If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Lake Como, St Moritz & the Bernina Express Tour

I wish to express our thanks for a most enjoyable holiday to Lake Como and the organised visits which were truly amazing. Our guide, Sev is to be congratulated for making the tour extremely interesting with the knowledge she gave of the area. It is remarkable the effort she gave in making it a memorable holiday for us.

Review by Andrew Graham on 21 October 2016

Excellent week, absolutely no complaints.
A special mention for Tour Manager Elizabeth, who went to extraordinary lengths at all times to help , guide and inform everyone.-an exceptional performance.

Many Thanks,

Review by Margaret and Roger Thomas on 21 October 2016

We have just returned from the Lake Como trip staying at the Grand Menaggio Hotel and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed the whole week.  The hotel facilities, cleanliness, food, were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. We were expecting we might have to eat out at times so this was a nice surprise ! Many thanks also to our tour guide, Debbie, who was great, very knowledgeable and always available to offer help and advice.
The week was packed with excursions which meant on some occasions leaving early in the morning but this enabled us to see a lot more of the area than if we were trying to get around on our own.  So all in all a great package – thank you Riviera, we shall certainly return to you again !
Best wishes to you all.

Review by Susan McClements on 14 October 2016

This was our first time with Riviera travel and it will be the first of many. The location (Lake Como) the hotel, the tour manager Julia and the itinerary could not be faulted.
We would recommend Riviera to anybody.

George & Monica Dales

Review by George & Monica Dales on 8 October 2016

A wonderful holiday! No time to be bored yet no pressure to dash about - our excellent tour manager, Julia, made sure that everything ran smoothly and was a mine of information about every aspect of the trip.

Review by Vicki and Brian Coppard on 7 October 2016

Our holiday exceeded our expectations by a mile!! Riviera came up trumps!! Our hotel was great and the dining area on the 5th floor overlooking Lake Como was truly spectacular as was the food and service. Our guide was so attentive and so knowledgeable. He balanced his commentary well so we were never bored but well informed. The weather was perfect so that was a bonus. Our fellow travellers were a friendly lot so we were truly blessed.Each excursion was really enjoyable (the journeys a bit tiresome) We can’t thank you enough for our wonderful holiday.

Review by David & Marjorie Jones on 28 September 2016

We have just returned from our 14th Riviera Holiday over the past 12 years and, unbelievably, standards constantly improve.  This holiday, to the Italian Lakes and St Moritz was superbly planned and executed.  The scenery was stunning and the Tour Manager, Christine, an inspiration, knowledgeable, humorous and always accessible.  The chateaux, gardens, mountains and lakes provided an incredible holiday experience.  We made new friends over breakfast and dinner at the Hotel Cadenabbia, where the breakfast provided a stunning range of comestibles that added greatly to the holiday experience.  Dinner was a four course cornucopia, buffet antipasti, pasta and main course served by the excellent staff and finally a buffet dessert!
Riviera is an exemplar of excellence in the provision of discerning holidays and we thank you for our wonderful experiences over the years. 
Now it only remains to prepare for 2017 on booked Riviera holidays in the Middle East and France.  Two little words to express our heartfelt feelings to Riviera - thank you.

Review by Mike Chapman on 4 October 2016

We recently had a very enjoyable holiday based in Lake Como. The organisation of the trips was superb, our hotel the Regina Olga was a perfect location and the hotel staff were friendly and courteous. Our escort, Julie, ensured we were well taken care of and her commentaries on the trips were knowledgeable and most interesting. We would have no hesitation in recommending this holiday with your company.

Review by John & Mary Boyle on 3 October 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday on Lake Como. Good hotel and very good itinerary. Highlights of the holiday were the Bernina Express and the fabulous gardens on Isola Bella. The holiday was made even more enjoyable with our tour guide Andrew.  A very pleasant young man, approachable at any time, with a full knowledge of the area.

Review by james lattimer on 27 September 2016

My sister and I had a wonderful holiday, staying at the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia.  The hotel was excellent with a wonderful terrace overlooking the lake.  Our tour guide, Deborah, was very knowledgeable and her commentaries and suggestions for meals etc. on our excursions made them even more memorable.  The weather was warm and sunny and the scenery around the lakes breathtaking.  A really lovely holiday which was very well organised.

Review by Pamela Booty on 19 September 2016

Just returned from a fantastic holiday on Lake Como staying in the beautiful village of Menaggio. Our tour Manager Wendy made the holiday very special organising our tours effectively providing everything we needed to know without overloading us with information. Nothing was to much trouble for her including organising my husband’s INR blood test…..a very big thank you Wendy . We will definitely travel with Riviera in the future.

Review by Graham and Sue Edwards on 18 September 2016

This tour was brilliant the hotel Imperiale staff were wonderful the food was excellent the excursions were as described and we had a great time the rep Julia was so knowledgeable and nothing was to much trouble. Como and Lugano were outstanding as was the Bernina express we would recommend this tour to anyone wishing to see some of Italy’s best resorts.

