[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We have taken several River Cruises with Riviera, and had in fact done this particular one before on the same ship Jane Austen. As before the service is/was second to none and in particular, even though the food in the restaurant was excellent, it certainly had in our opinion gone up a notch to superb. All staff on board the ship were pleasant and attentive at all times, and nothing is ever too much trouble. Our cabin 304 was fabulous, and the air conditioning throughout the ship very welcome, bearing in mind the very high temperature outside. The Riviera team Barbara & Daniel were very helpful also. We noticed some slight differences to the last time we took this cruise, being no morning coffee, which we feel was an improvement, as there was always tea, coffee etc available elsewhere anyway, and also the addition of hors d'oevres on several evenings before dinner, which were delicious. We will definitely sail with Riviera again, and incidentally, the Baggageman option given in your information pack when we booked, was amazing.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday once again

Review by: Mr & Mrs J Whitaker on 25/07/2018

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We travelled on the Oscar Wilde and the whole experience was superb - from start to finish. The crew - and by that we mean everybody - were exceptional and frankly, those crew-members that provided the waiter service could show some 'High-End' restaurant waiting staff a thing or two. Our 'special person' for the trip was our Tour Manager - Hannah. Thank you for my new glasses Hannah! We have nothing but praise for everyone involved on this trip and our personal thanks to everyone for making it a trip of a lifetime for us.

Review by: Mike and Linda Otley on 17/05/2018

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

What a delightful holiday! We sailed on the Emily Bronte which was luxuriously fitted out, although disappointingly had no sauna as the Lord Byron did. However the shower is much roomier the the Byron's. The Riviera staff (Irena, Tamsin & Peter) were unfailingly friendly & helpful & very knowledgeable about all the places we visited. Tamsin will be an enormous asset to Riviera cruises - this was her first trip with them. The ship's crew were delightful & eager to make our stay enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent - we put on pounds! The cruise itself was relaxing, the places visited were interesting & often very scenic. We highly recommend this cruise.

Review by: Sue & Peter Vernon on 07/05/2018

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

we have just returned from again a pleasant weeks holiday on the Emily Bronte crew were superb and again Riviera staff very good this is our fifth cruise and on July 16th we are going on the burgundy river cruise.

Review by: kevin newton on 07/05/2018

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

This was our first cruise of any type and it exceeded all our expectations, the ship (Emily Bronte) was spotless. The staff went over and above the call of duty, they were all very attentive, friendly and super efficient. The crew entertainment show was hilarious, the final evenings Captains Dinner was superlative. We met some wonderful people and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. We will definitely be cruising with Riviera again.

Review by: Len Anderson on 07/05/2018

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Our boat was the Oscar Wilde. Beautifully appointed with spacious cabins (we were on the highest level), huge windows 2/3 of which opened. The food was excellent, as was the crew. We were looked after extremely well. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday despite the disappointing weather.

Review by: Marie Sims on 11/09/2017

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

What a wonderful first experience of a river cruise - any cruise come to that. The staff aboard the Emily Bronte are to be highly recommended, as they were all so professional, cheerful and helpful. We must also commend Leslie and Rebecca the tour staff of Riviera Travel. We had such a wonderful relaxing holiday we have already booked a Douro, Oporto and Salamanca cruise for next summer. We are sure it will be as delightful as this cruise was, especially as we got testimonials from other passengers who had done it in the past.

Review by: Elaine on 18/07/2017

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Just got back from the Rhine cruise on Emily Bronte which we thoroughly enjoyed.Mixture of Eastern European and Indonesian waiting staff and everyone was fantastic.The food was amazing,the service brilliant and lots of smiley faces from the staff.The cabins were thoroughly cleaned daily and the whole ship was spotless.

The trips on shore were very good and well planned with knowledgeable guides Jane and Annette.

The entertainment,in my opinion could be better and I have written to them with recommendations.Pianist was great,but every night was a bit OTT. The Crew Show night was the highlight of the trip.

Would recommend if you take this tour go from Cologne to Basel,not the opposite way.

Would 100% recommend.

Prices on board were reasonable.

