[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was our 4th holiday with Riviera and as always this represented excellent value for money everything was taken care of, you have got nothing to worry about our tour manager Linda was superb she couldn't do enough for you, giving out her personal phone number and saying she was contactable 24hrs a day. The hotel Aminta, perched up on top of a hill with fantastic views of the bay of Naples and mount Vesuvius, superb! The organised trips left nothing untouched there was none of this having to que for a bus or taxi to take you around Capri, they were waiting for just us, the private boat trip around the island was also great. Our tour guide, Fabio was superb at Herculaneum, our tour guide Maria was waiting for us and took straight to the front of the que, the same with Pompeii and our guide Martina. Overall I can't recommend Riviera strongly enough, they are my first call when looking for a great holiday. I've never ever had anything to complain about, SUPERB VALUE!

Review by: Mr Adrian Fudge on 28/06/2019

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Having been with riviera before we new what to expect and were not disappointed. Jenny our rep did everything she could to make our trip enjoyable. All the trips we went on were meticulously well planned, even down to the lunch time restaurant stops! We stayed at the hotel La Badia which was exceptional for a 3 star, with views to die for, especially the terraced restaurant. We couldn't have had a better holiday!

Review by: Denise & Peter Waterhouse on 28/06/2019

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was my first time travelling with Riviera - and won't be my last. The trip is well balanced with sufficient time for leisure and tourist activities. The tour managers are well organised and work tirelessly to ensure that everyone is organised and enjoying their holiday. A special thanks has to go out to Ingrid - our tour manager - I'm not experienced at travelling and Ingrid took special care to take all the anxiety away. Riviera really do care that you enjoy your holiday, I can't wait for my next one!

Review by: Mel Tredgett on 14/06/2019

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Just got back from an 8 day tour of Pompeii etc. This was our second tour with Riviera and was well organised and highly recommended. Our tour manager Jenny was brilliant and her knowledge of the area and friendliness was first class. Our favorite visits were the Amalfi Coast and Capri but the other inclusive tours were also very good. Our stay in the Michelangelo Hotel was also very good with the Hotel being very central to everything going on in Sorrento. An excellent holiday and highly recommended.

Review by: Phil Smith on 21/06/2019

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We have recently returned from a fantastic holiday in Sorrento. The La Badia hotel was an excellent choice with very friendly and professional staff, nothing being too much trouble for them, spotlessly clean rooms with fresh towels daily, superb location and lovely food. Whilst it was a very busy holiday (which we were aware of prior to departure) the trips were well worth the early mornings especially the tour of the Amalfi coast. Our thanks to the excellent driver for maneuvering such difficult mountain roads! This holiday ticked all the boxes. It was my first tour with Riviera although I have been on their river Danube cruise. Both holidays were great and Riviera will be my first choice again without hesitation and I will always recommend your company to family and friends.

Review by: Margaret Ross on 10/05/2019

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

My sister and I got back last week from this tour and it was fantastic. Linda our tour guide was absolutely terrific, some clients needed more assistance and she went above and beyond to help them. She was very knowledgeable, made the trip a pleasure. Tours very well organised. I will say that most people on the tour are quite old, it is not for the young person.

Review by: Cathy Nelson on 17/05/2019

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This really was an exceptional holiday. The itinerary meant we had early mornings, but it was definitely worth getting up early to avoid the crowds.

We added on the optional Vesuvius day, the boat tour around Capri, and the local show. We wouldn't have missed any of them.

Our tour manager, Linda, was so lovely. She was well organised, very patient, and kind. She also shared her extensive knowledge of the area.

We met some really lovely people on our holiday, and I am sure having Linda as our tour manager helped our group to get on so well.

This was a very well organised holiday, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to those thinking of exploring this area.

Ann & Michael O'Sullivan

Review by: Ann O'Sullivan on 03/05/2019

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We have just returned from our trip to Sorrento where we stayed for the week while doing this tour.

The whole experience was effortless everything was organised to a fine art.

The trips we covered were outstanding, from Pompeii to Capri I would recommend Riviera Travel most highly to anybody.

The tour manager, Linda, I cannot praise highly enough she works tirelessly for her guests to make the experience unforgettable, which she successfully did with flying colours.

Review by: Mr Glover on 03/05/2019

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Just returned from fantastic trip to Sorrento and surrounding areas led by Diana, a very professional, friendly and informative tour guide. Packed a lot into our one week, Capri, pompei, herculaneum, vesuvius, naples and amalfi. Be prepared for 8 am departures from hotel to beat the crowds (much preferred). Hotel excellent with wonderful staff, food and stunning views. Beware of the traffic, particularly in Naples!

first time with Riviera, looking for next trip already! A brilliant guide makes the holiday in our opinion, very professional, including trip to and from the airport, where we were guided all the way thanks to Diana and staff, thankyou. We have never felt so at ease and in safe hands.

Review by: stephen Williams on 26/04/2019

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This trip was well organised and provided a great mix of historical sites with the stunning scenery of Sorrento and Amalfi. We stayed in the Grand Aminto, which provided a great base for the week, with it's own stunning views across the bay of Naples. As with all our Riviera trips to date, would recommend to anyone wanting to spend some time in this fantastic area. Linda, our guide for the week, was excellent.

Review by: Alan Holbrook on 12/04/2019

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We cannot fault Riviera Travel. From start to finish it was very professional. Our guide Diane was fabulous and herded her brood with humour and professionalism. The hotel Villa Maria was clean andstadd efficient and friendly. We look forward to our next trip. May I suggest that you include for a small fee, transportation to the summit for those who cannot climb. Thank you Riviera and Diane for a fabulous holiday.

Review by: Gillian Back on 02/11/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We have just returned from a trip to Sorrento visiting Pompeii, Capri and the beautiful Bay of Naples. We had been before some 30 years ago and wished to re-visit the famous sites again. We stayed at the Villa Maria, which is the most friendly Hotel on the edge of town. But the real 'treasure' was Jane our superb English guide. She is a wonderful 'leader' and really knows her subject. She was funny, informative, and did a most amazing job looking after 50 of us!! Yes, 50 of us in one place and on one coach! She made a huge difference to the enjoyment of our holiday. Well done Jane and long may you 'reign'.

Review by: mrs moody on 09/11/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We have just returned from the tour and I feel that I need to let you know, what a trip! The weather was wonderful. Both of us are very tired but also very happy that we went. The rep Jane was so good and very knowledgeable. It was a large group but she managed to make each person feel special. The Hotel Villa Maria was so clean and friendly. The food was also very good. The day to Capri was wonderful and the trip on the cable car was scenic right from the top. From Herculaneum to Pompeii it was full of information and history. Especially Vanessa, she was very good; It was a good price for what we saw. The driver on the Amalfi coast was without doubt a hero. This was our fourth holiday with Riviera and it is good value for money. All the hotels are positioned to all the sights. The reps are the best and once again, thank you to Jane, anyone would be pleased to have her as their Rep. The group of people on the trip were also more together at the end with the Hotel giving a Gala night on the last night. Can we both say that a late holiday without the crowds was terrific, it would be nice if they extended in to December as they were getting prepared for the festive season

Thank you to Riviera for a wonderful late holiday.

Mary & George Ferguson

Review by: Mary Ferguson on 09/11/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Having just returned from this trip I wanted to congratulate all concerned in making this a great holiday...from the hotel staff, the drivers and local guides, but especially our tour manager Jane.

Professional at all times but with a sense of humour and knowledge; Jane helped make this a trip to remember for all the right reasons.

Review by: Irene Clarke on 09/11/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We had a wonderful itinerary around Sorrento; Capri; Naples. Visiting Pompeii; Herculaneum; the Amalfi coast. We were organised and had any questions answered by Diane, the Riviera Representative.

It was excellent how much we saw!

Review by: Nicholas Costaras on 02/11/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Very well organised holiday from start to finish. We chose not to go on all the tours but the ones we went on were professional and entertaining. We could not fault the Cesare Augusto Hotel for service, cleanliness and location.

Review by: Morag Dewfall on 05/10/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was first holiday with Riviera Travel . Everything was pre-arranged by Riviera , including arranging boarding passes. We were well met at Naples Airport and escorted to our hotel in the centre of Sorrento. The hotel Cesare Augusta was extremely clean and the staff were very professional but friendly at the same time. The room was very good , except for the lack of tea making facilities but this was easily replaced with our own wine. The balcony and roof top terrace were welcome for relaxing after lots of sight seeing. All our tours were well organised and were always on time. A very big thank you must go to our tour rep JANE who was very knowlegeable about the whole area and had more than a good humour which helped during the coach travelling. Pompeii , Capri , Herculaneum , Amalfi Coast tours were all exceptional as was the optional tour up to Vesuvius and a local vineyard visit. All in all we would not hesitate to recommend this holiday to anyone. In fact we are already studying the Riviera brochure for next year.

Review by: Lyn and Keith Holsworth on 21/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was our third holiday with Riviera and once again it did not disappoint us. The tour rep Jenny was always very helpful and informative which added to the enjoyment of our holiday. She seems to enjoy her role and always kept us up to date with information. All the visits during the week were enjoyable the only negative being the visit to a vineyard after our ascent of Mount Vesuvius. We felt very rushed as though the staff were keen to get each group through in the minimum time. We were amazed by the skill of the coach drivers as they negotiated the mountain roads.Our thanks to everyone who made this an enjoyable holiday.

