[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Moscow & St Petersburg

Our week spent in Moscow/St Petersburg was a wonderful holiday, itinerary was well organised but still left us with time to do our own exploring. Both hotels were of a very good standard and ideally situated, staff in both hotels very helpful. Bernie our tour manager was brilliant and helped to make this a very memorable holiday along with the local guides Julia and Olga. The holiday was definitely worth the issue of having to travel to London to apply for our visas.

Review by: Miss (FAO: Judith Roberts) on 04/09/2018

Moscow & St Petersburg

This was, I think, our 6th time with Riviera Travel and this tour was every bit as good as the others. Bit of a pain with our visas, but they eventually turned up and we joined the group at Moscow Airport, where our tour leader, Bernie shepherded us onto our coach for the next 3 days in Moscow. Two great hotels (both Novotels) in both Moscow and St. Petersburg, and Bernie expertly guided us to some great restaurants in each of these two magnificent cities. Our guide (a female, sorry I've forgotten her name) in Moscow was tremendous and our second guide in St. Petersburg (Anya) was just tremendous. Bernie fed us exactly the right amount of information each day and also was able to warn us, very expertly of all the "security" issues in each city - pickpockets, photo scams, etc, He was brilliant, and he, together with the two "guidesses" absolutely made the holiday for us. We are so pleased we chose to go with Riviera for this particular tour - it was brilliant and we'd recommend it highly to anyone thinking of visiting these two fabulous cities!

Review by: Michele Platman on 22/05/2018

Moscow & St Petersburg

An eye opening and fascinating tour of these two beautiful cities, overturning our preconceived ideas. It was skilfully overseen by Bernie, our tour Manager. He gave us clear information and firm instructions with a touch of humour, kept his eye on each of us and sorted out individual confusions - an absolute star. The daily itinerary was exhausting but at the end of the set visits we were given various options to suit our energy levels. Our Russian guides were excellent and helpful but overburdened us with historical information; occasionally less is more. The crowds of foreign visitors (ie ourselves!) were often overwhelming - in particular in The Hermitage - and it would have been good to have longer to enjoy the gardens at Peterhof. The hotels were excellent and Russians we met in shops and cafes friendly and welcoming. At no time did we have any security fears. There were many highlights - Metro in Moscow, Sapsan train to St Petersburg, Peterhof, ballet in the Hermitage theatre....But don't take my word for it . Go and see for yourself but make sure Bernie is the Tour Manager!

Review by: Petronella Warman on 05/06/2018

Moscow & St Petersburg

We returned from this trip on 11th June and it really was an exceptional holiday. As tour manager Bernie was outstanding - an endless fount of knowledge on Russia and thoughtful and considerate (particularly to the older members of the party) .It was the first time I have ever had 37 strangers sing Happy Birthday to me and the coach tour of Moscow by night (despite the cold ) was a wonderful end to that day .Our local guides Yulia , Irina and Anya were friendly and very knowledgeable and although we saw many wonderful sights there were still opportunities for free time and additional excursions to the ballet , Cossack evening and boat tour of St Petersburg . The train journey between the cities was very comfortable and passed in no time at all . We were so impressed by the cleanliness of the cities and punctuality of the metro systems and would have loved the opportunity to spend more time in Russia. Make it a 10 day trip Riviera and we will be back .

Review by: JANET STYLE on 05/06/2018

Moscow & St Petersburg

Just returned from your Moscow & St. Petersburg tour - it was a wonderful trip and we are now home with a heap of wonderful memories! Bernie (the tour manager) and Anya (the local St. Petersburg guide) were absolutely brilliant and both are a credit to Riviera travel. The tour programme was brilliant too, and I think we all managed it very well, given the very hot weather during the entire week of the trip. A wonderful wonderful holiday! Thanks again to Riviera for a great tour!

