If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Lake Maggiore, Orta & the Matterhorn Tour

Hi, just returned from the Lake Maggiore tour 27th September/4th October. We really enjoyed the holiday, the hotel and the tour manager, Wendy, was first class and full of information combined with humour. Having been apprehensive when we booked with you we were pleasantly surprised by everything contained in the holiday. We will almost certainly travel with you for next year’s holiday. Please pass on our thanks to Wendy for making the holiday a success.

Review by Phil Campbell on 14 October 2016

We have just returned from Lake Maggiore, Orta and The Matterhorn tour 20-27 Sept 2016, and wanted to write to you about our tour manager, Cecilia. I have already submitted a review of the whole holiday, but wanted to make specific comments directly regarding her.
This was our second Riviera holiday, and last year I was so impressed with our tour manager Sevilay, that I just had to write to you, well this year, yet again I feel I must also write about our tour manager.
Cecilia was an exceptionally friendly and funny lady, who was also highly proficient in her job - which she clearly adored doing.
It can’t be an easy job to shepherd round 48 guests, but she did it so well.
She also was efficient in organising the collection of tickets for the various trains we went on and making sure we were all together in the train carriages.
Wherever we went Cecilia ensured we knew where to meet back up, and told us what we might like to visit in each area - cafes, churches, museums or simply benches with good views.
We enjoyed her company and were genuinely sorry to say goodbye to her.
We did write Cecilia a note of thanks, but wanted to also let Riviera know of our appreciation.
We would be grateful if you could record our comments Many thanks

Review by Christine and Michael Smythe on 11 October 2016

We just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed the above holiday which we returned from last Tuesday 13th.
It’s the second time we have done the tour with Riviera as we fell in love with Lake Maggiore and the little town of Stresa when we were there three years ago.  Once again the Regina Palace Hotel was wonderful and your Tour Manager Debbie was first class.
This was our ninth holiday with Riviera - we did our first river cruise with you in April and have booked a Danube Cruise for next June.
We have enjoyed all our tours with your Company.
With kind regards

Review by Ann and Graham Webb on 28 September 2016

We returned yesterday from this excellent tour, and can honestly say we were totally delighted with all aspects of this holiday from being greeted at Milan Malpensa to being guided through check- in a week later.
Our tour manager, Cecilia, was a charming gem of a lady who always managed to be proficient yet friendly and approachable at all times.
The itinerary was well balanced, with good advance information to enable you to make an informed choice as to whether it was possible for you to partake of particular trips.
The highlight, naturally, was Zermatt and The Matterhorn, and we were so fortunate to have clear blue skies on that day.
Riviera Travel, in our opinion, know their business, from the selection of hotels to the balanced itinerary and the exceptional nature of their tour managers. This was not our first holiday with Riviera, and it certainly won’t be our last.

Review by Christine Smythe on 28 September 2016

Just to say how much we enjoyed our Riviera holiday to Lake Maggiore, Orta and the Matterhorn in August.
We stayed at the Hotel Astoria in Stresa, with a balcony room overlooking Lake Maggiore and the Borromean Islands. Food was good and plentiful. We were treated to a splendid buffet on the Sunday evening with an overwhelming choice of meat and vegetable dishes.
Our tour rep Debbie did an excellent job and ensured the holiday went without a hitch for all holidaymakers.
We have been with Riviera on several Italian breaks and a USA trip to California and the Golden West.
We shall hopefully be returning to Italy with Riviera again in 2017 and would not hesitate to recommend your company.

Review by Sandria & Alan Maddocks on 21 September 2016

Recently returned from Lake Maggiore and would like to say how much we enjoyed the whole holiday. We stayed at the Astoria and were dubious having read some reports about various complaints prior to departing. However, we found no reason to fault anything with good food and welcoming staff. This was our 6th tour with Riviera and as usual the organisation and attention was faultless. A big thank you to our excellent Tour Manager Debbie. Looking forward to our next trip.

