If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

A Journey on the Mekong - RV Mekong Prestige II River Cruise

My husband and I took this cruise with you full of anticipation, we were fully rewarded. The whole trip was a delight, from a very nice hotel in Saigon to a first class boat to good hotel in Siam Reap. All the tours were very well conducted and well laid out .The quality of the food on board the Prestige 2 was great as were the crew and all the people involved.Our tour manager Tony was always on hand and was great. Thank you for a very nice holiday and will certainly travel with you again.

Review by Mrs A mACKAY on 15 February 2016

We have just returned from an exceptional Riviera holiday with MV Prestige II on the Mekong River through Vietnam and Cambodia to Siem Reap. Our main aim was to visit Angkor Wat in the most hassle free method possible. After considerable research we decided that the Riviera Mekong Cruise fulfilled our objectives. A direct 12 hour overnight flight from Heathrow to Saigon in a latest Vietnamese Dreamliner, boasting ample seating in economy with delicious in- flight food did not disappoint. My only comment would be an awayday on ‘smiling ’ for the cabin staff would not come amiss.
The cruise was excellent with comfortable cabins and excellent food on the Prestige. No efforts were spared to entertain us on board and the numerous inclusive shore trips were interesting and educational. The final hotel in Siem Reap the Borei Angkor was the ultimate in luxury.
The day trip to the temples of Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Ta Prom was the highlight of the Tour. One word of advice for those passengers wishing to see more of the Angkor temple site. I would advise preparing to return to Angkor on the second free day in Siem Reap by forward planning through the Tour Manager or hotel otherwise a lost opportunity would occur due to the speed of events.  The local tour guides were excellent and Bob the Tour Manager orchestrated the whole admirably.

Review by A.B.Hewitt on 27 January 2016

Our two week trip to Cambodia and Vietnam including 7 nights on board the RV Mekong Prestige II was a brilliant experience. The facilities and food on board were excellent.  Matthias did a splendid job of arranging our local trips and evening entertainment. It was a very good way of seeing local life along the Mekong.
Our time in Siem Reap and Saigon was well planned and enjoyable with knowledgeable and friendly local guides.
This was the first time a down stream trip had been arranged and there were some glitches with visas and immigration in Vietnam, en route to Siem Reap resolved by our really excellent tour guide Michele Cook.  Michele’s experience, professionalism and wonderful personality really made the trip for us and the rest of our group. I can’t praise her high enough. An excellent ambassador for Riviera Travel.

Review by Pauline Henley on 27 March 2014

There was only one hiccup with the whole tour and that was related to the visas necessary to enter Vietnam from Cambodia. This was sorted out in a very professional way and the tour guide, who was Michelle, ensured that the tour continued without disruption.
An absolute superb holiday. Great company and good organisation. We are sure that everyone had an enjoyable time with visiting all the towns and villages along the Mekong River. The people who live there were all full of smiles and very helpful. It goes without saying that Angkor Wat had a charm all it’s own with all the temples dating back hundreds of years.
The hotels were excellent and we enjoyed staying in Saigon at the end of the tour for 3 days to visit the historical sites and have time to shop in the city.
I know this area is new for travellers, but we can recommend this to anyone who wants to see a part of the world which is still unspoilt and carrying on traditions that they have used for many years.  Thank you Michelle for your excellent help during the tour and the very informed local guides who related all the local history to us. The boat was almost new and so all the rooms etc. were in tip top condition. Food on board was always the best and the selection superb. As a personal comment- not sure about the red wine as this was an acquired taste!
Thank you Riviera Travel for arranging a memorable holiday and the impressions will stay with us for a long period of time.

Review by Geoff & Sherry Spinks on 18 April 2014

We have just returned from the Mekong cruise upstream from Ho Chi Min city to Siem Reap and have had a wonderful time.  Hotels at each end were excellent, the river boat, the Mekong Prestige ||, was excellent with a lovely crew, great food and comfortable rooms.  Best of all was our tour manager Pauline, who ensured all went according to plan, and she was great company as well.  The visits to some of the “off the beaten track” villages en route were a great experience.  The local guides were all well informed especially Mr Ed in Cambodia stretch.

Review by David Green on 21 April 2014

Thank you all for a wonderful holiday in Cambodia, Vietnam and aboard the RV Mekong Prestige 2. The hotels were good, especially the Borei Angkor in Siem Reap and the ship was comfortable, friendly, well-organised and we enjoyed some delicious meals . The excursions were extremely interesting and struck the right balance between sight-seeing and the often grim history of these countries. Last but not least, we must commend our amazingly efficient and knowledgeable tour guide, Deborah . She was calm, confident and always willing to go that extra mile to help out. Despite a slight hiccup with luggage on our incoming flight at Saigon, she dealt with it all most professionally. Congratulations to all it was, one of our best ever trips.

