[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

We have just returned from this tour which most certainly exceeded our expectations. The areas visited were just breathtaking. The highlight was the cable car up to Aiguille du Midi. The views just blew us away. Truly magical, to say nothing of the step into the void. WOW !!!

Our guide Julia was superb. Nothing was too much trouble, we were certainly well looked after.

Our room at Le Refuge was OK but the lighting was a bit of a challenge. That said food at the Hotel was fine and the staff very friendly and helpful and the location is great.

This was our 4th holiday with Riviera and they have all been well organised but very different. I think this may be our new favourite :)

Review by: Dorothy & Vic Hayers on 04/07/2019

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

This is the first time I have been with this company. And I had a great time.

The hotel was very good, food also very good. and the trips out were amazing, I am not too good with coach travel, so the tour guide put me and my cousin in the front seats, which was very kind of her. As one day I felt quite Ill. We Booked a helicopter flight,but we were not able to do this, as nobody else wanted to fly, and there had to be Six of us..Very sad ,but enjoyed the rest of the holiday. Restaurants we went to with the company were really good.

All is all we had a lovely time, Thank you Riveria, and Julia for the coach trips, and the front seat.

Review by: gillian matthews on 07/06/2018

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

Having returned a week ago from our second trip with Riviera we would not hesitate to recommend this holiday especially with our tour guide, Andy. His wealth of knowledge about the Alps, climbing and mountaineering and his anecdotes made the trip so much more interesting.

Nothing was too much trouble. A really genuine guy who deserved our thanks.

Review by: Carol & Robert Cooper on 08/06/2017

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

WE really enjoyed our first tour with Riviera. Well planned and executed excusions - the highlight was definitely the ascent of the Aiguille du Midi. Many thanks to our Tour Guide, Andy who is so knowledgeable and made it all the more interesting! We have learned so much!

Review by: Linda and Peter Kidd on 08/06/2017

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

We would like to commend our Tour Guide Andy. He proved to be an informative, helpful and pleasant individual with an extremely useful fund of information about the tour destinations and other local amenities. He handle the changes to our itinerary in a most gentle manner. We would not hesitate to go on another tour with him as guide, indeed we would find him an additional reason to be attracted to any tour. He gave us a number of book recommendation that have proved to be excellent reading.

Review by: John and Linda Addison on 28/09/2016

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

We have just returned from the Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva and Annecy holiday. I would like to say what a lovely time we had. The hotel and itinerary were very good and we were really fortunate with the weather.

However, the holiday would not have been so interesting or run so smoothly without a good courier, and Suzan was excellent. Not only was she very knowledgeable and informative, but conscientious in making sure everyone knew exactly what to expect and in looking after our comfort. She was especially caring of a fellow traveller who was injured, and his worried wife, and spent exhaustive efforts arranging their flight home.

On the way home, when our journey across Paris was extended because of demonstrations and road closures, Suzan gave us an impromptu commentary on the sights of Paris! And then made sure we all checked in to Eurostar by the skin of our teeth (because of the delays)!

We highly commend Suzan and would be delighted if we found she was the courier on any other tour we booked.

Review by: Val and Paul Lynn on 28/09/2016

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

What a fabulous week! We thoroughly enjoyed each day, with a very varied itinerary. The highlight was the cable car trip to Aiguille du Midi to see Mont Blanc at close quarters and shuffle into the “void” to have our photos taken. The Mercure Hotel was in a good position in Chamonix, allowing us to walk into the centre in a couple of minutes. The optional guided hike to the Petit Balcon du Sud was most enjoyable, although probably too strenuous for most of the tour group. We also loved the funicular/open train to the Emosson Dam.

Our tour guide Suzan was exceptional in some very trying circumstances for some people on the tour. She coped with the rearranged tours with calmness and good humour and provided lots of interesting information about the places we visited. Certainly one in a million! Eric, our driver, was excellent in navigating the hairpin bends in a long coach. Many thanks for a great holiday.

Review by: J Mckenzie on 20/09/2016

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

Chamonix/Mount Blanc exceeded any expectations! Suzan our tour guide was so knowledgable, efficient, kind, and able to handle any schedule change, individuals travel sickness, minor and major medical issues. She added humor and local historical information in a manner that kept our interest. The tour was fabulous! Suzan is an asset to this company.