Review by Mike & Sue Emson on 11 September 2016

This was our fifth Tour with Riviera and it was really up to expectations.  The Hotel Astoria was very comfortable, relaxed and the staff friendly and most helpful.
The arranged tours were excellent, the coaches all in good condition although the seating was somewhat cramped.  The drivers, especially Mauritzio, were very competent and friendly. (From a retired Coach Tour Driver/Courier)!
Our tour Manager was Debbie, who was very efficient and her manner was friendly and she showed excellent knowledge and was very available to help and advise. We would be very happy to tour with her again.
We were lucky with super weather and the holiday was faultless.

Review by John and Valerie Belcher on 4 September 2016

This was another very enjoyable Riviera Travel tour. The Hotel Astoria was very good, great views, enjoyable menus, & excellently presented & served.
Particular highlights were the Centrovalli rail journey from Locarno, & the day excursion to Zermatt & the Gornergat Bhan rail journey up close to the Mattherhorn 4478m. The coaches & drivers were excellent too. Having said all that, a particular & warm thanks to our guide Pauline - Pauline was excellent, she showed great care & interest, kept us fully informed, & was good fun too! Our thanks to All involved in organising & managing this great holiday.
Best wishes

Review by Ian & Cindy Snelling on 2 September 2016

We have just returned from the above tour, and want to say how pleased we were with the holiday.
Stresa was a perfect choice for the base, and the Hotel Astoria was excellent with good food and accommodation, and pleasant staff.
The daily tours were all very enjoyable, and we must compliment our guide, Denise, who was absolutely superb, and very organised.
We had area maps for each location, and recommended places to visit and to eat at, and were then left to our own devices which suited us down to the ground.
This trip was to celebrate a special birthday, and we were pleased that this was a memorable holiday.
We would recommend this holiday and Riviera travel to anyone, and we are already looking at where we will go with you next.

Review by Alan and Margaret Gardner on 2 September 2016

We have just returned from your tour to Lake Maggiore.  It was a fabulous holiday - so well organised and offering so many marvellous trips and sights.  The Hotel Astoria in Stresa was very comfortable and enjoyed such marvellous views.  Our guide, Pauline was first class.  She had everything well organised and nothing was too much trouble.

Review by Michael and Joyce Bale on 2 September 2016

We have just completed a holiday at Lake Maggiore. Stopping at the Astoria Hotel. Again we were impressed with the quality of your holidays, this being our third booked through you.
The hotel was clean and the food and service we’re excellent. Your rep Pauline had everything at her finger tips and her command of the language superb. Nothing was to much trouble, she was always able to give good advice where required or requested.
Your choice of coach and boat firms were good always polite and helpful. And the variety of trips were good.

Review by D. Taylor on 2 September 2016

My Mum and I recently returned from our trip to Italy.  We have travelled to various areas in Italy over the years, it was our first time to Lake Maggiore and it was our first time to book a holiday with Riviera Travel. 
We felt that it was important to write and let you know that our guide Matt was probably one of the best guides we have experienced over our numerous trips abroad.  He was so professional, helpful, kind and always available to any member of our tour group who wished to talk to him.  His knowledge of the various places we visited was excellent and it was great to hear all about the various aspects of Italian life through the eyes of a non-Italian residence.  Even his jokes were good but maybe not good enough to give up the day job.  It is a very good idea on Riviera Travel’s behalf having the tour guide stay at the same hotel.
All the tours were enjoyable with plenty of time in each location; it was great that entrances fees etc. were all inclusive.  Seat rotation on the tour bus is an excellent idea which all tour operators should introduce as opposed to some people rushing/pushing to get on the bus first.  As there were people of various ages and abilities on our tour we were never rushed or delayed, this was not our experience with other tour companies we have used in the past.
We would have no hesitation in using your company again and in also recommending Riviera Travel to our friends.

Review by Karen and Charlotte Clinton on 2 September 2016

My wife and I have just come home after a super Riviera tour to Lake Maggiore, Orta and the Matterhorn.
Pauline, our tour guide was excellent; she had a great knowledge of all the areas we went to coupled with her own anecdotes.
The hotel Astoria in Stresa was an excellent choice where the staff were all very friendly and efficient. The food was very good, the hotel was very clean and well situated on the lakeside.
The day tours were varied and each allowed free time at all the destinations.
We do have to say the good weather contributed to make the holiday a memorable one.

