If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Prague, Vienna, Bohemia & the Danube Valley Tour

Our 2nd trip with Riviera and once again a truly wonderful experience. Huge thanks to our guide Halina who was excellent on all counts. She handled our large party admirably especially in what proved to be exceptional heat for that time of the year. (temperatures sometimes reaching 30/35 degrees) making sure for our comfort at all times. Her guided walking tours were so informative and gave us a real insight to whatever area we were visiting. All the hotels were very comfortable and situated in areas very close to the centre of the cities which made access perfect. It’s hard to pick out a highlight of the holiday as we loved it all and enjoyed the contrasts the tour provided. Our one comment would be that how we wished we had had even just one more day in Vienna but not at the cost of any existing visits or tours please as the variety offered within the holiday was excellent. Special thanks must also go to our driver Slarvick…(.hope that is spelt correctly) a most careful and considerate driver at all times. Looking forward to our next Riviera trip!

Review by Jeff & Barbara Frankel on 29 September 2016

Yesterday I returned from my second Riviera trip and felt compelled to write to you to say what a wonderful experience I and my fellow travellers enjoyed.  What superb locations and excellent hotels, although the ‘open plan’ bathroom in Vienna did take some getting used to!  Each of the three hotels was in a good location, was impeccably clean and comfortable and served good food. The icing on the cake however was most definitely our guide Helina.  What a treasure and indeed what an asset to your organisation.  She was extremely well-informed and was able to answer questions from the sometimes challenging members of the group!  She was always patient and constantly went out of her way to give added information to help us enjoy the free time we spent doing whatever it was we had chosen to do and, incidentally,  I think that the balance between free time and organised trips was just right.
Today I have received your brochure for 2017 and am already planning next year’s holiday so keep up the good work Riviera and I look forward to further travel experiences with you in the future.
By the way, our coach driver was also first class and the city guide in Vienna (Marco) was to say the least unforgettable but at the same time brilliant.
Sincerely yours, and with many thanks

Review by Valerie Prichard on 21 September 2016

I would like to say ‘Thank You’ for a wonderful Riviera holiday - my third. It was truly lovely.  Wonderful places to see, sights not to be missed, well organised and I think we all felt we were very lucky to have Helina as our guide.  She was clearly passionate about her country and we learnt so much from her. 
I particularly liked the idea of having a communal dinner at the beginning and end of the holiday, seemed to work well in our case.  Great holiday

Review by Elizabeth Wilson on 21 September 2016

2nd time with Riviera and another brilliant holiday. A very well organized tour with excellent hotels and very good value for money. The rep, Matt (sorry cant remember his surname) was excellent. In fact he was better than excellent. Extremely knowledgeable, helpful, very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for him. A real people person with a great sense of humour who looked like he really enjoyed everyone’s company. He is definitely an asset to your organization. Well done again for providing us with a great holiday. Will definitely be travelling with you again

Review by christine Killen on 27 June 2013

An excellent tour of two beautiful cities and Bohemia. Thought it very good value for money. Felt so well looked after by very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable guides and rep. Hotels all good, particularly the first two. Couldn’t have wanted more. Loved it all and we all enjoyed the Blue Duck restaurant in Prague on our final night. Already booked next year on one of your river cruises.

Review by Maureen Stokes on 6 July 2013

I recently returned from taking one of Riviera’s 8-day trips to Vienna and Prague, and would like to commend the tour guide, Neil Woodward, for his caring attitude and concern for the people on the tour.  He is an excellent guide in every way.  I certainly will be considering taking your trips in the future.

Review by Patricia Vanderwood on 14 August 2013

This was our first trip with Riviera and we were very impressed, well organised, good hotels and guide. We loved all the places we visited but Prague was the best.
We shall certainly use Riviera again.