Review by: Michele Platman on 23/05/2018

Moscow & St Petersburg

What an amazing holiday. Our tour guide Bernie couldn’t have been more helpful, such a knowledgable guy. Hotels were good, daily coach travel was excellent. We crammed so much in, both in Moscow & St Petersburg. Thoroughly recommend this holiday. Felt totally safe the whole week. Local guides were ok but Bernie seemed to have far more local knowledge .

Review by: Linda on 14/05/2018

Moscow & St Petersburg

We have just returned from our 6 day tour to Moscow & Saint Petersburg and it has been a wonderful experience. We were not sure what to expect from either city given the current political situation. Both cities were beautiful in their own way, filled with treasures and history, very clean and safe to walk round any time of day or night. Our guide Bernie was extremely knowledgeable and had everything well organised. This is about the 10th trip we have taken with riviera and they have all been excellent. Please do not be put off going to Russia because of the inconvenience of getting your visa, the visit more than made up for this. Thankyou Riviera and see you in Switzerland in August.

Review by: Jean Sutcliffe on 08/05/2018

Moscow & St Petersburg

We have just returned from a six day trip to Moscow and St Petersburg, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our Tour Manager Bernie, was excellent, he paid attention to detail, was organised and efficient so everything went smoothly. His knowledge of the cities was delivered in an interesting and engaging way and his humour keep us entertained. Both cities were definitely worth seeing, particularly the Kremlin and Peterhof. What we particularly enjoyed was the well balanced itinerary between organised and free time. Both hotels were well located being central and accessible. The Russian people we met were friendly and helpful and this did a great deal to break down preconceptions often created by media hype. Do not be put off from going by the press, its well worth it. This was our first time with Riviera Travel, but it wont be the last.

Review by: Linda Roberts on 01/05/2018

Moscow & St Petersburg

I have just returned from a fantastic tour of Moscow and St Petersburg. Far outweighed all expectations, thanks mainly to Bernie, the exceptional tour manager. He was well organised, professional, knowledgeable, thoughtful and caring. Every eventuality was covered. I would also like to pay tribute to the tour guides, Elvina and Irena in Moscow and Olga and Anya in St Petersburg. I learnt so much about Russia and it's history from them. Their English was perfect. An outstanding visit!

Review by: Maureen Hochstrasser on 27/09/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

Thank you Riviera, for quite an enjoyable holiday in Russia.

Our guides in Moscow and St Petersburg were excellent. They were well informed and entertaining.

The hotel in Moscow was very good.

However I would have loved to see the inside of Bolshoi theatre. I think it should be clarified on your itinerary that it would shown only from the outside.

I feel the tour manager could have been more proactive and communicative with clear instructions.

Review by: Sarla Malde on 05/09/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

I did not know what to expect of my visit to Russia. My first with Riviera and my first to Russia. I came home full of praise for Riviera Travel and the organisation as well as our guide for the whole holiday Jelena from Zagreb. In each city she was supported by high quality local guides as well. We started in Moscow with a very good hotel and superb weather! We were taken to the major sights and given enough time to explore on our won if we wished. Jelena gave us ideas of where to eat so that we were not totally confused by the different alphabet. In St Petersburg, we were taken to the major sights again as well as a fascinating visit to a vodka museum. On the last day, Jelena organised a boat trip for those who wished to go so that we had an English commentary. that was another highlight. I highly recommend the holiday company, the itinerary but especially thanks and praise of our guide Jelena for her superb organisation, care knowledge.

Review by: Alison Lock on 19/09/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

This is the third time we have traveled with Riviera and once again we were impressed with all aspects of the tour. From start to finish everything was extremely well organised and the itinerary was enjoyable and informative. A special mention must be made to the lovely Jelena who carried out her duties exceptionally well and was always friendly and very helpful. Local guides Alvina in Moscow and Olga in St Petersburg were also excellent. Thank you for a super trip! Hilary & Joyce.

Review by: Hilary Anderson & Joyce Needham on 15/08/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

Just returned from our third Riviera experience an excellent trip to Russia and although a bit hectic was very well organised and well run tour well managed by the tour manager who travelled with us for the whole trip and supported by very knowledgeable local guides. It provided a very good introduction to the history of the country the people the architectural treasures along with the grandeur of the palaces and cathedrals. Would certainly recommend but be prepared with good walking shoes for a very active but worthwhile few days!

