[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

A Garden tour with Joe Swift, a fantastic group and had many enjoyable days and evenings together. Everything was extremely well organised and Keith our tour guide was always on hand to keep us up to date or help with anything either the tours, hotel and sights. We had great weather and thoroughly enjoyed the company of everyone in the group, The entertainment in the evening was fun too and we all met for pre dinner drinks in the evening. Great fun and will definitely use Riviera in the future. Thank you.

Review by: P Bellini on 08/04/2019

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

My Party of 6 have just enjoyed a wonderful holiday in Madeira with Riviera. The Hotel was lovely, very clean, excellent rooms with wonderful Staff, who couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The food was wonderful, with so much choice both at breakfast and evening mealtimes. Our thanks go to Maggie our rep, who was brilliant, keeping us well informed and very friendly throughout and made our trips around the whole Island so enjoyable. This was our 3rd time with Rivieira, and all have been excellent. Thank You

Review by: Mrs Valerie Meredith on 18/06/2018

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

This was our third Riviera holiday and we were not disappointed. Funchal was very busy, so we enjoyed the trips further afield and discovered what a glorious scenic and peaceful island Madeira is. Maggie was an excellent guide, very caring, good local knowledge and always ended her trips on a 'High' with some wonderful view point. She was always available so easy to get any queries sorted. The hotel was adequate. Our room was rather small and dark. However the restaurant and food choices were excellent. I'm now looking at the brochure to book our next trip.

Review by: Judy and Alan on 18/06/2018

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

Having just returned from Madeira I just wanted to pass on my thanks for a superb holiday, despite the delay home, I would like to comment on our rep, Maggie, she was excellent and kept us informed every step of the way. This is our 7th trio with Riviera and they have all been excellent, thank you. Looking forward to our next one to Canada in June. Thank you

Review by: Elizabeth Buckley on 16/04/2018

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

Wonderful holiday, great service from customer services in booking plane seats and a very good tour rep(Keith). Hotel was excellent, with good staff and good food. Nothing bad to say as with all Riviera holidays we have been on

Review by: Alexander and Cheryl Paterson on 21/05/2018

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

EXCELLENT HOLIDAY IN MADEIRA. THE HOTEL WAS VERY GOOD - WELL WORTH PAYING THE EXTRA FOR A ROOM WITH BALCONY AND SEA VIEW. FOOD IN THE RESTAURANT WAS VERY GOOD BUT BREAKFAST WAS RATHER HECTIC. THERE SEEMED TO BE A FEW TOUR PARTIES AND OF COURSE EVERYONE WENT OUT ON EXCURSIONS AT THE SAME TIME !! MUCH MORE RELAXED AT DINNER SINCE THERE WERE TWO SITTINGS ( 6 p.m. and 8.00 p.m.). MAGGIE OUR TOUR MANAGER WAS VERY THOROUGH AND EFFICIENT AS WELL AS BEING FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. SHE HANDLED THE RETURN JOURNEY DELAY OF ONE DAY (STRONG WINDS AT THE AIRPORT) BRILLIANTLY KEEPING ALL THE TOUR PARTY WELL INFORMED AND ORGANISING THE RETURN TO OUR HOTEL FOR THE EXTRA NIGHT.LOOKING FORWARD TO ANOTHER RIVIERA HOLIDAY IN THE NEAR FUTURE.

Review by: GRAHAM AND SUE HARRIS on 16/04/2018

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday to Madeira operated by yourselves (Ref 992295) and are writing to congratulate you on a superb holiday enjoyed. The arrangements ran smoothly, the weather was kind and the island itself most interesting.

Our enjoyment was largely due to the care and attention lavished upon our group by your Tour Guide Daniella, who was outstandingly superb and knowledgeable with nothing too much trouble for her. We commend her most highly and praise her constant efforts on behalf of all of us on our tour.

The hotel was also excellent with no faults to be found. The staff were helpful, efficient and attentive, with the food provided most acceptable with many choices available from the buffet. What more could we want?

This is our second trip with yourselves - we traveled to Berlin and Dresden a couple of years ago with your company - which trip we also enjoyed very much. You may rest assured that we shall be using again in the future and congratulate you again on the quality of this holiday. Thank you very much.

Review by: Barrie and Deirdre Taylor on 12/03/2018

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

Back from our week’s holiday in Madeira my wife and I would like to record our thanks for a well organised and enjoyable tour. We explored a great deal of the isle and its culture and learned much of interest. Your tour guide, Danielle, was outstandingly cheerful, efficient and patient in handling arrangements for such a large group of mostly elderly and often infirm people. The hotel was welcoming and spotless, the staff obliging, and the food good.

Compliments also to your home office staff who had to deal with a change of airline and yet managed to get the travel documents out in good time.

Our faith in Riviera was once again vindicated. Thank you.

