If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

India Tour

My wife Juli and I have just returned for the India Tour (29th Sept - 9th Oct 2016). What an amazing experience! Saw some wonderful sights, stayed at really good hotels in the company of a lovely group of people.
Bavinder, our local tour guide was simply brilliant. He gave us a real insight to the life of the lovely Indian people. He entertained us with his knowledge, humour and passion for his country which was infectious.
Though not for the faint hearted (poverty can be difficult to deal with) this is a superb tour. Make sure you are reasonably fit as some of the steps can be a challenge to negotiate.
I’m so glad we took the decision to go, it was an experienced we’ll never forget.

Review by Tony Hicks on 14 October 2016

We have just returned from a holiday tour of India yesterday, I just wanted to say what a fantastic time we had, every thing was so well organised, our guide Christine was great nothing was too much trouble, she worked so hard as did all the other people that made the tour so enjoyable.This is the first time we have used Riviera travel and we will definitely be using them again, thank you for making our trip so fabulous, and thanks again to Christine

Review by Don and Jan Boatman on 13 May 2016

I wanted to thank you for our brilliant tour of India (Golden Triangle). We have had a great time and are very sad to leave tomorrow.

I specifically wanted to write to you with regards our tour guides - Serdjo Car and Dilip Singh. I cannot praise them enough. Both were genuine, well organised, incredibly knowledgable, and thoroughly lovely people. We could not have been in better hands. Anyone lucky enough to be escorted by Serdjo and/or Dilip are incredibly fortunate, and are guaranteed a fantastic time.

Please pass on this feedback.

Thank you again for a wonderful holiday.

Review by Sian Wordsworth on 4 February 2016

I was sceptical about joining a ‘tour’ but, having now visited Northern India with Riviera Travel, I am no longer a sceptic. All booking arrangements with Riviera were seamless, all requests addressed effectively and efficiently, all amendments communicated and confirmed in writing - including regional connections and accommodation after a long flight back to the UK through Holiday Extras. The tour to North India was expertly managed. Many thanks to the ever-present ‘resident’ manager who ensured everything ran like clockwork. The ‘expert’ local knowledge and commentary from our guide was superb and added insight into the sites we visited. The coach driver’s skill in navigating through Indian traffic was very reassuring. The ‘bus-boy’ could not have been more attentive. I met a great goup of people and have new friends now. From beginning to end, I had a hassle-free holiday and I highly commend Riviera Travel.
Travelled on 14/05/2012

Review by Ron Munro, Dunfermline on 2 June 2012

India caressed my soul…and I am longing to return to maybe do India/Nepal as Riviera were outstanding as was the tour, from the bustling sounds and smells of Dehli to the impressive Taj at Agra and the wondrous Forts and Mosques. I thought nothing else would surprise me until I went to Ranthambore and was lucky enough to see a magnificent tiger! Our tour guide, anything he did not know was not worth knowing, he was the font of all knowledge and had the personality and comedy touch to match he became a friend as well a tour guide as did the other people travelling in our group who we exchanged emails and tiger pics with. The whole of my trip touched my heart I fell in love with India and it will stay with me forever the kindness and smiles of the people to the excellent services of Riviera!
Travelled on 05/12/2011

Review by Catherine, Liverpool on 5 May 2012

India with Riviera tours was amazing. My first package tour ever. I would go back in a heartbeat. Our team leader was very special and deserves all praise - they were amazing.
Travelled on 29/10/2009

Review by Kim Blake, London on 30 March 2010

We are writing to thank our guides for our wonderful ‘experience’ to India.  They made it such a memorable trip with things running so smoothly even to the tipping at the toilet stops. India is another world such chaos and poverty but ‘It Works’.  We would not have missed it for the world - thank you all for the hard work that goes into providing us with a relaxing holiday.
Travelled on 11/02/2010

Review by Tony and Diana Kelsey Warwick on 23 February 2010

India has been a trip of a lifetime, thank you so much to Riviera who made this trip possible for us. We have been mesmerised by the beauty and life that India offers, the people and temples are magnificent. Our tour guide was a joy throughout providing humour and insight in to the rich architecture and culture.Due to Riviera’s seamless tour we were able to relax, absorb the rich culture and colour and make friends along the way. This holiday was like ten put together wrapped up in bubble of Bond like locations and hotels. We laughed,smiled and were surprised every day, this is the best holiday we have ever had. Thank you.
Travelled on 22/10/2012

