If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Lake Garda, Venice & Verona Tour

We have just returned from an excellent holiday to Riva Del Garda. Just a few thoughts about the holiday.Firstly a thank you to Julie for sorting out our boarding cards. The Hotel Europa was very good and the location right next to the harbour was perfect. Our tour manager Jackie was superb, a mine of information and good humour. A very personal thankyou to her for arranging special drinks and a present to help celebrate our Golden wedding. We must not forget our superb coach driver Marko. A mine of information and good humor. The banter between Marko and Jackie kept us all entertained on every trip.

We are now looking forward to our 5th river cruise to Portugal next June.

Review by Gordon and Daphne Dahill. on 28 September 2016

If you’ve never been to Venice, Verona, the Dolomites or Northern Italy, this is the tour for you! But it’s just a taster: there’s only time for flying visits - you’ll want to return.
The Savoy Palace provided a family atmosphere with attentive professional service and catered for my wife’s gluten free requirements superbly.
In my view, don’t bother with paying good money to enter the Amphitheatre in Verona;  it has permanent flooring for concerts and operas which obscures the inside - a real disappointment.  The Tourist Information office in Verona has an excellent guide in English.
What ever you do in Venice, club together and hire a Gondola -about 20 Euros each. Thank you, Nicola our tour Manager, for organising this and other trips so efficiently.
Other tips: carry 1 Euros coins and 50 Cent coins for public toilets and try and leave bags and rucksacks in the coach on the Venice day (weather permitting) if you plan to visit the Basilica - you have to leave them some distance from the entrance which eats ups valuable time taking and retrieving.

Review by Michael McMaster on 29 September 2016

My sister and I have just returned from this marvellous tour.  Our guide for the week was Bev who was excellent.  Her knowledge of the area and of the language was superb and her people skills excellent.  The scenery was beautiful and we particularly enjoyed the extra trip to Limone and Malcesine which Bev organised.  This was my sixth holiday with Riviera and I’m sure it will not be my last. Thank you again to Bev and our driver Ferro.

Review by Moira Wager and Joyce Dronfield on 29 September 2016

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday on Lake Garda. We stayed at the Europa Hotel in Riva Del Garda with beautiful views overlooking the lake. The food and accommodation were excellent and there was plenty to see and do in the local town with quality shops, restaurants, beautiful walks in and around the area. Our tour manager - Nicola was absolutely brilliant and looked after us really well and was a goldmine of local history and information. The arranged trips were very good value and will be memorable for a long time to come. We certainly packed a lot into each day. Our coach driver - Andrea was superb and we only have admiration for the way he took us along all the different routes, including mountain passes and narrow roads safely and professionally. We also had plenty of free time to see and do what we wanted in the local area. Overall this was one of the best holidays we have had and was certainly excellent value for money.

Review by Kevin and Susan Marples on 27 September 2016

Having just returned from this tour and the first time with your company I and my wife thank you for the excellent way it was managed from booking to our final return to the U.K.
Nicola our tour manager was extremely good and helpful and certainly had researched the places of interest to keep us very well informed at all times.The Europa hotel was extremely good and we would certainly recommend this one both for food, service and excellent rooms.
We would certainly recommend your company and the very enjoyable holiday that we have just experienced.

Review by BRIAN JOHN HIND on 26 September 2016

I would like to say a big, big thank you for the wonderful holiday I and my 2 friends have just experienced, everything was as advertised and we thoroughly enjoyed the trips to Venice and Verona but my favourite was the Dolomites. The whole week went like clock-work and it’s rare to find a company that I can wholeheartedly recommend.

I would also like to thank you for notifying our hotel (the Europa) of my food intolerances, the Maitre D, Paolo, was tireless in his mission to provide enjoyable and safe food for me, although he jokingly? called me his nightmare!  Although I thanked him in person perhaps you could also pass my thanks to him via your staff, I really appreciated not having to live on salad.

My friends and I are now looking to book your tour to Machu Picchu and I am sure that will be as good if not better than the last tour with you.