Review by: Tom Gregory on 11/07/2017

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Just to say that we had the most amazing time on the Emily Bronte, the ship was so elegant and lovely, every creature comfort was accounted for. I have never known such a happy ship, the staff and crew were fantastic so friendly and full of fun everyone gelled together to make our holiday wonderful. We had two fun nights which everyone enjoyed.

We went on the Danube cruise two years ago which was also nice, but the Rhine cruise was so much better because of the atmosphere on the ship.

We are definitely planning another cruise for 2019 probably on the Oscar Wilde.

Review by: Kathy & Dave Peters on 30/05/2017

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

This was our first cruise of any kind, and we were slightly anxious. Absolutely no need, it was excellent. We travelled on the Emily Bronte, which we understand has only recently come in to service. The boat was spotless and the food could not be faulted.

The crew and travel guides were so good and helpful. I have to comment on how helpful Lesley was in going above and beyond in helping three passengers who experienced problems.

We will be back!

Review by: Anonymous on 30/05/2017

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

This was by far and away the best river cruise we have ever been on, and possibly our best holiday ever. The ship was superb with the friendliest and most helpful crew that anyone could wish for.

As we were travelling home my wife and I agreed that we would be happy to do it all again, which is amazing because we like to do something different each year. The only proviso would be - same boat, same crew.

Review by: Richard Hurrell on 09/09/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

May I congratulate the entire crew of MS Jane Austin on providing an excellent experience during our recent cruise (Oct 12th -19th 2015) on the Rhine and Moselle. The standard of service was of the highest quality and the cuisine was the best we have ever tasted over several cruises.

We would like to particularly highlight the professionalism of Thomas the Tour Director who accompanied us to Brussels on the final day. In extremely trying circumstances due to strike action he kept us fully informed, demonstrated that he had the situation fully under control and made us feel supremely reassured. All this was accomplished with humour and courtesy.

Once again many thanks.,

Review by: Kevin Greener on 03/11/2015

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

May I congratulate the entire crew of MS Jane Austin on providing an excellent experience during our recent cruise (Oct 12th -19th 2015) on the Rhine and Moselle. The standard of service was of the highest quality and the cuisine was the best we have ever tasted over several cruises.

We would like to particularly highlight the professionalism of Thomas the Tour Director who accompanied us to Brussels on the final day. In extremely trying circumstances due to strike action he kept us fully informed, demonstrated that he had the situation fully under control and made us feel supremely reassured. All this was accomplished with humour and courtesy.

Once again many thanks.,

Review by: Irene and Kevin Greener on 03/11/2015

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Just returned from Rhine/Moselle cruise October 12-19th, Jane Austin cabin 105 - a great experience. I would like to say that your team of Sharon and Thomas were impressive. Sharon’s efficiency and organization, together with Thomas’s vast interesting local knowledge and friendliness made our trip all the more enjoyable. I would like especially to bring to your attention the magnificent job Thomas did on our transfer to Brussels on the way home, when we were subjected to a journey of nearly eight hours, due to a strike, which blocked the roads. Thomas dealt with the situation with calmness, efficiency and humour. He kept us informed and made arrangements with Eurostar to get us all on a later train. He made sure that the needs of anyone, who had connections to make, were attended to. In a word, he was brilliant and Riviera are lucky to have such an employee.

Review by: Bob Greener on 03/11/2015

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We arranged our holiday from Australia to take my mother 90 year old on a cruise holiday for her birthday. From the booking with Vanessa to the boat crew and Riviera cruise guides Sharron and Thomas we could not have expected more. The trip itself was very enjoyable and the ship Jane Austen was a floating 5 star hotel. I would defiantly recommend this tour operator.

Review by: Ken Mesure on 30/10/2015

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

I want to send a very special thank to your team and to Thomas for the way they handled our bus after it got caught in the railwaymen’s strike on the motor way where we were held up for two hours and consequently missed our Eurostar train. We were never in any doubt that you would sort it all out as indeed you did. I and two others were booked for Ebsfleet and you rushed us through and we caught that train by minutes. Please tell Thomas that they upgraded us so we were able to drink your health as we travelled home in style. I do hope Thomas managed to get some food as he had to greet the incoming group and was faced with the return journey into the strike blockade. All this done with great good humour on what must have been a very trying day for you all.

