[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

Just returned from the most amazing holiday. Cannot fault it in any way. From the very first day when we met our fabulous tour manager, Sarah, until 10 minutes ago when I contacted her for help about something I think we left behind, it was amazing. The driver, Pradeep, the co-worker, Viki, our fantastic Indian guide, Abhi and Sarah all worked like a well oiled machine focused on our comfort, enjoyment and safety. The hotels were brilliant and well out of our normal budget, food good and all the hotel staff so helpful and attentive. The tour itself was so fantastic with the right blend of monuments and free time. We have never been on a Riviera tour before but several people on our tour had. I certainly see why they keep coming back. We will use Riviera again and will feel ourselves really lucky if we have Sarah as our tour manager again. I cannot sing her praises too highly - the right blend of whacky, caring, fun and organised like I've never seen organised. Thank you Riviera and thank you Sarah and Abhi, Bill and Pradeep.

Review by: Karen Legge on 06/03/2019

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

The Rajasthan, Taj Mahal and Amritsar's Golden Temple tour in November this year was fantastic! The places that we visited, the monuments that we saw and the sights and sounds of India that we experienced, have left memorable and definitely, long lasting impressions. We were lucky to have Paul as our tour manager who was professional in his dealings with everyone and who kept us entertained on the coach with his great sense of humour. We were also lucky to have Abi as our tour guide, who was kind, helpful, very well organised and thoroughly knowledgeable about all the places we went to and the sights that we saw. Our driver and escort also made sure that we got to each place safely and comfortably. It was our first time booking an escorted tour and we would definitely recommend this Rajasthan tour with Riviera!

Review by: Barbara & Charlie on 14/11/2018

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

We have just returned from this wonderful, amazing tour. Well done Riviera for putting together such a fascinating and interesting experience.

Paul, our tour manager and Dilip, our local guide were both outstanding. So too were our driver and his assistant. They all really put themselves out to make this a very special experience.

Thanks also to our fellow travellers. A lot of travelling on this tour made so much more enjoyable by great company!

There were so many amazing highlights. A mind blowing rickshaw ride through the narrow streets of Old Delhi. The Taj Mahal which is even more beautiful and atmospheric than you could ever imagine. The night-time, edge of your seats, tuk tuk ride through the bustling streets of Jaipur with visit to "The Real Exotic Marigold Hotel". The beautiful tranquillity and the hospitality of the Pushkar Resort Hotel. The wonderful opulence of the Khimsar Fort Hotel and the friendliness of the local villagers. The amazing "Bollywood" style theatrics at the Wagah Border Post.

For us, however, the most wonderful and abiding memory will be The Golden Temple at Amritsar. It is simply awesome, especially at night. The Sikh people were so open and friendly, happy to share their sacred pilgrimage with us. A wonderful end to a wonderful tour!

Review by: Steve and Denise on 24/10/2018

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

Just got back from an amazing tour of Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal, & Amritsar's Golden Temple with Riviera Travel. It was a fantastic tour and we saw and did so much in the two weeks! There were too many highlights to list and even though I'd read the itinerary carefully was still amazed at how much was crammed in. I would add that Gill (Tour Manager) and Kunal (Tour Guide) were both excellent.

They were helpful and knowledgeable and, when situations and plans can change at the drop of a turban, were calm, organised and professional.

The tour was full on from day one but got a little easier towards the end - and the two night stays were very welcome.

I would thoroughly recommend Riviera Travel and look forward to future trips with them.

Review by: Andy Quickenden-Smith on 07/02/2018

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

Hi Guys

My family had a fantastic time in India.

Congratulations to your brilliant tour guides Kunal and Emma who looked after us so well when we were there.

I will definitely do South India with Riviera Travel in a few years’ time.

Kind Regards

Mr J Patel and Family.

Review by: J Patel on 21/03/2018

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

What a fabulous trip, surpassed all expectations! The tour manager Sarah was excellent as was Kunal, our Indian guide. The group were all friendly and on time. We had a lot of laughs on the bus and appreciated being shown items of interest as we moved along ,often stopping for photo opportunities . India was amazing, each day new insights and amazing forts and palaces. The highlight was the Golden Temple At Amritsar, an experience not to be missed from the people to the kitchens and the general ambiance of The Temple, again we had an excellent Sikh guide Mandeep. Bus driver was excellent as was the bus boy, comfortable air conditioned bus. The hotels were all exceedingly good. A most enjoyable trip.

