If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

India & Shimla Extension Tour

This was quite an experience for us, we saw some fantastic sights. The hotels were 1st class as was our guide Matt Locmelis he worked tirelessly throughout . It was a nonstop trip . The only thing I felt was the trip to Shimla involves too much traveling out of 5 Days we only had 2 full days in Shimla .
Apart from that it was very enjoyable . Big thanks to Matt, Delip and the bus crew.

Review by Jane Llewellyn on 21 May 2016

My wife and I have recently returned from the Golden Triangle plus Shimla tour led by your representative, Matt Locmelis. This was our first ever organised tour and based on this experience it certainly will not be our last. We were extremely impressed by the organisation, management and quality of travel and accommodation and especially impressed with Matt’s sensitive and good humoured leadership from the moment we met at Heathrow to the moment we returned . He ensured that everyone on the tour gained the maximum from it and his tips and guidance throughout were spot on. His concern for everyone’s welfare in a land of heat, dirt and different culinary arts and practices was also impressive.
We also enjoyed greatly the services of our accompanying local guide, Dilip, whose knowledge of India’s history, culture and customs added enormously to the interest and pleasure of this trip.
It is clearly no coincidence that many of our fellow travellers were repeat customers of Riviera, as we shall be.
With thanks for a great experience

Review by Paul Gardner on 19 May 2016

We’ve just returned from India on the Incredible India tour with the Shimla extension and just wanted to say what a wonderful experience it has been. All of the places we’ve visited gave a great introduction to this fascinating and energetic country and the hotels that we stayed in exceeded our expectations. The tour manager and guide were very knowledgeable and helpful, dealing with seemingly impossible requests without any trouble. I would highly recommend this tour to get your first fix of India. Many thnaks indeed.

Review by Richard Cornish on 13 May 2016

Wow, what an amazing experience! A huge thank you to tour manager Gill, Kami our guide, Ranveer our driver and Raman who looked after us on the coach, for making our holiday so memorable. We will certainly book with Riviera again.

Review by Angela Pettit on 6 April 2016

Fantastic full on tour made special by seeing the tigress at Ranthambore. The tour was managed perfectly by Gill and the Indian guide Bhevendra was excellent.
It was our first ever tour and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute.
Will be booking again with Riviera Travel
Many thanks

Bob & Barbara

Review by Bob Heaton & Barbara Dewhurst on 4 April 2016

A full-on tour to all the popular sights in the Golden Triangle with excellent support from Riviera’s Gill and local guide Kami. A lot of travelling with hours on the coach, and trains to Shimla, but worth it when one sees tigers in Ranthambhore and the Himalayas from Shimla. Do go - it’s worth the effort.

Review by Richard Baker on 2 April 2016

Our thanks to Gill and Bhevendra for a truly wonderful holiday. Everything ran so smoothly thanks to Gill and Bhevendra’s local knowledge was fantastic. An amazing country, which we will never forget especially “our tigress”. This was our first Riviera experience and it won’t be our last.

Review by Bob and Pat Sherwin on 1 April 2016

Having just completed your India and Shimla Extension tour. I feel I must congratulate all staff and guides for a wonderful holiday. May I single out your tour guide Jill whose professional and friendly assistance really put the cherry on the cake.
Thank you so much for a memorable and enjoyable time which will forever be remembered.

Review by Howard Flatman on 31 March 2016

This was the most amazing holiday I have ever been on. India is a beautiful country and I felt we had a good all round experience of the different aspects if the country. The tour was very well done in such a way that you got so much packed in, without being rushed or herded. We didn’t have to worry about anything as it was all dealt with for us by our amazing and professional team. Our English guide Becky and Indian guide Abhi Singh kept us safe, comfortable and well informed throughout the whole trip. Our only concern was enjoying the experience. And enjoy it we did. Such a beautiful country and we got the full experience by the team at Riviera. Would do the whole thing again tomorrow. Thank you guys so much. Until the next time….

