[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

India & Nepal

Wow... what a wonderful experience! Jammed packed from the Ganges to a flight to see Everest. Not a restful holiday. If that’s what you’re after then you need to look elsewhere. Our group were up very early mornings. Every penny was value for money. I travelled solo this time in a group which was mainly couples. The group was very friendly and I believe and hope I mixed with everyone. Unfortunately I became ill with some really nasty bug I had picked up. Many thanks to Matt our tour director, as I felt being poorly he really did look to my wellbeing. Thanks also must go to the lovely group of people on our tour for making each other’s holiday so special. Would I travel solo again? Absolutely, this tour was fantastic, No hesitation at all. Thank you Riviera for such a wonderful experience. Can’t wait to book the next one...

Review by: Jill on 10/11/2018

India & Nepal

What an adventure brilliantly organized by our excellent tour manager who also added greatly to the experience of the trip with his knowledge and addition of local visits which added further to a pretty packed schedule. This is no lazy holiday with some early starts but fully lived up to and indeed, exceeded expectations. It was full on but filled with so much interest that every day was so different. Not for those who want to laze by a pool. My wife and I are already looking at a tour to Southern India for 2019 on the strength of this holiday. Well done Riviera.

Review by: Douglas Mirtle on 10/11/2018

India & Nepal

What an amazing holiday it was full on and none stop but well worth it. We visited some wonderful places and had some unforgettable experiences. Matt the tour guide cannot be praised enough for making the holiday an adventure of a life time - many thanks

Review by: Tracy on 10/11/2018

India & Nepal

An amazing trip led by an excellent and experienced tour guide Matt who was calm, efficient, perceptive and went out of his way to make the holiday a success. This was my ninth holiday with riviera and the most memorable. It is an amazing trip needing stamina ( some long journeys and early mornings). Highlights include a moving experience of sunset and sunrise on the Ganges; the beauty of the Taj Mahal, various palaces and temples; riding an elephant and seeing rhinos in Chitwan national park; early morning flight round Everest and not least sunrise over the Annapurna range.

Review by: Christine bull on 11/11/2018

India & Nepal Tour

We returned from a trip to India and Nepal on the 1st December 2016 with Riviera Travel. It was absolutely amazing. Sarah was the guide from England and went far beyond what was necessary in help; truly wonderful ,nothing was too much for her. It was certainly a busy trip although we wouldn’t have missed anything out. We went with Riviera to South Africa last year and thought that was good, but this was an experience we shall not forget! We are due to go to Costa Rica with Riviera in March 2017 and looking forward to it. Thank you once again.

Review by: Colin Smith on 17/11/2016

India & Nepal Tour

I have visited India and Nepal recently with 3 other Guernsey ladies,we had a fabulous time. India was weird and wonderful, the colours and sounds amazing, brought to life by our guides Gill and Kumal. Everywhere we went was described so well and precise. We were very moved in Varanasi, our trip on the Ganges was one of the many highlights. Our hotels were beautiful and clean, the staff always so helpful. Nepal, still recovering from that devastating earthquake,is making sure everyone enjoys being there, the people and most of all the children are so happy, so pleased to see you. We had an amazing guide called Depak,who always went the extra mile to help us. To see the wild animals at "Chitwan" all one could wish for. Everything we saw was great. I had an unfortunate freak accident on the way to Pokhara and needed to see a doctor and have an MRI scan,I had the best treatment one could have from the doctor and hospital, these people have nothing,but they looked after me brilliantly,I can't thank them enough,that is what the Nepalese are like.I would love to visit Nepal again,and see other parts of India.

Review by: Karolyn Giles on 06/10/2016

India & Nepal Tour

This was our second visit to India and Nepal. We visited between 16th and 30th March 2013. We were well prepared for the culture shock, and were not disappointed. The tour itinerary gives plenty of information so I’m not going to expand on that. The hotels are all of a very good standard, with Indian or western style food, albeit considerably more expensive than out on the street. The less adventurous may stay with confidence and not venture out if they don’t feel they can cope with Indian street life. In fact, the schedule is so busy that most people prefer to relax in the hotel and unwind after a busy day rather that venture too far.

Transport consists of comfortable air conditioned buses - not with toilets - but by taking sensible precautions, Delhi Belly can be avoided. It was present, but plenty of rest stops were made.

Heat can be a problem. Delhi temperatures in March were in the mid 20’s, rising into the 30’s in Agra and Varanasi and back down to the mid 20’s in Nepal. Free water is provided on the bus, and it’s essential to keep well hydrated. However, visits last never more than a couple of hours so you’re able to get back on the bus and cool down. Lunches can be a problem on the road, and the usual practice is to be prepared and start the day off with a few items you’ve either bought beforehand or liberated from the hotel breakfast buffet.

