[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

This was our first trip with Riviera. We couldn't have asked for a better guide than Stella who went over and above our expectations.

Our hotel was excellent and the food extrordinary. A lovely holiday with all the worrying about travel and where to go taken care of.

Review by: Bruce Caldwell on 18/09/2018

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

Just returned from our trip to Lake Maggiore with my cousin Sue and her husband Ian.

We wanted to thank Paula who was our rep for her knowledge and humour throughout our trip.

We visited some wonderful sites and had plenty of time to explore.

The weather was ok, but we were no to unhappy about that.

The Regina Palace hotel was fantastic, we could not fault the accommodation or service we received from all the staff.

We felt we had gone back in time to the early twenty’s, the furnishings and decor were reall lovely.

This is our second holiday with Riviera and would definitely recommend them.

Review by: Ian Kibble on 10/07/2018

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

A fabulous trip to Lake Maggiore and the Matterhorn. Also lovely Lake Como and Lake Orta. Our guide Pauline was excellent and full of information. The Hotel Astoria was superb and, having a lake view room (which I would recommend), we loved it. The only slight negative was that we felt the pool could do with a bit of upgrading but did not stop us using it. All in all, a very enjoyable holiday and would recommend.

Review by: Marilyn & Philip Sabiston on 26/06/2018

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

My wife and I have just returned from our Riviera holiday to Lake Maggiore, Orta and the Matterhorn.

We had a really good time and met some lovely people.We were very impressed with our guide Pauline Riley. She was really organised and so knowledgeable and had a great eye for detail.

Thank you Riviera.

Review by: Barry James on 19/06/2018

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

Fantastic holiday. Very comprehensive itinerary of the best of the area.Trip to Zermatt was the highlight, the journey enlivened by Pauline Riley, our knowledgeable guide who knew when to talk and when to give us a bit of rest time.Her tales of her previous work over many years of Italian living were worth staying awake for. Our lake view balcony room at the Regina Palace hotel were worth the extra cost, the hotel was beautiful and the food interesting, although the delicious fruit flan lost its appeal after 3 days.Mauro, the head waiter couldn't be more helpful.The group gelled beautifully, everyone friendly and willing to chat, which made the holiday pleasurable. Thanks Riviera for another brilliantly organised trip. As Arnie said, "We'll be back".

Review by: Rita and Peter Ellis on 12/06/2018

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

A very interesting and enjoyable trip. The hotel Regina Palace was excellent and Stella our tour manager was superb.

Review by: Richard allen on 08/05/2018

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

Thanks to all in providing a very enjoyable stay at the Bristol in Stresa. the service, accommodation and food were excellent and I would have no hesitation in going back to this hotel again.

All the trips were well organized and went smoothly ,with comfortable clean coaches .Thanks to sergio our tour manager for efficiently guiding our travels . This is the 3rd time we have been with Riviera going to Como and Seville previously and as before the booking process,documentation and all the travel arrangements did not disappoint. Well done ! Look forward to travelling next year.

Review by: russell on 19/09/2017

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

Had a lovely holiday at Lake Maggiore. The Matterhorn was a highlight. Thank you so much Wendy, you were terrific. Very knowledgeable, available when necessary but also unobtrusive.

Review by: Galbraith on 29/08/2017

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

What a wonderful week in the Italian Lakes and Switzerland!

Thank you Riviera for fantastic, precision organisation and the care and attention given from the moment we arrived at the airport to the moment we were waved off to departures.

The hotel was amazing and staff very welcoming throughout the stay. The outdoor pool was worth visiting at every opportunity - so relaxing!

Boat trips will live long in the memory as will the journey to Zermatt.

Beautiful places visited with great weather, and cups of coffee and cold drinks in many wonderful settings.

Thanks to our tour guide, Paula who did a great job despite being a little under the weather towards the end. A trip to be highly recommended if you want to totally unwind, being in the same hotel all week really made a difference.

Finally, thanks too to the people we got to know from the group, you helped make the holiday a one to remember.

Review by: Ralph Bullock on 22/08/2017

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

A really wonderful week with a variation of coach, rail and boat trips transporting us to some beautiful towns and villages on Lake Maggiore and beyond, particularly the magical experience of visiting Zermatt and seeing the Matterhorn from the Gornergrat cog railway.

