If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

I write to tell you of our super river cruise on your ships down the Rhine. Starting with a slight disappointment not starting at cologne and not on the Lord Byron, but everything changed when were transferred to the Inspire for three days and then proceeded Down the Rhine to be transferred to the Lord Byron at Strasberg , both of these ships were fantastic, the service was really 5 star the staff on both ships were great, food was fantastic.The two ladies cruise director and tour manager were marvelous sorting out all problems as they arrived, we had a super time and certainly recommend Riviera Travel to all our friends. Many thanks again.

Review by Mr R S Vickery on 2 September 2016

We wish to report on a wonderful cruise we had down the Rhine and Moselle Rivers on the above dates.
The food, crew and state of the ship were all exceptional, and I especially liked the Lido Bar where free chocolate drinks were available!  (Keep that going!)
Barbara and Jane, our guides, were extremely good at what they did and were very friendly, as were all the crew.
We are already spreading the word to our relatives and friends who are interesting in taking a cruise in the foreseeable future.

Review by Pauline Proctor on 2 September 2016

I would like to express our appreciation for the excellent service provided by two of your tour managers during our (my husband and myself) recent River Cruise on the Rhine and the Moselle (20th to 27th June). High river levels resulted in a daily change of itinerary and even ship! Despite this continual uncertainty, both remained cheerful, worked hard to make sure that all the elements listed in the original itinerary were covered and to ensure that everyone was kept as up-to-date as possible with the situation. I would particularly like to mention Cassie, whose personal touch combined with a practical approach, patience, willingness to go that one step further and determination to see that everyone enjoyed their holiday (and there were several complaints to deal with from different passengers) really shone in these fluctuating circumstances.

This was our first River Cruise and we thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to see Germany in a different way, the superb food and the comfortable cabins. The pièce de résistance was the top-notch service provided by all staff, a quality exemplified by Cassie.

Review by Sarah Todd (Mrs) on 2 September 2016

My husband and I along with his sister and husband recently were on the June 20th to 27th Rhine and Moselle cruise and we wish to express our admiration for the way Sheila and Cassie coped with the extraordinary circumstances of that trip.  I should add that we never doubted that Riviera would look after us.  Both the Inspire and the Lord Byron are beautiful ships with friendly and very attentive crews.  Thank you

Review by Audrey Pollard on 2 September 2016

We had never done a river cruise before but our trip on the Lord Byron exceeded all expectation. It was a lovely, happy ship, the crew were exceptional and a special mention must go to Sharon, Tour Manager, who is an amazing person - so professional, warm, caring, funny ...  Also our thanks must go to Irena who is a wonderful employee for Riviera Travel - friendly and capable. We very much enjoyed our holiday and have been recommending it to others.

Review by Hazel Grace Hebditch and Anthony Hebditch on 17 August 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful cruise on the Lord Byron.  The ship and crew were everything you could wish for and the whole holiday was carefully organised by Barbara and Jane, whilst emphasising that it was your holiday and you could do what you wanted! We definitely will consider another river cruise and, as we have travelled with Riviera twice before on land tours, will definitely choose Riviera again.

Review by Maureen Coole on 15 July 2016

We have just returned from our first cruise. We had a wonderful time and could not fault the whole experience.
The crew of the Lord Byron were all very professional and friendly, the whole service was seamless and spotlessly clean. The boat itself was very luxurious.

All in all , a first class holiday.

Review by Sarah and Kevin Wickham on 7 June 2016

This cruise was a seven day cruise on Serenade 2 and went from Cologne to Koblenz & Rudesheim on Rhine then Moselle to Cochem & Bernkastel /Trier.
Travel was by rail connection from Exeter to London Paddington, transfer St. Pancras then Eurostar to Brussels. Coach then to Cologne to join Serenade. No problems with any travel arrangements but coach transfer from Cologne was quite tedious.
Once on the Serenade life was really enjoyable luxurious cabin on Mozart Deck where facilities were very good and comfortable especially beds. This trip was blessed with good weather so lots of time on Sun Deck watching lots of interesting views along both rivers (Good commentary by Riviera Guides pointing out main points of interest with accompanying information and history.
Dining on board was excellent (No overcrowding) and company mostly very good although this person gained 5kg during the week (that good food) . A very attentive crew were excellent, nothing too much trouble with both Captain and other Senior Officers very approachable and friendly. A resident musician (Sunny) was particulary good catering for most tastes on an evening. Dress code was informal, unlike some other boats, so very comfortable.
Shore excursions were well organised with guided tours where appropriate (Optional) and sufficient time to explore on your own.
All in all this was a river cruise to remember and considered to be good value. Would certainly recommend Riviera and would go on one of their cruises again.

