[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

We enjoyed a most fantastic Cruise down the Rhine on the luxurious Charles Dickens. The weather was good. The daily trips organised by our two Riviera Reps were excellent,and the local guides were very informative.The Captain and all the Staff on board the Charles Dickens were helpful, most obliging and they gave first class service throughout the whole trip.. The food was five star.

Our first experience of cruising and a very memorable one.

Review by: margaret catherall on 11/09/2018

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

We have just returned from a wonderful trip down the river Rhine Cruise. The tour managers, (Viki and Barbara), the crew and the local guides were excellent. The food on board was also excellent and plentiful! The trips ashore were varied and interesting however the highlight was the journey through the Bernese Oberland and the views of the Swiss Alps. This is our second river cruise with Riviera, it won't be our last!

I am glad that we did the trip "in reverse", i.e. starting in Basel, although the first couple of days are hectic the rest of the week gave us chance to unwind.

Review by: Steve Custons on 08/08/2018

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

This was our second river cruise having really enjoyed the Duoro Valley and we were not disappointed on this our second cruise on the Oscar Wilde. The small team on the ship headed up by the Captain and Ship Manager Ahmed were superb, the service was exceptional and always delivered with a smile it truly was a team effort. Our Riviera team of Tim and Peter provided us with lots of information and some fun events supported by crew overall enhancing our trip. Thank you so much to the team we had a wonderful time.

Review by: Richard and Sue Ward on 12/07/2018

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

Have just returned from a cruise on the Charles Dickens from Cologne to Basel. Travelling in a group, none of us had been on a cruise before so we were not sure what to expect.

Well, where do I begin?

This experience surpassed all our expectations! The weather was perfect, nothing was too much trouble for all the crew, who were excellent, the trips on shore were well organised and led by very knowledgeable tour guides. We were also very impressed by the quality and range of food on offer at all meal times.

Having already sung the praises of the crew, I would just like to give a special mention for our Maitre d' Florin. He is a star!

I'm definitely now a convert to river cruises.

Review by: Linda on 19/06/2018

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

Excellent holiday on the Oscar Wilde. Itinerary with many interesting visits. The ship is superb and the crew were exceptional and a very happy team. Leslie and Ezster from the Riviera Team went out of their way to make the holiday memorable.

Review by: Tony and Helen on 14/06/2018

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

We have recently returned from another excellent Riviera cruise aboard the MS Oscar Wilde. The ship and all the crew were certainly 5*. The journey and the excursions were all very enjoyable. We have just booked another cruise on Oscar Wilde for next year. We thoroughly recommend it.

Review by: gerald & rosemary wright on 26/04/2018

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

We have just returned from our first river cruise and I have to say we are hooked.

The ship, MS Jane Austen, was superb, the mountains wonderful and the places visited very interesting, but what really made it special were the crew and Riviera staff. Special thanks to Irena the cruise director, and to Jennifer and Hristina who waited on us. It felt like one big happy family and I was very impressed by the way the crew greeted us by name.

The main highlights of the cruise were the talk by Lucy Worsley and the show put on by the crew which had us crying with laughter.

Review by: Penelope Ryder on 19/10/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

This was our first holiday in 12 years, and it was worth the wait. From arriving at Heathrow to returning back home the entire holiday was seamless and stress free.

I would (and have) recommended this type of cruising to anyone. All the crew were exceptionally friendly and attentive without being ' in your face'

A thoroughably enjoyable holiday

Steve and Nikki

Review by: Steve wilcock on 03/10/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

This was our first Riviera cruise and it was a great experience! From boarding the MS Charles Dickens to the end of the cruise it was all most enjoyable.

We had a standard middle deck cabin and they really are just like compact hotel rooms with excellent beds, full en suite with shower and toiletries. The large windows slide to one side and give you a tremendous view of the Rhine slipping by and everything going on. Alternatively you can go right to the front (prow?) of the ship or to the stern (back?!) and look out over the fascinating scenery.

Meals were tremendous and dinner was excellent each night with full silver service. The maitre d' and his whole team were very impressive.