Review by: Malcolm Milwain on 28/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was the first time that we had travelled with Riveria and will certainly will not be the last. The holiday did not get off to the best of starts with a 4 hour delay on the out bound flight (not Riverias fault) arriving at the hotel at 11.00pm. The restaurant however had remained open an served us with a welcome meal. We had chosen the Villa Maria hotel for its central location and we were not disappointed. The meals were very good with a reasonable choice of food topped of with a lovely gala evening meal on the last night. All the restaurant and bar staff were very friendly. The room was kept spotless and the towels changed every day. We had chosen Riveria because we wanted the trips organised for us and the services of a tour manager. Our tour manager. Jenny, was excellent and very knowledgeable not only with tour information but information on Italy in general. We did all the included tours plus the boat trip round Capri and the Musical evening. The only disappointment was the Musical evening which was not to our taste and was a bit misleading when sold. The tours were organised very well and the tour guides were very knowledgeable. Herculaneum. Capri and the Amalfi Coast were super and the guides excellent. The early starts were well worth it as we were at most places before the crowds grew. The trip to Pompeii was a little disappointing. The guide seemed to be giving a lecture tour and often members of the group were left behind. I would have preferred more time in Pompeii as there were quite a few areas we did not visit and less time in the museum in Naples .This is my only minor complaint but it will not stop me using Riveria Travel again.

Review by: Allan on 21/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was our first holiday with Riviera Travel, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We chose our hotel - la Badia - based on the description in the brochure, and it was just as described. Our room opened out onto a terrace under the olive trees with views over Sorrento to Vesuvius. Hotel staff were friendly, and dealt perfectly with a gluten- free diet. The Riviera rep and the guide to Herculaneum and Pompeii were both excellent. We set off early each morning, at 07:30, to beat the traffic and the crowds, and were usually among the first to arrive at our destination. The trips didn't run in the order as advertised, but they were all well-organised, and enjoyable. And the sun shone! All in all, a lovely holiday.

Review by: Peter Dixon on 28/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was the first time that we have used Riveria Travel but will certainly not be the last. The holiday did not get off to the best of starts with a 4 hour delay on the outward flight but this was not Rivera's fault and even though we did not get to the hotel until gone 11.00pm the hotel restaurant had remained open and served a nice cold meal. We had chosen the Villa Maria Hotel for its central location and were very pleased with the hotel and the service, the breakfasts were good and the evening meals were good with a reasonable choice. A nice touch was the gala meal on the last evening. All the staff in the restaurant and bars were very friendly and the rooms were kept spotless and the towels changed every day, we had chosen Riveria because we wanted the included trips and tour manager. Our tor manager ,Jenny, was excellent with a great knowledge not only of the tours but Italy in general. We did all the included tours plus a couple of extra ones, the Musical Evening and the boat tour round Capri.

Review by: Allan on 21/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was our first holiday with Riviera Travel, and a first escorted tour, arriving in Naples airport was chaotic and very hot for September. The transfer to our hotel in Sorrento was peppered with good information about the area as well as the tour itself. If you think you are going to have a late morning breakfast, think again. We had a wonderful lady tour manager named Jane, what a gem she was, had every thing well organised and nothing was to much trouble, she made a great trip into a brilliant one.All the day excursions were well planned and just mind blowing, a really great holiday, thank Rivire Travel and a bigger thank you to Jane.

Review by: Keith Plummer on 14/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We have just returned from the above tour and what a wonderful holiday. We stayed at the Villa Maria which is just slightly out of Sorrento but still within easy walking distance of the town.

Everything worked like clockwork. All the tours were extremely interesting, made more so by the detailed knowledge of all of our excellent guides. The optional extras added to the enjoyment, from the sense of achievement conquering Versuvius, the beauty of boat trip round Capri to the fun of the musical evening!

Our greatest of thanks must go to our Tour Manager, Diana. Her good humour, her knowledge both locally and of the Italian way of life with accompanying amusing anecdotes and her organisation was next to none. Thank you, Diana, for everything.

Next time we wish to take a similar holiday, Riviera will certainly be considered.

Review by: Marlene and Philip on 21/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We have just returned from the above tour and what a wonderful holiday. We stayed at the Villa Maria which is just slightly out of Sorrento but still within easy walking distance of the town.

Everything worked like clockwork. All the tours were extremely interesting, made more so by the detailed knowledge of all of our excellent guides. The optional extras added to the enjoyment, from the sense of achievement conquering Versuvius, the beauty of boat trip round Capri to the fun of the musical evening!

Our greatest of thanks must go to our Tour Manager, Diana. Her good humour, her knowledge both locally and of the Italian way of life with accompanying amusing anecdotes and her organisation was next to none. Thank you, Diana, for everything.

Next time we wish to take a similar holiday, Riviera will certainly be considered.

Review by: Marlene and Philip on 21/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We've just returned from a week based in Sorrrento. Our tour manager said, 'It's not a holiday, it's a tour'! She was right - lots of early mornings, and long days, but what days! It was the most amazing experience - all the excursions were fabulous, and Diana was a brilliant tour manager. Her local knowledge was fascinating - and we learned so much about Italian culture and society, as well as visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius. The Amalfi drive was superb, as was the driving of all the local coach drivers - some real challenges there. An unforgettable week.

Review by: Liz Loveridge on 21/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Busy agenda with an excellent courier, Jenny, competent drivers and site guides. La Vue D'Or hotel was pleasant with efficient friendly staff. Personally I was somewhat unsatisfied with the meals and not up to 4 star quality. Our room was well maintained and clean with a good daily service. The balcony view was worth it. the facilities were good..

On the whole an enjoyable, interesting trip with visits to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Amalfi Coast, Capri and Vesuvius (made the summit which was a strenuous walk at my age)

Review by: Stuart Walsh on 14/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was our second holiday with Riviera and again we had a wonderful time. The hotel vue d'or was an ideal choice for us, away from the crowds in Sorrento itself and with magical views of the surrounding mountains, the bay and Vesuvius itself. The tour manager, Jenny, was excellent, so knowledgeable and enthusiastic and so well organised. Our local guide at Herculanium and at Pompeii, Melania was also excellent. We chose not to do the optional excursion to Vesuvius in order to create a free day when we walked the coastal path to the next town of Massa Lubrense. Riviera pack an awful lot into their holidays - we've been very impressed with both our trips and will certainly be looking to book a third!

Review by: Chris & Cath on 14/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We have looked forward to this trip for years. Our hopes and expectations were exceeded. The administration and organination was exceptional both before and during the holiday. Our local tour manager, Jenny, was ideal. It was a busy week, but local knowledge paid dividends. The choice of airports and hotels met our needs. Overall, this was very good value for money, and we would have no hesitation in recommending the holiday.

Review by: David & Janet Simmonds on 14/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

The organisation by Riviera Travel was impeccable and ensured that we saw all of the principal sights. Our Tour Manager, Jenni was so knowledgeable about the history of all the places we visited. She also made sure that we were completely aware of the timetable for each day and pickup times and places. My personal favourite was the boat trip around the island of Capri. An extra, but very much worth it!

However, I must also mention Melania. Her love of history and her passion for Pompei and Herculaneum was amazing and never boring!

We stayed at the Europa Palace Hotel which was beautiful and in the heart of Sorrento with views across the sea directly opposite Vesuvius. Lovely terrace for evening drinks and lovely food. A very good value holiday that I would thoroughly recommend. Thanks to Riviera for this wonderful holiday.

Review by: Marrianne Van-Enst on 14/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Just returned from a very enjoyable trip to Pompeii, Capri and the Bay of Naples. The trip exceeded our expectations. The hotel Europa Palace was lovely, situated centrally in Sorrento for easy access to the streets, bars and restaurants, and with wonderful views over the bay.

Our tour guide Jenny was brilliant. Her organisational skills helped to make each day run smoothly, and her knowledge of the area and snap shots of life in Italy, having been living there for many years was very informative. The excursions were great, and we particluarly enjoyed the private boat trip along the Amalfi coast.

Well done Riviera.

Review by: Jane and Paul Gilbert on 14/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was a wonderful 7 days. The hotel Vue D'Or perched high on the hills above Sorrento was an excellent base away from the crowds down in town with lovely views and with a free shuttle bus to make access to the town easy. Our tour manager Jenny was very well organised and always on hand to answer any queries and give advice about the area. The excursions were very enjoyable and the optional organised tour of Capri saved a lot of stress as the place was absolutely teeming with visitors. Herculaneum and Pompeii were fascinating, help by our very knowledgeable and enthusiastic local guide Melania. The drive around the Amalfi coast was an unforgettable experience.

This was our second trip with Riviera - they pack an awful lot into their holidays and we'll certainly look to use them again.

Review by: Sorrento and Around on 14/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Just returned from a fantastic holiday we stayed at the Hotel Aminta hotel was excellent and our tour manager what do I say Jenny was brilliant she made our holiday all the excursions were very good and the specialist guides were authorities on their subjects.

Well impressed and would use Riviara again.

Review by: Jean and Graham Boskett on 07/09/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was our fourth Riviera Travel escorted tour and, once again, we had a delightful experience. The only disappointment was Capri (horrendously commercial). However, the boat ride around the island was spectacular and offset this drawback considerably.