Review by Glynn Luscombe on 6 September 2013

Cruise on MV Serenade2.  Very enjoyable, good food, excellent courteous staff and as a bonus, good weather, could not fault it. Will go again with this company.

Review by mike pease on 7 September 2013

This was my first trip with Riviera and enjoyed it immensely. The standard of the ship, MS Serenade, (really spacious cabins), and the friendliness of the crew and tour guides was outstanding; as was the food. Informal dress code serves to keep the holiday relaxed, and free seating arrangements for dining is a real bonus, It was unfortunate on this trip that some guests seemed to hog certain tables, but this is a small moan. Shore excursions were interesting and you could do as much or as little as you pleased and on this trip we were very lucky with fine weather.
I would certainly travel with Riviera again and would recommend it to other travellers.

Review by Carole Gibb on 10 November 2013

We travelled aboard The Lord Byron a superbly appointed vessel which provided us with a wonderfully relaxing holiday. Being our first experience of Riviera & of any form of cruising we can honestly say we were very impressed with the package provided. The weather could have been better but the excellent meals on-board, the excursions provided & the free time allowed meant we thoroughly enjoyed the week. All staff were extremely friendly & welcoming & very attentive. The Lord Byron is a high class 5 star hotel which gently glides along the scenic route ways of the Rhine & especially the Moselle . Our accommodation was on the top deck but the middle births were equally good , a tip when booking! We are already considering another cruise with Riviera, that’s how highly we rated the experience.

Review by Peter French on 3 June 2014

We have just returned from your Rhine/Moselle cruise and as 1st time cruisers we found it very enjoyable. the organisation was crisp - the food marvellous and the staff most cheerful and attentive.
I was delighted when the captain allowed me a visit to the engine room.

My wife’s only complaint- on one day the carrots were a little too el dente. so praise indeed.

Review by P Lee on 12 June 2014

This was a last minute booking and there were only two cruises left flying from Manchester. We are first time river cruisers but enjoyed every minute.
The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. I was amazed at how much storage it is possible to cram into a ship! The Lord Byron cabins were certainly big enough. Plenty of excellent food and the welcome dinner, chef’s dinner and captain’s dinner were especially good. I liked the possibility of being able to dine in the small Lido dining area on one of the nights. A good balance of on and off board, just enough time to get a taste of each place. I’m not a great fan of organised entertainment but there was some if you wanted.
I was really impressed overall and would recommmend this particular cruise to anyone booking a river cruise

Review by Margaret Timms on 14 June 2014

After my husband had difficulty getting to the departure gate at Birmingham airport I asked Sylvia if she could organise a wheel chair for the return journey. We are very grateful that she did indeed do that and it made the return journey much easier for us . we have always been happy with the service you provide and the holidays are excellent. Many thanks for such an efficient and helpful team.

Review by Mrs. Monument on 20 June 2014

This was our first river cruise experience and it has really set the bar high. Travelling from Cologne on an 8 day cruise, on board the Wiliam Shakespere, was a great experience. The boat, only launched in early in 2014, still smelt new and was definately of a 5 start quality. Transfers, through to events such as wine tastings on board and excursions, were organised by Michele Cook (Cruise Director) with professional easy. All the staff from the cleaners, to the Captain, were pleasant, professional and a joy to be with on the voyage - nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good (and there was alot of it throughout the day), as was the daily music from cocktail pianist . There was a great balance of sailing and on the days where you could explore local towns (without the need for long coach journeys), there was a good mixture of being able to either do your own thing or go on the organised walking tours. Maps were provided daily for each town. The additional cost for drinks and tips were also very reasonable. All in all we would definately do another river cruise with Riviera.