In fact I must give a special mention to Reba, the maitre d' himself, as he took such great care to look after my wife's lactose intolerant diet. He personally went through each menu with her to discuss what she could eat, and if a particular item was difficult for some reason they found an alternative or perhaps cooked a non-dairy alternative. We have not had such amazing service and customer experience anywhere!

Stephen the hotel manager and the Captain himself, Stephan, added to the excellent team. The opportunities to meet the Captain, crew and all the staff were very welcome. There are 2 special dinners during the week, both of 6 courses! This sounds a lot but the portions are very reasonable and the meals skilfully balanced -- and you can ask for smaller (or indeed larger!) portions if that is your preference. Anyway for us it was just right!

The places themselves? Absolutely fascinating, from the Rhine gorge to the lovely stops at Rudesheim, Speyer etc. We particularly liked the lovely architecture at Strasbourg.

I am not a good sailor, not at home on water at all but everything was very smooth. I did not feel the slightest discomfort or sickness. There was some vibration from the engine at times but it did not bother us.

Thanks so much to everyone involved!

Review by: Paul Bunn on 19/09/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

Margaret and I did this cruise in reverse, from Basel to Cologne, which has two advantages: (1) Busier at start of cruise and more relaxed at end, and (2) We apparently had half a day extra ashore in Strasbourg.

It is rare that I cannot fault a tour operator on something, but Riviera did not put a foot wrong. Our Cruise Director, Cassie, and Tour Manager, Sharon, made a great team, full of information and good humour.

The trip itself was well balanced with the right mixture of visits and relaxation. The vessel, Jane Austin, was impeccably maintained and crewed.

Our cabin (202) was perfectly positioned and had the most storage space I have ever seen in any cabin or hotel room.

The food was beautifully presented and served, in the right size portions for three meals a day (although you could ask for bigger portions if you so wished). We especially enjoyed our special dinner in the Lido (which had to be booked but at no extra cost).

Couldn't ask for a better holiday.

Review by: Michael Staples on 03/08/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

This is our 4th river cruise with Riviera and once again fantastic. I booked via phone as my mother requires a wheelchair. The booking process was very easy all the required arrangements were made. From the moment we arrived on board the MS Oscar Wilde the service & treatment was 5*.

Our tour manager, Tim was very helpful and knowledgeable about all the places we visited. His music quiz was fantastic & really brought the passengers together along with his humour and charm. All the front of house staff were fantastic, nothing was ever too much trouble & always available to help. The food was exceptional & we loved the intimacy of the bistro ( including the fantastic staff Janeay & Gabriel) The ships facilities are good, beds are exceptionally comfortable & sufficient space within your cabin. Thank you to everyone at Riviera and all the staff on board the MS Oscar Wilde, Joolz

Review by: Joolz on 28/08/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

Recently returned from a wonderful Rhine Cruise on MS Charles Dickens. The Riviera Team were superb led wonderfully by Phil. The trips were well organised. The food on board was very good and the service was excellent. Really enjoyed ourselve.

Review by: gerald moore on 29/08/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

Wonderful experience of first river cruise. Lesley & Jane were superb experienced guides and the whole crew a credit to the Captain and his new ship the Emily Bronte

Review by: Jan Matthews on 08/08/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

Huge thanks to Cruise Director, Cassie, to the inimitable Sharon and to Captain Martin and Astrid and the crew for making our week-long cruise aboard the Jane Austen such an unforgettable experience. Highlights for us were the trip to the Schynige Platte, the drive though the Black Forest and that wonderful day going through the Rhine gorge. The crew were terrific - we felt really looked after (the food was amazing!) This was our first ever cruise - a bit of a treat to celebrate our respective 60th birthdays and retirement from nearly 40 years' teaching. Thanks to the person on the Emily Bronte who found my husband's wallet. We got home last night and the wallet was back with us this morning. Special thanks too to Cassie for taking wonderful care of a poorly passenger.

