If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Moscow & St Petersburg Tour

I had a wonderful holiday in Russia. All the bad preconceptions on security, food, friendliness were wrong, Marriott hotel excellent. Both Moscow and St Petersburg were great. Many thanks to Jelene who was most helpful when needed, wonderful humour and made the holiday what it was.  All the local guides used were of good calibre and I think got us through the crowds in a very good way. They were very knowledgeable and funny too. I usually wouldn’t go on a tour but I am so glad I did this one as I don’t think we would have seen as much without the support of Riviera Travel’s expertise.

Review by Charmion Gillmore on 27 September 2016

We just wanted to thank you for a wonderful holiday in Moscow & St Petersburg at the beginning of this month.  This is the first time we have been on a guided tour type holiday but felt this would be a good way of getting the best out visiting these cities.  We were very well looked after from start to finish on our trip, our tour manager Yelena was extremely helpful and friendly and she ensured everything ran smoothly throughout the holiday.  We’d be grateful if you could pass on our thanks as we missed her after check in/security at the airport & didn’t get chance to thank her personally. The local guides also were very knowledgeable and entertaining and we learned a great deal about the places we visited.
The Moscow hotel in particular was very nice and centrally placed for seeing the sights and we able to explore the city quite easily during our free time, the only thing we would say is that we would have liked a little more free time in St Petersburg to explore on our own but time constraints didn’t allow this, I think we would have preferred perhaps an extra day there so the activities could have been spread out a little to allow for a bit more extra free time, however this is just our personal preference.
Thank you again, we would definitely recommend this trip.

Review by Karen & Russell Underwood on 28 September 2016

I am delighted to give feedback on my recent trip with Riviera Travel to Moscow and St Petersburg.  From the beginning to the end the whole tour was so efficiently organised and our tour manager, Helena, was always available to assist with any query or problem which cropped up.  The tour guides were so knowledgeable and they enhanced all the tours with their informed commentaries.  The Marriott Hotel in Moscow was perfect in every way, but the bedrooms in the Novotel, St Petersburg were basic.  However they were very clean and we soon got used to the lack of ‘frills’.  The transport was excellent, always on time and very safely driven.

I would certainly recommend your Company to my friends and in fact we are thinking of booking with you next year. 

Review by Christine Ward on 21 September 2016

Congratulations.  Just back from Moscow and St Petersburg 1/9/16 to 7/9/16.
Credit where credit is due, superb trip.  Our guides were brilliant.
Thank you for a very special trip.  Forty Six of us in total, and all back safe and sound.
Everything was spot on.

Review by Liz and Chris King on 21 September 2016

Good Afternoon all at Riviera Travel.
We have just returned from the Moscow & St. Petersburg Tour with yourselves and want to thank you for a wonderful trip.
Our Tour Manager - Bernie - was absolutely wonderful.  He organized everything so well and with such a lovely manner. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was a joy to travel with.  He even organized good weather for us!!
Our local tour guides for the palaces and places of interest were all great too and very informative.
As I’m sure you will be aware, we have travelled with you quite a lot and have already booked for Sicily next summer.
Keep up the good work.  Once again many thanks.

Review by David and Karen Parker on 21 September 2016

Once again Riviera has produced a wonderful tour. Despite the tortuous process of getting a Russian Visa it was an action-packed visit. Moscow, particularly, was a total surprise: so clean, so colourful, so friendly…......an absolute joy to be there. Both hotels were perfectly located and very welcoming, the train journey a super way of understanding the vastness of Russia and Bernie, our guide, a most delightful and informative leader. Nothing was too much trouble for him. His knowledge and experience ensured that the trip was a total success.

Review by Peter Roberts on 20 September 2016

Brilliant tour!  Wonderful cities to visit!  Hotels in both places were excellent - the Novotel rooms in St Petersburg were much smaller than Marriott in Moscow - but then how much time do you spend in them?!  Outstanding breakfasts in both hotels - an enormous range of food - I don’t know why people have previously complained about the Novotel.  The main tour guide went out of his way to arrange other events for those interested, such as ballet, a show, river cruise etc.  All tour guides very knowledgeable - all round excellent tour!

Review by Pat on 15 September 2016

What better way of completing our amazing trip than writing our review. With so much to see and do, be inspired and dazzled, Moscow and St Petersburg is a must-do holiday.  The Courtyard Marriott, an excellent choice of hotel and so central to the main part of Moscow, The Kremlin, Red Square. With a definite contrast to St Petersburg, the Novotel was a very nice hotel, a lovely restaurant to unwind with travelling guests.
Our tour rep was Helena, she was the icing on the cake and we cannot praise her enough. Also our guides in both Moscow and St Petersburg, Yoletta, Olga & Galena. They were so informative and compassionate and inspired us all to want to know more. We know now the reason we chose to visit Russia.

Review by Patricia and Paul Bennett on 9 September 2016

The Lucas’s & Fox’s would like to complement Riviera Travel on the guides provided on this tour. We were particularly pleased with Bernie who accompanied us throughout and with Vera who looked after us in Moscow. we were also very impressed with Anya in St Petersburg who was brilliant.
Nothing was too much trouble for her and her knowledge of the history related to the artifacts and sites visited was first class. We thanked all of the guides at the time but would like you to pass on our compliments to all of them now we are back in the UK.

