and our tour guide Antonella made it a tour to remember. First class hotel great tours around Rome it was perfect even though we had to endure a heat wave in Rome. Once again Riviera gave us a great holiday it will not be our last well done !!!

Review by Terence & Joan Mccue on 15 July 2016

We have had the greatest of pleasure to report that our time in Rome was a fantastic success we had a great tour manager in Derek, who made the short break so much better with his knowledge of Rome past and present. The extra guides on our tour who lived in Rome were fantastic with their extra knowledge of Rome and made it a very special trip.
Thank you for a great time.
kind regards

Review by George & Rita Kennedy on 23 May 2016

I have just returned from a wonderful time in Rome and my second tour with Riviera Travel. Excellent tour guides and well organised excursions packed into four days which was perfect for time off from work. The tour guides Adrian and Antonella are a credit to your company. This tour is an exceptional introduction to this beautiful city. With my thanks.

Review by Teena on 17 May 2016

We returned from our trip to Rome yesterday and, although tired, feel exhilarated by the wonderful, informative and interesting days we had with H(A)drian and Antonella . The weather could have been better but it did not impinge on our enjoyment.  Adrian’s organisation was superb and he never made us feel rushed in any way.  He explained each trip, what we could expect and then Antonella took over.
Her enthusiasm and knowledge was a joy.  I will never forget the visit to the Forum.  She brought what happened there to life and I would not have been surprised to see Julius Ceasar appear.!  She definitely should have her own T.V. programme.
Riviera give you time to do your own exploring and we visited the 6th Century church of Santa Maria Antiqua, which is located in the ancient Roman Forum. Antonella pointed it out to us and we went back the following day. It was a Sistine chapel buried for a 1000 years.  The frescos are outstanding and we really recommend it it as an extra experience.
All too soon our five days were up and Adrian returned us to the airport and made sure we passed through baggage drop before leaving us.
This was our second trip with Riviera and I do hope there will be a third.  Thank you to all involved in making sure our holiday was memorable.

Review by Judith Steadman Jones on 17 May 2016

We were recently on your Rome - Ancient and Baroque tour commencing 2nd. May 2016.

We would like to pass our thanks on to our excellent rep BERNIE. Her knowledge, information and communication made our holiday a very relaxing experience (albeit with aching feet). You may be aware we had traffic problems getting to the airport, which meant we were very rushed getting checked-in and through Security which Bernie handled admirably, but it did mean we never had the chance to say goodbye and thank you.

Will you please pass this message on to her and to thank her for all her efforts.

Review by Ken & Carol Brown on 13 May 2016

This was our first organised trip abroad and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The tour manager was excellent as were the two guides. Each morning was well planned and informative. The trip by coach round Rome on the first morning was an excellent idea and the guide gave us a lot of information. The walk round the Trevi Fountain, via the Pantheon to the Piazza Navona was really good as was the visit to the Forum and the Coliseum. The visit to Villa Borghese was well organised and our tour manager then led us to the Spanish Steps. After each visit he was able to point out cafes to go to for lunch which was very helpful. The hotel was in a good position near to many restaurants. We ventured on the metro on our last full day and wished we had done it before, it was so easy. The weather couldn’t have been better, we have taken some lovely photos and have lots of wonderful memories. Looking forward to booking another holiday with Riviera. Thank you.
Travelled on 10/05/2012

Review by Sue & Brian Anderson, Brighouse on 3 June 2012

We just took a short ‘Riviera’ break to Rome and it was SO good - the organisation was brilliant, the hotel was perfect and centrally located.  The Rep really made it a very enjoyable holiday - she was informative, helpful and very friendly - nothing was too much trouble.  In the short time we were there we saw quite a lot of famous attractions and the guided coach tour was very well organised. We would certainly travel with this company again.
Travelled on 07/11/2010

Review by Mrs Ruddlesden, Burton upon Trent on 17 November 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a short break in Rome, what a wonderful time we have had, Our Riviera guide made sure everyone felt safe and enjoyed themselves, he along with two other local guides told us everything we needed to know about the sights we were about to see. It realy is a truly wonderful city and well worth a visit,we are about to book the Clasical Italy trip for 2011 which ends up in Rome for three days.—-Can’t wait Well done Rivera !!!!!
Travelled on 11/10/2010

Review by Kathleen Goodman-Parrott , Bolton on 30 October 2010

my husband and myself have just come back from a trip to Rome.  it was called the ancient and baroque experience. it was truely an experience. The trip was very comprehensive and we visited all of the major attractions. I think the pantheon and the colloseum were our favuorites. The vatican museum and the sistine chapel were also exquisite. Our tour manager, was excellent and very informative.  the tour guide was also very informative and an excellent guide. The hotel was clean and comfortable and in a good spot for bars and restaurants. We will definitely be returning to riviera travel for future holidays.

Review by mrs Lind Heaselgrave, Birmingham on 9 September 2010

Having recently returned from an “Rome-Ancient and Baroque” tour with my Mum I have to say we had an absolutly fabulous time, the Rep was wonderful and most helpful throughout, this is our second trip with Riviera and will certainly use you again
Travelled on 07/05/2010

Review by Leah Stone, Bournemouth on 16 May 2010

I am writing to inform you of the enjoyable time my wife and I had on your Rome holiday—Ancient and Baroque. We found the days excursions and freedom very good, the guide was very informative and helpful. The hotel was satisfactory and very accessible. Overall a very satisfactory if not very time filled vacation, I think we covered nearly every site to see around Rome.

Review by Anon on 8 October 2009

Just had a fabulous trip to the eternal city with Riviera.I liked the way the inclusive tours took place in the morning leaving us free to explore in the afternoon on our own.The tour manager was a font of knowledge about Rome and was one of the most helpful and patient people we have met.The local guides were superb and the tour of the Colisseum was a highlight-she made it come to life. Excellent value-well done Riviera.
Travelled on 16/10/2012

Review by Victor Heath on 5 November 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable short break to Rome. We wanted to let you know how well organised the holiday was. In particular we would like to say that the services of our tour guides Anne and Antonella were excellent. They were both very knowledgeable and helpful; Anne was always on-hand to answer any questions we had, and had a very easy going and helpful manner. The guide who showed us round the Colosseum and the Roman Forum on Thursday was also very knowledgeable.

We agreed with Antonella’s concerns about the serious overcrowding of the Vatican Museum, and suggest that this is taken up with the Vatican authorities.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Riviera Travel to others, and would certainly consider booking with you again.

Review by Peter Thomas and Deborah Moore on 5 May 2013

This tour was wonderful and the highest of compliments to our main guide for the tour, Valerie. She was efficient, friendly, knowledgeable and injected humour into everything. She helped the group gel together and was a complete treasure.
The two independent guides, Elisabetta and Anthonella, were also fantastic. Both were very knowledgeable and personable. They really brought their respective subjects to life.
The hotel was well situated and the staff there could not do enough to help. It was clean and the breakfasts were marvellous.
Thank you for a wonderful holiday!
Emma Colgan, Leone Colgan and Steve Caines

Review by Emma Colgan (booked by Leone Colgan) on 21 May 2013

We had an excellent trip to Rome. Our guide Pricsa was superb, extremely organised and informative. The local guides who took us round the Roman Antiquities, were very knowledgeable and clear in all their information.

Review by Grave on 14 June 2013

Thank you for organising the travel. Everything went well. All guides excellent.

Review by Colin Dean on 2 July 2013

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.