As with all these type of trips, good timing is essential. Early starts are the norm, on a couple of occasions the wakeup call was before 5am, but we were fortunate that everyone was a good timekeeper and no one let us down.

This is an extremely busy tour, but very well thought out and well organised. It’s our second holiday with Riviera, and won’t be the last. They manage to pack so much into two weeks, with something slightly different to the larger companies, and at a price that compares very well.

Special thanks are due to our tour Manager Steve, and to our local guides, Prem in India and Deepak in Nepal.

Review by: Don Hill on 09/06/2013

India & Nepal Tour

My husband and I have recently returned from a fantastic tour of India and Nepal. The itinerary looked most interesting and did not disappoint as it was action packed from the moment we arrived in Delhi. The tour was exhausting with many early morning starts but it was worth it to experience sunrise at the magnificent sights. Our tour manager Matt was superb with great organisational skills, caring for everyone’s needs, friendly and above all had a great sense of humour. He is a great asset to Riviera Travel. The local guides in both India and Nepal were very knowledgeable, friendly and together with Matt ensured all went very smoothly.

I celebrated my birthday in Chitwan and in the morning it was organised for an elephant to greet me. It was the largest birthday card I had ever received and a great honour.

Our fellow travelers were perfect company and we had some great laughs. We all felt that we had experienced a most wonderful journey together. We would certainly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to have a taster of these two most fascinating countries.

Review by: Mr & Mrs Wilkinson on 24/04/2013

India & Nepal Tour

I’m currently suffering culture shock - Devon is too quiet and mundane! After all the excitement of our 2 week adventure to India and Nepal, it’s proving hard to settle back into normal life. My mind keeps wandering back to the myriad of wonderful memories that will live with me forever - the sheer madness on the streets of India - the colour and tooting of horns and the energy of the city folk as I had a privileged view from the comfort of our air-conditioned bus, and of course the unforgettable view of cows and water buffalo calmly chewing the cud in the middle of the road!

In India, we got up close and personal as our wonderful tour manager Jill and our local guide Bhanu, escorted us safely through and provided fascinating insights and all the right information, right when we needed it - from finding the best places & times to visit (the Taj at sunrise was a dream preceded by an amazing rickshaw ride through the darkened streets and watching the city wake up!); to ensuring that clean, western style loos were there as and when needed. They made sightseeing a real joy - I can’t overemphasise how professional and friendly they were throughout the trip and dealt with all the tricky bits like dealing with hawkers and street sellers; tipping and booking super places for meals and travel stops.

All our hotels were excellent - the Hyatt in Kathmandu was especially wonderful and our extra night there was extremely welcome. Food was lovely - always great variety, and western foods if you had enough of local curries!

In Nepal, we travelled more on the bus, and this allowed us to see even more of the country and the wonderful people. Sunrise over the Annapurna range; our flight over Everest; the temples and local culture, the village in Chitwan and of course my absolute favorite riding our elephant called Happy Choli (or something like that) who took us into the jungle to see a rhinocerous and other fabulous wildlife - what an amazing privilege!

It was a full on itinerary, with lots of early mornings, but well worth getting up for! Everyday was a joy and incredible value for money. The change to have an extra night in Khatmandu was very good and I’d recommend that Riviera keep this. We will definitely travel with Riviera again - they tick every box! Thank you

Review by: Sylvia and Andy Dell on 22/04/2013

India & Nepal Tour

We have just returned from a great trip to India and Nepal. The organisation by Riviera and our guide, Gill, was outstanding. Its a fairly manic itinerary with new exciting experiences every day. Rising before dawn became second nature because the activities were so worthwhile. I loved it from the start when we hit the ground running in Delhi! However the highlights were celebrating our anniversary at the Taj Mahal, experiencing the magic peculiar to the Ganges, seeing the rhino from elephant back, and the wonderful flight to Mt Everest! Our local guide in India, Bhanu, will remain in our hearts. He was intelligent, funny, caring and often philosophical. He added to our enjoyment tenfold! Due to changes in Air India flights we stayed only one night at Varanasi and travelled to Kathmandu a day early. We did not miss any of the activities at the Ganges and the bonus was to come in Nepal. Riviera put on an extra trip to the mountains and to Bhaktapur. What a great day. The scenery was outstanding, lunch in the well located restaurant was lovely and we felt we saw more of Nepal than originally planned. I hope Riviera keeps this change as a feature so that others can enjoy the day. Last, but not least, the company on this trip was great. Everyone mixed well and we had many a laugh, often focused on the state of our digestive systems!! Thanks to all. If you are considering this trip, do not hesitate. Brilliant!

