[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Norway

Thank you for a brilliant holiday. It was well organised and I want to pay a special thanks to our guide, Mohamed. He told us so many interesting facts about the locations. He also really went the extra mile to try and make the trip special. He has a wealth of knowledge on Norway which shared with all of us. We even went for a run together before breakfast and on one occasion he gave up his Veggie meal to me due to the restaurant running out! He was the best guide I have ever meet . So please pass on my appreciation to him!

Great Trip all round!

Review by: Mike and Roberta on 23/09/2018

Norway

This was a first holiday abroad together and also a first with Riviera Travel. Our tour manager Mohammed was brilliant, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The Norway holiday was amazing, the itinary was full and well planned, there was no time wasted and was good value, we saw so much of Norway. We stayed in Oslo, Voss and Bergen hotels which were all very comfotable, breakfasts were especially excellent. We also had free time and visited museums and other places of interest. We enjoyed 2 Fjord trips which were wonderful, we saw high waterfalls and travelled on the famous Flam railway. In Bergen we experienced the Fernicular and the views of Bergen were magnificent. We feel fortunate to have been on this lovely holiday and highly recommend it.

Review by: Ed and Diana Cowling on 23/09/2018

Norway

Just returned from a 7 day trip to Norway, our first experience of an organised holiday as we usually make our own flight and accommodation arrangements. It was wonderful and exceeded our expectations, we would never have been able to put together such a varied holiday ourselves - we stayed in two cities, a mountain village, travelled by fjord, road and rail over some of the most beautiful scenery imaginable. Our tour manager Mohamed was outstanding, he couldn't do enough for us and he really helped make our holiday special. We were quite a large group of 52 people, he looked out for all of us, made a point of speaking to us all individually and checked we were ok when the train was delayed due to a fallen tree. Kept us all informed, helped with luggage, gave us really useful tips and kept us entertained. What a lovely man, give him a bonus, he deserves it!

Review by: Sue Bowyer on 23/09/2018

Norway

I have just returned from a trip to Norway with Riviera. It was the first time I had travelled with the company and I had a fantastic time. The holiday offered a great mixture of city and culture in Oslo and Bergen, and beautiful scenery with the fjord cruises and wonderful railway journeys.

Please thank our tour manager Mohammed for such a well organised and informative trip. It couldn't have run more smoothly. He was great. One thing, just give your next customers more time in the Viking Ship Museum in Oslo. This was going to be a highlight for me and half an hour wasn't enough to see it all. Otherwise everything was terrific. Thank you.

Review by: Zoe on 10/05/2018

Norway

Fantastic 8 day holiday to Norway but quite tiring. Very well organised trips including a variety of transports - train, coach and boats.

We were spoilt with the hotels in Oslo and Voss which had wonderful food and were centrally located. The Bergen hotel although impressive downstairs however appeared a little prison-like in the corridors. Rooms looked tired.

Many thanks to Jesse our tour guide who was informative, funny and went out of his way to ensure we got as much as possible out of the holiday.

One comment would be that the organised evening meal in Bergen did not cater well for the more infirm as it had steep uneven steps.

This is our third Riviera tour and we have another booked in December.

Many thanks for your attention to detail.

Review by: Ann and Paul Johnson on 25/08/2017

Norway

What a great week we had! The weather was perfect and so was the holiday. It contained far much more than we expected and then more. The scenery from train, coach, ferry and hydrofoil was spectacular! We had Debra for our guide and she was superb, very knowledgable and nothing was too much trouble. Would have liked another day in Bergen as it is such a vibrant city with lots to see and we didn't have enough time to see everything. Please pass on my thanks to Debra and I will be travelling again with Riviera.

Review by: Carol Stocker on 20/08/2017

Norway

This was one of the best structured Riviera holidays I have been on. The central location of the hotels to the way the tours flowed, allowing you to experience so much variety of beautiful scenery. Kevin, our guide, provided just the right amount of direction to make you feel comfortable but not corraled. Those who choose to miss the trip to Telemark should do so knowing that you will never see such a beautiful Stave church in glorious surrounding again. The weather was a great help, bringing out those vibrant colours. As to the cost of things; it is amazing how you adjust and whilst the comments never stop, your reluctance does and you know that each time - it was worth it. The free day pass in Oslo puts you in credit anyway. I thoroughly recommend this as an introduction to Norway.