Review by Eleanor Schofield on 21 February 2016

This tour is fantastic if you want a taste of India but in comfort and style. It’s busy, lots of early starts and a fair bit of travelling but it was worth every alarm call and minute sitting on the tour coach. Our guide Tony was excellent, always totally in control and a very safe pair of hands. The experience was greatly enhanced also by having our local guide Kam with us all the time, with loads of insider knowledge about what it’s like to live in India. He really managed to turn some of my preconceptions on their head! The organisation is excellent and the hotels are lovely. Be prepared to pay hotel prices though!

It’s a wonderful trip and achieved what I want from travel, it broadened my mind. If you have ever fancied India without all the hassle that would go with trying to do it all yourself then it’s perfect.

Review by A.Jago on 28 January 2016

I travelled to India’s Golden Triangle. What a wonderful experience - my first with Riviera Travel and it is not the last! Throughout the tour, our tour manager, our local guide, our driver and ‘bus-boy’ were superb with their care of the group and attention to detail. (Note that I say ‘our’ - from first introductions, although a solo traveller, I felt I was part of a ‘family’.) Each hotel was more than comfortable, with its own character and varied facilities - from 5* city to rural, ‘heritage’ hotels. Each hotel’s welcome made me feel ‘special’ - so much so that I cannot say one hotel was better than another. The entire holiday arrangement, including connecting flights from Scotland and a transit hotel at Heathrow, was seamless and efficient. Thank you Riviera Travel staff. I had an excellent trip. You folks tick all the boxes!
Travelled on 14/05/2012

Review by Ron Munro, Dunfermline on 14 July 2012

A fantastic trip! Our third long haul trip with Riviera and another success. Our tour manager and our local guide made sure everyone was well looked after and able to enjoy the busy but interesting schedule. Shimla and the Oberoi Cecil provided a quality end to this memorable trip to India. Thank you Riviera.
Travelled on 05/03/2012

Review by Alan & Sue Hodgkinson, Leicestershire on 27 March 2012

We toured India with Riviera and fully enjoyed the itinerary. Having Shimla at the end is perfect. Our tour guide was friendly and efficient from the word go.Our Indian guide was extremely knowledgeable and professional and the driver superb at all times.
The sights were all we hoped for and the hotels of excellent quality. Altogether a superb experience. Thank you.
Travelled on 09/11/2011

Review by Mrs Sue Murty on 23 January 2012

We did the Golden Triangle and Shimla extension in October 2011 and had such a wonderful trip. I am quite a nervous traveller but our Tour Manager immediately made me feel that we were in safe hands We had an excellent guide who was very knowledgable on history and religion and so interesting. The hotels were excellent and the travel first rate. This was our first escorted tour but it won’t be our last and the future ones will be with Riviera. The itinerary was very well planned and paced. We saw so much but never felt too tired. There were so many highlights it is difficult to choose but obviously the Taj Mahal, the lanes of Old Delhi and Shimla. The lowpoints? Well actually there were none! Thank you Riviera, for the first time in my life I did not want to come home!
Travelled on 13/10/2011

Review by Liz Maliphant, Beckenham on 22 December 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our first escorted tour and our first booking with Riviera. I would like to congratulate you on your excellent organisation. All arrangements were superb and your choice of hotels were wonderful. I would like to make a special mention of our tour Rep, who went above and beyond to ensure we had a good time. Also I would like to commend our guide. His command of English and his sense of humour made to tour very enjoyable. Well done Riviera. I am so pleased we will be travelling with you again later in the year.
Travelled on 02/03/2011

Review by Mrs Sussman, London on 21 March 2011

We really enjoyed this varied and interesting tour of a small area of Northern India and an amazing train ride up to Shimla. We had excellent guides - Sue and Mayank were very good fun and very knowledgeable. We also had excellent drivers and our bus boy Raj, looked after us with lots of water and many smiles!
All the hotels were excellent and I am very fussy on the beds! We loved all the sights and sounds of India - the Camels, Bullocks and even the Monkeys! The amazing sights for us were the Himalayas with snow, but also the Taj Mahal, the streets of Jaipur and the noise and bustle of Old Delhi. Above all, the Indian people were so welcoming to us and we enjoyed our brief exchanges with them.