All the other tours were excellent. The two that stood out the most were the optional walking excursion up Vesuvius followed by the rustic lunch at the organic vineyard. The drive along the Amalfi coast was breathtaking with dramatic coastal views of the Med. and the mountainous drive back to Sorrento gave another perspective of this beautiful part of Italy.

All our drivers were wonderful, our tour manager Jane was excellent with a good sense of humour and good local knowledge.

Our hotel the Aminta, had lovely views, facilities and services.

Well done Riviera!

Review by: Adrian Arnold-Smith on 31/08/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was our first holiday full stop, and what a great holiday we had, the hotel Aminta was lovely with great views ( wish we were back there) great food and very friendly helpful staff, the holiday gave us more than we expected, Jenny our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative, she took great care in making sure everyone had a great time, Jenny was very approachable and polite. As the week went Jenny felt more like a friend than a tour guide. We are very pleased we picked Riveria Travel for our first holiday and will certainly be using them again. I'm hard to please but could'nt find a fault on any part of our holiday.

Review by: Leslie & Angela Armstrong on 24/08/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Have the pleasure of booking and accompanying groups on trips with Riviera. We have done this trip several times and it never fails to be exhilarating, interesting and enjoyable. I work with Riviera because I feel they offer excellent value for money, organisation and don't cut corners; and it proved to be the case once again. Yes, you leave early on a few excursions, but absolutely worth it to beat the crowds/cruisers and at least start in pleasant temperatures. You're also back at a reasonable time to have a siesta by the pool. Yes, it is a busy itinerary but what you see in a relatively short time is astonishing and all worthwhile, there is always a quid pro quo! We stayed at the Villa Maria as before, lovely hotel, rooftop bar/pool, excellent food and a nice easy 10min flat walk into central Sorrento. Love Sorrento!. Fantastic joyous family mediterranean atmosphere and great bars/shops, especially down 'the drains' (don't miss The Foreigners ' Club)! Diana was our tour manager and she was excellent; very knowledgeable/experienced/organised, and also entertaining. The options are ABSOLUTELY worthwhile, yes they are an extra cost but it does allow people to opt out if they want a more leisurely pace. And yes, when you're on an organised tour you do give up some personal freedom but what you get back is vastly greater in terms of what you see and experience. Amalfi, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Capri, Naples, Sorrento, Vesuvius, all amazing. Can't wait to go back again!

Review by: GERRY JOHNSON on 22/06/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

The first time we have travelled with Riviera Travel and what a fabulous, well-organised holiday it was. Yes we were up and about every day (through choice and we went with the additional excursion to Versuvius!!) Such a brilliant holiday, staying at the fabulous Hotel Mediterraneo which was a good 25 min walk into central Sorrento but there was a free shuttle you could use. So worth staying here though as amazing views from their rooftop bar and also the restaurant where we ate a lovely breakfast overlooking the sea/Versuvius each morning! Last, but not at all least was our super-organised /knowledgable rep Linda who made our holiday complete, even suggesting/organising a "restaurant in the hills night-out" with free pickup/drop-off. Nothing was too much trouble, and as we were the only Riviera guests staying at this hotel ensured we were always collected and dropped off at the promised times. Definitely worth the money, am already recommending to others.......and checking out where to go next!!

Review by: JACKIE on 29/06/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

My wife and I have recently returned from our second holiday with Riviera Travel, which is outlined above.

Once again, we thoroughly enjoyed an extremely well organised tour. We are both elderly pensioners and I suffer from Parkinson’s. Fortunately, although I experience certain difficulties, I can manage reasonably well.

The reason I am writing is to mention the excellent service provided by our Tour Guide, ‘Linda’. In addition to amply fulfilling the demands of her role as guide, Linda offered me every assistance when she thought it might be required and my wife and I both considered that if anything untoward happened, Linda would be fully capable of dealing with the situation. She was a tremendously re-assuring presence, which added considerably to the satisfaction we gained from our holiday .

Review by: Geoffrey Meeks on 11/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Riviera Travel -Pompeii,Capri,Bay of Naples.You need the eloquence of Cicero to describe this incredible tour.Superlatives abound particularly for the knowledge and enthusiasm of the riviera staff in our case Linda. Rhoddy & Jan from Glasgow . More tours from Glasgow please.

Review by: Rhoddy Malcolm on 08/06/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We have just returned from the above holiday and would just like to say how much we both enjoyed it. The hotel, Cesare Augusto, was fantastic and the staff could not have been more helpful and it was ideally situated to enable us to walk down to the main square in the evening. We had a lovely large room with balcony on the top floor and the snack bar on the top floor was well worth a visit, both for the food and the views.

Our guide, Jenny, was brilliant and could not have done more to make our holiday enjoyable. She had fantastic knowledge of the area and the Italian way of life.

We would certainly travel with Riviera Travel again and look forward to our next holiday with you.

Review by: John and Margaret Walters on 27/04/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Amazing so well organised our tour rep Jenny very courteous & very friendly local tour guides very good hotel Aminta very comfortable & meals very filling & overall very good although wine bought with dinner very expensive but overall outstanding value for money would love to go with riviera travel again.

Review by: Mrs Julie Bourne on 08/06/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was the first time with Riviera Travel and we would recommend them to all.The tour manager Linda was so interesting and knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The trips went like clockwork and the guides were so clear and really knew their jobs.Our Hotel was perfect. We will certainly go with you again,10/10.

Review by: Margaret and Robert Taylor on 08/06/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We have just returned from a brilliant holiday in Sorrento, everything about our trip was excellant (except the long journey from airport to hotel due to heavy Friday night traffic) Our guide Jenny was wonderful and very knowledgeable.

Review by: Jill Charlesworth on 01/06/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

I would like to thank our guide Sarah who made our holiday amazing. She was so helpful and knowledgeable. We will definitely be booking with Riviera again. The holiday was all we expected and more. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were great. The drivers and the coaches and our fellow travellers all added to the wonderful scenery made for a brilliant holiday. Thank you Riviera.

Review by: Lorraine Smales on 25/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Just returned from a fantastic trip - first time myself and my husband have taken an escorted tour. We were lucky enough to be looked after by Linda - she was amazing and very knowledgeable of the area and the sites we were visiting - nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this trip as such a beautiful part of the world and Rivera are a highly professional company to go with!

Review by: Vanessa barfoot on 25/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

I used to work for a Travel Company, so I was amazed by all that Riviera promised for this tour. I was concerned that perhaps it maybe too good to be true. However, this holiday far exceeded my expectations and the Tour Manager was the perfect person being English and able to explain and describe lots of interesting things, but had also lived in the area for long enough to be treated like one of the locals who could translate everything and deal with complex problems. My only advice though is that if you are under 50, you may want wait a few years, save up lots of money and have an even more perfect holiday with Riviera when you are ready!

Review by: Peter Comaish on 18/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Wonderful holiday, having never travelled with Riviera or been on an organised tour we had no idea what to expect. We stayed in Villa Maria, which is ideally situated for exploring Sorrento. Friendly staff, good food, comfortable room with small balcony. We loved all the tours and the optional trip to Vesuvius and the winery. The weather was awful for the Vesuvius trip, but we made it to the top of Vesuvius, where Mother Nature was kind enough to stop thee rain and part the clouds for a few minutes allowing us to take in the breath taking views from the top. Our tour guide was Sarah, who was just perfect for the job - friendly, informative, helpful with any queries and her knowledge an passion for the area was spot on. We had so much fun, met some wonderful people and have memories to cherish.

Review by: Emma on 11/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

I have just returned from this wonderful tour which was so well organised. We stayed at the Hotel Cesare Augustus which could not be faulted. The staff were all so polite and attentive and the prices of drinks etc very reasonable. Our guide Jenny was brilliant and so knowledgeable about the area as well as being very patient and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed all the trips we made - Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast, Capri and Herculaneum and the individual guides on each were so proud and informative about their country and environment. The scenery was stunning and I am full of admiration for the coach drivers who manoeuvred the coaches so skilfully on the narrow, mountainous roads. We were up and out early each morning and it really paid off as we avoided the busiest and most crowded times. The boat trip around Capri was an optional extra I would heartily recommend.

Review by: Sue McKee on 18/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Just returned from the most amazing holiday. We stayed at La Badia, what a wonderful, quirky place! The staff were amazing and lovely food and location. We had the most amazing tour guide, Ingrid, who was local and very knowledgeable and helpful. Word of warning...it comprises of early starts to get to the destinations before the crowds but well worth it. Our first holiday with Riviera and it won't be our last.

Review by: Denise Davies on 18/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

My friend and I booked this tour as our special birthday treat. We chose the Hotel Caesar Augustus in Sorrento for its location, we were not disappointed. The hotel was superb, as were all the staff the food and our room, there was not one thing that we could complain about. We had Linda as our tour manager and she was fantastic, her knowledge, friendliness and energy really made our holiday, we will never forget her or the great crowd we had on our trip. The weather on our trip to Capri in the morning was disappointing but didn't spoil the boat trip around the Island. That is certainly worth paying extra for. We also opted for the trip to Vesuvius and lunch at the vineyard with wine tasting. Again well worth paying for and a great experience. What more can I say, fantastic trip, thank you Riviera and most especially thank you Linda!