Review by: Michael and Regina Cox on 20/09/2016

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

For my husband and I this was an unforgettable week to enjoy this wonderful part of the world. We were led by an exceptionally good tour manager in the person of Suzanne, who not only performed her job well, but related well with the members of the group, always having time for the individual. The hotel was excellent and could not have been in a better position, with the added bonus of the swimming pool.

Riviera Travel kept up its excellent standard. I understand that this was the first time that this tour had been run so hope that it will be repeated for future travelers.

Yours sincerely,

Christine Clarke

Review by: Christine Clarke on 19/09/2016

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

Once again you have excelled all our expectations on this holiday.

Our guide ,Suzan, was wonderful, always available to help, and. organising a large group very efficiently and tactfully. She even managed to rearrange the itinerary to suit the weather, no easy task involving changing driver rotas and twice changing the booking up the Aguille du Midi. She was knowledgeable about all aspects of the trip without continually bombarding us with trivia throughout the coach trips. A truly exceptional guide.

Eric, the coach driver was equally good driving winding roads that I would not want to attempt in a car in a large bus with great care and expertise.

We must also thank him for changing his day off so we could ascend the Aiguille du Midi when it was not pouring with rain.

Thank you and your staff for a wonderful trip and we look forward to our next holiday with your company.

Review by: Brian Silverman on 09/09/2016

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

I would like to thank all of you for producing a awe inspiring holiday around the Mont Blanc French Alps area .

This was a extra special experience made all the more extra special due to your tour guide Andy. A very organised and knowledgeable man . He enthused confidence into everyone on the tour especially on the ascent of Aiguille de Midi. We all learnt a lot of French, and the confidence to use it when out and about. We also learnt a lot of geology and mountaineering History.

All of your travel arrangements worked like clockwork and I felt relaxed in the various connections made .

Again thanks for a spectacular holiday and special thanks to your excellent tour guide Andy.

Review by: John & Vicky Nicklin on 25/08/2016

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this holiday based in Chamonix. The Mercure Hotel was very good. On the evenings we dined out by ourselves we found good restaurants in walking distance. The group meals out on two evenings were both excellent.

The coach tours to Annecy, to Aosta, to Evian-les-Bains & Yvoire, and to Château de Chillon on Lac Leman and Lausanne were wonderful.

An ad hoc adjustment to the itinerary was made on the day we travelled to Aosta, such the the outward route was over the St Bernard Pass. This was an unexpected treat.

The highlight for me was the cable car ascent of the Aiguille du Midi, with stunning views of nearby Mont Blanc and clear sight of all the Alps on every point of the horizon.

We were blessed by very good weather on all but the first full day.

Tour guide Andy kept us well informed. Driver Stephan is a very competent coach driver. We felt safe even on the tightest of hairpin bends.

The city tour in Annecy was excellent, and made good use of modern technology such that we could all hear her very clearly.

The city tour in Aosta would be improved had the same wireless technology been used.

We really enjoyed the boat trip on Lac d’Annecy.

Review by: David Haslam on 16/08/2016

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

Overall tour excellent as expected from previous tours with Riviera. Could have spent more time at Chillon Castle or Ouchy to make a visit to the Olympic Museum worthwhile. Hotel Mercure OK but staff need to be more focussed on dealing with large groups .

Review by: Mrs Marorie Young on 04/08/2016

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

Thank you Riviera Travel for a well organised holiday, during which we were very well looked after and entertained by our tour guide Andy who was always ready to help whenever needed. Chamonix is an awe inspiring destination, the Alps were majestic and all the areas visited gave us much to admire. This was topped off by the drive and visit to Chillon castle and Lausannne leaving us with many special memories.

Review by: Jim Peirce on 26/06/2016

Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva & Annecy

This was a varied and most enjoyable tour. Amazing scenery at every turn and our guide Andy was a mine of information. Always cheerful and happy to give help and advice. The cable car to the Aiguille de Midi was a real highlight, as was Aosta and Lausanne.

Review by: Jacqueline farrell on 22/05/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.