Stresa was an excellent base from which to travel, the town itself vibrant and its promenade and lake gardens appealing at all times of day.

The Hotel Astoria provided excellent service from all its staff; well-run reception, exceptionally clean room service and a consistently good standard of catering. Having a room overlooking the lake and Borromean Islands was very impressive.

Our tour guide, Debbie, had a well informed knowledge of the area and provided interesting commentaries on daily trips, giving precise and reassuring instructions. Always friendly and helpful, efficiently organised, her enthusiasm about Lake Maggiore was evident throughout the tour.

Must mention the complimentary tour which was an option when we registered. A small number from each of the three hotels used by Riviera made up the group who shared a unique activity with local guides, Luca and Sarah, who ensured a comfortable walk for everyone.

Starting from the granite quarry near Verbania, ascending to the hilltop above Montorfano, descending through the forest to enjoy free time on the lakeside village of Mergozzo, was truly rewarding.

Every day provided a different experience and opportunity to explore and enjoy the hidden gems on and around Lake Maggiore.

Congratulations to Riviera Travel on this highly commended tour.

Review by: Michael and Tanya Woodman on 22/08/2017

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

Just returned home from our lovely week in and around Lake Maggiore and had a super time. Stayed at the Regina Palace (grand Italian style right on the Lake). Everything ran like clockwork and yes, it is a full itinerary, but it means you get to see most of what the region has to offer.

Travelling in a group with a company who knows the area means you get to do things it would be difficult to do if travelling independently (like taking a boat trip to the Swiss end of the lake, being picked up by a coach to join a train for the mountain-route train ride and then being bussed back to the hotel). A few early starts, but nothing unmanageable (none of it is compulsory and if you really didn't want to do a particular element of the tour a day around the lake itself would be very enjoyable). A free day at the mid point of the week means you get to see the lovely area of Stresa and spend time around the hotel pool.

Rooms were very comfortable and catering at hotel was fine. I think you need to appreciate that part of the deal the company negotiate means you wont necessarily get a front bedroom with a lake view and you wont be eating the full a la carte menu, but it means you get to stay in one of the nicest hotels on the lake, at a price much more reasonable that if you'd tried to put the components of the tour together yourself.

All Riviera staff, drivers etc. were professional, friendly and helpful. Everything happened exactly as it was described in the brochure and it was one of the easiest holidays we've had in terms of arrangements. We'd certainly recommend this holiday, helped that we had wall-to-wall sunshine and every view was a picture!

Review by: Julian Hallett on 22/08/2017

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn

My wife and I have recently returned from this tour. We have travelled extensively, both individually arranged and with several tour operators. Without doubt, you are the best tour operator we have ever used. The whole experience, from booking through to travelling and enjoying the holiday itself, went very smoothly and professionally. The hotel was excellent, the individual excursions were thoughtfully chosen and very efficiently organised, and we were always kept completely up to date and well informed regarding the arrangements. We'd like to make special mention of our tour manager, Paula: her availability, efficiency, local knowledge and sense of humour were superb. She is a tremendous asset to your company and helped considerably to make this one of our better holidays.

We shall certainly be using Riviera again!

Review by: John Mercer on 11/07/2017

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn Tour

An excellent first trip with Riviera! The Regina palace was 1st class and the meals were good with reasonable choice. We had hot weather and enjoyed every day thanks to the hard work of Stella our excellent and efficient guide. The 3 hr trip to Zermatt was a great experience and the views of the Matterhorn breath-taking. We hope to try the other lake holidays next year.

Many thanks- Mike and Kath Boylan.

Review by: Mike & Kath Boylan on 20/06/2017

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn Tour

We have just returned from Lake Maggiore. The itinerary was brilliant and well-planned, and we were very pleased with our accommodation at the Hotel Astoria. There was a good mix of nearby and longer-distance excursions, and our tour manager Matt was excellent, and helped make this a wonderful holiday!