Review by David & Carol Wilson on 3 September 2016

Just returned from another great trip with Riviera to Lake Como, St. Moritz & Bernina Express. We stayed at the excellent Grand Hotel Imperiale where all staff went out of their way to make you welcome and comfortable from restaurant staff, the restaurant manager is an absolute asset to the hotel,  to room service staff.  The hotel is in an ideal setting on the shores of Lake Como with fantastic rooms, great facilities and exceptional outdoor swimming pool.  Our tour manager, Paula, was excellent with amazing local knowledge and amusing general knowledge about Italy in general and about the places we visited.  The weather was really kind with hot sunny days and warm evenings.  The journey home for the 8 people travelling from Milan Bergamo airport to Stansted was interrupted by a cargo plane coming off the runway in the early hours of our departure day of which we were informed of by Christina our escort to the airport as soon as she was aware.  One road to the airport was closed off and due to exceptionally heavy traffic we missed our flight. She immediately contacted Riviera in UK to arrange alternative flights eventually managing to arrange flights for all 8 from Venice to Gatwick where we were to be met by a mini bus to take us to Stansted to collect vehicles.  Christina was excellent and gave us her mobile number while taking one of ours and the helpful driver made frequent stops for us to get coffee etc.  We were taken to Venice where Christina took us into the airport to the check in desk while updating us on all relevant info. We finally took off from Venice at about 2 am on Saturday morning arriving at Gatwick about 4 am and onto Stansted arriving about 5-30 am. Please pass on our gratitude to all concerned for arranging everything that went so smoothly.  This is now our 6th holiday with Riviera and we look forward to many more, already perusing the brochure for ideas.
It’s times like this that when something rarely does go wrong then you have a professional company behind you to take over. Many thanks for a great holiday and we look forward to our next trip with Riviera

Review by Lois and Barry Rockall on 2 September 2016

I recently arrived home from the above trip, which was excellent in all aspects - good hotel, good excursions, wonderful Tour Leader Andrew, who had a very comprehensive knowledge of the area and a very friendly group. Not to mention the beautiful lakes and fantastic Villas and gardens, especially Villa Carlotta Isola Bella & Villa Balbianello.
Thank you so much for all your effort behind the scenes!
Best regards

Review by Margaret Turner on 2 September 2016

My friend and I booked the above holiday for May 19th 2016 for 8 days/7 nights.  We were very impressed with the whole experience of dealing with Riviera Travel.  The documentation was excellent and all very detailed.  Whenever we had to speak over the ‘phone, we were dealt with by extremely pleasant and helpful staff.
The holiday was excellent in every way.  The Grand Hotel, Menaggio, was in a superb position, right on the lake, and we had a fantastic room with a huge balcony and a great view of the lake.  The hotel was very well run by courteous and friendly staff, and the food was of a very high standard.
All the trips were excellent and very well organised.  Our greatest and lasting impression overall, was, it must be said, our tour guide - Ruth.  She was absolutely fantastic.  So very knowlegeable and enthusiastic on so many subjects - not only her knowledge of the local area and of the places we visited, but on so many subjects - history and other countries where she had spent time.  She was so attentive to everyone in the group and couldn’t have done more to make everyone feel very special.  She had the unique quality of getting everyone to mix and get to know each other.  The group was a very sociable one and we met some really nice people.
We would most definitely recommend Riviera Travel to all our friends ( in fact we already have) and friends of ours are going to book a holiday with Riviera Travel next year to celebrate their Golden Wedding anniversary on our recommendation.
Thank you to everyone concerned, and we certainly hope to book another holiday with Riviera Travel in the not too distant future.

Review by Elizabeth A. Balshaw and Janet C. Fallon. on 2 September 2016

We have just returned from Lake Como - our 7th holiday with Riviera Travel.
The Grand Hotel Menaggio was in the perfect setting on the lake and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Our tour guide was Andrew and we couldn’t have had anyone better. He was friendly,courteous and very knowledgeable. He had a good sense of humour and nothing was too much trouble. Please pass on our thanks to him again and we look forward to our next Riviera holiday.

Review by Diane & Tony Neal on 2 September 2016

This was our first touring holiday for us so we set out somewhat in anticipation.  However as indicated in our review we were very pleasantly rewarded with expectations met almost without fault.  The tour was definitely enhanced by our Tour Manager, Penny, who was so very knowledgeable about the Como area, Lakes and the Bernina Express.  Penny is professional, supportive, friendly, always available and yes, caring.  She is an absolute asset to the tour and created a very friendly group atmosphere.  In addition the hotel was very comfortable and all the staff were accommodating, pleasant and helpful, particularly Lucia over dinner and breakfast!
The weather was not as good as it could have been and we sadly had a flight cancelled on return home. However the way this was dealt with by the Tour Manager and Riviera Travel meant it did not detract in the least from our enjoyment. Thank you to all.

Review by Tony and Bernie on 25 August 2016

Have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, Lake Como.  A first class hotel, full of character with excellent and friendly staff and the food was very good and plentiful. Ours tours out were wonderful and our Tour Manager, Matt, was so informative and helpful in every way of the great places we visited.  Matt was the an excellent Tour Manager,  and also very ‘entertaining’ .  If you go on a Riviera holiday and have Matt as your Tour Manager you will certainly have a great holiday. We now look forward to planning our next holiday with Riviera.

Review by Bob Tarrant on 25 August 2016

This is our 2nd time with Riviera, and it was just as good as the 1st time, from being met at Milan airport to being returned there everything went smoothly. Andrew our guide was very informed and helpful, even when there was a bit of a blip in Bergamo related to our coach returning to base he dealt with it calmly and professionally. The tours were excellent particularly Lake Maggiore and Isola Bella, and the Bernina express. I would recommend that the Lugano trip on the last day is dropped as you are there for too long and it is very expensive, although there is a fabulous Art gallery and church if you have a wet day.
The Grand Hotel Menaggio was a fabulous base.
We would definitely use Riviera again.

Review by Susan Rayner on 21 August 2016

WILL BE BOOKING OUR NEXT TOUR SOON, Neil and Sharon. Guernsey.

Review by MR N PIKE on 12 August 2016

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.