Review by: Denise Kirwan on 07/03/2018

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

Felt the need to write to you on above tour which we started on 24 January.

It was the best trip ever and most of the praise has to go to our Rep Sarah who was, well amazing. Sarah made the tour even more enjoyable by just being her. She has an amazing fun outlook and obviously knowledge of India.

The tour was extremely well organised and will be highly recommending to all.

Review by: Cath Waterman on 24/01/2018

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. We were so well looked after by Sarah who ensured we missed nothing, including white knuckle rides on rickshaws and tuktuks. The stay at Khimsar Fort was wonderful and a welcome break mid-holiday. The highlight, well placed at the end of the holiday, was the Golden Temple, such a beautiful and inspirational place. Thank you to everyone for making this a truly remember able holiday. To be recommended to anyone wanting to experience India.

Review by: Carolyn Spittle on 24/01/2018

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

An exceptional tour from Riviera. Our tour was managed incredibly well by Sarah who ensured we experienced the real India. She (and her colleagues) managed our well being smoothly and effortlessly. Most of hotels lived up to expectations, some exceeded, the Radisson Blu could just do with improving it's housekeeping . We've been on several tours with Riviera, this was the most exciting to date, we will be back!

Review by: Gill Gilling on 24/01/2018

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

Our first group holiday with Riviera and it has been amazing. Our tour manager, Sarah, was fantastic in ensuring everything went smoothly and that we experienced and enjoyed India as fully as possible. The itinerary was busy, but never tiring. Besides the forts, palaces and temples we got to ride on tuk tuks, jeeps, trains and rickshaws and get to local shops outside of the excellent hotels. All the hard work of planning was taken out of our hands, and we could really relax, in the company of really friendly group. Thank you Riviera, we'll be back.

Review by: Brenda Martin on 24/01/2018

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

We have recently returned from this wonderful trip, and would like to thank everyone at Riviera for a fantastic experience.

The itinerary is full-on, but brings with it such a wonderful breadth and variety of sights, smells and surprises to be nothing short of spell-binding. India is a great destination, with such diversity. This is a tour which gives you a true glimpse into that variety: from city to desert, from opulence to poverty, from past history to modern exuberance.

We chose the timing of our tour to coincide as nearly as we could with the annual camel fair in Pushkar. While the fair proper did not start until a few days after we had moved on, we benefitted from seeing a number of early arrivals and all the preparations for this unique rural carnival. An added bonus of this timing was that we arrived in Amritsar on Divali (the festival of lights). What a start to our holiday - the Golden Temple at night-time amongst all the fireworks and lights,

Our local guides (Sandeep in Amritsar, and Vikram for the rest of the tour) were great - sharing their knowledge and enthusiasm, not just of the immediate sights we were seeing, but by helping paint the full picture through illuminating and enhancing these sights with discussion of the history, culture and Indian way of life.

Our driver (Randhir), and his assistant (Sanjay) also deserve special praise. They made the (sometimes rather long) days in the coach a safe and comfortable experience.

Finally a thank you to Gill, our Riviera tour manager. She kept everything (and everybody) ticking along smoothly.

We would not hesitate in recommending both this particular tour, and Riviera as a company, to anyone. You will certainly not be disappointed.

Review by: David and Anne on 18/10/2017

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour, our second with Riviera to India. The itinerary was busy, as expected; there was a lot to see and experience but this was managed very well.

The weather was hot - over 40 centigrade some days - however, the tour manager flexed some of the schedule to try to mitigate the heat.

The Tour Manager, David, was excellent and the best we have had on our Riviera travels. He was enthusiastic about India and its diversity and culture; he was very flexible and accommodating of traveller's wishes and where he could, he added further experiences to the tour.

Our guide within India was Mayank. He was excellent and keen to help and respond to additional requests for information.

The change to the planned schedule, whereby the flight from Udaipur to Delhi was moved from a very early flight to a mid-morning flight was welcomed by all. Hopefully this will become an ongoing change for future tours.

This is an excellent tour and is thoroughly recommended.

Review by: Cameron McInally on 22/03/2017

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

We had a great time. Great group of people. Whilst a busy two weeks the star of the tour was our rep Sarah nothing was too much trouble and at times she was like a mother hen looking after us all.