Review by: Liz Roberts on 03/08/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

Another wonderful river cruise,this time on the MS Emily Bronte.Perfect opportunity to relax as the ship glides effortlessly along to get to the next interesting point on the journey.Admitedly not all the scenery is picturesque but there is always something to see if you are open to looking for it,after all the Rhine is a working river.

We were privileged to see the most amazing sunset one night with the whole sky various shades of red and orange above our heads as many of us sat up on the sun deck.

You take home with you many memories like this.

Leslie,the tour director,was able to persuade his sister to make an appearance as we sailed passed the Lorelay rocks,another great memory.

The ship and it's entire crew were of the highest standard in all respects.I can find nothing to fault.

You meet and get to know many of your fellow passengers and there are several that you find to be very like minded to yourself and are therefore very good company.

All aspects of the holiday were very well organised and unavoidable changes to our itinerary did not bother me or spoil the holiday.

The last day's trip to Lucerne and The Bernese Operland was the definite highlight and we had such perfect,glorious weather.This made for unforgettable views in all directions.

Thankyou to everyone who made this such an enjoyable experience.

I realise from reading other reviews that you cannot please all the people all of the time but you succeeded with the greater proportion of passengers on this trip.

Review by: susan on 01/08/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

What an amazing boat Emily Bronte is. The staff are wonderful, the cabins so, so comfortable and the food sublime. Scrambled egg and smoked salmon for breakfast every day was such a treat. We thoroughly enjoyed our week, so much so that within 24 hours I have booked us on the Robert Burns for the Budapest to the Black Sea cruise for next year. Can't wait.

Review by: Angela Roberts on 11/07/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

What a wonderful holiday, it exceeded all our expectations.

The Emily Bronte is a smart modern ship, beautifully fitted, the staff are efficient and friendly and the food is of a high standard and attractively presented. We loved the itinerary, the variety of scenery and the combination of time relaxing on the deck and all the included trips especially the train trip into the Alps. Jane our tour manager is so helpful.

Review by: Sarah Hole on 04/07/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

We have just returned from an unforgettable cruise on the Emily Bronte with 4 friends. We were all impressed by the ship, the crew, the food and the facilities. The crew are so friendly and the entertainment was so good. We laughed so much.

We were so thankful that there was a splash pool on the top deck as it was very hot weather. We are hooked on river cruising and hope we find another to live up to this trip. Thank you to all the crew and guides.

Review by: Richard & Rosemary Tucker on 04/07/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

Four of us joined the "Emily Bronte" for our first experience with Riviera Travel. The boat was extremely well laid out and the detailed cabin design was the best use of space that would challenge many a premium hotel. Jane & Anette (The Travel Mangers on board) were courteous, friendly, efficient and very professional in their dealings with the passengers (they made the holiday!). Me being a Coeliac is not easy but all the waiting staff quickly identified me with my needs and offered the GF course options, bread etc. without prompting - a first for me! Dusseldorf to Basel on board Emily Bronte will be hard to better - a first class holiday - many thanks to Jane!.

Review by: John Baumber on 04/07/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

We would just like to thank you for the wonderful time we had on The Emily Brontë departing on 23rd May 17. All the crew and staff were so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the tours and all the meals and we were so well looked after by everyone. The crew show was hilarious and very enjoyable. Thanks to everyone very much. Emily Brontë is beautiful too.

Review by: Linda, Annette, Jill and Sue on 23/05/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

Our first river cruise and it certainly exceeded our expectations.The standard of everything was as good as it gets.Special mention to Jane and Christine whose organisation skills were second to none and kept everything working like clockwork.The whole of the team work so hard and always have a smile and greeting no matter what time of day.We will be going on the Danube trip in 2019 and will want to sail on the William Shakespeare once again as would not dream of going with any other company

Review by: Dave Horwood on 15/06/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

This was a fantastic holiday. Ship crew first class. Accommodation first class. Dining amazing.... Well done.

Excursions. Very good. Although a little long on first day. We went to the Bernese express to the Jung Frau. Regards

Review by: Jackie Collett on 23/05/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

Hi we have just returned from our first river cruise we went with your company on recommendation from friends , and we have to say what a fantastic time we had your staff leslie and tim where superb and are a credit to your company sophie the hotel manager and her staff where also a credit to you when we do another river cruise it will only be with your firm as it was excellent thank you for such a great time.