Review by George Johnston on 2 September 2016

Just a word of sincere thanks for the lovely holiday we have just spent at lake Maggiore last week. The hotel Bristol was superb, but we were unable to access the outdoor pool until the last two days due to weather. We cannot thank the tour manager Brad enough. I had spent some 40 mins with Riviera help trying to obtain outward boarding passes with Ryanair and I know he spent much longer working on our and other’s passes for the return flight. His programme choices and timing were magnificent apart from the Matterhorn trip whose view was totally obscured by snow and cloud! (Not Brad’s fault!) He also managed to round up two souls lost in Como with great patience and humour. He also conjured up a small cake and candle on the occasion of my wife’s birthday.
This was not our first Riviera holiday and will certainly not be our last.
Please keep up the good work.

Review by Diana and Vic Wright on 25 August 2016

Just wanted to give you feedback on my first travel with your company. I travelled to Lake Maggiore, Lake Orta & Matterhorn staying at the Hostel Astoria. It was an absolutely fantastic trip made by staying in a superb hotel with excellent staff and was also made wonderful by Debbie your tour manager. She looked after everyone and made everything run so well and smoothly.
I do like your system of one coach per hotel which meant there was no messing around picking various people up at different hotels . Also it was lovely having our own boats to travel on the Lakes Most impressed at your organisation and service and shall hope to travel again with you in the future. It was so lovely to travel with a first class company and you should be proud of your staff who were all a credit.

Review by Linda Ford on 25 August 2016

Just got back from our holiday on Lake Maggiore which we thoroughly enjoyed. Excellent hotel with lovely staff and a first class tour manager Debbie who was very efficient, and helpful. Hold on to her!
Would go on holiday with R.T. again in the future.

Review by Margaret Taylor on 25 August 2016

We got back on Tuesday from your splendid Holiday around the Northern Italian Lakes staying at the Astoria Hotel. Apart from the weather on our day at Zermatt we couldn’t fault it. Pauline our tour manager was excellent, and all the arrangements went very well. This has been our second R T Holiday and we are most impressed. Keep up the good work. Thank you to you all

God Bless You

Review by Phil Smith and party. on 25 August 2016

Absolutely fantastic holiday in this beautiful place. Our tour guide Marina was caring and very enthusiastic, we’ll miss her wicked laugh. We stayed at the Regina Palace Hotel which was such a beautiful place. Our room (133) had a small balcony facing the back of the hotel and the gardens and had everything we needed and terrific staff.
Some tips for your trip.
Do go to the places the tour guide recommends as that keeps your costs down when eating out.
It’s handy to carry a small notebook and pen to write down meeting places and times or names of cafes etc
Insect repellant is useful around the lakes
You will be better off using a bank card the trip to Switzerland unless you have any Swiss Francs
If you take a camera make sure you take spare memory cards as you cannot stop taking photos
Do wander round the town, even in the evening it feels safe and families are eating out, there’s usually something going on
We loved our lake Garda trip previously, but this lake was even more beautiful, most of our trips were not too far away so we had a good amount of time to relax before dinner
Can’t wait to plan our 4th Riviera trip next year. Great value, well planned tours, very friendly and helpful tour leaders….no hesitation recommending Riviera to anyone.
Thanks yet again and ciao Marina

Review by Anne & Paul Hanslip on 3 August 2016

Just returned from excellent holiday. Hotel Astoria was very good. Lovely friendly staff and very good food. Lake view from room, worth paying extra. Very well organised holiday. Every day something new. Very good tour guide, Pauline. Super holiday even on the wet day!!

Review by Anne on 27 July 2016

This was a perfect holiday in every way.  Great food and service from Hotel Astoria.  Our guide Pauline was excellent too. Trips were good with plenty time allowed for our visits. The transfer time is not too long either.

Review by S & G Rennie on 14 July 2016

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.