Review by: Jane Taylor-Lowen on 20/10/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

What a terrific cruise - my wife and I first-timers! We enjoyed the stress-free Eurostar connection St Pancras to Brussels. Our cabin was on the Ruby deck (middle deck) on Jane Austen - superb, comfortable and cleaned to a very high standard each day. Catering on board was top-class, perhaps could have included some Germanic fare to reflect the country visiting, but beautifully presented and a great choice at each meal. Liked the smart-casual feel and informality, friendly staff and guests and the calmness of the cruise throughout. We chose not to eat on board one lunchtime, in Ruedesheim, to enjoy a German meal - worth doing, and gave us more time to explore the town. The guided tours were very good indeed; the whole trip planned and timed very well - perhaps would have liked a bit more time in Trier/Cologne for churches/art gallery. Would definitely recommend Riviera for quality of ship, itinerary, lovely, professional staff and superb on-board food. Highlights - the wine tasting session on board and chairlifts over the vineyards. ‘You get what you pay for’ - we received just that; Riviera was superb. Will book again.

Review by: Dom K on 12/10/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

What a wonderful time we had on the above cruise! Our cabin was beautiful, the ship fantastic and the food was out of this world. You have a fantastic chef on the Jane Austen, as good if not better than any of the top London chefs. The crew were all so very friendly, the tour managers so helpful, in fact everything was perfect apart from the weather!!! And it rained every day at some point!! But it didn’t spoil our holiday because everything else was so wonderful. The only thing that could have been better would have been a train transfer from Brussels to Cologne instead of the coach. (although the coach was very comfortable it took a long time!) And the drinks service in the bar was sometimes a bit slow but that’s just being picky! Having experienced a river cruise with one of your competitors who do a lot on advertising on TV, Riviera was far, far, superior.

I do hope that the Jane Austen is now fully repaired after the little mishap with the bridge, what a shame, we all felt so sorry for the captain who was at the helm and for Captain William who was in overall command. He was a super Captain, very approachable and would always explain everything to us.

Thank you so much. I will certainly use you again when I have saved enough for another trip and recommend you to all my friends. It was a truly memorable holiday and we loved it.

Review by: Patricia Dickins on 12/10/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Yes it is just as other reviewers have said. The Jane Austen is a 5 star ship with a 5 star crew from William the captain right down to the dining room and housekeeping staff. The boat is immaculate and beautifuly designed and kept in tip top condition.

As others have said the choice and quality of the food was amazing. The captain’s dinner on the last night was a 6 course affair. Wow! For a 5 star ship I thought the bar prices were reasonable.

Can’t praise the crew too highly. They were not only very efficient and helpful, but everything requested was done with a smile, and in the quieter moments were happy to talk to you. They put on a show one night which showcased their other talents and was very enjoyable

Special mention ought to go to Sylvia from Riviera, she worked really hard to make sure that the cruise was enjoyable and organised the visits efficiently. She was always available to help in any way.

The Rhine was spectacular and the Moselle even more so, with plenty of free time to explore, and enjoy the beautiful towns.

This was our first river cruise and we would not hesitate to travel with Riviera again.

I am struggling to find anything negative about the cruise. But I have to say we would probably travel by air next time. The 3 1/2hr coach journey from Brussels to Cologne was very tiring after a long day.

Review by: John Mills on 05/10/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Two friends and myself have just returned from a Rhine and Moselle River cruise.

The Jane Austin was everything and more we were led to expect, from Patrick The Captain to the dining room staff, the reception staff, the cleaning staff. All members of the crew were friendly and if any query occurred they were quick to respond and solve any potential problems,

The food was excellent as were the wines we chose (diets happening now).

I personally experienced help offered by staff who really didn’t need to and this dedication by all staff certainly added to the excellence offered.

The cruise was splendid cruising through exquisite scenery and experiencing towns and cities somehow frozen in time but with all modern benefits. SIMPLY WONDERFUL!!

This is my second trip with Riviera Travel and it certainly will not be my last.

Many thanks for making my trip as a single traveller hassle free with the bonus that, if available, no single supplement is added to the cost of the holiday which certainly is a breath of fresh air and something which will keep me coming back again and again to Riviera Travel.

