[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland with Glacier Express Extension

Everything about this holiday was first class...the Emily Bronte and its staff were amazing - they just couldn't do enough for you. Food was divine, and every effort was made by Christian and his team to provide our travel companion, a vegan, with a wonderful food experience too! Sabi and George, Riviera agents, were knowledgeable, helpful and good fun. The Swiss extension made our holiday but it may be challenging for individuals with reduced mobility. We look forward to going on our 3rd holiday with you next year. This time we're opting for the South Africa tour. See you then.

Review by: Kelly and Victor Borg on 11/07/2019

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland with Glacier Express Extension

What a wonderful experience! The George Eliot and its crew, service and food were really good. The tour director, Andras, was excellent, he was so hard working, Riviera he is an asset to your company. The extension was amazing, hotel in Chur was stiflingly hot, no air con, however the weather was reaching exceptional temperatures. Scenery was amazing it just got better and better. Well done Riviera

Review by: Margaret on 21/06/2019

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland with Glacier Express Extension

We have just returned from the above mentioned cruise on the Emily Bronte.We were a family of 8, celebrating my in-laws 60th wedding anniversary, with our age range from our daughter at 15 upto my in-laws at 84 & 85. The crew and staff, from the housekeeping through to hotel manager were extremely accommodating, giving fantastic service at all times. The food was excellent, with all dietary requirements met & the level of luxury on the ship was sumptuous. The cruise itinerary was well balanced, though our family,whilst enjoying Chur, would have preferred an extra night in Zermatt. We can thoroughly recommend this cruise, for all ages & would repeat it all in a heart beat !!

Review by: The Bailey Family on 16/08/2018

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland with Glacier Express Extension

My husband and I recently returned from the Rhine Cruise on MS Emily Bronte from Cologne to Switzerland with Glacier Express Extension . The ship was fantastic, the cabin was lovely, the crew were so friendly and the food was amazing We could not fault the ship. Our two Riviera Guides, Jane and Barbara were great. Barbara was very knowledgeable on the history of the Rhine providing insightful commentary whilst sailing. This was the second time we have been on a Rivieria holiday with Jane as our guide and she was great. As someone has mentioned in a previous testimonial she is an asset to your company. Very efficient and organised , friendly and approachable and deals with any problems calmly and confidently. For the Switzerland extension we had another guide, Kim, who was also very efficient. The Swiss extension was amazing, well worth adding on to the cruise and would definitely recommend it. The scenery was absolutely stunning. All of the travel from leaving the boat until flying back to the UK was on trains, including the Glacier Express and that was all wonderful, we saw so much of Switzerland and so much better than being on a coach all the time.

Review by: Mandy and Andy Packham on 09/07/2018

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland with Glacier Express Extension

We have just returned from this cruise and Glacier extension and thoroughly enjoyed it all. We had never been on a river cruise and were very pleased with the crew, waiters and all the ships staff. The ship was very clean. We were very relaxed and the cabin was excellent, comfortable bed and plenty of room. The food was excellent with a wide and varied choice of meat, fish and vegetarian with salads, hot vegetables, soup and cold starters. There was a specialist restaurant which had 8 courses for 24 people at a time. We did go and although I enjoyed it my husband didn't. We would definitely book another cruise with them. The Riveria tour managers were very helpful and knowledgable of the areas we visited. We also enjoyed the Glacier Express from Chur to Zermatt with the wonderful views of the Matterhorn. We also went on the Gornergrat cog railway to see views of the Matterhorn but although the sun was out there was cloud covering the Matterhorn. You must visit the Zermatt Mountain museum with all its artefacts from mountaineers who have climbed the Matterhorn. A thoroughly enjoyable trip.

Review by: Wendy Rowe on 01/05/2018

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland with Glacier Express extension

My wife and I have just returned from the above cruise. We would just like to say what a brilliant job Jane did. She was faced with some real problems but always came smiling through. She really did go that extra mile, amongst other things recommending restaurants and making sure we didn't get lost. She is a real asset for your company.

Review by: Maggi and David on 15/06/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland with Glacier Express extension

My wife and I have returned from our first ever River Cruise. We were not prepared for the excellent ship, or size (Emily Brontë). Our cabin on Diamond deck was very well appointed and served us well. The food, staff, cruise staff were excellent, five star! The extension into Switzerland was very well organised with us not having to worry about our luggage that was taken from us and delivered to our next destination, leaving us to enjoy the journey. The rep, Alex, was well prepared and did a good job.

We enjoyed ourselves so much we have booked another cruise in April next year, on the same ship!

Review by: John Bentley on 06/06/2017

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland With Glacier Express Extension

We have recently returned from an excellent Rhine cruise on the Jane Austen…faultless.

The add-on was the Glacier Express and time in Switzerland. Also perfect.

On our last morning, we spoke to our guide Antonia about indications of a possible health problem which might prevent us flying home. She immediately understood the problem, maintained our privacy and quietly found us information on alternative ways to travel home. In the event, we were able to continue with the flight. We wanted to convey our thanks to Antonia for her care and helpful actions.

Review by: Keith and Val Pitman on 28/09/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland With Glacier Express Extension

Lovely people at Riviera

Another Birthday and to celebrate, another cruise. This was our third river journey with you and our sixth Riviera holiday. We knew we would not be disappointed, nor were we. This time we chose the Rhine starting in Cologne and ending in Basel. In between we were totally spoilt, comfortable cabin, delicious and varied menus at all meals, interesting and well organised excursions. The hard working crew always had a smile on their faces and I observed many acts of kindness to less able travellers. Our Cruise Director Eric and Tour Manager Jolyon merged efficiency with humour, who writes their jokes, we loved them. We had a wonderful holiday revisiting some familiar places and some new ones. My partner George’s favourite place was the amazing Tecknik Museum in Speyer, mine, and it is hard to choose was the trip to the Schynige Platte when the sun shone on those spectacular and beautiful mountains of the Bernese Oberland. Thank you everyone who looked after us on the Jane Austen. Riviera you are the tops.

Review by: Roberta Davis and George Matthews on 26/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.