Review by Jane Scott on 16 August 2013

I would agree with all the other reviews about this holiday. We also had Neil Woodward as our tour guide - he was excellent and looked after us all very well.  Nobody got lost which is quite an achievement on these holidays! There is plenty of time to visit different places in Prague whilst there and the river boat trip is very good value. We also enjoyed the meal in the Blue Duck (after we had dried ourselves out after a huge thunderstorm on our way there) and the staff there were very attentive. I can thoroughly recommend this holiday. It also makes you want to return for a longer visit to Vienna as there is so much to see there. This is our fourth Riviera holiday, so now looking out for our next trip.

Review by Ann Kendall on 1 November 2013

We just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our trip to Prague and Vienna, how well organised it was and how good Jean Marie our tour guide was. His input was really above and beyond the call of duty.
As this was our first trip with Riviera we had no idea what to expect, so we were more than pleasantly surprised.
Many thanks and especial thanks to Jean Marie

Review by Colin Harris and Felicity Taylor on 7 November 2013

Just back from the Prague, Vienna, Bohemia and the Danube Valley tour and we wanted to say a huge thank you to Matt our Tour Manager. He was amazing-patient, knowledgeable, helpful and great fun. He made the tour a success. The tour was great value and the hotels were better than we expected. One more day in Vienna would have been nice!

Review by Barry Dennis on 16 May 2014

A big thank you to Matt, our Tour Guide - he was amazing - very well organised and great fun.  A really good trip. 

Review by Evelyn Hood on 21 May 2014

We had a wonderful time and lots of different experiences.  We could have done with more time in Vienna.  Didn’t care much for Jury’s Inn in Prague - nothing like the quality of the other two excellent hotels -  and something more central and 4* would have been so much better. Our guide Katerina was excellent, so friendly, so well organised and she really looked after us all.  The city guides were superb, especially in Prague.  Our last evening meal at the Blue Duck was something extra special too.  We have travelled with Riviera several times and have never been disappointed but we would have been prepared to pay a little more just to get that extra day in Vienna….and maybe an extra day in Prague too.  Despite the awful weather, the Danube Valley was still so beautiful.  There’s just so much to see and do on this trip.

Review by Anne on 27 May 2014

This was our first time with Riviera. Six of us went as a group and all agree that the holiday was superb. The itinerary was very busy but well worthwhile. Hotels were good in well chosen locations. Food in the hotels, and in the chosen restaurants was very good. The coach driver was very good. The guide in Prague, Ivana, was very knowledgeable and did a great job. But the whole thing was brought together as a package by the brilliant tour manager, Katerina, who had it all so fantastically organised. Totally top class.

Review by Mrs Carol Garfield on 7 June 2014

Once more your tour has been a great success. Our 4 day break to Prague was wonderful. The flight was good and on time, the hotel was splendid so friendly with beautiful rooms and fabulous breakfasts. Our guide Ivana was brilliant and she looked after us so well. This has been our 5th trip with you and everyone has been great. We are looking at Bruges for next year. Thank you.

Review by MR A R BEST on 26 June 2014

As always with Riviera, an excellent tour, well planned in every detail.  An wonderful guide, Halina, fluent, knowledgeable, patient and good humoured always with her flock.     We had temperatures of 30-32o throughout which, for us older ones, made sightseeing quite tiring - perhaps some Riviera tours could be targeted at the less energetic customer - thus enabling Riviera fans to continue with you for years more !   We had an excellent driver - and a most congenial group of travellers.  Hard to pick out the high spots - but dinner at the Blue Duck was a memorable finale to the trip.  We’re saving up for our next Riviera tour.  You can’t be bettered.

Review by Dorothy PADDON on 4 August 2014

Would like to commend Halina for her vast knowledge and good humour throughout.   A very enjoyable tour, if somewhat tiring in the 30+ degrees sunshine (not in your control, obviously !)  Hotels comfortable, also restaurant on last evening memorable.   Pity there wasn`t apparently the equivalent of a one-day travel card to make it easier for tourists in Prague, as the time-limited ticket system seemed arcane.  Flight times in both directions turned out to involve late hours for arrival at hotel and at Stansted.  The latter was a nightmare! Nevertheless we saw much of interest in this attractive part of Europe and are tempted to go there again.

