[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

A most enjoyable tour, plenty to see and explore, well filled days and no over long coach journeys. The hotels were all very nice as were the inclusive meals. For the first couple of days it was very very hot but we coped and it did not detract from the overall experience. Tour Manager David was exceptional; looking after everyone, keeping us well informed and entertained and proving to be a very well organised, caring and conscientious leader. I can wholeheartedly recommend this tour.

Review by: Peter Baldwin on 27/06/2019

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

As always, Riviera has come up smelling of roses. We travelled to Paris on Eurostar, so no fraught early-morning hassle at a regional airport. Our tour manager, David, introduced himself on the train early on in the journey. From then on, for the whole tour, he was 'available' - never intrusive but always very easy to find and speak to if we needed to. So knowledgeable and interesting regarding the facts and history; and also a great raconteur - little anecdotes and jokes to keep us going during the longer coach trips; thank you, David. There is a lot of walking over cobbles and uneven surfaces plus stairs in various locations so not recommended for those with limited mobility. The tour was the busiest we have been on, but most enjoyable and extremely well planned to follow the history and culture of the area. Riviera, we will be back!

Review by: Jacqui MacGillivray on 27/06/2019

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

We have just returned from The tour of Monet Garden ,The Loire and Fontainebleau. It was a very exciting and informative tour,with our Tour Manager David,who made it come alive with his commentaries and knowledge of French History.;along with his random jokes which alleviated the daily early morning starts as we travelled to the next Chateaux.!

An exhausting Tour !Comfortable Hotels,.and an incentive to continue to travel with Riviera again.

Review by: Bernard and Mel Knight on 23/08/2018

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

This was a lovely trip to an interesting and beautiful place. The holiday was made even better by an excellent guide and a coach driver (Dirk from Belgium) who was friendly, helpful and willing to put himself out to make sure everything went smoothly. I cannot praise him enough. Excellent service.

Review by: Neil on 14/06/2018

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

A enjoyable holiday which ran very smoothly. My favourite trip was to Leonardo da Vinci's home at Amboise. Monet's Garden was good but that does seem to be becoming a victim of its own success. It tends to get overcrowded with many other tour groups arriving at the same time.

The hotels were comfortable and the three evening meals which were included by Riviera Travel were very good. The Tour Manager (David) is ideal for this sort of tour, knowledgeable, a good communicator, witty, enthusiastic and helpful. He set the mood which helped the whole group to gel together - and it was a large group on this one - 46 of us! I am giving this holiday a score of Ten as for the price we paid I thought it was excellent value for money. If we had tried to arrange all that ourselves I reckon it would have cost us a small fortune!

Review by: James on 24/05/2018

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

I've just returned from this trip visiting many excellent places in northern France. Our Tour Manager, also called David, was excellent - greeting us on the Eurostar, and giving clear instructions from then on to keep the large party together when needed and running on time. Waiting for the coach to move while stragglers arrive is frustrating but this only happened once, and then only for a few minutes after the wine tasting! The tour is ideally timed so that you are not rushed and have plenty of time at each stop. We could have spent more time at some spots but this is no fault of the tour, just with such chateau and gardens to see you could spend all day at one place.

Review by: David W on 24/05/2018

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

I travelled with a friend on this wonderful trip, made all the more special because of our lovely guide David. He was so knowledgeable and his anecdotes along the way were an added extra! It was quite obvious that this was more than a job to him. If you love gardens then Monet's is a must visit along with Leonardo da Vinci's house, Clos Luce. All the hotels were clean and comfortable, the Orleans Portes de Sologne was especially nice.

Review by: Nicola Otridge on 10/05/2018

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

Group visit of 52 enjoyed this amazing holiday. Beautiful area, lots of history and some awesome buildings. Glorious weather. Angus was a super Tour Manager - so knowledgable and helpful. Many thanks to Ali and Sophie in the Groups Department for all their help.

Review by: Christine Gardner on 13/07/2017

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

Just wanted to say we arrived home from this tour on Wednesday 21st June six of us travelled together booked through Altham’s Huddersfield. It was an absolutely fantastic holiday. The hotels were very good (Mercure in Tours). The meals you provided were also very good especially the one in Tours at the restaurant. Every day was brilliant with so much to see but we never felt rushed, so many highlights hard to choose what we enjoyed most. The weather was really hot so it was good that we always had time for a drink before we had to get back on the coach. Our tour leader Franck was wonderful, nothing too much trouble very kind and considerate and our driver Johan too. We couldn’t fault anything and each of us really enjoyed ourselves. Very well done Riviera our second holiday with you (last year a river cruise on the Rhone) and certainly won’t be the last. Many thanks

Review by: Lesley Ingleby on 14/06/2017

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

This was our second Riviera tour and it exceeded our expectations. It was made special by our tour guide who was obviously perfect for the job and he made the holiday special for us. Thank you Riviera and congratulations to Keith our great guide

Review by: Gren Gaskell on 06/07/2017

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

My friend and I have just returned from your trip with Riviera to Monet's garden and the Loire Valley area.

We were very impressed with the standard of the trip, the organisation, planning and details of places visited by our group.

We were extremely fortunate to have such an excellent guide, Suzan, who is such a positive, enthusiastic, well organised, informative, diplomatic, friendly person. She certainly made the trip so enjoyable and made sure everyone on the trip was comfortable with all the arrangements. I do hope I have the pleasure of meeting her again on another trip!

I will certainly recommend your Travel Company to others and hope to plan another holiday with you fairly soon.

Review by: Jan Smithson on 08/06/2017

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

We have just returned from this trip and cannot praise it enough. The hotels were all comfortable, but the trip was made for us by Angus and his little stories. He made everything run smoothly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We also had a great driver in Jacky(?) whose driving was exceptional. Monet's Garden lived up to our expectations and more, the chateaux were all beautiful - helped by beautiful weather. We would really recommend this holiday.

Review by: Arthur & Margaret Collier on 05/06/2017

Monet's Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

This was a fascinating tour with many highlights in one of the most scenic parts of France. So much to see in terms of history & stunning landscapes - highlights were Monet's Garden - better than you imagine- Leonardo da Vinci's house & beautiful chateaux and castles where we retraced the footsteps of famous historical characters including Joan of Arc & Napoleon. Our guide Angus was a wonderful companion on this journey - full of interesting facts & many funny stories - he could give Michael McIntyre a run for his money! An outstanding holiday that we will remember for a long time!

Review by: Clare & Steve Blake on 18/05/2017

Monet’s Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

Just back from the Loire Valley Tour. Again, an excellent tour by Riviera, well run, well balanced. Paul, our manager/guide was brilliant! The hotels were comfortable as was the coach - great driving from Dirk. A wine tasting would have been good but that has been included for next year I understand. The tour was only half full.

Review by: Bonita Thomson on 21/10/2016

Monet’s Garden, The Loire Valley & Fontainebleau

I recently enjoyed a Riviera Tour of the LOIRE VALLEY from September 15th to 20th. I was really impressed with the care and kindness shown to me as a SENIOR CITIZEN by the Tour Manager, Paul and his Driver,David from Belgium. They were a wonderful asset to the Company and I would be Happy to travel with them anytime. Margaret Clare Kelly.

Review by: Margaret Clare Kelly on 07/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.