Review by Karen Trethewey on 5 November 2012

We have just come back from a wonderful Golden Triangle tour with the addition of Ranthambore and Mandawa, we thought that the itinerary was very well put together as it gave us a flavour of more rural India as well as the big cities taking in the key sights such as the Taj Mahal along the way.  Our tour manager has an extensive knowledge of the country so was able to give us a realistic view of what to expect from each place we visited.  Our local guide was great fun and gave us a lot of interesting information about the local areas and about the Indian way of life.  The trip was superbly organised with lovely hotels, we didn’t have to worry about anything as everything had been taken care of so we could just concentrate on enjoying ourselves.  I would happily recommend your company to anybody.
Travelled on 22/10/2012

Review by Carol Clayton on 6 November 2012

My review is for three holidays my wife and I have had with Riviera over the past three years.
The first was Cambodia and Vietnam (May 2010), the second, India (Feb 2011), and then The Golden West of California (Oct 2012). All three trips were an absolute joy in every way - very well organised, highly informed Tour Managers, wonderful local guides and all very likeable. The mileage we covered in the allocated times was remarkable, the sites we visited were very well thought out, all in all good value for money. Riviera is the only holiday company we have travelled three times with, each trip so successful that we now give them first consideration for our next holidays. In April we are off to Myanmar.
Thank you Riviera for wonderful tours.

Review by Robert McConnell on 30 January 2013

I have just returned from your tour of India and have had to contact you to say what a fantastic time we had. We were 4 ladies travelling together on the tour and never felt nervous and concerned about our safety. The hotels were fantastic, organisation fantastic, places visited were interesting. Our guide Kate, the bus driver, Indian guide and water man on the bus were all brilliant.
There is nothing at all to find fault with.
We will definitely book again with Riviera.

Review by JUNE GARDNER on 5 April 2013

We have recently completed our 7th successful trip with Riviera, this one to India, and thought it appropriate to comment on the exceptional efficiency and helpfulness of our tour manager Sue Fairweather.
India, which we thought fantastic, is an onerous trip for the tour manager and Sue was unfailingly cheerful, helpful and highly organised. She was, without doubt, the best manager we have encountered in our 7 trips with Riviera and it made such a difference to us to have such support and guidance in India with all the varied aspects of transport, hotels and outings.
My wife, Zaria,  had a bout of the dreaded “ Delhi belly” but Sue immediately arranged suitable medication and was most caring until it passed over. In fact, she made a huge effort to get to know everyone individually and pay attention to their specific needs.
Her energy and good humour at all times impressed everyone on the tour and we all felt that our holiday had been significantly enhanced by Sue’s guardianship.
Once again a wonderful holiday with Riviera and we look forward to next year when we will set off from Cape Town to the UK for another trip- this time a river cruise with your excellent company.
Best regards,

Review by Charles and Zaria Dagnall on 13 November 2013

Hi have just returned from the Indian tour and would like to give special praise to your tour manager, Matt Locmelis he was brilliant he certainly made the holiday,we will certainly be looking to use you again.

Review by Linzi & David Pearl on 15 November 2013

We recently returned from a trip to India and I wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed the whole experience.  We landed in New Delhi on 19 October and were greeted by Sarah who was our Riviera rep for the trip.  She was really great - good fun, very organised, providing lots of information and making the whole trip effortless and easy to enjoy.  The local guide, Dilip, gave us the background and the history of the people, palaces, forts and so much more that we visited and saw.  And to top it all, we saw a tiger at Ranthambore not six feet from our vehicle!
Having been “guided” around places before, we know that the guide and the tour rep can make or break a holiday.  We can only say that both Sarah and Dilip made this trip so much more enjoyable for us.  We can’t fault anything and we would recommend this tour to everyone, especially if you’re lucky enough to have Sarah and Dilip to help.
Sarah - we hope that the furniture was in all the right places when you finally got to your new home! We thought we might see you again at the airport once we got through security, but sadly we didn’t.  Our new camel hair carpet looks amazing in our sitting room!
Warm Regards,
Bill & Suzanne Fletcher