Review by: trevor nutt on 06/06/2017

Rhine Cruise to Switzerland

We went on the William Shakespeare from Cologne to Basel at the beginning of May. Everything was beautifully organised and ran like clockwork. Jane and Richard, our tour organisers were brilliant, especially Jane, whose briefings before each excursion and commentary while we were going through the Rhine Gorge were absolutely superb. The ship was excellent with a very friendly Captain and crew and delicious food (far too much of it of course but very much appreciated). We had a wonderful time and will definitely travel with Riviera again.

Review by: Desiree Milborrow on 04/05/2017

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

First time river cruising and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Lord Byron is a fantastic ship as is the crew, they are very attentive and genuinely happy and their aim is for you to have a enjoyable holiday. Sharon and Tim the Riviera reps were excellent, well organised and professional. The cabins are well equipped and we loved the tea and coffee making facility in our cabin, I found the bed difficult as a double when they are two singles pushed together so you do have a ridge in the middle. We will be booking again and cannot rate this company highly enough.

Review by: Christine Tomkins on 20/07/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

This was our third river cruise with Riviera and the best to date. The Lord Byron is a superb ship, beautiful furnishings, pristine, kept spotlessly clean and the staff were all friendly, courteous and eager to please which made our holiday so special. All excursions were good with a good blend of free time and escorted. The last day in Switzerland in amongst the mountains was spectacular and will be remembered for a long time to come. We stayed in a deluxe suite - fantastic, well worth the upgrade. The show put on by the crew was hilarious, absolutely brilliant, we have never laughed so much. Sharon and Tim our tour managers were also excellent. All in all a 5* experience with not a single complaint. Well done Riviera.

Review by: Jan Carver on 23/07/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

We have just returned from a wonderful cruise on the Rhine. Everyone and everything was excellent, the Lord Byron was superb, so comfortable and immaculate, all the crew were so professional and kind, our tour guides Sharon and Tim were very efficient and very good at their jobs, we met some lovely fellow cruisers and lastly the food, FABULOUS. Will definitely cruise with Riviera again

Review by: Jennifer john on 28/07/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

From the moment we were greeted by Sharon, our tour manager, on Eurostar we knew we would enjoy our river cruise. Sharon was fantastic, ensuring that we were looked after and the holiday was the best it could be. The Lord Byron is a fabulous ship, the crew absolutely marvellous; the maitre d greeting us on the first evening to ensure our dietary needs were met exactly. The crew’s entertainment was hilarious and the ‘music’ evening was great fun. The itinerary was wonderful; the guides were knowledgeable and entertaining; the final excursion to the Swiss mountains was magnificent. We would recommend this trip. This was our third river cruise with Riviera Travel and we have booked another for next year!

Review by: Christine Thomas and Trevor Delves on 05/08/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

Our first river cruise so no comparisons.

The booking process was handled in a professional manner and any questions answered promptly. We travelled by air and met by Riviera representatives at departure and return airports.Coach travel throughout the holiday was in modern coaches with good legroom and toilet facilities but in practice there were no long runs without a break.

The ship was spotless, cabins spotless, beds comfortable and the food first class.

Our tour leaders Victoria and Edward were available at all times, were excellent communicators and are a credit to Riviera travel.

The whole Ship’s crew from the Staff Manager down were excellent, industrious and attentive.

We have been fortunate enough to have stayed in 5* hotels in various parts of the World and the standards on this Ship would compare favourably.

We did hear some comment about lack of time at some of the sites on excursions but without extending the holiday the days were pretty full anyway. We were happy with our trip experiences but do appreciate that with 140 people aboard you cannot please all the people all of the time.

A first class Holiday .

Thank you.

Review by: Olive and Terry Talbot on 06/08/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

Our first River cruise, and it was perfect could not feel the motion of the ship. Beautiful stop overs loved every one. Tim & Sharon were very good as hosts and tour guide. We went on the extension to Switzerland this was also a mavellous experience our guide Kim was very informative and friendly.