Review by Kathleen and Peter Kirby on 9 March 2013

Thank you to all at Riviera Travel who organised and were involved in the India and Shimla tour starting on 22nd Feb 2013, especially our tour guide Susan who was excellent. I travelled with my son (23) daughter (25) and my daughter’s boyfriend (29). We all had a wonderful holiday. The tour was very well put together with a great blend of fascinating historical sights, the nature reserve, and visits to see artisans at work and appreciate traditional crafts. We loved our time in Shimla, it was well worth adding on this bit to the holiday. We had rides on horses, camels, yaks and autorickshaws, and loved it all. The hotels were all lovely, clean, comfortable and very luxurious in some instances. All the staff were exceptionally helpful and polite. The food was delicious. Our coach driver was amazing aided by the bus boy who looked after us very well. The tour guide always interesting, helpful and informative, and ready and willing to answer all sorts of questions. I learnt a lot! This was a marvellous visit to India and met all our (very high) expectations, and added extra value too. I thoroughly recommend it.

Review by Caroline Bailey on 17 March 2013

My husband, son (in his 30s) and I had a wonderful time on our fortnight in India.  The tour manager (Matt) was brilliant and ensured that everything ran smoothly and without any fuss.  Parul, an Indian guide, supplied us with fascinating information about the places we visited and the culture and traditions of India, and our driver, Jessie, and Khan, the bus boy, were excellent.  The variety of the places in which we stayed made the trip very interesting and, although we had several early morning starts and were travelling around a lot, we were never tired as there was always so much to see and learn about.  The hotels were of a very high standard and we were very well throughout the 2 weeks and didn’t need any of the medication we took with us!!  Congratulations Riviera, on planning a really varied and exciting tour of the Golden Triangle and Shimla.

Review by Jennie Henderson on 3 April 2013

We had a wonderful trip to India.  The Tour Manager Chris arranged everything beautifully and our Indian guide Mike was immensely well-informed. We felt very welcome wherever we stayed and we spent 2 weeks in the best of health.  The group got on really well and we had a lot of fun together.  I will certainly recommend it.  Riviera took good care of us and didn’t wear us out.

Review by Marion Johnson on 7 April 2013

This tour was an ideal introduction to India and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the exotic architecture, the bustling bazaars and the day to day life in Delhi, Agra and Jaipur and the many places between them. Riding on cycle and auto rickshaws was an unforgettable experience and it was interesting using the trains and seeing the life that went on in and around the railways. Being driven on Indian roads, even in a large coach, was often, not for the faint hearted! Rural Rajasthan and Rathambore National Park added another dimension to an already varied itinery. No good views of tigers this time though but plenty of other wildlife. The long journey to Shimla on the narrow gauge toy train provided yet another outstanding experience and in Shimla itself with perfect weather conditions, being able to see the Himalayas so clearly was another highlight of this trip. All of the hotels were excellent as was the service they provided with the Shimla Oberoi Cecil, Rathambore Regency and especially the heritage hotel Castle Mandawa(the old fort) having the most character.
Mention must be made of our team who made this trip run so smoothly. Sue, our tour manager with her keen sense of humour, had everything under control and was always very helpful. Mayank, our Indian guide was highly knowledgeable and explained everything with great clarity and enthusiasm whilst Raj, the bus boy kept us supplied with water and other essentials, always with a smile. The very challenging roads and traffic was handled admirably by our driver Chanchal. They needed to be!
All in all an excellent tour and thanks to all concerned.

Dennis and Liz Jenkins

Review by Mr D Jenkins on 18 April 2013

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.