[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

India

Where to start, this was certainly a trip of a lifetime and the sort of holiday we never normally take so wasn't sure what to expect. We had used Riviera before for a short break but this was on a different scale, the whole holiday was out of this world! Paul was the tour manager and his organisation, humour and friendliness helped put everyone at ease and set the tone for the whole holiday. Kunal was the local guide and his knowledge was outstanding both of the sites we were visiting but also the rest of Indian culture, welfare and the social system, giving an all round picture to living in India. He was always ready to answer any questions and was instrumental in tweaking the itinerary taking into account the heat, so we had some much better experiences simply by going at different times of the day and also allowed for free time which was a bonus. Ratan and his assistant Surindra ensured we remained bug free as much as possible by taking simple precautions and gave some great driving experiences. The hotels were superb and each had its own unique qualities so hard to find a favourite. We have come back with the bug to travel to other countries and will definitely be using Riviera for these trips

Review by: Bev Walters on 12/05/2019

India

It was our first time with Riviera travel and we will most certainly use them again. Our trip to India was amazing, the tour manager, Inken and our guide Dillip were extremely knowledgeable and made the trip completely stress free. Inken looked after us very well and her love of India shone through. When travelling to such a diverse and different cultural country it is important to have someone who knows the country and the customs well. Inken certainly fulfilled this role. Dillip’s historical knowledge was excellent and his sense of humour enhanced our tour! We will soon be planning our next trip with this company!

Review by: Janet Simmers on 07/03/2019

India

Just returned from the most amazing tour to southern India. My friends julie, Barbara and Janice would like to thank Matt our guide for a comprehensive and exciting trip. Matt did his utmost to show us the real life of india. - Nothing was too much trouble for him.

A trip we will always remember.

Thank you again for another amazing adventure.

Patricia Culley.

Review by: Patrici a culley on 28/02/2019

India

We still can't believe how much was packed into our two week whirlwind tour of Rajasthan!.Expertly led by Paul and Abi (with their unique sense of humour) we travelled by plane, coach, tuk tuk and camel along with 32 lovely explorers. Most hotels were fantastic especially in Udaipur and Khimsar but there was little option to eat outside hotels due to location or availability which was a shame. We experienced luxury whilst witnessing poverty which was hard at times. All included excursions were well thought out and the guides organised a couple of extra ones which were greatly appreciated by us. Several of the group were ill at times and medical advice and supplies were quickly sourced as western medicines we had brought were largely ineffective. We really enjoyed the free day half way during the tour and I hope Riviera include this in more of their tours. This was our third holiday with Riviera and it won't be our last.

Review by: Judy and Robin on 14/11/2018

India

A brilliant holiday made possible by our guide Gemma. Her commitment and help to ensure we arrive safely and enjoy ourselves at all destinations is excellent.

Review by: Helen williams on 31/10/2018

India

Thank you Riviera for a wonderful two week tour in India. This was a well-planned trip, full of exciting and fascinating experiences, from tigers in Ranthambore to the beautiful Taj Mahal, and a rickshaw ride through the bazaars of Delhi to a walk in the foothills of the Himalayas. The hotels were first class, we received sensible advice about staying healthy, and our local guides were knowledgeable and friendly. Most importantly our brilliant tour manager, Inken ensured everything went without a hitch, and her sense of humour and deep love of India helped to make this a holiday we will never forget.

Review by: Maureen Moody on 29/10/2018

India

Hello, just to say both my wife and I had an excellent time on our trip to India with Riviera, both Christine and Keemi were very helpful and informative, Christine on the practicalities and times and Keemi on the culture and attitudes of Indians and also the history and significance of the many sights we visited.

It was an extremely full itinerary which more than lived up to the promise of the brochure, highlights for me were Ranthambore where we were fortunate to see two Tigers one at a distance of about ten metres and the splendors of the heritage hotel of Alsisar Mahal.

My only suggestion would be to speed the journey back back to Delhi perhaps breaking the trip with a visit to one of the national parks on the outskirts.

Review by: Jean-Patrick and Judy Elmes on 26/04/2018

India

We have just returned from a superb tour of India. The organisation was excellent with all aspects taken care of. We didn't want to have to worry about anything whilst we were away and we were rewarded. Christine our tour manager kept us all well informed and made it all look effortless, but we knew that everything was well planned and executed seamlessly.

We visited at a time when the temperatures were soaring, but beautiful hotels and an air conditioned coach made it all bearable.

The sights were diverse and our destinations fascinating. Our own particular highlights were seeing two tigers whilst on the safari and visiting Amber Fort. In addition the trip to Alsisar was spectacular and well worth the extra travel time in reaching it. The hotel is nothing short of a palace from a bygone age.

We have done all our world travel with Riviera and will continue to do so.