Review by: Alison and John Popr on 16/05/2017

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn Tour

This is a lovely holiday, so much is included and we found the Astoria Hotel very comfortable and friendly, the food and service was excellent. The Gornergrat Railway is a must on the visit to Zermatt but it is expensive, even with the 20% discount, breathtaking views up there. Re the trip to Como, there really isn't time to visit Bellagio without rushing back, as it is a long boat ride from Como. Stresa is a good base, it has a nice buzz but it is not rowdy, lots of italians talking and eating in the main square at night. The perfect way to spend the evening is a walk along the lakeside. Thank you Riviera.

Review by: Cath on 16/05/2017

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn Tour

Excellent "lakes & mountains" holiday with superb scenery, led by friendly & knowledgeable tour manager Pauline.

We stayed at the family run Hotel Astoria, within easy walking distance of Stresa town itself. Comfortable rooms, large swimming pool, pretty gardens & friendly staff, with excellent meals. Well worth paying extra for the lake view.

Tours involved a mixture of travel by boat, rail & coach. Most days relatively short & relaxing, with plenty of free time to explore or have lunch or coffee at the many picturesque cafes in the town squares. One longish tour to Zermatt to view (hopefully) the Matterhorn. However the journey itself over the Simplon Pass was very scenic. Even if weather not perfect, the journey up the cog railway to over 10,000 ft is awe inspiring.

Review by: Mike Thomas on 02/05/2017

Lake Maggiore, Orta & The Matterhorn Tour

Hi, just returned from the Lake Maggiore tour 27th September/4th October. We really enjoyed the holiday, the hotel and the tour manager, Wendy, was first class and full of information combined with humour. Having been apprehensive when we booked with you we were pleasantly surprised by everything contained in the holiday. We will almost certainly travel with you for next year’s holiday. Please pass on our thanks to Wendy for making the holiday a success.

Review by: Phil Campbell on 14/10/2016

Lake Maggiore, Orta & The Matterhorn Tour

We have just returned from Lake Maggiore, Orta and The Matterhorn tour 20-27 Sept 2016, and wanted to write to you about our tour manager, Cecilia. I have already submitted a review of the whole holiday, but wanted to make specific comments directly regarding her.

This was our second Riviera holiday, and last year I was so impressed with our tour manager Sevilay, that I just had to write to you, well this year, yet again I feel I must also write about our tour manager.

Cecilia was an exceptionally friendly and funny lady, who was also highly proficient in her job - which she clearly adored doing.

It can’t be an easy job to shepherd round 48 guests, but she did it so well.

She also was efficient in organising the collection of tickets for the various trains we went on and making sure we were all together in the train carriages.

Wherever we went Cecilia ensured we knew where to meet back up, and told us what we might like to visit in each area - cafes, churches, museums or simply benches with good views.

We enjoyed her company and were genuinely sorry to say goodbye to her.

We did write Cecilia a note of thanks, but wanted to also let Riviera know of our appreciation.

We would be grateful if you could record our comments Many thanks

Review by: Christine and Michael Smythe on 11/10/2016

Lake Maggiore, Orta & The Matterhorn Tour

We just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed the above holiday which we returned from last Tuesday 13th.

It’s the second time we have done the tour with Riviera as we fell in love with Lake Maggiore and the little town of Stresa when we were there three years ago. Once again the Regina Palace Hotel was wonderful and your Tour Manager Debbie was first class.

This was our ninth holiday with Riviera - we did our first river cruise with you in April and have booked a Danube Cruise for next June.

We have enjoyed all our tours with your Company.

With kind regards

Review by: Ann and Graham Webb on 28/09/2016

Lake Maggiore, Orta & The Matterhorn Tour

We returned yesterday from this excellent tour, and can honestly say we were totally delighted with all aspects of this holiday from being greeted at Milan Malpensa to being guided through check- in a week later.

Our tour manager, Cecilia, was a charming gem of a lady who always managed to be proficient yet friendly and approachable at all times.

The itinerary was well balanced, with good advance information to enable you to make an informed choice as to whether it was possible for you to partake of particular trips.

The highlight, naturally, was Zermatt and The Matterhorn, and we were so fortunate to have clear blue skies on that day.

Riviera Travel, in our opinion, know their business, from the selection of hotels to the balanced itinerary and the exceptional nature of their tour managers. This was not our first holiday with Riviera, and it certainly won’t be our last.