Review by Steve & sally McConnell on 27 June 2014

I really did not want to go home at the end of our river cruise!  I’m already saving up for the next one. Initially I was not keen on the idea- I thought it would be endless dressing up and protracted meals but in fact the balance was near perfect. The atmosphere was relaxed and informal and dressing up for the males, at least, tended to mean a fresh shirt, trousers and maybe a jacket for the special evenings.   My wife loved the trip - it was everything she had hoped for, and she enjoyed the dressing up!
The William Shakespeare was only on its 3rd trip but the staff were already working as a efficient team, always pleasant and helpful.
It was lovely to sit up at the front on the sun deck and watch the river glide by, and there were all sorts of interesting things happening like barges passing, trains rattling along the bank and locks to negotiate, to say nothing of the lovely castles and villages we saw and visited.
Cabins were very clean and attractive and meals were imaginative- it was great to be actually served at dinner rather than fight round a buffet.
We probably brought too many clothes because we would have liked a few more coat hangers in our wardrobe.

Well done Riviera, Captain and crew. Thank you.


Review by Michael Stocks on 2 July 2014

Just back from the Rhine and Mosel river cruise.  A very good trip on a new ship (William Shakespeare) which was very comfortable and well appointed.  The crew were very hard working, although there appeared to be a shortage of staff in the restaurant. This improved as the cruise went on. The two Riviera tour staff were excellent.  Knowledgeable and cheerful, they went out of their way to be helpful.  All told, a very enjoyable break and we would use Riviera Travel again.

Review by R Toland on 11 July 2014

This was our first river cruise, and we were not disappointed! The William Shakespeare is a fantastic ship with plenty of room in the cabin & a great shower! The food was excellent, plentiful and varied. All the staff are wonderful & friendly, but the maitre d’, Cristian, Karlis the purser, and Elena our cabin steward were more than helpful! The dining room could have done with extra staff as they were all rushed off their feet. Our cabin had amazing views with sliding french doors. We enjoyed visiting Bernkastel, Boppard & Cochem best, although we did not join any of the tours, preferring to do our own thing! However, the tour & cruise managers, Michelle & Barbara were available for information & advice. We met lots of interesting people & are already saving for our next cruise & can thoroughly recommend Riviera.

Review by Julie Bussey on 12 July 2014

We have just returned from an 8 day cruise of the Rhine & Moselle on board the William Shakespeare, most definitely a 5 star ship. All aspects of this trip were truly memorable and faultless in all respects. The trip was so well organised from start to finish. We opted to travel by Eurostar and the porterage service took away all the effort and worry of having to handle luggage.  Even the coach journey from Brussels to Cologne was comfortable and seemed to pass quite quickly.  
All members of staff were professional, helpful and most pleasant.  Special thanks to Cristian (Maitre ‘d), Joan (Wine waitress) and Maria (Restaurant waitress), who looked after us so well.  The quality of the food and the entire dining experience was excellent.
Our cabin and bathroom were comfortable and well-equipped with excellent quality toiletries,  beautiful fluffy towels and lovely comfy beds and bedding.
Thanks also to our tour managers, Barbara and Michelle, who certainly made the entire experience a memorable one. They were very informative and knowledgeable and their assistance was invaluable.
Excursions were very well-managed and not too strenuous.  
We are already scanning the brochures for our next Riviera trip !!

Review by W K Parmiter on 15 July 2014

This was our first river cruise, and our holiday on the Lord Byron more than came up to our expectations. We were impressed by the ship`s facilities and spacious accommodation, and the helpful, friendly and courteous staff and crew.  The meals were excellent with plenty of choice, and we enjoyed new and interesting dishes each day.  We appreciated the walking tours with guides who explained the history, and took us to the main features of the area, and we were pleased to have plenty of time ashore to explore on our own.  Of course, the weather and scenery were magnificent, and we were fascinated by the vineyards growing on such steep hillsides, the very long barges and trains, and the manoeuvring of the ship into locks and mooring places.  Yes, it was a brilliant holiday, and we will certainly go Riviera Travel again.

Review by Joy and Peter on 7 August 2014

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.