Review by Judy & Stan Wilson on 25 April 2014

I have been meaning to make a comment since our return from Cambodia / Vietnam / Mekong tour as it was such a wonderful experience.  The hotels in Seam Reap and Vietnam were excellent, as too the accommodation on board Prestige 2.  Our tour manager, Deborah, was key to making the tour a success. The little “extras’, like stopping the coach to get some sticky rice in bamboo, buying a huge Jack fruit and cutting it up on board for us to try all added to the fun.  She was very professional, experienced, knowledgeable and her friendly attitude all made for a great time.  We were a small group and she was very much part of it.  The trips were well organized and the local guides were friendly and informative.  A truly great experience.  We would thoroughly recommend it.

Review by Peter & Liz Kaines on 5 August 2014

What a fantastic holiday, excellent itinerary, good choice of hotels, the ship being the star turn with lovely food and very friendly and helpful staff.  A very good insight into both Vietnamese and Cambodian life, history and culture from knowledgeable and entertaining local guides. Well chosen visits with time for independent exploration (and shopping).
Tour manager Deborah very efficient, helpful and friendly.

Review by Rob & Pam Porter on 9 February 2015

Best holiday ever. Full of so many wonderful different experiences - the beautifully friendly locals, the on-board entertainment/information sessions, the quality of the hotels, the food, the sights, the guides - most especially Deborah - so efficient, informative and friendly.  Well done, Riviera, yet again - topped our cruises in Europe with you, which were also fantastic.  So many memories….

Review by Julia and Dave Mynott on 24 February 2015

Have just returned from a fantastic Riviera holiday in Vietnam and Cambodia which included a week on the beautiful Prestige II river boat.  Everything about this holiday was perfectly organised and the excursions far better than we could ever have expected.  The boat is only a year old and perfect.  The crew are very friendly and so helpful, the food wonderful and we were always kept entertained in the evenings.  We met some lovely people and made many new friends.  We would thoroughly recommend this holiday as a relaxing way to see two different and fascinating countries.

Review by pauline wanstall on 10 March 2015

Just been blown away with our trip to Vietnam and Cambodia on the Prestige II. All the elements that make a great holiday - travel, food, accommodation and excursions - were delivered to the highest quality. Our tour guide, Alex was a real professional making sure that every aspect of the holiday ran smoothly, yet at the same time staying in the background and making it look easy.
Riviera certainly have a package to be proud of as they have managed to integrate the history, culture and sights of Vietnam and Cambodia into a very well balanced schedule. This tour takes you to the heart of the countries and exposes you to how the peoples live.
Also a big thank you to our fellow travellers whose company and conversation were an extra bonus.
Well done Riviera ! This was our first tour with Riviera but it wont be our last

Review by Alastair Firth on 20 March 2015

Have just come back from our holiday which was outstanding, its a very well planned holiday.
As a disabled passenger with a stick I was planning on staying on the boat most of the time but every effort was made to ensure that I could join in as well.
We were on the Jayavarman and the crew were outstanding and the cold flannel when coming back from trips was wonderful.
Had the foot massage was wonderful.
Michele our knowledgeable tour manager was outstanding.
She was caring and problems were never too big, even helped with bad tummies!!
Thank you Riviera and thank you Michele all your hardwork put together a outstanding holiday
We have already booked our next river cruise with Riviera

Review by Allison Fry on 26 October 2015

We travelled from Siem Reap to Saigon on the RV Jayavaraman.  A fantastic cruise on which we were excellently looked after by Michelle who was great fun as well as being efficient.  She found events for us to do of an evening both in Siem Reap and Saigon.  Were particularly impressed by the Cambodian and Vietnamese guides who were with us for different stages.  Their English and knowledge of recent history was excellent and imparted freely and easily.  Hotels at each end were excellent and the staff on the Jayavaraman smiling, pleasant and always helpful.  The visits to places en route were interesting and well organised.  Highlight of course has to be Angkor Wat.

Review by Mrs Isabel Gordon on 6 November 2015

I have just returned from a fantastic trip to Vietnam and Cambodia which included 7 nights on the RV Jayavaraman going from Ho Chi Min city to Siam Reap. This was my first trip to Asia and what a trip it turned out to be, it exceeded my expectations. From the moment I met Marthese our tour guide at Heathrow airport everything seemed to go very smoothly. The trip was educational, spiritual and relaxing. The service on board the river boat was exceptional as was the food. I do hope my next visit to Asia can live up to this trip.

Review by Wayne Richards on 29 November 2015

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.