Review by: Christine Smythe on 28/09/2016

Lake Maggiore, Orta & The Matterhorn Tour

Just to say how much we enjoyed our Riviera holiday to Lake Maggiore, Orta and the Matterhorn in August.

We stayed at the Hotel Astoria in Stresa, with a balcony room overlooking Lake Maggiore and the Borromean Islands. Food was good and plentiful. We were treated to a splendid buffet on the Sunday evening with an overwhelming choice of meat and vegetable dishes.

Our tour rep Debbie did an excellent job and ensured the holiday went without a hitch for all holidaymakers.

We have been with Riviera on several Italian breaks and a USA trip to California and the Golden West.

We shall hopefully be returning to Italy with Riviera again in 2017 and would not hesitate to recommend your company.

Review by: Sandria & Alan Maddocks on 21/09/2016

Lake Maggiore, Orta & The Matterhorn Tour

Recently returned from Lake Maggiore and would like to say how much we enjoyed the whole holiday. We stayed at the Astoria and were dubious having read some reports about various complaints prior to departing. However, we found no reason to fault anything with good food and welcoming staff. This was our 6th tour with Riviera and as usual the organisation and attention was faultless. A big thank you to our excellent Tour Manager Debbie. Looking forward to our next trip.

Review by: Mike & Sue Emson on 11/09/2016

Lake Maggiore, Orta & The Matterhorn Tour

This was our fifth Tour with Riviera and it was really up to expectations. The Hotel Astoria was very comfortable, relaxed and the staff friendly and most helpful.

The arranged tours were excellent, the coaches all in good condition although the seating was somewhat cramped. The drivers, especially Mauritzio, were very competent and friendly. (From a retired Coach Tour Driver/Courier)!

Our tour Manager was Debbie, who was very efficient and her manner was friendly and she showed excellent knowledge and was very available to help and advise. We would be very happy to tour with her again.

We were lucky with super weather and the holiday was faultless.

Review by: John and Valerie Belcher on 04/09/2016

Lake Maggiore, Orta & The Matterhorn Tour

This was another very enjoyable Riviera Travel tour. The Hotel Astoria was very good, great views, enjoyable menus, & excellently presented & served.

Particular highlights were the Centrovalli rail journey from Locarno, & the day excursion to Zermatt & the Gornergat Bhan rail journey up close to the Mattherhorn 4478m. The coaches & drivers were excellent too. Having said all that, a particular & warm thanks to our guide Pauline - Pauline was excellent, she showed great care & interest, kept us fully informed, & was good fun too! Our thanks to All involved in organising & managing this great holiday.

Best wishes.

Review by: Ian & Cindy Snelling on 02/09/2016

Lake Maggiore, Orta & The Matterhorn Tour

We have just returned from the above tour, and want to say how pleased we were with the holiday.

Stresa was a perfect choice for the base, and the Hotel Astoria was excellent with good food and accommodation, and pleasant staff.

The daily tours were all very enjoyable, and we must compliment our guide, Denise, who was absolutely superb, and very organised.

We had area maps for each location, and recommended places to visit and to eat at, and were then left to our own devices which suited us down to the ground.

This trip was to celebrate a special birthday, and we were pleased that this was a memorable holiday.

We would recommend this holiday and Riviera travel to anyone, and we are already looking at where we will go with you next.

Review by: Alan and Margaret Gardner on 02/09/2016

Lake Maggiore, Orta & The Matterhorn Tour

We have just returned from your tour to Lake Maggiore. It was a fabulous holiday - so well organised and offering so many marvellous trips and sights. The Hotel Astoria in Stresa was very comfortable and enjoyed such marvellous views. Our guide, Pauline was first class. She had everything well organised and nothing was too much trouble.

Review by: Michael and Joyce Bale on 02/09/2016

Lake Maggiore, Orta & The Matterhorn Tour

We have just completed a holiday at Lake Maggiore. Stopping at the Astoria Hotel. Again we were impressed with the quality of your holidays, this being our third booked through you.

The hotel was clean and the food and service we’re excellent. Your rep Pauline had everything at her finger tips and her command of the language superb. Nothing was to much trouble, she was always able to give good advice where required or requested.

Your choice of coach and boat firms were good always polite and helpful. And the variety of trips were good.

Review by: D. Taylor on 02/09/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.