Review by: John Harris on 22/08/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

Have just returned from this Russia trip and feel quite exhausted after seeing and doing so much! It was a fantastic trip, we saw everything we would have wished to see in the company of our Russian guides and our leader Jelena who was always fun, kept us where we should be and seemed to know what we needed before we knew ourselves! We feel we have learned a bit about Russia that we didn't know and would happily go back for more. The hotels were both great, well situated for walking to central spots and for restaurants. Great tour, thanks.

Review by: Lynne and Dave on 22/08/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

This tour was thoroughly enjoyable. We saw so many wonderful sights & both Russian tour guides were fantastic.Our tour manager Bernie was excellent & Riviera should be very proud of him as he really helped make the whole tour memorable for us.

Review by: Jan & Kieran Flynn on 25/07/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

Tour manager Bernie was splendidly thorough in making sure everything ran smoothly for this unforgettable and richly rewarding holiday. He was a knowledgable host with an engaging personality, as were the local guides Julia (Moscow) and Anya (St Petersburg). It has taken us a long time to venture into Russia, but our tour was a marvellous experience, which we would heartily recommend to anyone.

Review by: James Pringle on 13/06/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

We took the Riviera trip to Moscow and St Petersburg and stayed in very comfortable hotels close to all the sights. What a mind expanding experience! Wonderful cities both and so very different to each other making this a great trip! Kudos to Bernie our tour manager whose local knowledge was only exceeded by his patience, superb organisation and inherent good humour. We were a large group and still the attention to detail was incredible. Special thanks to our Moscow guide Julia and St Petersburg guide Anya whose knowledge of art, architecture and design was most impressive! Well done Riviera!

Review by: Vincent Wilson / Peter Hodge on 05/07/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

My daughter and I have just returned from our first organised tour and our first experience of Riviera Travel - we were both extremely impressed with our tour manager Bernie who, with quiet efficiency and expertise, made our first experience of Russia so very enjoyable. As well as managing a fairly large group he made sure he spoke with us all individually, addressed any concerns and really added so much extra information and opportunities he was just wonderful. The other local guides were also of top quality and we particularly enjoyed Julia in Moscow and the lovely Anya in St Petersburg. The service provided was top quality and I would not hesitate to return to either of these cities having been so excellently introduced to them. Top marks to all involved and top marks to Riviera Travel for a great service

Review by: Lynda Vance on 05/07/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

We were looking forward to our first visit to Russia but on the second day Peter fell in Moscow and had to be hospitalised. He was in hospital there for 6 days and then a further 17 in a local hospital in the UK. Throughout this time our Tour Director Bernie looked after us with immense kindness. There isn't room to describe everything he did for us but without him we would have been desperate. He made sure by phone that we were all right and liaised with another agency that our repatriation had been arranged and he kept in touch even after we had arrived in the UK. We cannot speak too highly of him. Before our holiday started we were very happy with the documentation we received Riviera's office and knew exactly what we had to do all the way through. We will be booking the same tour next year and have no hesitation in recommending you to other people. Thank you very much. Peter and Christine Jackson

Review by: Peter and Christine Jackson on 06/06/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

We have just returned from a fabulous tour, Both cities were fascinating, made to come alive by our tour manager Bernie , local guides Julia (Moscow) and Anya in St Petersburg.they were all fabulous at their jobs.

Hotels in both cities were ideal, in excellent locations, comfortable and excellent breakfasts. The whole tour was well organised from beginning to end. Be prepared for a lengthly wait to get through passport control into Moscow, it certainly took us a long time, maybe whe were just unlucky due to a large amount of people arriving. Great way to see the country, which was most definitely

different to our preconceptions.