We were very happy with the Marriott Hotel in Moscow but the hotel in St Petersburg whilst OK did not compare to the Marriott so was a little disappointing. Overall the holiday was brilliant but on reflection we would have preferred it to be longer (10 days) as there was so much more to see in both places.

Review by Richard Lucas on 2 September 2016

How much we enjoyed our recent trip to Moscow and St. Petersburg.
The hotels were very central and comfortable in both Cities. We were impressed both by our tours and with our taste of Russia.
Our UK guide Kevin made a very good travelling companion.
Well done for a good holiday.

Review by Malcolm WAITE on 2 September 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to Moscow and St Petersberg and just wanted to let you know that our Tour Guide Bernie was excellent - very informative, interesting and a great sense of humour and very helpful.  That’s all!  We’ll be in touch for our next holiday all being well soon.

Yours sincerely,
Geraldine & Paul Bingham (Cyprus)

PS Vera and Anya also were very good tour guides.

Review by Geraldine & Paul Bingham on 2 September 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful tour of Moscow and St. Petersburg.  Our Tour Guide, Bernie, couldn’t do enough for us and was extremely knowledgeable about these great cities.  We will certainly be using your Company in the future.  Bernie is a real credit to your organisation.

Review by Linda Craig on 2 September 2016

This was our first organised tour and we enjoyed it immensely. Bernie the tour manager was outstanding and the guides in both Moscow and St Petersburg were excellent. Both hotels were well placed and of a high standard. Great trip and met some lovely people!

Review by Anita and Peter Spink on 27 August 2016

We returned on Monday from a most enjoyable and informative holiday to Moscow and St Petersburg.  We have to commend Riviera, yet again, for laying on such a well planned programme with very informative, enthusiastic and “patriotic” guides.  The tour manager Bernie was absolutely brilliant - a wonderful asset for Riviera.  Not only was he constantly educating us with his own personal experiences in Russia over many years but he, without fuss, ensured that all members of the party knew exactly where they should be and when.  In addition the 2 hotels were very comfortable and strategically located.
Thank you Riviera for ensuring we had a wonderful week in Russia.

Review by Richard and Diana Purssell on 25 August 2016

Not really done an organised tour before but this was really good. Tour manager Bernie was brilliant and Vera and Tamara in Moscow and Anya and Olga in St. Petersburg were very knowledgeable….they could answer questions about Catherine the Great and then the Soviet education some of them received. Very good holiday with some lovely people. Please Riviera can you do a trip one step up…so more detailed visits to The State Armory in Moscow and much longer in The Hermitage…..maybe with a choice of where to visit…Amber room, Gold treasures etc

Review by Bryony Dalgleish on 24 August 2016

This was a fantastic trip which was well organised. Bernie and the local guides are very good. Both hotels are in a good location and both are of a good standard. Moscow was a wonderful suprise. I would recommend this tour.

Review by Ann Ratcliffe on 6 August 2016

Our 3rd Riviera tour, Russia was a revelation, beautiful, clean, friendly and seemed very safe. Moscow receiving a major facelift for the 2018 football, so quite a lot of construction St Petersburg seemed busier but just as opulent. Our tour manager Bernie was very informative and enthusiastic about his adopted home. Our various Russian tour guides were very helpful but a little more difficult to understand.  Would encourage anyone debating the tour to go, we really enjoyed our visit.

Review by Frank and Jane Peet on 2 August 2016

We have just returned from a tour of Moscow and St Petersburg and wanted to briefly thank you, your staff and guides for a wonderful week away. We generally travel independently but found the thought of tackling Russia on our own a little daunting, so booked the Riviera Travel tour. We expected Russia to be interesting but were bowled over by the beauty, grandeur and scale of the architecture, the chilled-out and happy-go-lucky atmosphere, the range and quality of food, the friendliness of the locals and, frankly, the ease of travel (the latter of which was clearly much eased by our tour manager and guides!)  Bernie is a wonderful tour manager, knowledgeable and, attentive. We couldn’t have been in better hands. Our guides Tatiana (Moscow) and Olga (St P) were also faultless. Everything went like clockwork. We cannot believe we crammed so much into a week. Thanks to all, we will certainly be booking with Riviera again.

Review by Peter and Sandra Whitehead on 2 August 2016

This is by far the best tour we have been on with Rivera. Moscow and St Petersburg are fabulous Cities our Guides Tatiana in Moscow and Victor in St Petersburg were outstanding. Chris, Rivera’s Rep looked after our every need, the two hotels we stayed in were excellent and ideally situated in the centre of both cities.
Getting the Visa is a little daunting but persevere its well worth the trouble.
We know Riviera can not include everything but St Catherine’s Palace is a must to see.
Wonderful Holiday and we will be booking again soon.

Review by Dave and Mary Smith on 30 May 2013

Excellent tour of these 2 superb cities. Hotels well situated. Riviera’s rep, Bernie was very helpful & informative & all the guides for both cities were very good. 
Thank you Riviera & here’s to future holidays with your Company. 
David & Gill Stockford

Review by David & Gill Stockford on 24 June 2013

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.