Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Iceland Tour

My husband and I recently went on your Iceland holiday. (18th - 22nd September) We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience which was very well-organised and with a tour guide who had been brought up in Iceland and who had extensive knowledge of the country.

I was very impressed with the hotel we stayed in - CenterHotel Arnarhvoll.

The beds were comfortable and the room very quiet at night without disturbing lights - blinds at the windows cut out any light from outside.

Our rooms faced the harbour so we had a lovely view both from there and from the Restaurant on the top floor. One of the best hotels we have stayed in for a long time. Service excellent.

Review by: Rosemary Moss on 11/10/2016

Iceland Tour

This holiday gave us an opportunity to see some wonderful things and places. The waterfalls, the hot springs, the glacier, the Blue Lagoon, all unmissable.

As usual, Riviera provided excellent organisation and a wonderful guide, Valur, who was knowledgeable, thorough and relaxed.

The whale watching should be optional, as others have suggested. The programme is very full and gives little opportunity to explore Reykjavik.

Breakfast in the FossHotel was a challenge at peak times, 7-8am, as they simply do not have sufficient tables. The only solution is to be down at 6.30.

Be aware that Iceland is expensive, with a normal main course in an average restaurant costing £30 - £40.

Review by: Bryan Tabrah on 30/09/2016

Iceland Tour

A very interesting and packed few days with a huge amount seen and learned. A special mention for our guide Kristofer whose wonderful sense of humour, laconic manner and encyclopaedic knowledge contributed towards making this tour fascinating and memorable.

Review by: Tim and Jacky Maltby on 23/09/2016

Iceland Tour

My husband, daughter and son-in-law have just returned from a wonderful break in Reyjkavik in Iceland. We saw some fabulous scenery and the tours we were taken on were perfect. The hotel was in a great position right on the waterfront with great views over the bay. We were very lucky with the weather too which helped on our trips to see waterfalls, volcanos and geysers. I have to mention our guide Kristofer who was a fount of knowledge and entertained us at the same time with his dry humour. Everything went to plan and we were well looked after.

This is our first holiday with Riviera Travel but we will definitely be using them again, the only problem being that we are spoilt for choice.

Thank you Riviera.

Review by: Marilyn Sabiston on 09/09/2016

Iceland Tour

Our local guide Kristofer was a star: courteous, attentive, patient, knowledgeable and interesting. His commentaries had just the right amount of information and humour. He’s a gem: make sure you hang onto him.

Review by: Eithne Batt on 09/09/2016

Iceland Tour

Fabulous trip to Iceland (with the additional bonus of seeing the Iceland European Championship match and the return of the team, so a great local atmosphere - We saw so many incredible sights, such as geysers, waterfalls, glaciers and volcanoes. The trip was very well organised. Our tour guide was Kristoffer who was tremendously well-informed, but also very amusing. I have been on a trip with Riviera before and would definitely go again.

L. Massie

Review by: Linda Massie on 08/07/2016

Iceland Tour

Having just returned from Iceland I want to congratulate Riviera on a fantastic holiday. As it is somewhere I’ve wanted to visit for years there was always the prospect of being disappointed. But not at all. The country is well worth a visit with stunning waterfalls, volcanoes, geysers and glaciers and is unlike anywhere I have been before. The hotel we stayed at (Hotel Centrum) was excellent and the people friendly. The whole trip was enhanced by our wonderful guide, Kris, who told us so much about the geology, history, traditions, economy and politics of his country in such a way that we didn’t feel overwhelmed with information, all laced with a wry sense of humour. I also appreciated the fact that there were no extras to pay for. If I have one reservation it is that we could have done with a bit more free time to explore Reykjavik, although not at the expense of the other excursions. Perhaps a day longer? Otherwise, a brilliant experience with fantastic weather too!

Review by: Jenny Haynes on 17/05/2015

Iceland Tour

I just want to say what a wonderful time I have just had on your Iceland tour. The holiday was crammed full of wonderful experiences from going behind a waterfall to lounging in a geothermal lagoon.

The guide was a joy. Full of information but with a sense of fun he really added to the experience.

The holiday was well organised. My hotel was comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

I will be using Riviera again and have recommended this holiday to friends and family.

Thanks to Holly in reservations who was a love.

Well done Riviera!!

Review by: Lynn Huntbatch on 19/05/2015

Iceland Tour

We arrived back from our 3rd Riviera holiday today. Iceland was on my bucket list and when I saw Riviera we’re going this year, I booked straight away. As always they have everything planned and well thought out. We have come home feeling that we’ve seen everything, Christofer our tour guide was fantastic. He made sure we had a great time, he was so knowledgeable and fun, his sense of humor was great. We met some lovely like minded travelers in our group. Iceland is beautiful, so much nature to see from the volcanoes, waterfalls. Geysirs, whale watching, I could go on .... Great food, the hotel was right in the centre. First class Riviera again.

Review by: Sue williams on 02/07/2015

Iceland Tour

Just back from Iceland. Kristofer has to be the best tour guide ever. Very knowledgeable and witty. Nothing too much trouble for him.

Only criticism of trip - Keflavik airport is just not up to it Nearly an hour queuing for check-in is not good enough. Wow airways perfectly all right in spite of the reviews.

Review by: John de Lange on 29/06/2015

Iceland Tour

Brilliant tour. Kristofer was the best guide I have had, and I have travelled with Riviera many times. Iceland is a wonderful place. Of course we only saw a small part of the country, but it was a marvelous experience. The food was superb and the choice of craft beers in Reykjavik was immense. The Hotel Centrum is only a short walk from the main sights of the town. Watching a sunset at 11.45pm was a first! I was very impressed with all aspects of the tour, except for the considerable number of toilet/coffee stops. There is surely a limit to the number of cups of coffee one needs in a day!

Review by: Brian Hirons on 13/07/2015

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.

  Live chat