Review by: Jacqueline Ward & Deborah Anderson on 04/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Hotel Aminta in Sorrento was an excellent base in an ideal location with stunning views. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good. The tour manager, Jane, was a diamond making the various excursions as smooth as possible. She kept us all well informed and handled the various needs of the holiday makers superbly. It must be difficult to ensure all eventualities are covered but everything went without a hitch; for this Jane deserves a huge amount of credit. We had 3 very good guides for Herculaneum, Capri and Pompei/Naples museum and the coach drivers were extremely good. All of this made our holiday really enjoyable - thank you.

Review by: Julian Lane on 11/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Wonderful holiday, Riviera fully lived up to expectations. We stayed in Villa Maria, which is ideally situated for exploring Sorrento. Delightful friendly staff, good food, comfortable room with small balcony. We loved all the tours, but especially the day to Capri, and the trip to Vesuvius and the winery/farm (most delicious food there!). Our tour guide was Jenny - really excellent, informative, helpful with any queries. The Amalfi drive was spectacular - but we really recommend you do not drive yourself.

All in all, a lovely holiday, and very good value with Riviera.

Review by: Lorna Taylor on 04/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was our second trip, with Riviera Travel. Yet again we found everything very well organised, making for a stress free and very enjoyable holiday. We stayed at the Hotel Caesar Augusta which was just a short stroll from the centre, very clean room, meals excellent and staff very helpful - we were very pleased with our choice. The Star of the week was Linda our tour guide - what a Gem! Nothing was too much trouble, we’ll organised, always patient and pleasant and very knowledgeable about the area . We are looking forward to another Rivera holiday soon!

Review by: Helen Macdonald on 04/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

A great holiday . Sorrento is beautiful and picturesque. The weather was warm and mainly sunny intervals,with the exception of the day we went to Capri, which poured for half of the day. Our hotel had great views over the bay of Naples, and was lovely- clean and comfortable, with very good food, and provided a courtesy bus to and from the town . We were a little unsure about sharing the dinner table with another couple,however, luckily they were really nice and friendly, as were the other people in our tour group- who we all got to know . We added on the Vesuvius trip which was optional and at extra cost. We really enjoyed this trip but it is very hard work climbing the zig zag slopes to the top. I would suggest that unless you are prepared to do the climb, it is not worth going. Our tour guide Sarah was excellent. Very friendly, helpful and entertaining, as well as being very informative, as were the guides we had at Herculaneum andPompeii. This holiday is full on, with only a couple of free afternoons and the free day we chose to add the Vesuvius trip to but this is expected on a tour holiday, which takes the hassle out of planning your trips ,transport and meals. The last trip, a relaxing tour around the coast, with breathtaking views and stops at Amalfi and Ravello was a great way to end the holiday.

Review by: Bolland on 04/05/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This is our first holiday with Riviera Travel. I must say it was a great experience.

The itinerary was excellent, well paced, with sufficient time left to individually explore the different locations. The hotel Villa Maria was lovely and its location meant that we were able to explore Sorrento easily.

The quality of all the staff was outstanding.

The professionalism and knowledge of the guides was very good. Our tour manager, Diana, was brilliant. She worked very hard to ensure that all her guests were happy with the daily activities. She is a very funny lady who gave us a great insight into daily Italian life, delivered with humour and great anecdotal stories.

Thank you Riviera for organizing such a great holiday.

Review by: Roger Foster on 20/04/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

just come back from my 8th Riviera holiday, and it was as good as ever. Great organisation as usual, lovely hotel with a view of Mt Vesuvius, and nice people. Sarah our tour manager was a gem; efficient, humorous and friendly, a fund of knowledge about Italy, and incredibly helpful. Our itinerary was superb, the trip up Mount Vesuvius was incredible. The local guides too were excellent. Well done again Riviera, thinking of Sicily next. Many thanks.

Review by: marita jones on 17/04/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Enjoyed a fantastic week in Sorrento under the excellent guidance of Rep, Jenny. Her local knowledge was exceptional and her calm approach was reassuring. We were pleased that we chose a hotel in the middle of town and did not have to use any hotel courtesy buses. The holiday trips and events were organised well and the week was seamless. The trips were entertaining and educational and on time. I would recommend this holiday to anyone and plan to return for another holiday asap.

Review by: Susan Hall on 06/04/2018

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

THE WHOLE TRIP WAS EXCELLENT HOTEL SERVICES WELL OGANISED TRIPS AND EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE FROM DIANA OUR GUIDE

Review by: Mr&Mrs Davey on 03/11/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Absolutely fabulous! We stayed at The Hotel Aminta which was lovely. Rooms,food and facilities all first class. Only downside was the position high up in the hills. Courtesy bus took you down into town but nowhere to have a stroll after dinner. All trips with Riviera were so well planned - they knew the best places to stop off and exactly how much time to spend there. Can't fault it. Have already booked for July 2018.

Review by: Tracey Hayward on 08/07/2016

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

I have to congratulate Riviera for an excellent trip, somewhat demanding, as we went for all the optional offers, but enabling us to get the maximum out of our amazing holiday. Our tour manager, Sarah, was superb: knowledgeable, helpful, cheerful and extremely well organised. Everything went to plan and Sarah's immersion in the culture of the area enabled her to give not only insightful commentaries on the places of interest we visited, but a wealth of information about life in Italy, ranging from culinary issues to the education system, to the health service.

Our hotel, the Aminta, provided comfort and, overall, good food, with pleasant staff and in a setting which could only be described as stunning. We'd certainly consider another Riviera tour. Thank you.

Review by: David Anderson on 13/10/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

First guided tour ever and we were apprehensive. No need. Riviera took care of everything, including rescheduling flights, as a result of the sad demise of Monarch (without us having to ring them to check the situation). We stayed at La Badia. Brilliant views, lovely staff and lots of home-cooked food. We were very well looked after by Ingrid, our Riviera representative, who anticipated our needs and catered for them making it a stress free holiday. Made friends with fellow travellers - added bonus - and would book with Riviera again, primarily on the basis of the expertise of the local staff (assuming they will be as good as Ingrid).

Review by: Erich & Marilyn Hofmann on 20/10/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Your tour manager Diana was first class in every way. The Hotel La Badia was delightful, excellent food and friendly and helpful service. We enjoyed all the tours, especially Capri and Amalfi. We were particularly impressed by the guide at Herculaneum, Luciano. All the coach drivers are amazing.

Review by: Tony and Tessa Norgate on 13/10/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

When we realised we were booked with Monarch a slight panic set in. Riviera however did wonders, booked us new flights and kept us fully informed. Although we arrived rather late we were welcomed and a cold platter was there for us in our room! Well Bernie, our escort, was a treasure. All the trips were great especially the extra tour to Vesuvius, but Bernie made the week magical. She knew the area, related history without notes (!), gave us anecdotal info on the places we visited, pointed out local happenings on the way! A well rounded holiday. Give her a raise Riviera!! And thank you!

Review by: Bev Robertson on 06/10/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

An excellent holiday. We stayed at the Villa Maria which made it easy to stroll out in Sorrento in the evenings, which felt safe with lovely bars and shops open until 11pm. The planned programme gave us plenty to do but also free time so the balance was just right. The early starts in the mornings meant we were at the main sites before the crowds. The icing on the cake was our tour guide Jenny. She was informative, helpful, friendly and endlessly patient with us all. Out first trip with Riviera, or indeed any package, but not our last.

Review by: Helen Macfarlane on 22/09/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday! Jenny, our guide for the week was excellent: she has lived in Sorrento for many years and knows the area well. Our hotel, La Vue D'Or, was very good: beautiful views of the sunrise over the mountains behind Sorrento and down into the town. We took all the optional excursions which were really good value for money and we learnt a lot about Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius. Our one quibble is that the guide to Pompeii and the museum in Naples, Michael, liked the sound of his own voice rather too much! We would like to have been shown the treasures from Herculaneum located on the second floor rather than spend so much time on the statues of Roman Emperors etc on the ground floor. Some of us found them by accident, others did not. We were very fortunate with the weather which was sunny and warm all week. We will definitely look to book with Riviera again next year.

Review by: Helen Turner on 22/09/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We had an excellent week with lots of interest and variety.The day trip to Capri was especially good.The guide at both Herculaneum and Pompeii was excellent.Our tour manager Diana had a great enthusiasm for Italy which shone through and was very informative plus a no nonsense approach which we thought was great.We thought the pace was fine for us.

Overall we would give this tour 9 out of 10.

Review by: Mick and Julie on 29/09/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We, thoroughly, enjoyed our holiday with Riviera.

Our tour guide, Jenny, was excellent, our hotel Vue D'or was superb - friendly staff who went out of their way to ensure their guests were happy.

The itinerary, though hectic, was well coordinated and varied. Jenny was a mine of information and the Italian guides for Pompeii and Herculaneum were very competent.

We look forward to our next holiday with Riviera

Review by: David & Anne Crosby on 22/09/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was my first experience of a guided tour - and I was very favourably impressed. I must particularly mention our tour guide Jenny - charming, efficient, calm, fun, knowledgeable - she made a huge contribution to a wonderful holiday. All the arrangements went smoothly. Our hotel, Villa Maria chosen for its central location, was excellent (apart from the coffee!). Well done Riviera Travel - from a very satisfied customer!

Review by: Thelma Holland on 22/09/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

First of all wanted to say what a fantastic trip, our third with Riviera. The trips were very well organised and our tour manager Jenny gave us all first class service, both in local knowledge and care for the people in her charge, nothing was too much trouble. Very well done.