Review by: William Atkinson on 11/08/2017

Norway

Really enjoyed this holiday. Everything was well organised and as promised in the brochure. The hotels were wonderful with great views from the bedrooms and very good food. The scenery on the trips was breathtaking. Our tour guide Kevin was very helpful and on the ball. It was my first Riviera holiday and I would definitely travel with them again.

Review by: Timothy Coyle on 04/08/2017

Norway

Another wonderful holiday with Riviera Travel. Our excellent Tour Manager, Mohammad (who had managed a Marrakech tour we had enjoyed some years ago) was always well-organised, informative, helpful and polite, in spite of having 50 travellers in his care, so Gold Star! The hotels in Oslo and Bergen had small rooms but this was compensated for by central locations. The hotel room in Voss had no safe, which should be an essential item. The meals were all very good.

The excursions were excellent, high-altitude railways, fjord cruises, waterfalls, UNESCO heritage sites and glorious scenery everywhere. The tour enabled us to see so much of Norway in such a short time.

The Oslo pass (provided) enabled us to visit a number of attractions. The Bergen pass is worth buying if you plan to visit a number of Bergen attractions in your free time. The 3-hour coach journey to Telemark region is too long without a toilet stop en-route! Overall a 9 out of 10 score.

Review by: Mrs Wendy Birch on 21/07/2017

Norway

Another wonderful holiday with Riviera Travel. Our excellent Tour Manager, Mohammad (who had managed a Marrakech tour we had enjoyed some years ago) was always well-organised, informative, helpful and polite, in spite of having 50 travellers in his care, so Gold Star! The hotels in Oslo and Bergen had small rooms but this was compensated for by central locations. The hotel room in Voss had no safe, which should be an essential item. The meals were all very good.

The excursions were excellent, high-altitude railways, fjord cruises, waterfalls, UNESCO heritage sites and glorious scenery everywhere. The tour enabled us to see so much of Norway in such a short time.

The Oslo pass (provided) enabled us to visit a number of attractions. The Bergen pass is worth buying if you plan to visit a number of Bergen attractions in your free time. The 3-hour coach journey to Telemark region is too long without a toilet stop en-route! Overall a 9 out of 10 score.

Review by: Mrs Wendy Birch on 21/07/2017

Norway

We've just returned from visiting Norway with Mohamed who is an excellent guide. He was with us in Sweden and Denmark last year and recommended this tour. He goes to so much trouble to make the holiday run smoothly and is always cheerful and helpful. His help with the self-service check-in at Bergen was appreciated by all! The scenery in Norway is, of course, magnificent and Riviera made sure we saw it from many different angles. Using trains and boats instead of being in a coach all day is inspired. The rooms in Oslo and Bergen could have been bigger but all the hotels were well-sited for independent exploration. We are already planning next year's trip with Riviera.

Review by: Maureen King on 28/07/2017

Norway

Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Norway which was enhanced by the excellence of our tour guide Mohamed. He could not be faulted and was by far the best tour guide we have ever had. So much so we are tempted to find out which tour he will be doing next year and book it.

Review by: Pat and Ian Addis on 28/07/2017

Norway

We have just returned from the Norway tour and would definitely recommend this Riviera tour as an excellent option for touring this beautiful but expensive country.

All excursions and 4 meals were included but you could opt out of any, if you preferred. This is not a sun holiday so please pack sensibly, this said, we only packed sandals and managed to get away with it, although it was a little cool at times.

There was a very varied programme of trips, by coach, boat and train. The scenery was absolutely spectacular.

One recommendation, if you like a little tipple, is that you bring your own wine, etc as alcoholic drinks are very expensive in Norway. Expect to pay about £10 for a glass of wine or 0.4l of beer.

Our Guide Kevin was extremely knowledgeable, efficient and approachable. This is our 3rd Riviera Tour and we would definitely book again.

