[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

We have just sampled river cruising for the first time, and have the happiest memories of our Rhine cruise from Cologne to Strasbourg, and back. The MS George Eliot is brand new - in its first season - and everything about the cruise delighted us; from the cabin on the lower, Emerald, deck via the food - a splendid choice and variety of "fusion" food with a strong Indonesian flavour, to the crew, who in all departments were kind, relaxed, helpful, understanding, and above all a great team working together. Esther and Siobhan looked after our trips and travel arrangements so efficiently, Astrid and her team made the housekeeping side look easy, and of course Captain John and his crew who kept us on the straight and narrow of the river, and in front of the wash from the boats of rival companies! and got us safely through the locks (six hours early before they were closed by the rising water level) and without loosing any passengers in either Strasbourg or Colmar. If you can put up with us again, we may very well be back.... Thank you all so much for a most enjoyable and memorable week.

Review by: Maureen Barber & Dilys Morgan on 17/05/2019

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

My husband and I booked a Rhine cruise to help us celebrate our Golden Wedding. We were absolutely delighted with the Ms Emily Brontë, the elegance of the lounge and dining room, the well thought-out cabins and the overall cleanliness of all areas. The staff were exceptional, so competent and friendly and with hidden talents too! (Crew Show). I cannot praise Mike and Hannah enough for the efforts they made to change the itinerary due to the lack of water in the Rhine. We had not been before so whether it was Rhine or Mosel didn’t matter to us. The hospitality provided daily was superb and food and service was total indulgence.

Review by: June Robertson on 20/08/2018

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

We have just returned from our holiday on MS Oscar Wilde. It was our first cruise holiday and all I can say is that it was perfection. The ship, the crew, the cabins, the food and the places visited were all 5 star.

I am working on my Husband to take another cruise in 2018 this time the Danube!

Well done Riviera!

Review by: Teresa Quinn on 02/10/2017

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

My wife & I enjoyed our cruise immensely.

The MS Oscar Wilde & it's crew are so professional.

Daniel & Peter, the Rivera travel representatives, are both passionate as well as so incredibly knowledgeable.

Truly a 5 star cruise

Review by: Cliff Ottley-Thistlethwaite on 02/10/2017

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

We had a fantastic cruise on the Oscar Wilde. We did not realise until on board that it was the maiden voyage. All the crew were excellent and the food exceeded our expectations. Everyone was helpful and Sarah and Tim very knowledgeable and good fun. All the trips were well organised. Beautiful scenery. Our first river cruise but hopefully not our last.

Review by: Linda Stephens on 07/08/2017

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

Just returned home from our River Cruise.

The cruise ,Ship, Staff ,food and tours are first class.

Our experience was faultless ,well done Riviera.

Tracy Robinson.

Review by: Tracy Robinson on 25/07/2017

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

We arrived home yesterday early evening from a week on board MS William Shakespeare, on your Rhine cruise from Cologne to Strasbourg.

It was excellent and exceeded my expectations. If you see the questionnaires the operators ask us to fill in, you will notice I rated very little below “excellent”.

Irena and Cassie were very good. Cassie’s in-transit and excursion knowledge is impressive.

When we embarked in Cologne we were met by all of the senior crew members and received a warm friendly welcome. It is only after seeing them on the morning of our disembarkation we realised what happens before they do this greeting of new arrivals. I counted over 30 crew forming a human chain to get all of the rubbish off of the ship. They included the Maitre d’, the head chef and the musician.

Then deck crew, waiters, the musician and the Maitre d’ moved a series of luggage cases off ship and up a flight of steps on the river bank for the coaches as they arrived. As one of the last to disembark this was well worth watching, and they were still smiling as we departed and shook hands with them.

This was real team work and I think it contributes enormously to the overall atmosphere and attention on the ship.

“Well done” to all on the ship.

Review by: Jeff Kent on 18/05/2017

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

We were two of the 160 or so guests who have just come back from the above.

It was a fantastic and very enjoyable week. As you know the trip was under the direction of Leslie and Peter with Alina heading the 43 staff who looked after us all. Even though we had been told it would be a good week, nevertheless everything exceeded our expectations. Leslie, Peter and Alina and all members of the crew looked after us with great care and attention and left nothing to chance. It was truly memorable holiday.

We shall be starting to look at your Brochures for future River Cruises & other holidays you offer, for later this year and those in 2018 and will be in touch to book again.

Review by: Ian & Erica Cave. on 19/06/2017

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

We travelled on the new Emily Bronte and had the most fantastic trip on this beautiful ship. Our compliments to Irena and Stewart who did an excellent job. Our compliments also to the crew and staff of the Emily Bronte. The scenery was amazing. One comment we have is that on the luggage labels there is no place for the name of the ship, which we thought rather unusual. This caused some confusion at Brussels station as two ships were departing from Cologne and all the luggage was placed together! We would also suggest that each ship has its own colour labels to be easily spotted on arrival. We shall definitely do another River Cruise with Riviera next year and are considering the Douro.

Review by: Linda Graham on 09/05/2017

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

Excellent holiday; first ever river cruise. Ship, ships crew, facilities and dining all exceptional. Cruise and visits well balanced with organised tours and free time. Excellent and relaxed atmosphere among passengers and Riviera staff alike. Victoria our rep travelled with us on Eurostar and was brilliant throughout, very knowledgeable and helpful. Train and coach transfers (2 hrs and 3.5 hrs respectively) were easy and relaxed and we took refreshments on the journey (luxury coach as well!) although we also stopped for comfort break and refreshments at shop at Service station too. All in all a holiday to remember…and we had good weather too which added to the enjoyment of time spent on the sun deck taking in the views.

Review by: J & T, Bucks on 05/07/2016

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

Outstanding! Couldn’t fault the Lord Byron or its staff, exemplary on every account.

The food was excellent, the staff very attentative & all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

If I had one gripe it would be that the walking tours were tediously slow & so much in depth knowledge was given that we tended to switch off half way through. This left us with very little free time afterwards to enjoy the surroundings.

An hours walk (maximum), with less historical input would be sufficient. Those who want more info can always go back in the free time afterwards.

Review by: Sheila Martin on 07/07/2016

Rhine, Strasbourg & Heidelberg River Cruise

We have just returned from our holiday to above destination.

We both had a lovely time. Holiday was exactly as advertised and our representative, Christine, was excellent - she worked very hard in keeping us all “happy” and dealt with any queries we had most efficiently and quickly.

Everything regarding our booking was as we asked for. i.e. “quiet carriage” from Doncaster to St. Pancras.

This is our third holiday with you and would most definitely travel with you again ... and we do recommend you to friends, etc.

Can you please forward 2017 River cruise brochure, as well as next year’s european brochure.

Thank You

Review by: Mr & Mrs A & P Wrightson on 11/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.