Review by: Heather Allcock on 13/09/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Our party of 4 enjoyed our cruise immensely, the crew were all very friendly, and went out of their way to make our holiday one to treasure. the food and wine were excellent One of our party was coeliac and she was very impressed with the care that was taken to ensure that she always had plenty of choices. Our cabins were very comfortable .Sharon your representative made sure that we got the most from all of the places we visited and she worked tirelessly to ensure that everyone had a great time One of our party left her reading glasses on board, once informed of this problem arrangements were made for Sharon to bring them back and they were posted to us. Thanks for such wonderful service and such a great holiday.

Review by: Angela & John Phillips on 23/08/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Our second river cruise with Riviera and it was excellent! My husband and I had a brilliant time! The Lord Byron and crew were great! The staff in the restaurant were lovely and a special word of thanks to Adora who was always so friendly and helpful! The food was always delicious, of high quality and beautifully presented! Menus were varied with plenty of choice.

The scenery was spectacular and the trips excellent! Mandy and Hanna were very efficient, very helpful and very kind! Also we met lovely people. Planning next year’s cruise!!!!

Review by: Margaret & Ernie on 02/08/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

So many times people are very quick to criticise and slow to praise, but my husband and I would just like to say what a perfectly wonderful time we had on the above cruise at the end of June.

It was our first experience of River Cruising, and we had a splendid time on a superb ship. The Riviera girls Hanna and Mandy were so helpful and kind, and the ship and her crew were magnificent! We could not believe the lengths staff went to to ensure we had a good experience and we loved every single minute of it. So much so that we have already booked another cruise on the same ship to Bruges, Medieval Flanders, Amsterdam and the Dutch Bulbfields next April.

It was a lovely idea to invite those with special celebrations to a Captain’s “do” which I thoroughly enjoyed, and my husband appreciated the alternative dishes when the menu was a little rich for his dietary needs.

All in all a magical experience, and we would like to again thank everyone for making this a memorable holiday.

With best regards

Review by: Carol and Derek Lockwood on 21/07/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Our third river cruise with Riviera. Wonderful time, very relaxing. MS Lord Byron and crew were, as usual, excellent.

Mandy, tour director, was great. She did the Seine cruise we did last year and we cant speak highly enough of this lady. An asset to the company. Hanna also a pleasure to be with, both hard working and efficient ladies.

Looking forward to our next holiday.

Review by: Val and Les Hutchinson on 17/07/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Janet & myself have just returned from the cruise on the Lord Byron.

We cannot speak too highly of the service we received from all staff.

We were particularly pleased with the friendliness of the Riviera staff Hanna & Mandy.

Nothing was too much trouble for these two people, and this made our trip so very enjoyable.

The same goes for all cruise staff: The waitress staff particularly Adora, made our holiday a wonderful experience.

This was our first cruise of any kind, so thanks for all the wonderful service given. Well done !!

Review by: Roger Matkin on 09/07/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Now returned from this wonderful river cruise- the most relaxing holiday we have ever experienced. The staff always helpful and cheerful, lovely spacious room, excellent facilities everywhere, comfortable lounge, and lovely restaurant. The food was always delicious, varied and we liked the flexible seating which enabled us to meet many other guests and have interesting conversations. The scenery was magnificent and it was so easy to explore the towns along the river as the ship tied up right beside them. We were dubious about cruising but have been converted by Lord Byron and the great organisation of Riviera which made a marvellous experience.

We cannot speak too highly about the whole holiday. Fantastic!!

Review by: Kate and Karen Mann on 11/06/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

This was our first cruise but it will certainly not be our last ! Every single member of the crew and staff went out of their way to be helpful and were courteous at all times. The Lord Byron is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The quality and quantity of food was amazing and the cabin and all other facilities were top notch.

The on shore visits were thoughtfully selected and well organised. The company reps, Sylvia and Sharon were excellent.

Then there is the scenery. Magnificent is not a good enough word!

We are already planning to celebrate our 70th birthdays in 2017 with Riviera, preferably on the Lord Byron.

A huge thank-you to all who made our holiday so enjoyable and memorable.

