[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

From start to finish this holiday was extremely well organised. Each of the three hotels were really good four star quality, comfortable with really tasty breakfasts. The three included meals were also very good.

We endorse all the positive comments already made. The locations of each hotel in the three countries were perfect. Our tour manager Hugo was informative & attentive as were the local guides used. The balance between tours & free time was also excellent.

We particularly enjoyed Riga with its boulevards & Art Gallery displaying its social realism paintings. Also we tasted some excellent cuisine at lunch in the Biblioteka No 1 restaurant, City Park.

Review by: Stuart Cull on 27/09/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

Three interesting cities, with good local guides and staying in comfortable hotels. The tour was very well run and we were very well looked after by our tour manager Alex. He was very attentive and because of his organisational skills and attention to detail the holiday went very smoothly. We particularly enjoyed the Art Nouveau museum in Riga.

Review by: Valerie and Peter Cundy on 20/09/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

We have just returned from this very enjoyable tour. Alex our tour manager was excellent, very organised and knowledgeable and he made so much effort to make sure everything went well. All the hotels were very good and in good locations though the one in Helsinki was about 15 minutes walk to the city which didn't bother us. The local tour guides in Tallin (Katrina) and Riga (Elsa) were very informative, the one in Helsinki not quite as good. We were pleased that the meals the first night in each city were provided as this gave us chance to find our way about. The only criticism is that we would have preferred less time in Helsinki and more in Tallin,

We will definitely use Riviera again.

Review by: Val on 06/09/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

A very enjoyable holiday. Hotels comfortable, all offered a substantial breakfast. The three included meals were excellent and gave an opportunity to chat with our fellow travellers.

During the 8 day holiday there is one day travelling by coach between Tallinn and Riga with a short stop at Tartu. Our Tour Manager Maria was very helpful in suggesting we may wish to choose between taking a picnic with us and exploring Tartu or going to a restaurant for lunch as unfortunately there would not be time for both. All other coach travel is very short and not lasting more than 20 to 30 minutes. On some days we did not use the coach.

We travelled in a group of 50 and were supplied with headsets which meant you could always hear the guides clearly and did not need to be standing on top of them. Each city was interesting with plenty to explore after the guided walks.

Our Tour Manager made sure everyone was well looked after and was able to manage such a large group of people. Thank you Maria for looking after us and adding to the enjoyment of our holiday.

Review by: Marilyn on 26/07/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

Just returned from our first trip with Riviera Travel. We had an amazing time, and we were very impressed with the organisation and quality of the whole experience. Our Tour Manager Hugo was knowledgable, helpful and patient, the quality of the food was very good, and the balance between the guided tour element and free time was spot on. Sometimes the 2 hour walking tours felt like rather a long time to be on your feet, but it would probably be difficult to fit everything in otherwise. Maybe a coffee stop half way around would have been nice. Other than that, can’t really fault it. All three cities were very different, and we enjoyed them all very much. We particularly loved Helsinki.

Review by: Ann Pepper on 16/08/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

We had a wonderful holiday but we especially wanted to thank our tour guide Alex who was fantastic. Professional, informative, helpful and always willing to help.

Review by: Stephen Headdey on 19/07/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

Despite the heatwave, this was an excellent holiday. The cities visited were interesting and contrasting, the hotels well located and comfortable and the guided tours were informative and well-paced. The use of the "Whisper" device to ensure that everyone hears the guide's commentary is a real bonus. But what made this holiday extra special was our tour guide, Alex, who was so professional, friendly and clearly enjoying his work. We will travel with Riviera again and hope to find Alex is our guide!

Review by: Anne Gallagher & Charles Baker on 12/07/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

Having just got back today from our weeks trip to Helsinki, Tallin and Riga I would like to report that we had an excellent time. The tour was well planned and worked to perfection. Hotels were of a good standard and rooms comfortable.

We enjoyed the various excursions each day, the local guides were knowledgable and entertaining. Even the weather was good!

Finally, praise is due to our tour manager Alex who couldn't have done a more professional job of looking after us. A more personable and caring man would be hard to find. His knowledge of each country was outstanding and I'm sure it was appreciated by all. Full marks to him!

Having enjoyed this trip we would certainly would consider a future trip with your company.

Review by: Phil and Irene Ballantyne on 03/05/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

A highly enjoyable tour around the Baltic. Three very interesting cities and a well organised tour. Alex was a super tour manager and Raoul (the Estonian City Guide) gave an hilarious and informative tour. He should do stand-up! Marvellous all round.

Review by: Dave on 18/05/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

An excellent week visiting three very interesting cities whilst enjoying exceptionally good weather. Helsinki - a little disappointed in the city tour which did not cover the sights mentioned in the itinerary (eg the railway station) but Suomenlinna was lovely and there was sufficient free time to explore. Tallinn was absolutely lovely - with a very good, funny local guide and a comprehensive tour of the medieval city. Dinner as a group was good quality too. The ferry to Tallinn was efficient and enjoyable. The trip to Riga by coach via Tartu was also very good - with excellent commentary by Alex, our Riviera Tour Manager - a man with a passion for perfection, he never stopped being attentive, anticipating all our needs, offering suggestions and recommendations for our free time and keeping a watchful eye to ensure that everyone was having the best possible holiday. No mean feat for a group of 49, so all credit to him. He was excellent company as well :) Riga was a good final destination - and all three hotels were faultless. One of the best Riviera tours I've been on. Thank you!