Review by Jackie Stevenson on 21 September 2016

We are writing to pass on our great enjoyment of our recent tour with you to Lake Garda.
All arrangements went very well – from the first meeting at Milan Airport to our departure a week later.
Our hotel, the Europa in Riva del Garda, was excellent. From the very nice touch of providing slippers in the rooms – essential when the bathroom has a marble floor – to the excellent quality and range of the food at both breakfast and dinner, and including the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff, it could not be faulted.
Our guide, Kate, was a mine of useful information and always available to help and offer advice. Her insights brought so many aspects of the area and Italian life and history to the fore – how else would we have discovered caffé corretto or the lemon houses?
Our driver, Ferro, was excellent. We really did appreciate his skills on the trip to the Dolomites, when we had the front seats and so were able to fully appreciate this.
The programme itself was a really good introduction to this beautiful part of Italy and nicely varied. We saw far more of the area than we would have done as independent travellers. We would have liked more time in Verona but realise that on the last full day an early return is essential to allow packing.
This was our first ever organised tour, to a country we didn’t know and whose language we barely speak. But it won’t be our last. So could you please put us on your mailing list for next year’s brochure. We will, of course, be recommending you to all our friends without hesitation

Review by Steve & Yvonne McLeod on 9 September 2016

We have travelled many times with Riviera and enjoyed all of them but this was by far the best.  We stayed at the Savoy Palace in Riva and the hotel was great, the food brilliant, the staff exceptionally helpful and Mr Tonelli was very attentive. Mr Tonelli is the only person I know who owns a Ferrari and who will let you sit in it!  Our Tour Manager, Nicola, was brilliant as was our driver for the week Ferro.  The trips were worth doing and we were fortunate to have wall to wall sunshine so the Dolomite trip truly memorable.  All in all first class.

Review by Laurence & Linda, Newquay on 3 September 2016

just returned from our Riviera tour to Lake Garda, Italy after having a fantastic 7 day holiday. Our tour guide Nicola was amazing and was helpful, kind and easy to approach. She made the coach journeys enjoyable and enough stops were made so that nobody was bored for the whole week. As a youth on the trip, I didn’t feel as though my needs weren’t catered for as I enjoyed listening to the information our guide gave us and looking out the windows. Overall it was a brilliant experience made even better by our guide, Nicola, and my family would definitely consider using Riviera again.

Review by Emily Bevan on 2 September 2016

I write to thank Riviera Travel for providing us with an excellent holiday to Lake Garda, Italy, inclusive of four pre-planned tours.

I would start by advising that this was the first touring holiday my wife and I had ever booked, our normal holidays for the last 34 years have been primarily Mediterranean pool and beach vacations.  Before travelling we were slightly concerned that being as we are still in our early 50’s, we were not quite ready for this type of holiday; we couldn’t have been more wrong.  In fact, whilst we still intend to take our normal holidays, we have every intention of taking at least one touring holiday per-year with Riviera from now on.

I would like to make a special thank you to our guide, Jackie, who I can only describe as being excellent at her job and a very worthy ambassador for your company. She has a wealth of knowledge, experience and outstanding inter-personal skills.  Jackie’s contribution to making this a very special holiday cannot be underestimated, given that earlier in the year we had celebrated both our 30th wedding anniversary and my wife’s 50th birthday.  We now have now have some truly wonderful memories to reflect upon in such a special year.  I would be most obliged if you could pass on our sincere gratitude to Jackie and our coach driver for the week, Marco, who together made a first class team.

There really is no apparent criticism we could make.  We have had the benefit of staying in better hotels than The Europa, although the excellent location of this particular hotel more than makes up for any minor shortfalls.  Please be assured that we are certainly looking forward to our next holiday with Riviera Travel.

Many thanks & our kindest regards,

Review by Tony Dobinson on 2 September 2016

I would like to congratulate you for the tour to Lake Garda, Venice and Verona. Especially the guide Nicola who was exceptional in her task of helping to make this such an enjoyable holiday. As a first time on my own traveller, she made me feel confident at exploring all the trips and knew that she was only a phone call away if I had lost my way. Well done Nicola.
I will be using your company again.

Review by Sheila (Kay) Turner on 2 September 2016

Dear Riviera Travel, I wanted to give you some feedback from the Italy, Venice & Verona Tour I have just come back from. Just returned from a lovely tour to Lake Garda, Venice & Verona. I was very pleased to get Werner as our tour guide as I asked for him specifically by name. Werner was very informative & displayed a wealth of knowledge, wit and charm throughout the Tour. We also had the company of Patricia on the transfer home and she was really lovely and very attentive in sorting all the arrangements. One couple forgot one of their suitcases at the hotel and Patricia sorted options to get the missing case home to the owners.
We stayed at the Antico Borgo Hotel in Riva del Garda. The staff were absolutely brilliant and looked after us extremely well. The hotel is exceptionally clean and we had 2 quiet rooms overlooking the inner courtyard. This hotel is central to all the amenities in Riva del Garda, as opposed to more higher rated hotels which are about 20 minute walk on the outskirts of the town.
There was a well balanced selection of trips to Venice, Verona & Dolomites with a day trip around Lake Garda by boat to help you get your bearings and get an appreciation for the beauty and landscape of Lake Garda. Overall, the holiday was fantastic and well worth the money. This was our second trip with Riviera & we are now looking to book one for next year.
This was our second trip with Riviera travel and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Two things that could make it better were having tea and coffee making facilities at the Antico Borgo Hotel, we took our own kettle after reading that the hotel didn’t have this facility.
The other thing is that the rotation on the coach should happen once a day, and not after every stop as we had a standoff incident on one trip where a couple decided to be difficult and refused to sit in the seats available after the system went a bit pear shaped. A further bonus would be an option on one of the free days for a day trip to Milan. the one run in the local area only went on a Wednesday and we were already doing something as part of the itinerary. However, having said that, it was an extremely enjoyable and pleasant holiday and we loved having Werner as our tour manager.