Review by: Allan & June Thomas on 21/08/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

This was our first cruise and it surpassed our expectations. The cruise itself was splendid - it was very well organised and administered. We loved the tours and places we visited and the pace and freedom gave plenty time for relaxation. The boat was luxurious, very comfortable and the food excellent. Our one disappointment was the limited access to the internet - anything other than emails being almost impossible. The free seating policy in the dining room was much appreciated as it enabled us to get to know lots of different people.

The crew and ‘hotel’ staff on the boat were so friendly and helpful as were the 2 organisers from Riviera. Sarah and Leslie had the right blend of friendliness, enthusiasm and efficiency - able to keep us on schedule without any great hassle. They were a major asset to the holiday.

All in all we had a wonderful time and are already looking toward our next Riviera cruise.

Review by: Tom and Maureen Kelly on 22/08/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

My husband and I returned from our first cruise experience ever on 2nd June, having spent 8 fabulous days on the William Shakespeare cruising the Rhine to Switzerland from Cologne to Basel. I just wanted to write to let you know that the cruise went above and beyond our expectations. We were extremely impressed with everything and we really enjoyed the whole experience. The boat was beautiful, the crew were very professional but friendly (it genuinely seemed to be a happy boat all round), the tour managers Sarah and Jolyon were very knowledgeable and helpful, the excursions were well organised and the food on the boat was delicious and plentiful. Our cabin (318) was kept spotlessly clean and tidy every day by the housekeeping staff and it was always a pleasure to come back to after a day out. The reception staff were particularly helpful when, on arrival, we asked if we could have extra padding for our beds as we found them a little hard (particularly difficult for my husband as he has back problems). Extra duvets were put over the mattresses straight away, with no fuss or hesitation.

A special mention should also go to the pianist, George, who entertained everyone unflaggingly every day and evening in the lounge. He never seemed to run out of songs! Also, the bar staff were unfailingly cheerful and hard-working, as were the restaurant staff. The captain, Rolf, was a very visible and cheerful presence and was the hotel manager, Detlef (his “life on board” briefing was not only helpful but extremely amusing!).

The atmosphere on the boat was enhanced by the fact that we were able to meet other guests due to the open seating policy – a nice touch. It made for a very friendly experience. Other nice touches were the itineraries placed in the cabins every day and the presentations on our destinations.

Your pre-holiday information pack also was very informative and useful.

All in all, we had an extremely good holiday and would have no hesitation in recommending Riviera Travel to other river cruise “virgins” should we come across them!

Review by: Mr. and Mrs. M. A. Needham on 25/08/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

I went on my first river cruise with you in the Rhine valley. This is the most relaxing holiday I have ever taken. The ship and crew were very friendly and helpful and food was high quality and delicious. Your representatives on board were excellent, alway available and helpful.

I would recommend highly your river cruises

Review by: Caroline Wadsworth on 25/08/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

Just recently returned from the Rhine cruise to Switzerland. This was our first cruise and it proved to be a really enjoyable trip. The Jane Austen was a really lovely ship and the staff on board were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and they were all friendly and polite at all times. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and plentiful.

Sarah and Christine from Riveria were great tour managers who looked after us very well. Everything ran like clockwork on every excursion, all of which we really enjoyed.

We will definitely be booking another holiday with Riveria Travel in the future.

Review by: Nicola Gibson on 27/08/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

We started our holiday in St Pancras Station on 15 June and before starting our journey we left our Cases at the drop off point for luggage which we were having transported to the Cruise ship as part of the Cruise, the next time we would see these was outside our Cabin, this went so very smoothly without any causes for concern.

We then went to the Eurostar check in followed by our Eurostar journey to Brussels again this went so extremely smoothly without any complications. We were met by our cruise manager Christine who gave full details of the procedure at Brussels and our onward journey by Coach to Cologne.

The Journey to Cologne by coach was fine and took about 3 ½ hours which included a toilet and refreshment break before finally arriving in Cologne and ready to board our Ship the Jane Austen

Riviera cruises are all booked by passengers from the UK which made integrating with other passengers so easy.