We stayed at the villa Maria which is well placed for walking into town, the staff were very courteous and helpful. It would have been nice to have tea making facilities in our room.

Our only comment would be that on the trip to Pompeii, it was too much having the visit to the museum in Naples. It would have been better if we had the choice of the museum or going for a couple of hours in Naples then meeting up with those who wanted to go to the Museum.

Thank you once again for a fantastic tour, we look forward to travelling with you again in the near future.

Review by: Janet and Richard Durrant on 22/09/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was our fourth trip with Riviera and like the previous holidays was really excellent. Well organised and interesting excursions included and overseen by the best tour manager in Sarah that we could possibly have had. Sarah was full of interesting facts and information and was so friendly and approachable which was one of the highlights of our holiday.

The Hotel La Badia lived up to all previous reviews and we found it to be superbly positioned with breathtaking views in peaceful surroundings and extremely well run which we found to be a home away from home.

Review by: Andrea & Brian Draper on 15/09/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Just returned from Italy. Hotel Grand Cesare Augusto, fab location, very comfortable and friendly. Staff very helpful, especially Diana our tour manager who was also very knowledgable.

Review by: Robert Forkgen on 08/09/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Returned a week ago from Sorrento at Hotel Villa Maria. Your Rep, Jane, was exceptionally good. No, she was exceptional. Wonderful lady. Bravo !

Review by: Chris and Christine Park on 25/08/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Just wanted to say (if rather belatedly) how much we enjoyed our trip to Pompeii, Capri and the Bay of Naples. Everything was very well organised as we have come to expect from Riviera Travel and the view from our excellent hotel Aminta looking out on to the Bay of Naples was truly stunning. The icing on the cake was our guide Adrian - simply wonderful in every way! Thank you. Hilary & Joyce.

Review by: Hilary Anderson & Joyce Needham on 26/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We had a wonderful time on our recent holiday with Riviera Travel in the Sorrento Area of the bay of Naples.

We were most pleasantly surprised with the Villa Maria hotel which had mixed reviews on line. In the event the standard of the service, rooms and Staff all added to our enjoyment of Sorrento.

A most special mention must go to the Riviera Rep. Jane whose skills and dedication regarding the organisation of the excursions ensured that the tours went without a hitch.

Mention must also be given to the local guides on our visit to the excavation sites of Herculaneum and Pompeii - Vanessa (Pompeii) and Antonio (Herculaneum) both of whom gave a knowledgeable and interesting commentary to accompany the tour.

Whist we shall not be repeating this trip we shall certainly be looking forward to a further tour with Riviera in the Spring.

John & Angela Dinley

Review by: John & Angela Dinley on 25/08/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

Just returned from a fantastic Riviera tour based in Sorrento. From the Airport to the Hotel and returning home the whole experience was first class and I have to say this was simply because of the Riviera staff ensuring everything was in place. A special thanks to the tour manager, Sarah, a very nice lady always with a smile on her face.We will without doubt be travelling with Riviera again.

Review by: Michael and Kay O'Connor on 25/08/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We have just returned from 7 days touring Sorrento, Amalfi, Capri, Pompei and Herculaneum and felt compelled to write to let you know what a fantastic trip we had.

Your Tour Manager, Jennie, excelled on all fronts ! Her knowledge of Sorrento itself was second to none, and she also gave fascinating insights into life living in the Town of Sorrento - from the education system, to national health and even Pensions.

Jennie made each and every day special, and connected with everyone in the Group on different levels.

For us personally, she went above and beyond in trying to assist us with retrieving some lost Duty Free, which I unfortunately left on the flight out from Manchester to Naples. Jennie made numerous phone calls, and even came with me to the lost and found in Naples airport. Fortunately, for me, the Duty Free had actually been handed in at Manchester airport so I did manage to retrieve it.

We should be grateful if you would pass on our comments, and we speak for everyone in our Group, when we say Jennie made our time in Sorrento a holiday to remember.... for all the right reasons.

This was our taster of Riveria and make no mistake, we will be booking with you again. La Badia Hotel lived up to, and actually exceeded, the description in your Brochure and we are so glad we chose to stay there, nestling in the hills above Sorrento. The food, the service, the room and all round ambience was perfect.

Review by: Marjory and Tony Harrison on 23/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

My friend and I have just returned from a trip to Sorrento. It is the first time we have travelled with you and I have to say that it will not be the last! We had a marvellous trip, the hotel La Badia was delightful and I can’t understand why it is only a 3* as the accommodation, staff and food were just first class. My friend has a dairy allergy and from the first nights arrival this was catered for without any fuss and she had the most delightful food all week. Our local guide was Jenny and she was kind and informative and just delightful. The local guides were outstanding in Pompeii and Herculaneum and our trip to Capri was very memorable. The restaurants found for our lunch breaks were all in such lovely spots and the food was good too. I just had to let you know how good the trip was as I know it is easy to complain but praise is just as important. The only suggestion I would make is that the size of the groups going around Pompeii etc are reduced in size to about 15-20 as the people at the back were getting the information on their earphones but couldn’t see what the guide was talking about until they were able to reach her! Just a little suggestion to make it even better.

I am going on the Seville, Cordoba, Granada trip in October and can’t wait!

Review by: Jenny Johnson on 02/07/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

We are about to leave Sorrento having spent a throughly enjoyable week on your tour which includes Pompeii and Herculaneum.

We really appreciated the hotel - La Badia and were very appreciative of the care and the information given us by our tour guide Jenny.

We would have no hesitation in recommending your company and will definitely consider travelling with you again.

Review by: Julia and John Bonner on 23/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

I just wanted to say a big thank you for our recent trip to Sorrento. We had never used Riviera before - to be honest we came across you by chance - but having now used you once I feel certain we will be back. The value for money, so much included, the great quality hotels you use - it was so good to return to La Vue D'Or at the end of each day up in the hills and reflect on the day while looking over the Bay of Naples - such quality excursions with a great tour manager (Jane) and driver (Giovani) leading the way. Giovani's driving was so good, and Jane with her great local knowledge and lovely humour and wit - and care for her party - just enhanced the whole experience. We saw so much, and the organisation always seemed to keep us an hour or so ahead of the crowd and so we were able to enjoy the trips - and hence the whole holiday - so much more. My wife and I struggle to find fault with this holiday - the hotel food was good, if a little limited and repetetive, would have like more time in Amalfi and less in Ravello - and ranks as one of the best we have ever taken. We have already recommended both this particular holiday - and Riviera Travel in particular - to friends.

Review by: Derek Hosie on 30/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples

This was our second trip with Riviera travel so we were not entirely surprised that we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, but we were very pleased. Sarah our tour guide was completely charming, extremely helpful and supportive and very well informed on each and every place we visited, even those we had a separate guide for, when her preparatory talk made the visits even more valuable. The Hotel Aminta was excellent, friendly welcoming staff, perfect facilities, spotless clean with very high standard restaurant dining. Certainly you need to have an energetic attitude for the visits, to the historic sites, they are extensive and there is much to take in, sometimes in high temperatures, but they are all so so worth it. Italy is a wonderful country to visit and this area is yet another jewel. If you enjoy history and beauty along with wonderful food, welcoming hosts, skilled, beyond belief, coach drivers and excellent standards then don't hesitate book your trip now!

Review by: Bernadette Manning on 29/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Everything was excellent-the Hotel,the tour guide (particularly the tour guide Berni) the trips and all the arrangements.We felt we were well looked after.

Thank you

Review by: Pat Markham on 17/07/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

What an amazing holiday! Villa Maria was excellent. All the staff were lovely. Our room was great. On the first floor, nice balcony and just 4 doors away from the pool. The restaurant was excellent, as was the pool-side facilities: bar and catering. Everything was spotlessly clean.

Last year we went with you to Classical Spain and enjoyed it immensely but this holiday was stuoendous.

The highlight tho' was the boat trip around Capri. It beat the Hongkong ferry into a cocked hat for thrills. I shall never forget the boat piloted through archways and into the caves.

I am travelling with you to Venice on 24 July with my partner, David Croft, and really looking forward to it.

Thank you Riviera.

Review by: N/A on 25/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We stayed at the Villa Maria where the staff were wonderfully helpful and pleasant. The room was basic but very clean. The air-con was outstanding (better then some 5* hotels). The food was terrible although the restaurant staff were so good and it was a real shame that the food let them down.

The Tour Guide was Jane who was very knowledgeable and helpful although she did make some very confusing comments which could easily be misconstrued as insults but which were passed off as "jokes".

You will need a lot of energy to enjoy this tour as it is not for the faint hearted but if you immerse yourself into it you will have an exceptional experience. The guides who took us Pompeii, Herculaneum and Capri were outstanding and very helpful. The driver we used was very good as well considering the treacherous driving conditions in Italy.

A number of restaurants were recommended by Jane and all more than lived up to the hype ones to particularly mention were the Foreigners' Club in Sorrento and the restaurant in Pompeii although I did not get the name.

There is an option to climb Vesuvius on the rest day which I thoroughly recommend. The well earned wine tasting lunch was outstanding and the vineyard owners were exceptionally hospitable and the food was off the chart fresh, simple and tasty everything you would expect from Italian cuisine.

If you want an educational and packed holiday then this is for you. That said there were many elderly people in our group who all managed to participate in all the tours and activities. I would definitely go again and would have no qualms in recommending this trip although next time I would eat in restaurants rather than at the hotel.