Review by: Pauline Godfrey on 09/07/2017

Norway Tour

Another excellent European Tour. Everything was very well organised, very good interesting trips, very good hotels, especially Fleischer's Hotel Voss, where the food was outstanding, the other two hotels were very centrally situated and comfortable with good breakfasts. Jesse the tour manager was very good at his job and knew a lot about the history of the places we visited ,and he had a good sense of humour, (shame about his counting though). All in all a very good holiday made extra special by travelling with some very friendly people. Good service from all the office staff, too. Thank you everyone.

Review by: Teresa and Dave Shenton on 09/06/2017

Norway Tour

My Partner and I have just returned from your holiday package to Norway. We had a lovely time in this beautiful country and our tour guide Chris could not have been more friendly and helpful. The quality of the hotels and travel arrangements was very good and if I would make one change it would have been to have more time in Bergen. This was not our first holiday with your company and we are looking forward to booking the next one, possibly a river cruise next time.

Review by: Christine Lee/Mick Daly on 04/06/2017

Norway Tour

A very enjoyable tour. We thought the tour was well structured with the two train journeys and the two fjord cruises being the highlights. The hotels were clean and comfortable without being outstanding. Our guide, Wendy was very good and helpful throughout. The only downside was the delay in being met at Oslo airport.

Review by: Michael Jenkins on 12/06/2017

Norway Tour

Just got back from the Norway tour it was fantastic. All 3 hotels were excellent and the tours on the coach, trains and boats were superb and well organised with lots to see. the food in all the hotels was of a very good standard but exceptional in Fleischer's Hotel in Voss. Our guide Jesse was very good he kept us well informed with enough information without being too much in your face. I would highly recommend this tour it is a beautiful country. I would say go in June before all the snow goes.

Review by: gerald white on 09/06/2017

Norway Tour

We returned from the Norway tour on 30th. September and felt that we had to commend the tour guide, Mohamed, who was extremely knowledgeable , efficient and helpful. Over the years we have become used to the high standards of Riviera’s guides but Mohamed was a cut above.

Review by: Ray Taylor on 14/10/2016

Norway Tour

We can do no better than echo the words of the testimonial posted on September 2, 2016. We returned from the Norway tour on that date, the holiday having also for exceeded our expectations. And we also had Mohamed as our tour guide: he was indeed truly excellent and professional in every regard - especially his courtesy, helpfulness and amazing attention to detail - and was truly the icing on the cake. The tour itself is excellent value for money in what is a very expensive country, there was a great deal to see and do, and magnificent scenery to enjoy, - the pace and content were perfect. We believe it to have been the best holiday either of us has ever had. A big thank you to Mohamed.

Review by: Steve and Rosemary on 14/10/2016

Norway Tour

Just back from a trip with you to Norway. Just wanted to say that your Tour Manager Mohamed (sorry if I have misspelt) was excellent

Review by: Alan and Shirley Jones on 14/10/2016

Norway Tour

We have just returned from our tour of Norway. This was an excellently planned tour which covered three lovely locations, Oslo, Voss and Bergen, all with vastly different characters. The modes of transport were amazing, Fjord cruises and spectacular rail journeys. The tour director, Mohamed, was excellent, being caring thoughtful and amusing. This tour is a must for anyone wanting to experience Norway on a “time budget”.

Review by: Stuart Bell on 14/10/2016

Norway Tour

We are halfway through our 8 day tour of Norway and loving every minute. Our 1st time to Norway and 1st time with Riviera and we are so impressed with both. Our tour manager Suzanne is friendly and so calm and professional, definitely in the right career as she gets along with everyone and makes us feel at ease, a few things have not gone to plan but Suzanne has found solutions without fuss or drama, a real asset to Riviera. The 2 hotels have been wonderful, lovely food and staff and fabulous locations. The trips have been memorable, and we look forward to the next few days to come. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Review by: Mr and Mrs Cook on 06/10/2016

Norway Tour

I have just returned from the Norway tour with Riviera, and this trip was a pleasure to experience - from beginning to end. The itinerary had been well thought through, and we packed a lot into our 7 days (a lot of waterfalls, beautiful cities, breathtaking scenery, rain journeys and stunning scenery…). The highlight of the trip (apart from the lively group I was travelling with) was the input of Mohamed, our Tour Manager. Mohamed was very kind, patient, polite and helpful - and he went the extra mile to make sure we were all enjoying our stay. Things like arranging our hotel keys before arrival, giving a short printed itinerary at the start of each day’s activity, and giving an interesting (and funny!) overview of each destination, etc. were really appreciated. This was my first trip with Riviera, and based on this experience, I have just booked another for next year. Thanks, Mohamed!