On boarding the cruise ship the expectations we had were surpassed, the Captain and crew were there to welcome us aboard and on seeing the reception area for the first time was stunning, a crew member showed us to our cabin and once again we were blown away with the size and luxury feel to it, the sliding patio doors were the full width of the cabin and the shower room was cosy but complete, cases can be stored under the bed, bottles of water are replenished free every day, the cabin is serviced every morning including towel replacement and the beds are turned down each evening and chocolates are placed on each pillow.

We then went to explore the whole ship, firstly having a look at the lounge ( WOW ) we were amazed at the size and spaciousness and luxury seating ( Amazing ), following this we looked at the Dining room and once again we were blown away with the size and quality of the table settings just like a 5 star hotel, we then explored some more and found the Lido bar at the rear of the ship which had an outside seating area.

From here we went to the top deck where there was loads of table and chairs set out or for those who wanted to laze away the days there were about 40 sunbeds with canopies above to shade the hot sun, to the front the seating again was tables and chairs and surrounded by a glass screen to shelter from any breeze there may be, A luxurious seating area was at the very front of the ship with loads of outdoor wicker settees ( wonderful )

We went for dinner at 7pm which was amazing with 5 courses you couldn’t expect more. The food was of superior quality and cooked to perfection, this was to be the standard of food for the entire cruise (excellent). The cost of drinks is very reasonable Beer 2.50 euro, 2.50 euros for Coke etc and 5 euros for glass wine, full bottle wine is 18.50 euros. Tea, Coffee, jugs of Cold Water and cookies are available free of charge all day.

Breakfast is buffet style and has an amazing choice, this is followed by a buffet lunch which is then followed by afternoon tea and cakes before finally having the 5 course evening meal ( 7 courses on the night of the captains dinner ) no formal dress is required for dinner just smart casual is fine, jackets not required unless you wish to do so.

We set sail at about 10pm and watched Cologne slip away into the distance, The speed being about 10 miles per hour and our first part of the cruise was about 11 hours arriving at Koblenz about 10 am the following morning, as the ship cruises there is absolutely no feeling of any movement.

The cruise followed the complete itinerary as detailed in the brochure and over the next couple of days the scenery was superb, the Rhine Gorge being the highlight (Stunning).

We were amazed by the number of business ships on the Rhine ie tankers, container ships etc carrying all types of goods along this amazing river, at some points the river must be about a mile wide.

We called at Rudesheim where the ship moored at the centre of this amazing town definitely a tourist town but full of character and shops and bars and restaurants.

Other ports of call were Speyer, Strasbourg, Breisach, and Basel.

At some of the moorings we were slightly away from the towns and coaches were provided to transport passengers to the town centres, also at a couple of moorings we were moored along side another cruise ship, this did not cause any problems at all other than our cabin looking directly into theirs, this was generally only for a few hours before ships moved on. Leaving the cruise ship through other ships was also not a problem. And the gangways to land were very easy to negotiate even for passengers with a small degree of walking difficulty.

At certain stops we decided not to take the coaches or walking tours and instead stay on board which was absolutely no problem, being the only couple to stay on board the entire ship was ours for the day ( peaceful !!! ) and the crew laid on Lunch for just the 2 of us which again was outstanding.

On the final day we were transferred by coach to Basel train station for our TGV journey back to Paris, and then crossed Paris by coach to catch the Eurostar back to London, all transfers are included and full guidance was given all the way by Sarah the tour Manager who accompanied us all the way back to London.

The entire crew including the tour manager Sarah and Christine are to be congratulated for their kindness, friendliness, professionalism and attention to the passengers,

The whole cruise was above excellent , however it leaves you wanting to do more River Cruises and especially with Riviera Travel, we may also book a tour holiday with them as there is a wide choice for holidays by rail if you don’t want to fly.

Review by: Michael Terry on 28/08/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

Having just returned from our latest holiday with your company….The Rhine Cruise..