Well done Sarah and many, many thanks

Review by: Pleasance on 22/02/2017

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar's Golden Temple Tour

Just a note to say how we enjoyed the India tour ending last week. May I thank the backroom staff who put this tour together it was great.

We enjoyed every aspect of it & being thrown into the deep end of an Indian experience with varied trips & rides etc .(Tuk tuk & rickshaws around Delhi)

Our tour guide Sarah, was an absolute gem. She went through India like a missile, nothing or no one got in her way. Her sense of humour was delightful & she brought the tour to life for us all. what a star!

Once again thanks for a great time.

Review by: Les & Pauline Wilkinson on 01/02/2017

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar's Golden Temple Tour

Having just returned from one of your tours in India, we just had to let you know what a fabulous time we had. Everything - food, accommodation, attractions, etc. were perfect. We would especially mention the two guides, Sergio and Bavinda who could not have been more friendly and helpful. In particular, Sergio was so caring over a slight medical problem we had, even stopping the coach and buying medication for us. The man is an absolute treasure - look after him, please! Anyway, we shall be singing your praises to our friends & relations - WELL DONE!!

Review by: Tom Mahoney on 19/10/2016

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

Our first trip to India exceeded our expectations, it was everything and more, a full on experience. It was fascinating, humbling an assault on all the senses. We were initially surprised by the number in the group 36 but were quickly reassured as we all looked out for and supported each other. Our Riviera rep Gill, was like a "mother hen" cajoling and nurturing us, her infectious laugh and antidotes a source of much amusement. Bhuvindra our Indian guide was simply superb, his sense of humour, patience and knowledge had us all spellbound, the dynamics between the two of them led to much fun and laughter. Our memories and photos will be a constant reminder of a brilliant tour, thank you so much and we look forward to travelling with you again. A trip back to India is definitely on the cards sometime in the future.

Review by: Sue Boswell and Les Lewis on 16/11/2016

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar's Golden Temple Tour

Hello

I have just returned from holiday with yourselves. We were on the Rajasthan tour and I wanted to thank you for such a great holiday.

Also to thank your rep, Richard, who looked after us so well - especially with the cash crisis in India, we had no issues at all. Everything was taken care of very efficiently as I have posted on Facebook to all my travel friends. We had no problems.

Once again thank you for a great holiday..

Review by: Ian Bates on 09/11/2016

Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

We cannot praise the organisation, the guides - Sarah & Kam - the coach driver and bus boy or the itinerary enough. A great taste of India with a number of highlights. The hotels, stops to break up the drives and visits to the great sights, sounds and smells of India were planned well and with great consideration to everyone on the tour. Hotels were excellent. We experienced many ways to travel through India and the rest days were in beautiful hotels full of atmosphere, especially Khimsar Fort - loved it!

This is the first trip with Riviera and hopefully some time in the future we shall be travelling with this company again. Travel with confidence and our recommendation. Thank you for an memorable holiday.

Review by: Robert & Gillian Lamb on 11/11/2013

Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

My wife and I thought that this was an excellent and excellently-organised trip. We were a little apprehensive about joining an escorted tour as we have always organised our own travel, including holidays in the Far East, but we could never have arranged such a comprehensive, informative and comprehensive holiday by ourselves.

Although, at times, it was tiring, we enjoyed almost every moment of it. We particularly liked the fact that it was based on the assumption that the group was made up of intelligent people. Kate de Witte, our tour leader, was a very important factor in the success of the holiday; she was very amusing and informative and ensured that everything ran smoothly. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for her. What a genuinely nice lady.

Review by: A M Wilson on 11/11/2013

Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

Dorothy and I are first time travelers with Riviera. After this experience, it will be the first of many future holidays with this company. From start to finish, our holiday has been excellent. The sights and sounds and cultural diversity of India, was vividly brought alive via the Riviera itinerary. Our accommodation was excellent, as were the travel arrangements by plane, coach and train, as well as our excellent Indian guide.

But the real guarantee of success - underpinning everything, was the co-ordination of our daily programme by Sarah, our Riviera Tour Guide. She was consistently enthusiastic; was meticulous in her planning; superb in the occasional “trouble shooting,” and a mine of useful information. Nothing was too much trouble for her, and all done with a smile. She is the consummate professional. Sarah is an excellent ambassador for Riviera and for India too. We feel indebted to her for our brilliant experience.

Thank you, so much. Mark & Dorothy.