Review by Jill Sutcliffe on 5 August 2014

We had a most enjoyable holiday.  Chris, our tour guide was very very caring and helpful.  She made sure everybody was looked after and had an extensive knowledge of the places we visited.  Our first hotel, the Clarion Congress Hotel at Ceske Budejovice was very comfortable but had very unpredictable lifts.  We thoroughly enjoyed the visit to the Budweiser Budvar Brewery and were very impressed by the automation.  Melk Abbey was very beautiful and our guide was very capable.  The Lindner Hotel in Vienna was also very comfortable but there was a concern about security of bags in the breakfast room.  I feel something could have been put in place to address this.  We went to a very enjoyable concert and as musicians, we were impressed by the quality of the performers.  Nancy, our local guide gave us a very detailed and enjoyable account of many of the attractions.  We visited the Sisi Apartment Museum and found the first part very claustrophobic.  There were guided parties blocking the way through and with us having limited time, we found ourselves getting anxious.  The layout was better later on and we enjoyed the majority of the visit.
We had a most enjoyable visit to the Schonbrunn Palace with a very good audio guide and plenty of beautiful sights and scenery.   The vast crowds were well catered for.
Our last hotel, the Jurys Inn in Prague was comfortable.  The security was good, people having to swipe their cards to use the lift and access the stairs.  There was a noisy party of Irish men but they did not cause us undue concern.  The tour of Prague was most enjoyable and our local guide, Ivana, was very friendly and capable.  She took us on two tours and joined us on the evening cruise down the Vltava.  We were particularly pleased to be able to view the famous clock ‘perform’ from an upstairs cafe immediately opposite.  We had seen this clock before but had to mingle with the vast crowd below.  The visit to the castle and St. Vitus Cathedral was also very good.  We saw many things that we had not experienced on our previous visit.
We had a very friendly group of people with us who were a delight to be with and we were also pleased that nobody smoked!  Our coach driver, Yardie, was very skillful and although he had a limited command of English, was very friendly.  Fortunately, Chris was able to talk to him adequately.
We flew from and to Manchester Airport and decided to stay overnight at the Hilton Hotel both ways.  The flights were efficient and uneventful and we were processed efficiently at both airports.
We have many happy memories of this holiday and would like to thank Chris for her friendliness and care.  Our last holiday was with another company and it was obvious that the tour guide was getting ‘back-handers’ from everywhere!  This was certainly not the case this time and Chris acted with great integrity.  She is a credit to your company.  Thank you for a well organized and very enjoyable holiday.  We hope to book another holiday with you in future.

Review by Robert McMillan on 23 August 2014

We had a wonderful three days in Prague. The success of this is in large part due to the way Halina our guide was able to weave together up to date facts with the city’s vibrant history, for which she is to be complimented. As a result, we intend returning to this lovely city in the future.

Review by Dr Margaret Knight on 13 October 2014

We have just returned from a most enjoyable week in Prague and Vienna. Although the weather could have been better we enjoyed it all. Our tour guide Katerina was excellent, very well organised and a pleasure to travel with. The only things we would change would be an extra day in Vienna, at cost, and for entrance to Prague Castle to be included in the cost of the holiday, as we did not see much in the old town that was free of charge. But we would certainly recommend this holiday.

Review by Sandra Whittington on 29 May 2015

My wife and I have just returned from the above tour and would just like to say how much we enjoyed the experience, although only our second Riviera tour, after Berlin, Dresden and Colditz last year, both have surpassed our expectations.

We have to say that the Tour Manager, Neil Woodward was first class throughout, even down to producing a tooth repair kit when my wife lost a crown! That is consideration of the highest order.
Backing Neil up were the team of local tour guides in Vienna and Prague and Jan our coach driver who were all of the highest quality.

Review by John and Patricia Webb. on 3 June 2015

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.