Review by: Sally Searle on 02/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We must tell you want a wonderful holiday we have spent in Sorrento, last week, organised by yourselves. From beginning to end the holiday was perfect, with nothing to worry about whatsoever. The Rivera staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

On arriving at Naples airport one of our cases was missing. We had to report it before leaving the airport, and the rep on the transfer bus was so concerned as to our whereabouts and so sympathetic about our lost luggage.

The Michelangelo Hotel was superb in every way, the staff were all very friendly, caring and nothing too much trouble for them.

A special mention must go Jenny, your tour manager. As well as looking after her guests she was most concerned about our luggage and in constant contact with the airport, also asking us every time she saw us, if we had got it back. She was as pleased as we were when it arrived two days later. Jenny is an outstanding member of your team, very knowledgeable about the resorts, thoughtful and caring for all her guests.

This is our first trip with Riviera, but it certainly goes to the top of our list for value, friendliness and the care shown the whole time we were away.

Thank you

Review by: Jack and Ann Briggs on 26/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

I returned from Sorrento at the weekend after a fabulous holiday - the Pompeii, Capri and the Bay of Naples tour was everything I had hoped for and more. The Hotel Vue D'Or was exceptional, the holiday covered all the places I wanted to see and our Tour Manager, Jenny, was amazing. Not only did she give us information on the places we were visiting but she gave us a greater insight into Italy. She was such a huge part of the enjoyment of the holiday which together with the comfort of the hotel and the content of the tour made it a holiday to remember.

Review by: Lesley Woolfrey on 26/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

My wife and I have recently returned from a most enjoyable holiday in Pompeii,Capri and the Bay of Naples. We had a great time at the hotel Aminta in Sorrento with one or two reservations. Our room was adequate but rather basically furnished and the shower room was small.

We found the staff at the hotel were first class without exception, and Jenny our Riviera rep. was excellent.She is so knowledgeable of the area and her talks on the various coach trips that were included in the tour, were very interesting and informative.

All the travel arrangements organised by Riviera Travel, went like clockwork.

This is the second trip we have taken with Riviera, I hope it is not the last.

Review by: Brian Pritchard on 16/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Just returned from a trip to Sorrento stayed at Vue D'Or and had an amazing time. Our guide Jenny was fabulous, knowledgeable and very interesting. She made every trip worthwhile with her local knowledge and interpersonal skills. We would highly recommend Riviera Travel & Sorrento.

Review by: G. Johnson & J Metcalfe on 26/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We would like to convey our thanks to all members of Riviera Travel from the initial enquiry through to the end of what we found to be a most enjoyable holiday. The Hotel Villa Maria was found most comfortable and friendly although the buffet breakfast adequate and fine, the evening dinners could have been more imaginative along Italian style yet, the final Gala Dinner was really first rate.

Our Tour Representative 'Effy' knew her job, kept us up to speed on information throughout the coach journey on the Optional Tours of Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius all of which were excellent as indeed the guides Christine, Sandro, Rafaelo the latter two an excellent sense of humour.

Our first Riviera was The Rhone Cruise in 2015, our next is The Rhine Cruise in September this year to which we look forward.

Once again, please convey our thanks to all.

Review by: Ted Fisher & Barbara Harbut on 05/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

I would like to express our sincere thanks for our excellent holiday in Sorrento.

The organisation was superb from start to finish, we chose an excellent hotel that had everything we required - wonderful Italian food, magnificent views, which was so lovely to return to after a busy hot day site seeing.

Our tour manager Jennie was excellent in so many ways. She had a great personality such a pleasant manner and certainly put so much effort into making sure our holiday was enjoyable from beginning to end.

We enjoyed all the tours especially Capri and the amazing Amalfi Coast. The time spent in Pompeii was great but later the guided tour of the Archaeological Museum in Naples was just too much and quite boring we felt it would have been better to finish after Pompeii.

Thank you again

Review by: Judith & Roger Sibley on 12/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Thank you to Riviera Travel for ensuring that our holiday in Sorrento was such a wonderful experience. We had chosen to stay at Hotel La Badia, a converted monastery, its quite isolated location on the hillside offering fabulous views across the Bay of Naples and of Mount Vesuvius. It is surrounded by olive groves and there are many quiet spots where you can relax, (in a hammock, if you wish), after the day's excursion., Our room (Iris) was spacious and very clean, We walked to Sorrento a few times, but if you find this too strenuous, (the return trip uphill in the heat could be a challenge), there is a complimentary taxi service, bookable a day in advance. The food (half board) was fine, (mains consisted of one meat, one fish and one vegetarian option, accompanied by identical side dishes), and some of the starters involving pasta were enormous!

The tours were very well organised, we particularly enjoyed the boat trip round Capri and a visit to Herculaneum as well as the, (optional) trip up Mount Vesuvius and to a lovely vineyard, where you get to taste 5 different wines, apricot schnapps and fresh bread with oil and a secret recipe pink vinegar. It would have been nice to be able to explore Pompeii a little bit longer, i.e. after the walk around with the guide instead of visiting the museum in Naples.

Our Tour Manager Sarah was brilliant, extremely knowledgeable, helpful and great fun, and her enthusiasm was infectious; also it was really useful to be provided with maps. We cannot wait to try one of the other Riviera tours she mentioned, although we'd love to return to Sorrento one day. Grazie mille, Sarah, and thank you to the hotel staff, the guides and also those fantastic coach drivers, who negotiated the breath taking coastal roads so carefully.

Review by: Barbara and Peter Hollingsworth on 02/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Just returned from this escorted trip to Italy, and as usual Riviera did not disappoint.

Sarah the tour guide was so full of knowledge and passion about this area, all the guide's were excellent, so to the trips out, always leaving you choices, and options, sourcing lunch venues at good rates if you wanted, I could write an essay on how wonderful this experience was, but would take too long.

Well done again Riviera, why take a chance with someone else, you are guaranteed a holiday to remember, at a reasonable price, and everyone pay's the same. What's not to like??

Review by: Mrs Carol Thomas on 09/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Had an excellent week with Riviera in Sorrento. Our guide, Jenny, was very knowledgeable and very helpful. We packed a lot into the week with some early starts. Herculaneum was fantastic, Pompeii very good too but the Naples museum same day was a bit of culture overload, a view shared by many on our tour.

We stayed at Hotel Vue D'Or which was an inspired and excellent choice, highly recommended.

Thank you Riviera, will use you again

Review by: Peter Bryant on 09/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri and Bay of Naples Tour

My wife and I returned on Friday 26th May from the above tour.

I am writing to tell you how much we enjoyed the tour. From beginning to end it was quite excellent; the airline (Norwegian) was good and the hotel (Aminta) was just superb.

Most of all however I have to tell you that our guide Bernie was absolutely marvellous. She was a delightful lady who was hugely knowledgeable about the area, quite unflappable and courteous in dealing with the inevitable minor queries and issues which often arise.

Bernie was a great advert for your company and a valuable member of your team which has recently won the Which accolade.

This was our second Riviera holiday, after Croatia last year. We are already booked on another (to Moscow and St Petersburg) this year and will plan on at least another 1 or 2 next year.

We are thinking of Sicily in say May or June next year. When we mentioned this to friends we met on the Bay of Naples tour, they said they did Sicily with you last year and had the most excellent female English tour guide. Sorry I can’t be more specific but could you let me have details of the Sicily tours in 2018 please.

Many thanks again and congratulations on the Which award.

Review by: Rod Williamson on 19/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Aminta. Lovely views from almost every part of the hotel. The courtesy bus every hour down to the town and back was really helpful. The staff at the hotel were top class.

A tiring holiday as we chose to do a tour on each day.

Our lady tour guide called Bernie was very professional and had all the answers to our questions before we even asked them. She pointed out gluten free restaurants for my wife and daughter and went out of her way to see they were both OK.

Review by: Michael Churchill on 09/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

First time travelling with Rivera and we will most definitely use them again. Excellent organisation. Sarah our Guide was very efficient and knowledgeable. We stayed at La Badia which wasn't our first choice however it was excellent just missing a few of the finer touches and the views were stunning. Its a busy but worthwhile tour - lots too see.

Review by: Rae & Martin McNairney on 02/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We had a fantastic time on our holiday on the Sorrentino peninsula. Our holiday hotel was the fabulous Hotel la Vue D’Or. This family run hotel is welcoming and the views over the Bay of Naples, and across to Vesuvius are indescribable.

We were welcomed by Riviera Travel representatives in the arrivals hall at the airport and then taken to the coach that was to take us to the resort. This was the first opportunity for us to meet our lovely Tour Guide, Linda. Linda told us later that she has lived in Italy for around 30 years and her experience and knowledge of the area was of exceptional help to all the parties on the tour. The following day we were shown round Sorrento by Linda followed by our welcome meeting during which she gave us details of the various trips we would be going on. She also told us about the several optional tours that we could take.

Throughout the whole of our time on our holiday Linda was there with us to help and advise. We cannot speak highly enough of her. She was one in a million and a commendable ambassador for Riviera Travel. Not only did she make sure that the holiday went as clockwork she also gave us all anecdotal stories from her time in Italy as well as the culture, way of life and the Italian language. Another Guide, Sarah, joined us a few times. Like Linda she has lived in Italy for quite some time. Sarah was very friendly and very conversant with Italy and the area around Sorrento in particular.