We are sending this message, to say how impressed we were with every aspect of the holiday. So much so, that we have booked our next cruise with you yesterday!!!... another cruise. (unfortunately the upgrade for the ruby deck cabin update had gone (We were told by other passengers that you have to book them really early in the previous year…. next time we will. It was one of those holidays where we smiled as soon as we went onboard the ship, and when we went in the cabin…. we smiled even more…... Brilliant ‘reps’....crew ship…. and it continued from then on. Food was brilliant in restaurants, staff were exceptional.. trips out were well thought out… Absolutely nothing not to smile about! We have had many holidays with your company, and will continue to do so.

Please give our thanks to everyone concerned, including the staff in your office, who always put up with the phone calls we give them with questions…. all very helpful.

Long may your company continue, as we are sure it will. Roll on next May, when we cruise with you again. Never done one before…...WHYjQuery11240684328205472982_1477994559424???

Review by: Susan Watkins on 02/09/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

What a brilliant holiday. Riviera advertises 5 star and they delivered. Fab-u-lous. From our flights to Cologne and return from Basel the organisation throughout the trip was superb. Our first river cruise and as we stepped on board the Jane Austen we were made to feel so welcome. The staff, including the Captain and Riviera representatives, could not do enough for you. Stunning lounge, sun deck and restaurant. The catering was amazing with choices at every meal. The Welcome dinner and Captain’s dinner were exceptional. One evening the staff provided entertainment and this was an evening full of fun and laughter for everyone. As all excursions were included there were no additional `unexpected’ surcharges. We had a standard cabin which was more than adequate, spotlessly clean with lovely floor length windows to enjoy the views. The open sun deck with loungers under a canopy were great and gave a relaxing opportunity to enjoy the beautiful scenery. `This is the life’ and an experience we are looking forward to repeating in 2017 and beyond. Well done Riviera!

Review by: George and Pauline Spicer on 02/09/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

My sister and I have recently returned from a Rhine Cruise to Switzerland (the reverse way) on the Swiss Tiara. This is the second time we have travelled with Riveria, both times on the Swiss Tiara. The ship was, once again, excellent. On this occasion Cassie was our Cruise Director and Rosey our Tour Manager. They were marvellous. Cassie has a fantastic sense of humour - as well as being very well organised. Rosey’s commentaries on the tour were outstanding. Congratulations to your whole team; from the time of booking to the end of our holiday we received excellent service.

Review by: Irene Watson on 02/09/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

I am writing to say a big Thank You to everyone who made our first River Cruise so happy and memorable Everyone and I mean everyone gave more than 100%, your Tour Manager Jane was a delight and nothing was too much trouble and always had a wonderful genuine smile. The Tour Director Lesley was equally as good and, although they had never worked together before, complimented each other. We could not have wished for more, both worked extremely hard to ensure we all had a wonderful holiday.

The crew of the Jane Austen, the food, places we visited, tour guides, transfer reps all made it so easy, and as I said they all gave more than 100%.

In the words of the song, NOBODY DOES IT BETTER, well done again.

One of my friends rang me my first morning back and asked about it, and asked me to accompany her on a River Cruise next year. I phoned for the brochures and we will meet up shortly to discuss it further.I really had not planned on another river cruise so soon, but if this year is anything to go by I can’t wait.

Review by: Maureen Tidmarsh on 02/09/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

We’ve just returned from our 4th cruise with Riviera, in fact our 2nd this year on the Swiss Tiara. As always, superb service, food, guides and staff. So much so having been on the Rhone, Main, Danube and Rhine, we have immediately booked for the Seine in 2017.

Review by: Ron McCahill on 11/09/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

Have just returned from the Rhine cruise on board Swiss Tiara and it has been superb. The staff worked so hard and nothing was too much trouble. All were delightful. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and the ship was immaculate. We enjoyed every minute as did everyone else we spoke to. One extra outstanding feature was that on our last day our flight wasn’t until late evening but we were able to just vacate our cabins and stay on board with lunch and afternoon tea provided. We were in Basel so were able to go into the city to sightsee and just return to the ship whenever we liked. We so appreciated that - thank you Riviera for taking such good care of us all.