Review by: Trudy & Alex Lafferty on 05/07/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg

We have just returned from a fabulous tour, Both cities were fascinating, made to come alive by our tour manager Bernie , local guides Julia (Moscow) and Anya in St Petersburg.they were all fabulous at their jobs.

Hotels in both cities were ideal, in excellent locations, comfortable and excellent breakfasts. The whole tour was well organised from beginning to end. Be prepared for a lengthly wait to get through passport control into Moscow, it certainly took us a long time, maybe whe were just unlucky due to a large amount of people arriving. Great way to see the country, which was most definitely

different to our preconceptions.

Review by: Trudy & Alex Lafferty on 05/07/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

We have been on several Riviera Tours and have never been disappointed. This trip to Russia was no exception. The Tour Guide Bernie was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. He was knowledgeable and informative with a great sense of humour. The local guides in both Moscow and St Petersburg were excellent - special mention of Alvina - she really seemed to want us all to go home with a favourable opinion of Russia. It isn't easy getting 47 elderly clients around the Moscow Metro!

This is fairly full on tour with a fair bit of walking - but I thoroughly recommend it. You will leave Russia with a different perspective!!

Review by: Angie & Mike on 06/06/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

May we take this opportunity to let you know how highly we regarded your tour manager Bernie. He was kind, considerate, informative, professional, and had an excellent sense of humour. He could not have been better.

Also Anna the Russian guide for St Petersburg : really hard-working, kind, informative and again with a great sense of humour.

Just thought you ought to know.

Review by: Chris Bett/Pam Ellis on 09/05/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

This was our first visit to Russia. That was why we chose a conducted tour. Last year we travelled with Riviera on the Sorrento tour which we enjoyed enormously. This trip was impeccably well-organised throughout the week. The tour manager Berny planned meticulously our timed visits and our luggage movements. He and the local guides provided fine detail about Russian history and culture in both cities in which we were both interested. Useful advice was provided about where we might eat and where we could spend leisure time on our visits. Not a moment seemed to be wasted: time allocated to wander about was well-judged. We regard this trip as excellent, highly recommended. Well done!

Review by: George Fearnley on 16/05/2017

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

I had a wonderful holiday in Russia. All the bad preconceptions on security, food, friendliness were wrong, Marriott hotel excellent. Both Moscow and St Petersburg were great. Many thanks to Jelene who was most helpful when needed, wonderful humour and made the holiday what it was. All the local guides used were of good calibre and I think got us through the crowds in a very good way. They were very knowledgeable and funny too. I usually wouldn’t go on a tour but I am so glad I did this one as I don’t think we would have seen as much without the support of Riviera Travel’s expertise.

Review by: Charmion Gillmore on 27/09/2016

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

We just wanted to thank you for a wonderful holiday in Moscow & St Petersburg at the beginning of this month. This is the first time we have been on a guided tour type holiday but felt this would be a good way of getting the best out visiting these cities. We were very well looked after from start to finish on our trip, our tour manager Yelena was extremely helpful and friendly and she ensured everything ran smoothly throughout the holiday. We’d be grateful if you could pass on our thanks as we missed her after check in/security at the airport & didn’t get chance to thank her personally. The local guides also were very knowledgeable and entertaining and we learned a great deal about the places we visited.

The Moscow hotel in particular was very nice and centrally placed for seeing the sights and we able to explore the city quite easily during our free time, the only thing we would say is that we would have liked a little more free time in St Petersburg to explore on our own but time constraints didn’t allow this, I think we would have preferred perhaps an extra day there so the activities could have been spread out a little to allow for a bit more extra free time, however this is just our personal preference.

Thank you again, we would definitely recommend this trip.

Review by: Karen & Russell Underwood on 28/09/2016

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

I am delighted to give feedback on my recent trip with Riviera Travel to Moscow and St Petersburg. From the beginning to the end the whole tour was so efficiently organised and our tour manager, Helena, was always available to assist with any query or problem which cropped up. The tour guides were so knowledgeable and they enhanced all the tours with their informed commentaries. The Marriott Hotel in Moscow was perfect in every way, but the bedrooms in the Novotel, St Petersburg were basic. However they were very clean and we soon got used to the lack of ‘frills’. The transport was excellent, always on time and very safely driven.