Review by Bill & Suzanne Fletcher on 25 November 2013

Where to begin?!
This was our first trip to India, land of my forebears and hopefully not our last.
Not knowing what to expect, I must say that each day presented at least one wonderful experience (often several),  each of which would be hard to beat.
The itinerary is spot on, our driver, bus boy, guide (Dilip) and rep (Ann) were fantastic and fulfilled their roles with enthusiasm, professionalism, humility and humour.
We were extremely fortunate that none of our group of 25 experienced the infamous “Delhi belly”, though Carol sorted us out at the local chemist with meds just in case!!
Top Tip - don’t take Diacalm or any British tummy remedies as the won’t work on this virus & the Indian meds cost around £1..
I could literally talk for hours about our trip and cannot think of one thing I enjoyed more than any other - though possibly our tiger sighting comes close http://websitev6.dev/images/smileys/smile.gif
If you only take one trip this lifetime, take this one.. 
But please take it with an open mind, open heart, energy, humility and humour..

Review by The D’Silvas on 24 March 2014

Thanks for a memorable trip to incredible India.

Gill Raine, Raju (both superb guides) and the coach staff deserve praise.

My wife Ginny Booth fainted on the plane and cut her head. Gill and the aircraft cabin staff gave us tremendous support and care.

We were met by medical staff at Delhi airport (arranged by Virgin I think), taken to the Medical Centre in the airport where sutures were inserted. We then followed the rest of the party to the hotel where medical supplies were delivered later. After a few days Raju arranged for a visit from a local doctor to check progress was OK.  Fortunately the accident had no ill effects and we were able to enjoy the holiday to the full!

Please be aware that we are very grateful to both Riviera and Virgin staff (plus volunteers from the passengers) for rescuing an unfortunate start to what turned out to be a magnificent experience.

Thank you again for a superb holiday.

Review by Ian and Ginny Booth on 10 April 2014

Good evening

Just a quick note to say how much we all enjoyed our recent India holiday.
Everything was perfect - a fantastic range of hotels, an extremely interesting itinerary, an excellent manager in Gill and guide in Raju and
3 tigers spotted!!

It truly was a trip of a lifetime and a perfect way to celebrate our joint 240th birthday!
Please pass on our thanks to all concerned.

With best wishes from
Anne, Marjorie, Angela and Marilyn (aka ‘the fab four’ or ‘those girls’!)

Review by Anne, Marjorie, Angela and Marilyn on 11 April 2014

Very much enjoyed this tour.  Gill our guide and Raju our Indian guide were excellent, so helpful and thoughtful.  Both had a good sense of humour and they made our first visit to India an enjoyable experience.  Hotels were all excellent with high standards of service and cleanliness.  Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Review by Helen Woolley on 12 April 2014

Our guides Sue and Mayank and our driver Amur and the steward Mr Khan were all excellent, took very good care of us and encouraged us to get out and experience India- go on a tuk tuk, go on a tricycle taxi in Delhi, get up at 5 30 in the morning and go on safari where we saw Sultan the tiger strolling majestically through the game park.
Highlights, The Taj Mahal, the Amber Fort, Ranthambore Game Park, Jaipur Palace and observatory, the train ride, and the traffic, the noise and excitement of India. We want to go again.
Sue got our group of 35 people to gel and enjoy each others company. For a former teacher of adolescents, we were putty in her hands. Mayank provided a thoughtful introduction to Indian history and culture.
Good value too.

Review by John and Jane sprigge on 11 October 2014

I heartily agree with the comments from Jane and John, the trip was absolutely fantastic and Sue and the whole crew looking after us were magnificent. I enjoyed the varied accommodation but my favourite would have to be the Taj Palace on the first night, where I returned to our room after dinner and found a bubble bath had been drawn and strewn with rose petals! Such a great start to our India experience. I have to commend our coach driver’s skill at getting us everywhere safely, I think I could have managed sitting in the front seat after all! The best value for money holiday we’ve ever experienced, so much packed into the day and never a dull moment. Thanks to Sue, the crew and fellow travellers for making it such a memorable and special time.

Review by Jan & Steve heard on 15 October 2014

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.