Review by: Maureen on 03/10/2016

Norway Tour

Having been truly impressed with our Tour Guide Mohamed we thought we would share feedback on our holiday in Norway we enjoyed between 11 and 18 July.

Mohamed truly exceeded our expectations.

Right from the first moment when Mohamed met us at the Oslo airport to the last day when he accompanied us to the Bergen airport, he was cheerful, professional and a joy to be with.

We particularly enjoyed his excellent commentary on our trips, his proactive checking us in to hotels, his nice surprise to give us all a little Norwegian strawberry tasting, seeing his relentless interest in every guest’s wellbeing, arranging someone’s forgotten jacket to be mailed from Oslo to Voss and much more.

Mohamed went above and beyond his duty and thoroughly exceeded our expectations. It was like being looked after by an astute and loving family member who made the holiday for us feel like a bliss. He is a credit to your firm.

Review by: Jana Gidney and Anna Jezkova on 02/10/2016

Norway Tour

Six of us have just returned from the 8 day Norway Trip which commenced on 24.06.16.

Very well thought out itinerary which we all thoroughly enjoyed and overall an excellent holiday. An excellent Tour Manager, Deborah, who ensured we were all looked after and who was always there to answer any queries.

We would certainly consider going with Riviera Travel again.

Review by: Brian Higgott on 02/09/2016

Norway Tour

I just wanted to let you know how much I am enjoying my holiday in Norway. Deborah and Sam have been really great. It is thanks to Deborah and her attention to detail that has added to my enjoyment. She is such a caring person. All the group are really friendly as well. You are never left wondering what is going to happen next, (as happens with some groups). She is a mine of information as well.

Review by: Barbara Frankish on 25/08/2016

Norway Tour

I was very happy with the Norway tour I returned from on 3rd June which was blessed with good weather and fully loaded waterfalls.

I would have preferred a later flight back from Bergen to Gatwick to give an extra half day.

The Telemark trip on the third day would have been a good optional extra but I would have liked another day to explore Oslo.

The mix of travel by train, boat and coach worked really well.

The Tour Manager was delightful.

The hotels were well chosen and the breakfasts at all three were well stocked with a vast choice of good quality food.

Review by: DENISE TREGLOWN on 25/08/2016

Norway Tour

I cannot praise enough our guide that we had on this trip - Mohamed. Quite simply nothing was too much trouble, he was informative and if he did not have an answer he would research and give you one. He was very chatty and friendly with us but at all times maintained his professionalism.

As for the trip it was FANTASTIC> Admittedly we hit Norway in a heatwave which obviously helps. But the trip was a delightful mix of city, countryside and of course train journeys - it was the latter which drew me to the trip.

I would like to mention that there was one waterfall that we ere unable to get to but were taken to a different one. This fall was one of my highlights - to get out of the coach and walk through the woods down beside the waterfall was magic - and the bus collected us at the bottom. Apparently the fall we should have done was just to get out and photograph. I would highly recommend that you cancel that option and instead include this option. A further bonus was that as we walked through the woods we could also look at all the wild flowers and saw a giant ant hill as well.!

This was my third trip with Riviera. All have been superb and I hope to go with you again.

I would like the Stockholm and Copenhagen trip but slightly extended by a day or so as there are some wonderful things to see by way of museums (eg. Tollund man one of the bog people is in Copenhagen) and five days for the two countries is a bit limiting. Going over the famous bridge joining the two countries would be great - but perhaps the train does that am not sure.

Again can only repeat 150% for the whole trip. Thank you

Review by: Anne Tobin on 25/08/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.