Review by: Sue on 26/04/2018

India

This holiday or should we say experience was without doubt one we will never forget. We were aware that it would be a busy tour in order to get in this full agenda, but it was so well planned with the input of Sarah our Tour Manager who was without doubt so committed ensuring everything went as smooth as possible and we got to see everything with the least amount of interruptions and often from the best positions and at the best time. Kunal was our Tour Guide who was excellent with his knowledge of all things of India and was a mountain of information. We were transported with ease from place to place by Annan our driver and Vjay his Assistant - we were, well looked after, even when we got to sites by additional local guides. This is one tour that is a must if you wish to see the Taj Mahal in all it's glory ending with the Golden Temple at Amritsar. Sarah organization of the tipping from an initial collection from each person makes this tour more enjoyable and relaxing. The hotels are excellent covering many different types of locations, you will not only be surprised but like us very happy.

Review by: Peter & Jenny Kirby on 06/02/2018

India

Just returned from your Southern India & Kerela Tour which was led by Matt Locmelis and local guide Biju. This was our 9th. tour with Riviera and with regards to it's smooth running this tour far exceeded all previous ones this being down to the exceptional and outstanding qualities of Matt. His organisational skills and level of detail were superb as was his ability to get all of the 32 persons to gel with each other. Matt kept all of us entertained with his sense of humour but at the same time giving us continual updates and good advice from the start in Heathrow even to the end at the luggage carousel in Heathrow. Our local guide and bus team were also excellant providing for all our needs. The tour itself fully met with our expectations and was a good insight into Southern India, with all of the accommodation and food

Review by: CHRISTOPHER J HELM on 16/11/2017

India

We had a fab trip with RT to INDIA , covering Amritsar and Golden Triangle. Our rep was Sarah or “cha che” as we called her, and she was amazing, fun and very knowledgable, she made the trip of a life time one we won’t ever forget, Kunal our INDIAN rep was very interesting and fun too. Sarah your an asset to Riveria Travel many thanks Sue and Phil Burton on trent x

Review by: Mr & Mrs Phil & Sue Plummer on 01/11/2017

India

Just returned from the Rajastan with Amristar tour which was our third tour with Riviera.Over the years weve probably done around 15 tours with various companies and I have to say that Sarah who was with us on this trip was the best tour manager weve had bar none.Nothing was too much trouble..she was just great from start to finish.The trip itself was tiring and not helped by the fact that all the internal flights were delayed .Overall though a very enjoyable trip through India.

Review by: Richard Gibson on 01/11/2017

India

My wife and I took the India trip with Riviera including the extension in Shimla from 28th Sep to 12th Oct.

We had an amazing adventure from start to finish. Patricia our tour guide was excellent and everything went very smoothly throughout the trip. I will be coming back to Riviera again and will be recommending your trips to others. Thankyou very much.

Review by: David Woodward on 12/10/2017

India Tour

A wonderful trip to India. Very well organised. Our tour guide, Chris, was really good and full of information. Kam, our Indian guide, brought India to life for us, not just showing us the places but giving us all the extra cultural insights.

We saw and experienced so much in those eleven days.

Review by: Marion Baldwin on 27/04/2017

India Tour

What a wonderful holiday! It far exceeded our expectations, and memories of it are just beginning to settle in my mind and will last for ever. Our tour manager Matt was terrific - super-organised whilst also managing to appear relaxed, friendly and funny. Our Indian guide was extremely knowledgeable, enthusiastic and charming and also worked really hard on our behalf as did the fantastic driver and the bus boy, who kept us clean and watered. We saw amazing sights - not just the spectacular buildings, but also the vibrant street life full of beautiful dignified people living in circumstances that we, in the West, can barely imagine.

Review by: Christine Ford on 10/01/2017

India Tour

This was our 7th holiday with Riviera and as usual we had a great time. Our India Tour was an incredible experience enhanced by all the Riviera personnel involved including our local guide, bus driver & his assistant and most of all by our tour manager Matt, who combined his great attention to detail and care with entertaining humour and good fun.Thanks to Matt's advice and knowledge everything went without a hitch even to the matter that the dreaded Delhi Belly was non existent by eating at the right places.We had 37 on our Tour which added to the enjoyment because we all gelled together without ever getting overpowering.

Review by: ALEC & LESLEY MCGOVERN on 16/01/2017

India Tour

We approached this holiday in India with some trepidation but our fears were unfounded. The couriers (Gill and Bhuvendra) could not have been more helpful, kind and entertaining. The main attractions were the Taj Mahal and The Golden Temple, which both exceeded our expectations, but there was much much more. Thank you Riviera for another lovely holiday.

Review by: Myles and Rosemary Hammett on 16/11/2016

India Tour

We have just come back from a wonderful Golden Triangle tour with the addition of Ranthambore and Mandawa, we thought that the itinerary was very well put together as it gave us a flavour of more rural India as well as the big cities taking in the key sights such as the Taj Mahal along the way. Our tour manager has an extensive knowledge of the country so was able to give us a realistic view of what to expect from each place we visited. Our local guide was great fun and gave us a lot of interesting information about the local areas and about the Indian way of life. The trip was superbly organised with lovely hotels, we didn’t have to worry about anything as everything had been taken care of so we could just concentrate on enjoying ourselves. I would happily recommend your company to anybody.