Review by: Aline and Alistair Paterson on 22/04/2016

India & Nepal Tour

Just a line to say how much my wife and I enjoyed our holiday to India and Nepal.

We are quite amazed at how much you managed to include in twi weeks in countries where logistics are not easy.

Tony, our guide was exemplary and he made us keep to schedule with a nice easy style. His knowledge of all areas visited was excellent.

We would not hesitate to use Riviera Travel again and to recommend your company to other people.

Review by: Stuart Sykes on 11/03/2013

India & Nepal Tour

We have just returned from India and Nepal. This was our 10th trip with Riviera, and the itinerary of this one is truly a jewel in Riviera’s crown! Every day had highlights, though a combination of the Taj Mahal, Mount Everest, the Ganges at sunrise, and an elephant safari at Chitwan were, for us, the best! The local guide in Nepal was outstanding, both in the information he passed on to us, and the care he took of our group.

Travelled on 08/03/2012

Review by: John and Alison Pope on 28/03/2012

India & Nepal Tour

This was our 5th escorted tour with Riviera and was as excellent as ever. Our tour manager, was superb and went out of her way to help and advise in all matters. Both local guides in India and Nepal were excellent with maybe the Nepal one slightly ahead! The sights in both countries we will never forget with the Taj Mahal, Everest and the trip on the Ganges remaining forever in our minds and hearts. All hotels were of good quality and even the one in Chitwan, although basic, couldn’t be faulted. One lovely surprise was hot water bottles put in the bed when we were out enjoying the lovely atmosphere at night. We would not hesitate to recommend this tour and we eagerly await the new brochure to see what gems Riviera have lined up next.

Travelled on 04/03/2012

Review by: Mr & Mrs Derry on 01/04/2012

India & Nepal Tour

This was third Riviera Tour we have done and lived up to our expectations. From the time we all met at Delhi Airport everything was well organised and the Tour was efficiently managed by our Tour Manager Gill. It was a full on two weeks with many and varied activities. We visited Temples, Shrines, Mosques and Stupas. All hotels were comfortable with good eating options and most had nice pools to relax by in the limited free time. Highlights were Ganges River boat trips, Taj Mahal, Everest flight and all activities in Chitwan National Park especially elephant safari. Our coach drivers were highly skilled on the chaotic roads and the local guides were enthused to share their countries culture with us. The sights and sounds of both countries were amazing, always interesting viewing from the coach. Well done again Riviera, we will certainly use you again!

Don’t be put off visiting Nepal due to the 2015 earthquake, it’s a lovely Country with lovely people and they need support from tourists

Review by: Malcolm Domb, Cindy Whife on 19/03/2016

India & Nepal Tour

Just returned from the India and Nepal trip. Very impressed with the organisation as on our previous Riviera trip to Vietnam. The trip itself was excellent leaving my husband and I with memories we will treasure for ever. Nepal was wonderful. The people so friendly and hospitable. We had been concerned about the effect of the earth quake but we saw little of that and Nepal is certainly open for business!

Review by: John and Maureen Gosling on 21/03/2016

India & Nepal Tour

Unaccustomed as I am to writing glowing holiday reviews, I would like to inform all would-be intrepid adventurers about the amazing India and Nepal tour organised so adeptly by Riviera Travel. I will resist the temptation of describing the multitude of incredible experiences we had so as not to spoil the anticipation and excitement for future travellers. Suffice to say that Christine our efficient and conscientious tour guide ensured that all the terrific activities of this fabulous tour were arranged with meticulous care and attention to every detail. She was ably assisted in India by Kunal who proudly gave us a colourful and realistic view of his native country. In Nepal we were accompanied by a ‘fantabaloso’, ‘jolly hockey stick’ and ‘spiffing’ guide called Dipak who ensured that our trip in his stunningly beautiful country was ticketty-boo and ran like clockwork! We endeavoured to add to his lengthy repertoire of idiomatic phrases with ‘by the skin of our teeth’ and ‘hanky-panky’ - among others! Huge thanks to Riviera Travel for organising such a memorable and inspiring tour. The packed schedule was gruelling at times - but without our three outstanding guides we would not have experienced so many unforgettable once-in-a-lifetime moments.

Review by: Jenny Miller on 09/04/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.