A big thanks to all the local guides who joined us on the various tours and whose intimate knowledge of the sites proved to be very enlightening and much more help whilst walking around the sites than reading through guide books or listening to pre-recorded tapes. Finally, thank you to all the coach drivers who were all consummate professionals. It cannot be easy driving those coaches around the twisty, and often hilly, roads to be met on some tight corners by motor cyclists and cars not to mention other coaches.

Review by: Robert and Anne Davison on 02/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We stayed at the Micheal Angelo Hotel and the minute we arrived, (11pm, there was a huge salad plated up for us, in our room) to the minute we left, (allowed to stay 2 hours extra after clock out time, due to being poorly). It was run well and definitely a good hotel with only a couple of minutes walk from the heart of the city centre. The room was a bit dark, but it did have a balcony over the pool area. I did get to walk round Sorrento and enjoy the Amalfi coast trip and I praise the coach drivers. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful.The food was very good, the starters were as big as the main courses, although they do whisk your plate away very quickly, (unlike here in UK where staff wait for everyone to finish eating, before clearing.) The hotel manager 'Micheal' was fab and translated to the Dr and paramedics who were called and attended to me in my room. 'Sue' our rep was also fantastic, watching out for my husband so he still managed day trips, whilst I was poorly and confined to my hotel bedroom. And especially thanks to 'Sue' in getting my husband back quickly from an excursion in Capri to be with me and getting my medicines and ringing daily to see how I was. My husband enjoyed all the trips and sightseeing and all the food- such a shame I missed so much. We will have to return so I can do all that I missed and I have no hesitation in using Riviera Travel and Micheal Angelo Hotel again.

Review by: Susan and Paul Gothard on 12/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We have just returned from this holiday after having a fantastic time. Our tour guide was Linda and she was absolutely brilliant and ever so helpful and looked after us every step of the way, advising us on the best things to wear, where to go for shopping etc, nothing was a bother to her. The tour itself was excellent but very tiring in the hot weather with early starts, but we appreciated this because it meant that we avoided all the other tourists. In fact the tour should be extended for another four days to allow you to get time around the pool for sunbathing, reading and resting as we wanted to visit everywhere even the additional tours, we didn't want to miss a thing. Pompeii and Herculaneum were fantastic as was the Amalfi Coast trip and the trip to Capri, so we ended up having no time around the pool. The Hotel Maria was excellent value for money and was placed just on the edge of Sorrento and was in an excellent location for myself who has a slight walking disability. I would go again just to stay at the hotel. The staff there were excellent and so friendly and thank you for changing our room because the bathroom had three steps up to it which I would have had problems with. Thank you Riviera, first time we have travelled with you and we would do it all again.

Anne and Allan

Review by: Anne and Allan Robinson on 02/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We have nothing but praise for the organisation of this tour. The hotel was great, the trips, bearing in mind the Italian traffic and traffic wardens, were well managed and we visited all the places in good time before the crowds and the heat took over and made life difficult.

The tour manager, Jane, was terrific, she looked after everyone and made sure that everything was in order. The tour was packed with interesting places, the tour guides were all well informed. We are looking forward to booking again to see somewhere else.

Review by: Jill Avenell on 02/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We have used Riviera several times and always found the toys to be good and well organised. On this tour, Jane, the tour leader was really good and always very helpful, making the tour a pleasure.

when waiting for the airport bus, I realised i had mislaid our passports, and Jane had to go with the bus, leaving us at the hotel.

the hotel was very helpful but although she had the group to deal with, Jane phoned us several times to see what had happened. She also tried to get the airline to take us with photo copies.

With the help of Claudia, they then called the British Embassy in Rome, and when told they could not help until the Monday, set about finding trains and accommodation for the week end.

I did finally find the passports and was able to use a taxi to the airport.

In the end we did not need the extra, but it was wonderful to have such caring support from your staff.

We would appreciate it if you could pass on our thanks to Jane and Claudia for for being so helpful when they had so much else to do.

Best Regards

David Hayter

Review by: David Hayter on 02/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We can thoroughly recommend the tour of Naples, Sorrento and Capri. Our holiday Rep,Sarah was excellent who went the extra mile to make everything go so smoothly. We are pleased that we chose La Badia; a beautiful, relaxing family run hotel with amazing views of the bay of Naples.

All tours excellent with professional guides. We couldn't ask for more. We will definitely choose Riviera Travel again.

Review by: Mark and Tracy Cheal on 26/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We can thoroughly recommend the tour of Naples, Sorrento and Capri. Our holiday Rep,Sarah was excellent who went the extra mile to make everything go so smoothly. We are pleased that we chose La Badia; a beautiful, relaxing family run hotel with amazing views of the bay of Naples.

All tours excellent with professional guides. We couldn't ask for more. We will definitely choose Riviera Travel again.

Review by: Mark and Tracy Cheal on 26/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Just finished our first ever organised group tour & we have loved it. Riviera have put together a great & varied itinerary. Our rep-Jenny was absolutely outstanding with her calm but efficient organisation of our large group. Added to this she livened up all the coach journeys with incredibly well informed facts & anecdotes about life in this region which was excellent. Each day all the tours ran like clockwork & the benefit of having all visits (including lunch stops) prearranged for us can not be underestimated. We did every available tour & thoroughly enjoyed all although we personally felt we did not need the tour around the Archaeological museum in Naples. Vesuvius & wine tasting was a lovely day & seemed vital in the context of Pompei & Herculaneum.

Many thanks Jenny-the number 1 tour guide in our book!

Review by: Sue Logan on 02/06/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Thank you Riviera for another well-organised tour. This holiday was everything your brochure promised. Our tour manager, Bernie , was excellent as were the guides and coach drivers. The Hotel Cesar Augusto proved to be a great choice.

Review by: Barbara Heslop on 26/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

I returned a week ago from an extremely lovely weeks holiday. This was my first time with Riviera and I was not disappointed. Everything was run to perfection. Diana our tour guide was absolutely first class, she was extremely knowledgeable and made everything run smoothly. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday and Riviera travel highly.

Review by: Valerie weir on 19/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Another most enjoyable holiday by Riviera. It was lovely returning to Sorrento and Sarah worked hard to ensure our holiday ran smoothly. The Guides on our trips to Pompeii and Herculaneum were excellent and so knowledgeable. Looking forward to our next trip with Riviera shortly!

Thankyou.

Review by: Sheila Boyes on 19/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Thanks Riviera.

My wife and I had a wonderful holiday on the Bay of Naples, staying at the Hotel Villa Maria in Sorrento, your representative Diana was great, very knowledgeable about the area and excellent at her job making our holiday go without any problems, Her recommendations for cafes and restaurants and places to see was spot on, the hotel and staff were great and your coaches and drivers excellent.

Will use Riviera again thanks a lot,

regards.

Sylvia & Alan Bagot

Review by: Alan & Sylvia Bagot on 12/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Our 1st holiday with Riviera Travel: we now understand why they get such good reviews. Organisation was excellent, from booking to arriving back in the UK. A minor criticism is that the travel documents did not clarify that on-line check-in with Thomson was not available. After several unsuccessful attempts I phoned Riviera to query this: they explained that this was not possible with a group booking.

The inclusive excursions were interesting and enjoyable with knowledgeable, friendly guides. The 2 optional excursions (the boat trip around Capri and the trip to Vesuvius & the winery) were excellent too. Seeing into Vesuvius’s crater was very dramatic (a moderate 30-minute climb is needed for this).

We’d chosen La Badia Hotel; the city centre hotels would have been fine but La Badia was great. It’s about a mile from the centre, on the hillside about 15 minutes walk from the centre along a path which is fairly steep in places. The views are superb even from the dining area which has large windows which can be opened. It’s a converted monastery, now family-run with really friendly staff. The choice and quality of the meals were very good & on one evening they even laid on a Gala Dinner with musical entertainment. The bedrooms are clean and spacious with a fridge. The outdoor pool is beautifully clean and has great views. We’ve stayed in lots of hotels around the world and this vies for top place.

The Riviera rep assigned to those of us staying at La Badia (Linda) was enthusiastic, very well organised, knowledgeable and great fun. She’s lived in the area for about 30 years so she has lots of local knowledge, which she shared with us during our coach journeys: this meant that we learnt lots about the local population and customs, along with information about their difficulties with housing, jobs etc which was fascinating. There was never a dull moment but at the same time this was not at all overbearing.

All in all it was a great holiday, highly recommended.

Review by: David Cottrell on 12/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We've just returned from our first trip with Riviera - it won't be our last! La Badia Hotel was just as described - a friendly family run hotel with lovely grounds & views. Our tour guide, Linda, was exceptional, nothing too much trouble and so informative & fun to be with. We enjoyed all the tours especially Capri.

Review by: Angela & Derek Burridge on 12/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

This was our first Riviera tour and we were delighted. We stayed at the Europa Palace in Sorrento and the location, food and facilities were all great. Our room was spacious and we had a balcony with sea view. Sarah, our guide, was so friendly, knowledgeable and efficient.

Review by: Peter and Christine Ralphs on 12/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Italy - our second holiday with Riviera - and we were not disappointed.

The perfect weather certainly enhanced our trips to the beautiful island of Capri and to the historic sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum.