Review by: HS Grünewald on 12/03/2018

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

Having just returned from Madeira I just wanted to pass on my thanks fir a superb holiday, despite the delay home, I would like to comment on our rep, Maggie, she was excellent and kept us informed every step of the way. Thus is our 7th trio with riviera and they have all been excellent, thank you. Looking forward to our next one to Canada in June. Thank you

Review by: Elizabeth Buckley on 16/04/2018

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

Back from our week’s holiday in Madeira my wife and I would like to record our thanks for a well organised and enjoyable tour. We explored a great deal of the isle and its culture and learned much of interest. Your tour guide, Danielle, was outstandingly cheerful, efficient and patient in handling arrangements for such a large group of mostly elderly and often infirm people. The hotel was welcoming and spotless, the staff obliging, and the food good.

Compliments also to your home office staff who had to deal with a change of airline and yet managed to get the travel documents out in good time.

Our faith in Riviera was once again vindicated. Thank you.

Review by: HS Grünewald on 12/03/2018

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

This was our 10th holiday with Riviera and it came up to all our expectations. Our tour manager Janet was efficient and always eager to keep everyone happy. Our driver for the whole week, Alberto, was excellent and reliable on the demanding mountain roads. We found the hotel comfortable, very clean and the staff particularly pleasant. The bedrooms and public rooms were spacious and well appointed. Tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms would have been a welcome addition. The dining room tended to become a little congested but the food was good and plentiful. We thought the daily outings were excellent and gave us a good overview of this lovely island. We were out and about most days but did not feel rushed or over- exerted.

Review by: Mike Smith on 19/02/2018

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

We returned recently from a wonderful week in Maderia with Riviera Travel. It was a great holiday and our guide Daniella, was exceptional. She thought of everything, the itinerary ran like clockwork, everyone was on time all the time and any problem that arose (which were very few and minor) she quietly sorted quickly with the minimum of fuss. Daniella was very knowledgeable about the island, having lived there for four years a few years ago and was full of tips when we stopped at the various sites on places to see, restaurants and facilities. The itinerary for the week was thoughtfully put together and was a great way to easily and safely explore the whole island. Our driver Alberto was a confident and competent driver and we felt very safe with him as we safely wound and negotiated our way around hairpin bends and other vehicles on the way up to the top of the mountain ranges and down again. The coach we had for the week was very comfortable. The hotel in Funchal was very well placed to explore on foot the town during our free time. It was very comfortable, the inside pool was lovely and warm to relax in after a day out exploring and the food was lovely. We would definitely recommend this holiday to anyone wishing to fully appreciate and explore Maderia. A beautiful island, it really is a Pearl in the Adriatic.

Amanda and Andrew Packham

Review by: Amanda and Andrew Packham on 30/10/2017

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

Everything about this holiday was marvellous - weather, hotel, scenery and flowers. The tours were comprehensive and our coach driver, Alberto, was exceptional on some very challenging roads.

We had enough free time to do our own thing and Daniela, our tour guide gave us a lot of tips and helpful advice. She had a great sense of humour and we greatly enjoyed her company. I would definitely recommend this tour - Madeira is a wonderful and exciting destination; it was very hard to come home!

Review by: Mary Galvin on 30/10/2017

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

We have just returned from your tour to Madeira. Despite problems from the start due to a long flight delay (almost two days!), our tour guide, Maggie, was brilliant. She rearranged the itinery so that we missed very little of what was planned, except our free time. The excursions were well planned, with the highlight being the Pico do Arieiro, where the views were breathtaking. We also particularly enjoyed the toboggan run. The only changes I would suggest would be to omit the Bridal Veil waterfall (there are much better ones in the UK and elsewhere) an not stop in Sao Vicente. Instead of these two places you could include a tour to the caves near Sao Vicente or simply make the day's tour shorter.

The hotel was a good choice, being in agood location for getting into Funchal and having tasty food, good swimming pools and a little entertainment. Our room was well appointed with a garden view.

It's a pity we lost our free time as there would have been plenty to do in it.

Review by: Julie Ward on 02/10/2017

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

Great holiday the hotel Enotel Quinta is very good ,rooms spotless food very good. Location was good and the included excursions whilst somewhat long on certain days were OK . With some minor changes to the itinerary this is a great way of seeing quite a lot of Madeira.

Review by: David Wilson on 02/10/2017

Madeira, the Pearl of the Atlantic

Inaugural trip. Our guide Maggie was superb. Her knowledge, humour and sensitivity to our needs were first class. She worked so hard to ensure we were all satisfied with things. We enjoyed all the trips and appreciated a whole day to do as we pleased having been given enough info to get about. It was an informative yet relaxing holiday. Thankyou Maggie. You are a star.

Review by: Pauline smith on 04/09/2017

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.