Review by: Jo on 18/05/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

Wonderful trip to the Baltic. We were very lucky and had beautiful weather as well. We saw so much and our guides for each city were excellent. We each had a listening device and earphones throughout the tour so we could walk around and hear everything the guide said so it didn't matter at all that we were quite a large group. Alex our tour rep was marvellous. Nothing was too much trouble and he even printed out our boarding passes for us at the end! Lovely hotels all within walking distance of the city centres. A great trip. Well done Riviera and thank you Alex!

Review by: Rosalind Bartlett on 03/05/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

We have just returned from a really excellent trip covering Finland, Estonia and Latvia and wanted to say how much we have enjoyed the tour. The three lovely capital cities were introduced to us by good local guides and then we had time to explore for ourselves. A particular mention should go to the tour manager, Alex, who organised everything very well and ensured we always had plenty of information. We would recommend this tour as an excellent introduction to the history and culture of the Baltic region.

Review by: Rob & Jane Burke on 21/09/2017

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

This was the first time we had been on a Riviera holiday and it was excellent in every way. The hotels and their wonderful breakfasts were extremely well chosen, the visits were very informative and all the guides were excellent except for the one in Riga who focussed too much on folklore and not enough on the politics, history and culture. But we had time to explore ourselves though would have loved more time in Tartu. Everything was smoothly and so professionally handled by our wonderful tour manager, Alex, whom we cannot praise enough. Not only was he highly efficient in organising the many different aspects of the trip, he was also extremely knowledgeable about the countries we visited and gave us just the right amount of information without bombarding us. The countries themselves were fascinating and the people so friendly and helpful, especially in Helsinki. A wonderful taster of the Baltic countries and their complicated histories.

Review by: Pauline and Jon Nixon on 27/07/2017

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

Wonderful tour and a wonderful Guide, Alex from Columbia via Bolton. Riga was the surprise as we hadn't realised just how lovely the old city is. Helsinki was a bit of a shock in more ways than one ( prices and cuisine ) but still a marvellous venue. We would suggest a quick orientation guided walk before the meal as is done in Seville on the Spain tour. Tallinn was as expected and beautiful - best after cruise ships have departed.

All in all another success for the no.1 escorted tour company - well done everyone. Now where's that 2018 brochure...

Review by: George Anderson on 06/07/2017

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

A super trip from start to finish. Included tours were well organised and the guide, Suzanne, was most helpful and informative. Hotels were excellent, especially Tallin and Riga, and there was plenty of free time to explore on your own. Three very different cities, but all equally as lovely. Have already booked two trips with Riviera for 2018!

Review by: Barbara smith on 20/07/2017

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

A most interesting week learning much about the history of these countries due to excellent and informative guides, which made the holiday for us. Riga was our favourite of the three cities. Alec was a most helpful and efficient tour manager, professional at all times. Everything up to Riviera's

high standard, as usual.

Review by: Gillian & Keith Sargent on 06/07/2017

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

We've just got back from this tour which we very much enjoyed. The arrangements were first class as usual for Riviera, and Alex was an excellent tour leader. This was a good introduction to the Baltic, an area we had not visited beforel.

Review by: Peter and Angela Walker on 13/07/2017

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

A most enjoyable holiday as one has come to expect from Riviera. The hotels were very good with excellent choice of breakfast and the transport between cities was efficiently handled. Our guide, Alex, was excellent; friendly and helpful. He had arranged local guides in all three cities to give us an good overall view before exploring on our own. I have already booked another holiday for next year with Riviera. Thank you.

Review by: Stella Blazier on 13/07/2017

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

A very interesting trip ,fully up to Riviera,s high standard .These 3 cities are very different & when we went(in May) ,the advent of spring

was quite different as we moved south & west.All arrangements went perfectly ,well organised by your courier .

We understand this is a new trip & can be highly recommended .

Review by: Malcolm & Barbara Clark on 11/06/2017

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

Please pass on to whom it may concern that your tour to Helsinki, Talinn and Riga was well organised, the hotel accommodation was very comfortable, food was very good, the tours were very informative and your guide, Suzanne, was most helpful.

The journeys between the three destinations went smoothly (not forgetting the coach drivers too)

We will certainly recommend it to others.

Last but not least, the weather being unusually warm, despite a couple of showers, was a bonus!

Review by: Jenny Le Cocq and Emile Springate on 18/05/2017

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

Just to say loved the holiday, well paced and excellent tour guide in suzanne.

Review by: Mr and Mrs Meredith on 18/05/2017

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

This was our first holiday with Riviera and we are both very impressed. The hotels chosen in the three cities were excellent, the local guides chosen were first class and the schedule left lots of time 'to do our own thing'. Our tour manager, Suzanne, was amazingly organised and made everything go smoothly. When my wife was unwell during a group meal out she was very helpful in an understanding way. We shall definitely go on another Riviera holiday.

Review by: Stephen & Ann Barry on 18/05/2017

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

We were part of the Riviera inaugural trip to Helsinki, Tallinn and Riga, but the organisation was flawless as usual. These three cities are very different architecturally and culturally, but all were enjoyed in equal measure. Hotels were all centrally located to allow easy access on foot to explore as a party or individually. There was an excellent balance of escorted tours and plenty of free time to explore on your own.

Review by: Anon on 04/05/2017

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.