Review by: Martin and Liz Davies on 11/06/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Just finished our Rhine and Moselle cruise on the Lord Byron. 5* boat, staff and food. Everyone is so pleasant and helpful and we were especially impressed by the way they dealt with one is us needing a gluten free diet. We had a suite on deck 3 and it was very roomy, but in fact all the rooms were lovely and the public areas are more than ample so you don’t feel crowded . With 140 passengers you get to know lots of people and the relaxed dining gives you the chance to sit with different people every meal if you wish. The scenery on the Rhine and Moselle is spectacular and there is just the right amount of guided walking tours with lots is free time to explore by yourself. Highly recommend

Review by: John & Lynne Styles on 08/06/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We are fresh from our holiday on the ‘William Shakespeare’ through the Rhine Gorge and up the Moselle. We have never been on an ‘organised’ tour before and this was to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary.

It was fantastic, great food, great ship, great tours, great staff, great company. Did I mention great food?

The couple of requests we made were accepted immediately - especially how to make tea properly.

I could go on and on, but we are saving up for our next trip.

Thank you for a wonderful time.

Review by: Christine and Malcolm Brown on 31/05/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

To all at Riviera Travel, Our recent cruise on the MS William Shakespeare.

We have had many lovely holidays but this comes the best ever, from day one until our return we were treated above all expectations. The crew always on hand to go that extra mile to please all guests. Cleanliness on board was absolutely immaculate. The rooms readily attended to by cabin staff who kept them tip top condition throughout the whole cruise. The food was out of this world from boarding at Cologne to the end of cruise at Basel.

I must say more about the food as it was amazing with the so much choice each and every day, beautifully prepared and served by quality waiters. One evening we went to a fine dining and believe me it was something to remember.

Well Riviera Travel I could go on and on , we hope to travel with you again soon, I am sure of great food, great staff and the friendliness shown to all on our cruise .

Finally Many, Many Thanks on behalf of me and my wife also my sister-in law Janet Hodge

Mr /Mrs B H & FM Noble and Mrs J M Hodge

Review by: Brian & Freda Noble on 12/10/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Just returned from our first river cruise. It was a family trip, six of us (3 generations) were celebrating my parents diamond wedding anniversary. We travelled on the MS Serenade 2. The cabins were lovely, plenty of storage space and nice bathrooms. We were glad we upgraded to the Mozart deck with Juliet balconies. We visited some very nice places and to be honest would have liked more time at some of the stops. The food was fantastic and plenty of choice at each mealtime. The only downside at mealtimes was that tables are not allocated and people started to queue earlier each day in order to bag “their” table which we thought was rather sad. We really didn’t mind where we sat but of course as a family wanted to sit together, managed to do this most days. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The tour guides, Jill and Michelle were also great, giving us lots of useful information about each place we stopped at. Would recommend Riviera travel, not sure cruises are for my partner and I as I like to travel around at my own pace and have the freedom to dine out and about, my parents however would certainly cruise again!

Review by: Dawson on 02/10/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We have just returned from the most wonderful river cruise we could have imagined!

Our accommodation and comfort in room 322 on Hamlet deck of the William Shakespeare was superb, the service was really 5-star and the food was of the highest quality - prepared by imaginative chefs and served by charming and helpful staff.

We cannot speak too highly of the Riviera tour staff -Sylvia & Becky - who accompanied our trip and were a source of expert guidance and understanding. The visits they arranged went without a hitch and we were guided by some very knowledgeable local folk - which all added to the enjoyment of the visits. We also met some charming and friendly people on board - which naturally added to the pleasure of our holiday.

Even when we (unfortunately) suffered from a flood in our cabin, the problem was soon fixed by Victor - your charming and competent engineer - and we greatly appreciated his letter of apology and accompanying bottle of wine!! Although we were unable to enjoy our Cabin to the full during some of the days (as the heaters used to dry out the cabin were a little overpowering!) - we understood the dilemma and spent extra hours on the sun-deck - no hardship, I can assure you!

Another nice touch was when Sylvia arranged for a fellow passenger to lead us in a short service of remembrance on August 4th of all nationalities who lost their lives in WW1, one hundred years ago. Happily it was well attended and gave us food for thought - hoping lessons have been learned…..