I would certainly recommend your Company to my friends and in fact we are thinking of booking with you next year.

Review by: Christine Ward on 21/09/2016

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

Congratulations. Just back from Moscow and St Petersburg 1/9/16 to 7/9/16.

Credit where credit is due, superb trip. Our guides were brilliant.

Thank you for a very special trip. Forty Six of us in total, and all back safe and sound.

Everything was spot on.

Review by: Liz and Chris King on 21/09/2016

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

Good Afternoon all at Riviera Travel.

We have just returned from the Moscow & St. Petersburg Tour with yourselves and want to thank you for a wonderful trip.

Our Tour Manager - Bernie - was absolutely wonderful. He organized everything so well and with such a lovely manner. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was a joy to travel with. He even organized good weather for us!!

Our local tour guides for the palaces and places of interest were all great too and very informative.

As I’m sure you will be aware, we have travelled with you quite a lot and have already booked for Sicily next summer.

Keep up the good work. Once again many thanks.

Review by: David and Karen Parker on 21/09/2016

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

Once again Riviera has produced a wonderful tour. Despite the tortuous process of getting a Russian Visa it was an action-packed visit. Moscow, particularly, was a total surprise: so clean, so colourful, so friendly…......an absolute joy to be there. Both hotels were perfectly located and very welcoming, the train journey a super way of understanding the vastness of Russia and Bernie, our guide, a most delightful and informative leader. Nothing was too much trouble for him. His knowledge and experience ensured that the trip was a total success.

Review by: Peter Roberts on 20/09/2016

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

Brilliant tour! Wonderful cities to visit! Hotels in both places were excellent - the Novotel rooms in St Petersburg were much smaller than Marriott in Moscow - but then how much time do you spend in them?! Outstanding breakfasts in both hotels - an enormous range of food - I don’t know why people have previously complained about the Novotel. The main tour guide went out of his way to arrange other events for those interested, such as ballet, a show, river cruise etc. All tour guides very knowledgeable - all round excellent tour!

Review by: Pat on 15/09/2016

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

What better way of completing our amazing trip than writing our review. With so much to see and do, be inspired and dazzled, Moscow and St Petersburg is a must-do holiday. The Courtyard Marriott, an excellent choice of hotel and so central to the main part of Moscow, The Kremlin, Red Square. With a definite contrast to St Petersburg, the Novotel was a very nice hotel, a lovely restaurant to unwind with travelling guests.

Our tour rep was Helena, she was the icing on the cake and we cannot praise her enough. Also our guides in both Moscow and St Petersburg, Yoletta, Olga & Galena. They were so informative and compassionate and inspired us all to want to know more. We know now the reason we chose to visit Russia.

Review by: Patricia and Paul Bennett on 09/09/2016

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

The Lucas’s & Fox’s would like to complement Riviera Travel on the guides provided on this tour. We were particularly pleased with Bernie who accompanied us throughout and with Vera who looked after us in Moscow. we were also very impressed with Anya in St Petersburg who was brilliant.

Nothing was too much trouble for her and her knowledge of the history related to the artifacts and sites visited was first class. We thanked all of the guides at the time but would like you to pass on our compliments to all of them now we are back in the UK.

We were very happy with the Marriott Hotel in Moscow but the hotel in St Petersburg whilst OK did not compare to the Marriott so was a little disappointing. Overall the holiday was brilliant but on reflection we would have preferred it to be longer (10 days) as there was so much more to see in both places.

Review by: Richard Lucas on 02/09/2016

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

How much we enjoyed our recent trip to Moscow and St. Petersburg.

The hotels were very central and comfortable in both Cities. We were impressed both by our tours and with our taste of Russia.

Our UK guide Kevin made a very good travelling companion.

Well done for a good holiday.

Review by: Malcolm WAITE on 02/09/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.