Our guide, Jenny, was fantastic. Everything was arranged perfectly and she entertained us with her knowledge of everything from Silvio Berlusconi's life story to Italian primary school uniforms!!

The optional extra excursions were good value for money and the optional arranged lunches made the busy days go very smoothly!

Despite the reputation of Italian drivers (!), our local coach drivers were all excellent - a particular thank you to our driver on the day of the Amalfi coast tour - a drive Jenny rightly described as "sheer" delight!

Our only recommendation for a change to the itinerary would be that the majority of the guests found the visit to the Naples Archaeological Museum was too much after a visit to Pompeii in the morning. Our guide, JJ, was very knowledgeable and passionate about his subject, but after a hot walk around Pompeii, even the history lovers were longing for some "down time" around the hotel pool.

All in all, however, it was a great trip, and we have already had the Riviera brochure out to start planing our next one!

Review by: Liz and Pete Edwards on 12/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We've just returned from our first trip with Riviera - it won't be our last! La Badia Hotel was just as described - a friendly family run hotel with lovely grounds & views. Our tour guide, Linda, was exceptional, nothing too much trouble and so informative & fun to be with. We enjoyed all the tours especially Capri.

Review by: Angela & Derek Burridge on 12/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Just back from a marvellous week at La Badia in Sorrento. Great hotel and excellent guide Linda. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All the tours interesting and a great group of fellow guests. What more could you ask for!? I will book with Riviera again

Review by: Joan Jones on 12/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We have just returned from this wonderful holiday,it was for us perfect. The itinerary was very good we learned so much about the area, visiting Herculaneum & Pompeii was truly amazing as was the visit to Vesuvious - quite a climb but well worth it. We stayed at La Badia which is family owned,it was spotlessly clean,all staff were very helpful & welcoming, good selection at breakfast & evening meals were delicious. We paid extra for a sea view which for us was worth it, we woke to a sunrise on the bay of Naples with Vesuvious in the background.a special mention must go to Linda our courier she was excellent in every way, she obviously loves this area (she lives locally) & helped to make this holiday truly memorable, Thank you.

Review by: David & Sue Robinson on 12/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

My wife and I have just returned from the 8 day tour of Pompeii, Capri and the bay of Naples, and would like to express our pleasure at taking the tour. Although the tour was hectic, it was very informative, enjoyable and the Tour Manager (Diana) was very knowledgeable, not only about the places visited but also about the local customs and the general areas we passed through, and kept the party informed about all the amenities, that were essential to finding the way about and seeing all the interesting places. She is to be congratulated. In our opinion the highlight of the tour was the visit and the sail round Capri. For anyone who has not been to Capri, it is "a must". The Hotel ( The Grand Hotel Aminta) was up to all expectations, the food was very good and all the staff were extremely courteous and friendly, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. All the coach drivers were extremely good, (I would not have liked to have tackled those horrendous roads that we travelled on). Finally can I thank Riviera Travel for organisation of this tour.

Review by: Roy and Barbara Fairhurst on 07/04/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

Just returned from a week's stay in the Grand Hotel Aminta in Sorrento on the Pompeii, Capri & Bay of Naples Tour......wonderful, wonderful holiday. The hotel is beautiful, very comfortable and staff are lovely. Our guide, Adrian, was extremely knowledgeable, very funny and very helpful. This is a very busy week and every day is full, so it can be tiring, however we would not have missed it for the world. We would definitely do it again.

Review by: E. Lennox on 14/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

This was our first holiday abroad. We had the most amazing time our rep Jenny was absolutely marvellous she looked after so well the itinerary was brilliant we saw and learned so much from Jenny and the tour guides she had chosen .Would definitely recommend this tour and we are looking to book again with riviera travel

Review by: Sharon Baldock/Chris Saunders on 05/05/2017

Pompeii, Capri & the Bay of Naples Tour

We have recently returned from this this tour which was absolutely fabulous.The itinerary was well thought out which enabled us to see as much as possible during our stay. The tour was managed by Jane who was brilliant, she was very knowledgeable, efficient and had a great sense of humour. We can thoroughly recommend this tour and Riviera.

Review by: Jeanette & John Absolom on 19/04/2017

Pompeii, Capri & The Bay Of Naples Tour

We have just returned from our wonderful tour of Sorrento, Capri ,Pompeii ,Vesuvius and the Amalfi coast. We stayed at the Villa Maria which was comfortable, great room service and excellent half board. Our tour guide Jane is the most amazing person, her knowledge of the area is fantastic and she made the whole holiday an experience that we will never forget. Our first Riviera trip but we are sure that it won’t be our last. Thank you Riviera!

Review by: Tony and Jane Richardson on 23/10/2016

Pompeii, Capri & The Bay Of Naples Tour

Many thanks for looking after us so well during our recent tour to Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast.

From meeting us at the airport to putting us back on the plane nothing was too much trouble.

The Aminta hotel was excellent and our tour guide Sarah was far beyond exceptional.

She is a fantastic ambassador for your company, we were guided through all of our excursions with care consideration and a genuine desire to look after us.

We will be booking with you again

VERY WELL DONE!!!

Review by: David Stafford on 14/10/2016

Pompeii, Capri & The Bay Of Naples Tour

The whole tour was run like clockwork and was very professional at all times. Our upgraded room to balcony sea view didn’t disappoint, the views was spectacular, the arrangement of terrace & pool/lounge area & bar and welcoming & accommodating staff made a great stay at The Hotel La Vue D’or. Our tour guide Jane was very experienced and made our trips very informative with her wealth of knowledge, she gave us an insight into the local area and their culture & customs.

We couldn’t of asked for more.

Review by: Teresa & Kevin Hartnett on 14/10/2016

Pompeii, Capri & The Bay Of Naples Tour

Myself and my sister joined with our cousin to enjoy this fabulous holiday in Sorrento. The holiday was perfectly balanced with activities and leisure. It was well organised and extremely good value for money. The hotel (Cesare Augusto) was lovely, staff friendly and food ideal. All the tours were exceptionally well organised by the Rivera rep Jenny who brought Italy to life with her knowledge and anecdotes about Italy and its culture - just perfect in every way. The lovely Italian lady on our party asked that we also include her gratitude and thought it was wonderful too xx thank you

Review by: Jane Carwardine on 11/10/2016

Pompeii, Capri & The Bay Of Naples Tour

My wife and I have just returned from your ‘Pompeii, Capri and Bay of Naples’ tour and we are happy to say that it was a most enjoyable trip. In large part, this was due to the approach and professionalism of our Riviera Travel representative Ingrid which was excellent. Ingrid is a real star, who is a credit to Riviera Travel, and this e-mail is to acknowledge our appreciation of her part in giving us a lovely week in Italy.

Review by: James Robertson on 11/10/2016

Pompeii, Capri & The Bay Of Naples Tour

This was the first time we have been on an organised tour and we really couldn’t fault it. We stayed at the very Italian, shabby chic Europa Palace which admittedly does need an update but for us it added to the charm of everything Italian. Diana our guide was superb: funny, knowledgeable, sympathetic, energetic, but above all, enthusiastic which was so appreciated considering it was the end of the season! Thank you Riviera, we are looking forward to our cruise in 2017!

Review by: Ann Lazur on 16/10/2016

Pompeii, Capri & The Bay Of Naples Tour

We have just returned from out holiday in Sorrento. Our guide, Ingrid was charming and helpful and being a “local” girl very informative. Definitely an asset to the Riviera team.

La Badia Hotel is unimaginably beautiful – we had amazing views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples from our room. No balcony needed – there are so many delightful seating areas around the hotel. All the staff are friendly and helpful but full marks must go to Raffaele (he’s a star) and all the dining room/bar/kitchen staff.

This is a lovely family run hotel and with easy access into Sorrento it ticked all the boxes for us.

Review by: Margaret and Graham Harker on 07/10/2016

Pompeii, Capri & The Bay Of Naples Tour

We have just returned from the Pompeii, Amalfi, Sorrento and Bay of Naples tour. It was an amazing week. Our tour manager Diana was excellent. She was interesting, informative and witty. She took good care of us. We stayed at the Europa Palace and the views from the terrace were stunning. The bathrooms could do with some updating but the hotel was wonderful. The evening dinner menu was varied and enjoyable.

The well organised trips were wonderful. Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast all exceeded our expectations.

All the people on our tour were friendly and pleasant. We would definitely recommend this tour with Riviera and we are already planning our next trip.

Review by: Heather and Bill on 08/10/2016

Pompeii, Capri & The Bay Of Naples Tour

This was our first Riviera experience. Very well organised.

Would like to thank Ingrid and also all the La Badia staff and management .

Would just like to suggest an optional Naples visit. Also option of free time at Pompeii and Museum in Naples rather than follow a guide .

I thought lunch in Capri was wonderful but the Pompei lunch a touristy experience.

Review by: Diane on 05/10/2016

Pompeii, Capri & The Bay Of Naples Tour

I am writing to say that I cannot recommend you highly enough after my recent holiday with you in Sorrento, the hotel was perfectly situated and the food of good quality and choice, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, the tours out were perfectly executed, with excellent informed guides, the cream of the trip was our tour rep: Jayne, what a delightful lady with so much background information, fun and patience, if this the way you run all your holidays I shall certainly be more than happy to travel with you again, and just not to forget the wonderful coach drivers, once again thank you.

Review by: Joy Cooper on 28/09/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.