Review by: Elaine Jackson on 22/09/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

Just to say a huge thank you, my wife and I got married in the middle of last month and choose a Rhine river cruise as our honeymoon, and what a totally awesome choice, the whole week from Basel to Cologne was incredible the trips, the guides, everything.

Having never cruised before a river cruise was perfect, there was time for freedom and enough organised things to make our holiday one that will never be forgotten and a perfect way to begin our married life.

The Jane Austen and its staff and crew were incredible always there to help, always smiling and happy. So thank you once again.

If I had one request, the bar manager Jennifer made the best pina colada we have ever had and we would love to have the contents and mix quantity.

We are both looking forward to cruising with you again in the future, probably for an anniversary.

Thanks once again

Review by: Andrew and Lorraine Moore on 21/09/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

Returned home this week having had the most amazing time whilst cruising The Rhine to Switzerland on The Jane Austen.

The ship is first class made even more special by the crew. Everyone works so hard to make the Cruise special which they certainly do. The food is top class and certainly exceeds most hotels we have stayed in.

The organised trips are a “must”.

This is our fourth holiday with Riviera but our first cruise. Based on our experience aboard The Jane Austen it won’t be our last cruise. Already looking for next year.

Review by: Graham and Karen on 06/10/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland

My husband and I have just returned home safely from the Rhine Cruise from Cologne to Basel, on your ship the Jane Austen, dated the 26th September - 3rd October. This was our first river cruise, and we both thoroughly enjoyed it, from start to finish. Everything was certainly 5 Star!!!. All the crew and staff were very pleasant and worked well together. Leslie - Cruise director, and Wesley - Tour manager were great. It will be difficult to choose our next cruise with Riviera as there is so much choice, but we definitely will be sailing again with you! Thank you.

Review by: Mr. Donald Cox, and Mrs Eileen Cox on 11/10/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We had never done a river cruise before but our trip on the Lord Byron exceeded all expectation. It was a lovely, happy ship, the crew were exceptional and a special mention must go to Sharon, Tour Manager, who is an amazing person - so professional, warm, caring, funny ... Also our thanks must go to Irena who is a wonderful employee for Riviera Travel - friendly and capable. We very much enjoyed our holiday and have been recommending it to others.

Review by: Hazel Grace Hebditch and Anthony Hebditch on 17/08/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

My husband and I along with his sister and husband recently were on the June 20th to 27th Rhine and Moselle cruise and we wish to express our admiration for the way Sheila and Cassie coped with the extraordinary circumstances of that trip. I should add that we never doubted that Riviera would look after us. Both the Inspire and the Lord Byron are beautiful ships with friendly and very attentive crews. Thank you

Review by: Audrey Pollard on 02/09/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

I would like to express our appreciation for the excellent service provided by two of your tour managers during our (my husband and myself) recent River Cruise on the Rhine and the Moselle (20th to 27th June). High river levels resulted in a daily change of itinerary and even ship! Despite this continual uncertainty, both remained cheerful, worked hard to make sure that all the elements listed in the original itinerary were covered and to ensure that everyone was kept as up-to-date as possible with the situation. I would particularly like to mention Cassie, whose personal touch combined with a practical approach, patience, willingness to go that one step further and determination to see that everyone enjoyed their holiday (and there were several complaints to deal with from different passengers) really shone in these fluctuating circumstances.

This was our first River Cruise and we thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to see Germany in a different way, the superb food and the comfortable cabins. The pièce de résistance was the top-notch service provided by all staff, a quality exemplified by Cassie.

Review by: Sarah Todd on 31/10/2016

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We wish to report on a wonderful cruise we had down the Rhine and Moselle Rivers on the above dates.

The food, crew and state of the ship were all exceptional, and I especially liked the Lido Bar where free chocolate drinks were available! (Keep that going!)

Barbara and Jane, our guides, were extremely good at what they did and were very friendly, as were all the crew.

We are already spreading the word to our relatives and friends who are interesting in taking a cruise in the foreseeable future.

Review by: Pauline Proctor on 02/09/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.