Review by: Mark Bailey & Dorothy Hayley on 20/10/2013

Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

My wife and I went on your Rajasthan, Taj Mahal and Amritsar Golden Temple tour in February 2013, the holiday was magical, everything we wanted and more, we could never have managed the itinerary on our own in the time. Everything was well organised and went smoothly with few grumbles, our guides Kate and Kamlinda entertained and looked after us very well and didn’t lose anyone in the chaos of India.

Accommodation was excellent and travelling around was very comfortable and not too hectic, we saw all levels of Indian culture and life from the top to the bottom, our driver and bus boy were first class, looking after us well while also managing to avoid everything else on the road, even while negotiating narrow mountain tracks. We have no hesitating in recommending this tour with Riviera Travel particularly if you are not a seasoned traveller.

Review by: Betty & Richard Fleet on 25/06/2013

Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

This was a fantastic trip. Well organised and with a brilliant team of guides. The itinerary was well thought through and carefully paced. The hotels were all excellent with friendly staff who took great pride in looking after their guests. This was our first experience of a fully guided coach tour but this trip could convert us! “It did what it said on the tin” but with quite a few extra little treats. We would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see and learn something of the history and cultures of India on a friendly and supported tour. Full marks and thank you.

Review by: Peter and Ursula on 23/04/2016

Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

Fabulous. A great itinerary, with plenty of variety, at a sensible pace. Well-organsied, excellent hotels, many superb Indian meals. We’re so glad we opted for the Amritsar and the extended Rajasthan tour, which we just as interesting as the better-known attractions. A holiday to remember – thank you!

Review by: Bob and Jackie Hammersley on 11/03/2016

Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

I have just returned from the Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal and Amritsar tour of India with Gill our Tour Manager. The tour exceeded my expectations, Gill was brilliant - calm and efficient with a great knowledge and sense of humour. Yes, it was exhausting but what else can you expect from travelling such distances. The two local guides kindeep? And Kunal were brilliant gave us lot of information not only on the sites but also on the culture of India.

The itinerary said we were to go to the Golden Temple on the day we arrived in Amritsar, but as we had a delayed journey to Amritsar we arrived at the hotel late it was decide that we would see the evening ceremony the next day. Yes, we had a very busy day but I’m so pleased we did it this way. I’m not sure I would have had the ‘wow’ factor seeing the golden temple in daylight having seeing it the night before. This way I had a double ‘wow’ seeing it in the daylight and then bathed in light in the evening.

Thank you for a great trip

Review by: Brenda Holbrook on 08/03/2016

Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

We have just returned from our trip in India and would like to say WOW what a fantastic experience it was. Everyone involved was amazing, knowledgeable and helpful. The trip was packed full of so many experiences and although we were on the road early and sometimes for a long time, I thought it was very much worth it to see so many different sites. The range of hotels was great, offering something for everyones taste. I particularly loved the heritage hotel and the local trips they put on for us. I could not fault the whole experience and would like to say a very big thank you to Gill and her team for making the trip so special in every way.

Review by: Julie Pill on 08/03/2016

Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

We would like to thank everyone who helped to make our recent holiday such an enjoyable experience. It was our first visit to India and we thoroughly enjoyed it. There was a lot of waiting about at the airport on arrival, but we realise that this was mainly due to the Indian immigration systems rather than to anything within Riviera’s control.

The hotels we stayed at were usually very good - the only exception being the Radisson Blu in Jaipur, which did not come up to the same standards of food and service.

Our Tour Manager, Serdjo, was really helpful and did an excellent job - he is certainly one of the best Tour Managers we have ever had contact with, both within Riviera and other companies. Our local guide, Mayang, was also very helpful and well informed. The two of them together made the tour extremely enjoyable and kept things running smoothly.

Thank you again to all concerned for our wonderful holiday,

Review by: Olwen Evans-Knibb on 08/03/2016

Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple Tour

We’ve been home three weeks from this Tour and are still buzzing with excitement at the whole experience. The tour is quite hard work with many early morning calls and travelling from one place to another. It is never dull and every day brought something amazing to enjoy. The Golden Temple at night on our first day really gave the tour a WOW factor start, Taj Mahal, Forts, Palaces, traffic, cows, you name it. Many thanks to Serdjo and the team for helping making this tour so memorable.

Review by: Eddie & Sandra Clark on 30/03/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.