We greatly appreciated the special invitation to join the Captain, the hotel manager and other staff on the Midsummer deck for a cocktail to celebrate various occasions ( in our case, our Diamond wedding anniversary) and the experience of Fine Dining in the Midsummer restaurant on another evening was superb.

As you can see, we thoroughly enjoyed our time on the William Shakespeare and are already looking at the prospect of a Danube river cruise next year - God willing!!

We even had perfect weather- and I feel sure you should take some credit for that, too!!

Thank you again for the pleasure of your cruise….

Review by: Jean & Trevor Stockwell on 13/08/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

First class ship, we had room on the Ruby deck (middle), although slightly smaller than a cruise ship, it had excellent wardrobe space and suitcases could be easily stored under the bed. All staff on board were very friendly and extremely efficient. Food was delicious, choice of Main and Lido dining for lunch and dinner, the former to be reserved for dinner only, breakfast was in the main restaurant from 7 - 9 am. Dress was more casual than I expected, brought a suit but never wore it. The cruise itself was beautiful, visiting some larger cities, Koblenz, Trier and Colonge with guided tours (easy walking) and smaller villages with plenty free time to do your own thing. The scenery was beautiful and if you like castles you won’t be disappointed. What actually made this a wonderful holiday was the people on board, although an older average age, don’t let this put you off, everyone on board were great company, we dined and had a few drinks with different people every day. For a first time river cruiser like me, I would seriously recommend the Rhine & Moselle as the perfect choice.

Review by: Brian Dickson on 12/08/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

I could not recommend more highly our 7 night river cruise on the William Shakespeare. The ship was excellent as were the crew, waiters,cabin staff and restaurant staff, particularly Joan who was always very efficient and polite. Tino, the Hotel Manager was excellent and has very high standards which shows through his staff, he leads by example. The Riviera reps, Silvia and Rebecca were extremely helpful and very organised, with attention to even the small details.

This was our first time on a River Cruise and it exceeded all our expectations.

The food was excellent, you will not go hungry on this ship!

Review by: John and Terrie-Ann McCann on 11/08/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Excellent River Cruise on MS William Shakespeare. It was our First River Cruise I hope it will not be the last. We were very impressed with the organisation and every aspect of this holiday so many extras included. We will be looking for another Cruise and following this experience it must be with Riviera Travel in fact we would not even consider any other Company. Thank you to your staff and the excellent Captain & Crew on the ship.

Review by: I&S Middleton on 09/09/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

This was our first river cruise, and our holiday on the Lord Byron more than came up to our expectations. We were impressed by the ship`s facilities and spacious accommodation, and the helpful, friendly and courteous staff and crew. The meals were excellent with plenty of choice, and we enjoyed new and interesting dishes each day. We appreciated the walking tours with guides who explained the history, and took us to the main features of the area, and we were pleased to have plenty of time ashore to explore on our own. Of course, the weather and scenery were magnificent, and we were fascinated by the vineyards growing on such steep hillsides, the very long barges and trains, and the manoeuvring of the ship into locks and mooring places. Yes, it was a brilliant holiday, and we will certainly go Riviera Travel again.

Review by: Joy and Peter on 07/08/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We have just returned from an 8 day cruise of the Rhine & Moselle on board the William Shakespeare, most definitely a 5 star ship. All aspects of this trip were truly memorable and faultless in all respects. The trip was so well organised from start to finish. We opted to travel by Eurostar and the porterage service took away all the effort and worry of having to handle luggage. Even the coach journey from Brussels to Cologne was comfortable and seemed to pass quite quickly.

All members of staff were professional, helpful and most pleasant. Special thanks to Cristian (Maitre ‘d), Joan (Wine waitress) and Maria (Restaurant waitress), who looked after us so well. The quality of the food and the entire dining experience was excellent.

Our cabin and bathroom were comfortable and well-equipped with excellent quality toiletries, beautiful fluffy towels and lovely comfy beds and bedding.

Thanks also to our tour managers, Barbara and Michelle, who certainly made the entire experience a memorable one. They were very informative and knowledgeable and their assistance was invaluable.

Excursions were very well-managed and not too strenuous.

We are already scanning the brochures for our next Riviera trip !!