Review by: Carol Clayton on 06/11/2012

India Tour

India has been a trip of a lifetime, thank you so much to Riviera who made this trip possible for us. We have been mesmerised by the beauty and life that India offers, the people and temples are magnificent. Our tour guide was a joy throughout providing humour and insight in to the rich architecture and culture.Due to Riviera’s seamless tour we were able to relax, absorb the rich culture and colour and make friends along the way. This holiday was like ten put together wrapped up in bubble of Bond like locations and hotels. We laughed,smiled and were surprised every day, this is the best holiday we have ever had. Thank you.

Review by: Karen Trethewey on 05/11/2012

India Tour

We are writing to thank our guides for our wonderful ‘experience’ to India. They made it such a memorable trip with things running so smoothly even to the tipping at the toilet stops. India is another world such chaos and poverty but ‘It Works’. We would not have missed it for the world - thank you all for the hard work that goes into providing us with a relaxing holiday.

Travelled on 11/02/2010

Review by: Tony and Diana Kelsey Warwick on 23/02/2010

India Tour

India with Riviera tours was amazing. My first package tour ever. I would go back in a heartbeat. Our team leader was very special and deserves all praise - they were amazing.

Travelled on 29/10/2009

Review by: Kim Blake on 30/03/2010

India Tour

India caressed my soul…and I am longing to return to maybe do India/Nepal as Riviera were outstanding as was the tour, from the bustling sounds and smells of Dehli to the impressive Taj at Agra and the wondrous Forts and Mosques. I thought nothing else would surprise me until I went to Ranthambore and was lucky enough to see a magnificent tiger! Our tour guide, anything he did not know was not worth knowing, he was the font of all knowledge and had the personality and comedy touch to match he became a friend as well a tour guide as did the other people travelling in our group who we exchanged emails and tiger pics with. The whole of my trip touched my heart I fell in love with India and it will stay with me forever the kindness and smiles of the people to the excellent services of Riviera!

Travelled on 05/12/2011

Review by: Catherine on 05/05/2012

India Tour

I was sceptical about joining a ‘tour’ but, having now visited Northern India with Riviera Travel, I am no longer a sceptic. All booking arrangements with Riviera were seamless, all requests addressed effectively and efficiently, all amendments communicated and confirmed in writing - including regional connections and accommodation after a long flight back to the UK through Holiday Extras. The tour to North India was expertly managed. Many thanks to the ever-present ‘resident’ manager who ensured everything ran like clockwork. The ‘expert’ local knowledge and commentary from our guide was superb and added insight into the sites we visited. The coach driver’s skill in navigating through Indian traffic was very reassuring. The ‘bus-boy’ could not have been more attentive. I met a great goup of people and have new friends now. From beginning to end, I had a hassle-free holiday and I highly commend Riviera Travel.

Travelled on 14/05/2012

Review by: Ron Munro, Dunfermline on 02/06/2012

India Tour

I wanted to thank you for our brilliant tour of India (Golden Triangle). We have had a great time and are very sad to leave tomorrow.

I specifically wanted to write to you with regards our tour guides - Serdjo Car and Dilip Singh. I cannot praise them enough. Both were genuine, well organised, incredibly knowledgable, and thoroughly lovely people. We could not have been in better hands. Anyone lucky enough to be escorted by Serdjo and/or Dilip are incredibly fortunate, and are guaranteed a fantastic time.

Please pass on this feedback.

Thank you again for a wonderful holiday.

Review by: Sian Wordsworth on 04/02/2016

India Tour

We have just returned from a holiday tour of India yesterday, I just wanted to say what a fantastic time we had, every thing was so well organised, our guide Christine was great nothing was too much trouble, she worked so hard as did all the other people that made the tour so enjoyable.This is the first time we have used Riviera travel and we will definitely be using them again, thank you for making our trip so fabulous, and thanks again to Christine

Review by: Don and Jan Boatman on 13/05/2016

India Tour

My wife Juli and I have just returned for the India Tour (29th Sept - 9th Oct 2016). What an amazing experience! Saw some wonderful sights, stayed at really good hotels in the company of a lovely group of people.

Bavinder, our local tour guide was simply brilliant. He gave us a real insight to the life of the lovely Indian people. He entertained us with his knowledge, humour and passion for his country which was infectious.

Though not for the faint hearted (poverty can be difficult to deal with) this is a superb tour. Make sure you are reasonably fit as some of the steps can be a challenge to negotiate.

I’m so glad we took the decision to go, it was an experienced we’ll never forget.

Review by: Tony Hicks on 16/10/2016

India Tour

I have just returned from a tour of India organised by your company which was hosted by a wonderful guide called Susan and her Indian associate Myanck. The timetable worked to perfection and my only criticism would be that the tiger safari was not quite up to the standard of the rest of the itinerary. More comfortable transport in smaller vehicles would be preferable and would probably improve the chances of spotting a tiger and enjoying the rest of the wildlife.

Any minor problems were immediately sorted out by Susan and it was indeed a pleasure to travel with her.

This is our second trip with Riviera and I can promise you that it will not be our last.

Review by: David and Ann Robins on 20/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.