Review by Kamaljit Bahra on 2 September 2016

My husband and I have just returned from one of the most enjoyable holidays we have ever had with a truly wonderful travel guide called Patricia.  The trips were organised with precision by a very professional young lady who was also very well informed about the Lake Garda area. When my husband was unwell Patricia went the extra mile to help us and it was very much appreciated and made the rest of our holiday enjoyable.The Kristal hotel was truly wonderful and the roof top pool was a really class act. Patricia is a real asset to your company so well done Riviera this won’t be the last holiday with Riviera Travel. Thank you Gail and Tony

Review by Gail Grogan on 1 September 2016

Having recently returned from our Riviera Italian holiday, I wanted to say how much we had enjoyed it, though I really think you could have arranged the weather a bit better!!
Our hotel, the Brione in Riva was as advertised and the service we received there was welcoming and efficient.
The guide we had in Verona was especially good, as was the guide in Venice (where the sun shone!!)
I was very impressed with our courier “Janet”.  I’m afraid we did not ask her surname but she was so efficient, well informed and a thoroughly nice person.  Nothing was too much trouble for her and she added greatly to our enjoyment of the whole experience.  Everything ran like clockwork with seemingly little effort, which is a very difficult thing to achieve.  You must be very proud of her.

Review by JEAN TRUESDALE on 25 August 2016

Have just returned from our Riviera Travel holiday to Lake Garda, which we thoroughly enjoyed, although we didn’t have the perfect weather.
The guide/rep Julie was excellent. We had coach trouble in the Dolomite mountains and she quickly sorted it out for us. All the tours we had were well presented. Will travel with you again.
Well done!

Review by HC Prow on 25 August 2016

I would like to leave feedback from our Tour to Lake Garda/venice/Verona etc. We flew from Manchester on 9th May2016.

We would like to say what an amazing tour guide we had in Gian Luca, he was knowledgeable, courteous, polite, entertaining and very thorough.  Also the driver of our coach Damiano, what a good driver, he was not distracted by talking, was able to drive without any problems around the Dolomites. All in all an excellent team.

Thanks again Riviera for good guides and drivers.

Review by Paula McConnell on 25 August 2016

Our third trip via Riviera and we had a lovely time. The Kristal Palace Hotel was lovely. The location was fabulous. Tour Manager Werner was really good, very informative and witty. We only took two excursions due to duration of journeys and the fact that this was our 5th visit to the area.  The only negative is the transfer times to and from Venice airport. When this 3 HR+ journey exceeds the 2 HR 20 mins flight it does seem rather excessive. Please consider a more convenient airport such as Verona ..... An hour away!!

Review by Stewart and Violet Keddie on 24 August 2016

Just wanted to thank you for a most memorable tour of Italy. We stayed at the lovely Hotel Europa and enjoyed some amazing food served by wonderful welcoming and friendly staff. Our room which had a fabulous view of the lake was very comfortable and cleaned every day. The tour itself was well organised and our guide Antonio amazed us with her knowledge of her beautiful country. Would definetly choose Riveria again for future holidays.

Review by Lynn Myring on 18 August 2016

Just returned from our Lake Garda holiday. From start to finish Riviera ensured everything ran smoothly and our Tour Manager Nicola was excellent and so knowledgeable. Our Hotel The Europa was perfectly positioned in the resort, especially as my husband has walking difficulties. Our Lake View Room was amazing and not at all noisey. The food was very good and staff friendly.  The Tours were all perfectly organised. This was not our first Riviera holiday and will definitely not be the last, they ensure every need of the traveller is accounted for and are extremely good value for money.

Review by Jan on 14 August 2016

Another fantastic trip with Riviera Travel. A big thank you to Bev Lewis for an entertaining week, never a dull moment! Excellent knowledge of the areas visited and really got us all involved in the Italian Culture including teaching us the language with loads of good tips and hints.
Bev really made this tour very special .

Review by John & Terrie-Ann McCann on 1 August 2016

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.