Review by: W K Parmiter on 15/07/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

This was our first river cruise, and we were not disappointed! The William Shakespeare is a fantastic ship with plenty of room in the cabin & a great shower! The food was excellent, plentiful and varied. All the staff are wonderful & friendly, but the maitre d’, Cristian, Karlis the purser, and Elena our cabin steward were more than helpful! The dining room could have done with extra staff as they were all rushed off their feet. Our cabin had amazing views with sliding french doors. We enjoyed visiting Bernkastel, Boppard & Cochem best, although we did not join any of the tours, preferring to do our own thing! However, the tour & cruise managers, Michelle & Barbara were available for information & advice. We met lots of interesting people & are already saving for our next cruise & can thoroughly recommend Riviera.

Review by: Julie Bussey on 12/07/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Just back from the Rhine and Mosel river cruise. A very good trip on a new ship (William Shakespeare) which was very comfortable and well appointed. The crew were very hard working, although there appeared to be a shortage of staff in the restaurant. This improved as the cruise went on. The two Riviera tour staff were excellent. Knowledgeable and cheerful, they went out of their way to be helpful. All told, a very enjoyable break and we would use Riviera Travel again.

Review by: R Toland on 11/07/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

I really did not want to go home at the end of our river cruise! I’m already saving up for the next one. Initially I was not keen on the idea- I thought it would be endless dressing up and protracted meals but in fact the balance was near perfect. The atmosphere was relaxed and informal and dressing up for the males, at least, tended to mean a fresh shirt, trousers and maybe a jacket for the special evenings. My wife loved the trip - it was everything she had hoped for, and she enjoyed the dressing up!

The William Shakespeare was only on its 3rd trip but the staff were already working as a efficient team, always pleasant and helpful.

It was lovely to sit up at the front on the sun deck and watch the river glide by, and there were all sorts of interesting things happening like barges passing, trains rattling along the bank and locks to negotiate, to say nothing of the lovely castles and villages we saw and visited.

Cabins were very clean and attractive and meals were imaginative- it was great to be actually served at dinner rather than fight round a buffet.

We probably brought too many clothes because we would have liked a few more coat hangers in our wardrobe.

Well done Riviera, Captain and crew. Thank you.

Review by: Michael Stocks on 02/07/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

This was our first river cruise experience and it has really set the bar high. Travelling from Cologne on an 8 day cruise, on board the Wiliam Shakespere, was a great experience. The boat, only launched in early in 2014, still smelt new and was definately of a 5 start quality. Transfers, through to events such as wine tastings on board and excursions, were organised by Michele Cook (Cruise Director) with professional easy. All the staff from the cleaners, to the Captain, were pleasant, professional and a joy to be with on the voyage - nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good (and there was alot of it throughout the day), as was the daily music from cocktail pianist . There was a great balance of sailing and on the days where you could explore local towns (without the need for long coach journeys), there was a good mixture of being able to either do your own thing or go on the organised walking tours. Maps were provided daily for each town. The additional cost for drinks and tips were also very reasonable. All in all we would definately do another river cruise with Riviera.

Review by: Steve & sally McConnell on 27/06/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

After my husband had difficulty getting to the departure gate at Birmingham airport I asked Sylvia if she could organise a wheel chair for the return journey. We are very grateful that she did indeed do that and it made the return journey much easier for us . we have always been happy with the service you provide and the holidays are excellent. Many thanks for such an efficient and helpful team.

Review by: Mrs. Monument on 20/06/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

This was a last minute booking and there were only two cruises left flying from Manchester. We are first time river cruisers but enjoyed every minute.

The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. I was amazed at how much storage it is possible to cram into a ship! The Lord Byron cabins were certainly big enough. Plenty of excellent food and the welcome dinner, chef’s dinner and captain’s dinner were especially good. I liked the possibility of being able to dine in the small Lido dining area on one of the nights. A good balance of on and off board, just enough time to get a taste of each place. I’m not a great fan of organised entertainment but there was some if you wanted.

I was really impressed overall and would recommmend this particular cruise to anyone booking a river cruise

Review by: Margaret Timms on 14/06/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We have just returned from your Rhine/Moselle cruise and as 1st time cruisers we found it very enjoyable. the organisation was crisp - the food marvellous and the staff most cheerful and attentive.

I was delighted when the captain allowed me a visit to the engine room.

My wife’s only complaint- on one day the carrots were a little too el dente. so praise indeed.

Review by: P Lee on 12/06/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We travelled aboard The Lord Byron a superbly appointed vessel which provided us with a wonderfully relaxing holiday. Being our first experience of Riviera & of any form of cruising we can honestly say we were very impressed with the package provided. The weather could have been better but the excellent meals on-board, the excursions provided & the free time allowed meant we thoroughly enjoyed the week. All staff were extremely friendly & welcoming & very attentive. The Lord Byron is a high class 5 star hotel which gently glides along the scenic route ways of the Rhine & especially the Moselle . Our accommodation was on the top deck but the middle births were equally good , a tip when booking! We are already considering another cruise with Riviera, that’s how highly we rated the experience.

Review by: Peter French on 03/06/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

This was my first trip with Riviera and enjoyed it immensely. The standard of the ship, MS Serenade, (really spacious cabins), and the friendliness of the crew and tour guides was outstanding; as was the food. Informal dress code serves to keep the holiday relaxed, and free seating arrangements for dining is a real bonus, It was unfortunate on this trip that some guests seemed to hog certain tables, but this is a small moan. Shore excursions were interesting and you could do as much or as little as you pleased and on this trip we were very lucky with fine weather.

I would certainly travel with Riviera again and would recommend it to other travellers.

Review by: Carole Gibb on 10/11/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

Cruise on MV Serenade2. Very enjoyable, good food, excellent courteous staff and as a bonus, good weather, could not fault it. Will go again with this company.

Review by: Mike Pease on 07/09/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

This cruise was a seven day cruise on Serenade 2 and went from Cologne to Koblenz & Rudesheim on Rhine then Moselle to Cochem & Bernkastel /Trier.

Travel was by rail connection from Exeter to London Paddington, transfer St. Pancras then Eurostar to Brussels. Coach then to Cologne to join Serenade. No problems with any travel arrangements but coach transfer from Cologne was quite tedious.

Once on the Serenade life was really enjoyable luxurious cabin on Mozart Deck where facilities were very good and comfortable especially beds. This trip was blessed with good weather so lots of time on Sun Deck watching lots of interesting views along both rivers (Good commentary by Riviera Guides pointing out main points of interest with accompanying information and history.

Dining on board was excellent (No overcrowding) and company mostly very good although this person gained 5kg during the week (that good food) . A very attentive crew were excellent, nothing too much trouble with both Captain and other Senior Officers very approachable and friendly. A resident musician (Sunny) was particulary good catering for most tastes on an evening. Dress code was informal, unlike some other boats, so very comfortable.

Shore excursions were well organised with guided tours where appropriate (Optional) and sufficient time to explore on your own.

All in all this was a river cruise to remember and considered to be good value. Would certainly recommend Riviera and would go on one of their cruises again.

Review by: Glynn Luscombe on 06/09/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We have just returned from our first cruise. We had a wonderful time and could not fault the whole experience.

The crew of the Lord Byron were all very professional and friendly, the whole service was seamless and spotlessly clean. The boat itself was very luxurious.

All in all , a first class holiday.

Review by: Sarah and Kevin Wickham on 07/07/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We have just returned from a wonderful cruise on the Lord Byron. The ship and crew were everything you could wish for and the whole holiday was carefully organised by Barbara and Jane, whilst emphasising that it was your holiday and you could do what you wanted! We definitely will consider another river cruise and, as we have travelled with Riviera twice before on land tours, will definitely choose Riviera again.

Review by: Maureen Coole on 15/07/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

I write to tell you of our super river cruise on your ships down the Rhine. Starting with a slight disappointment not starting at cologne and not on the Lord Byron, but everything changed when were transferred to the Inspire for three days and then proceeded Down the Rhine to be transferred to the Lord Byron at Strasberg , both of these ships were fantastic, the service was really 5 star the staff on both ships were great, food was fantastic.The two ladies cruise director and tour manager were marvelous sorting out all problems as they arrived, we had a super time and certainly recommend Riviera Travel to all our friends. Many thanks again.

Review by: Mr R S Vickery on 02/09/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.